Solution found., Thanks all for the info

TSPoodlepaddly
post May 2 2011, 09:32 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ May 1 2011, 10:24 PM)
Have a budget in mind... Then easier to suggest what can be done.
QUOTE(krayden @ May 2 2011, 01:58 AM)
Yeah, easier to reco if we know your budget. Focal and dyns were mentioned to match your rm1.5k price tag. I would actually reco scans discovery. Very very value for money but not exactly cheap. Call carcrazy. We listed a very decent system for around rm10k, satisfaction guaranteed for that price range. Sometimes it's hard to decide what's good if you lack exposure.
Point well noted. You are right, i should have given a budget range before i asked you guys to reco. Sorry my bad.

The budget i am willing to invest now on my ice will be about 8k, +- RM500. For this price range i would like to get a player, component set, amp (4 channel or one 5 channel) and one sub woofer. The path i have selected will be SQL. (sound quality with a little bass to bring out the energy in the songs)
Quazacolt
post May 2 2011, 09:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 1 2011, 09:21 PM)
just bought Justin Bieber CD for my 5.5year old daughter. she's singing 'baby baby' in the car and keeps on repeating the same track. dats the best part of building 'analog sounding' system. it plays everything well!!..

the cons: will be listening to the same CD every time when she is in the car!! lol.......
please tell me you at least pirated it rofl

Added on May 2, 2011, 9:08 pm
QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ May 2 2011, 09:32 AM)
Point well noted. You are right, i should have given a budget range before i asked you guys to reco. Sorry my bad.

The budget i am willing to invest now on my ice will be about 8k, +- RM500. For this price range i would like to get a player, component set, amp (4 channel or one 5 channel) and one sub woofer. The path i have selected will be SQL. (sound quality with a little bass to bring out the energy in the songs)
8k+ is a lot, pretty much mid range ICE already. Id recommend for your but sadly mid range is out of my league and ill just leave it to the other sifu here to recommend.

all's left is a installer/shop in mind to get those hooked/tuned up and you're pretty much set for retire unless you want to pursue more in ICE'ing (move up to high end range, upgrades etc)

notable installer/shops around KL i would recommend in no particular order would be KF audio/ea autoworks/audio creations.

feel free to call up any of them. EA autoworks/audio creations also post on LYN while KF audio doesnt.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 2 2011, 09:08 PM
MyWifeCar
post May 2 2011, 10:05 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Maybe you want to consider 2nd amp, which is good... Then the rest you might be able to spend on better component and sub and HU...

Then also, some proper installation job.

carcrazy
post May 2 2011, 11:04 PM

189 posts

cant go wrong buying ori's CD's..
this CD has become her top priority things. cannot leave it in the car if she's NOT there...
Quazacolt
post May 2 2011, 11:49 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ May 2 2011, 10:05 PM)
Maybe you want to consider 2nd amp, which is good... Then the rest you might be able to spend on better component and sub and HU...

Then also, some proper installation job.

amp + monoblock to be more precise? XD
krayden
post May 2 2011, 11:50 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ May 2 2011, 11:04 PM)
eh rip for me lololololol
Quazacolt
post May 3 2011, 12:00 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

why.jpg

welp! to each his own
hyy87
post May 3 2011, 01:07 AM

hi all....sorry to interrupt half way tru...just wanna pour in my 1 cents.. blush.gif blush.gif

to be honest, i believe most of us here have gone through the same path as OP, starting ICE, ask around friends which audio shops are OK, then go in ask for price, price nice, install, done, excited for the 1st time listening to the new system, listen from driver's seat, passenger seat, from back seat, then listen from outside of the car.... icon_idea.gif
then start to ask friends to give comments....some say "oh nice nice shiok...", some say " ahh, too noisy...", some say "ahh? got difference arr? sorry arrr...i don't know leh...."
then one fine day, when we got a change to listen to the "REAL" thing, a proper SQ or SPL setup in other cars...we're like.... ohmy.gif ohmy.gif and the worst part is, the entry level for either SQ or SPL isn't actually that expensive, probably a little more then what we initially spent! cry.gif *ahhh.....i've been conned!!*

to the OP, in my humble opinion, you don't have to rush to change your whole setup. if you're really interested in ICE, or rather "sound reproduction", and willing to take this as a life long journey to pursue the ultimate set that u really like, make full use of ur current system. Make this system as your benchmark at this point of time, what u like, what u don't like, or rather, to be more direct, listen to couple of your favourite tracks, repeat it numerously....try to do active listening and compare your car system to any speaker/headset/earphone that are accessible...they may sound the same initially, but try listening a few more times.... : (these are some example that i always do....)

1) probably start with the vocal as this may be the most obvious part of the song...try to define how's the vocal like...the easy term is whether the vocal is "thick" or "thin"....with this, we can't really know speaker A sounds more accurate then Speaker B, because we doesn't know how does the singer sounds exactly in live, unless u're able to record someone's voice with a calibrated mic and play it.....the purpose of this is to try to differentiate how different speakers play vocals....the other thing with vocal u might be able to notice, given that ur recordings (CD) are good, u'll be able to listen to the singer taking his/her breathe when he starts singing, or he/she is singing with watery tongue,etc etc...sometimes, u can even hear the mic being switch on just before the singer starts singing...

2) where's the position of the vocal? can you "see" the singer sings in front of you when u close your eyes? is the position of the vocal wide spread, coming from everywhere, or u can define a single spot where the vocal comes from? Is the vocal right infront of your face, or far behind the windscreen? Is there a 2nd singer present? if so, are the 2 vocals mixed together, or u're able to spot them individually?

3) next, try to listen to the instruments in the background as well.....there might be a drum set(can u listen to the few different toms, the kick bass, the cymbals, whether the drummer just hit the hi-hat or ride cymbals, or he just stepped on the hi-hat...), guitars...electrical guitars, distortion guitars, acoustic guitars (try to differentiate nylon or steel - strings), bass guitars, and in bass guitars, try differentiate the different bass notes... , violins, piano, and the list goes on....this will be very useful if u're familiar with instruments as u'll know how that certain instrument should sound...if not, don't be despair, try to get some audiophile recording live performance, listen in your car and various different speakers, then watch the video of the performance (which means you have to look for one that have CD and DVD/youtube version). watching the video helps you to confirmed what u've heard, and what u've not heard....or even better, go to live performance, and my personal preference, jazz, try go to any jazz bar with live performance, listen to the instruments, the vocals, and the positions...

4) listen to your drivers (individual speakers), get used to how they sound, are the tweeters too bright? too mellow, or just right to your taste, how about the midrange, sounds just right, or muddy? same goes to your mid-bass... and for your sub, as u've said, its too tight, not deep enough...maybe u might wanna find some other tracks with deep bass notes, because probably, the songs that u're listening to may not have the deep bass notes, hence u're unable to listen, or rather feel them....[i personally love Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl Original Sound Track, some of the tracks are nice and goes deep....=) ] other members might suggest a few for him too? ^^

now, after being soooo long winded about active listening, here comes the important part...
All this fine details will be useful for you in future to compare with other setups. I believe all ICErs(either SQ or SPL from all different levels) are willing to let you in to their cabin for a listening experience, and hopefully by then you'll know what u're really after, what u like, and what u dislike...
therefore, it's quite important for you to familiarise with ur current setup before jumping into other proper SQ or SPL setups because that time, u'll concentrate and find out what's soo good about this particular setup that your's are lacking, what you don't like about this setup, what components they are using (obviously, only if they don't mind to tell you...), by this, the "components" doesn't refer to the tweeter, (midrange if 3 way), mid bass, it refers to the complete set, from what headunit, what speakers, in what location, what amps, what sub and how was it setup being sealed, ported, IB, or bandpass and etc, and the size of the enclosure, what speaker cables they're using, the RCAs, any processor used, how did they cross all their speakers if it's active setup, etc etc etc...if its too much, probably focus on the speaker and amp combination because i believe that's the 2 components that will determine how the "sound" will be.

listen to as many setups (SQ or SPL) as possible, take note on the components they are using, if it happens that u're able to listen to the same speakers with different amplifier, take note the difference as well....

without a point of reference (in this case, its you who are doing active listening to your setup, hence your setup will serve as a point of reference), u'll be amazed on every single car you enter that has been properly setup without knowing what u like and dislike, and u'll be more confuse as all the components are soo good that u don't know which one to choose from.

and also to let you know ahead, every car has different acoustic properties, hence, the exact same system will not sound exactly the same in two different cars. they will only sound similar....

for the active listening part, its all about frequency response of all different speakers with different components hooked up together in different environments. If you're interested, more can be talk about this as this is a totally different topic...

I'm not a professional, i'm just a beginner in ICE and i'm after my own ideal SQ setup. Above all are not my ideas, they have been pass on to me previously by different people from different continents with the same aim: to build the ideal sound system of your own. So i'm here to share abit of my experience in searching my ideal set of ICE. if you're interested in my journey, i don't mind to share it with you.... blush.gif

last but not least, always remember that everyone has different opinion in their taste, u might find no one in the community that likes your taste, but not to worry, because you're the one who spent the money, so it should sound right to you, not to others. as the saying.."always trust your ears" cool.gif

just my half cents....=)

*pls do correct me if i'm wrong, as i'm also a normal human that are bound to make mistakes... notworthy.gif

Added on May 3, 2011, 1:18 ambtw, my experience may lean towards SQ setup, so alot may or may not apply for SPL...

This post has been edited by hyy87: May 3 2011, 01:18 AM
krayden
post May 3 2011, 01:28 AM

578 posts

^
Agree with you completely.

But from forum experience, most ppl dun bother going to TTs for exposure. They just come to forums like this, ask questions a for a week, then go to some installer and buy what the installers recommend instead. Then they get disapointed again and call it an ICE day.

The ones who start in forums then carry on yamcha and audit for a few years are few and far between.
The last time Craziechild came down to KL only like 5 guys showed up (I also din go, sorry bro lol).

Ppl dun understand that ICE is all about experience. Specs will only give you 20% or so. I guess because most forumers here are essentially PC heads.

So my point is .......... I also dun know. If ppl are interested enough, they will pm someone with experience and try a TT 1st.
Quazacolt
post May 3 2011, 02:42 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(hyy87 @ May 3 2011, 01:07 AM)
last but not least, always remember that everyone has different opinion in their taste, u might find no one in the community that likes your taste, but not to worry, because you're the one who spent the money, so it should sound right to you, not to others. as the saying.."always trust your ears"  cool.gif
just my half cents....=)

*pls do correct me if i'm wrong, as i'm also a normal human that are bound to make mistakes... notworthy.gif

Added on May 3, 2011, 1:18 ambtw, my experience may lean towards SQ setup, so alot may or may not apply for SPL...
on to that, AFAIK im like the only one in the LYN ICE community that plays anisong. havent been able to meet anyone else and its kinda lonely tongue.gif

that said, definitely have not worry me one bit as in the end, everyone is just having that same passion for music smile.gif

Added on May 3, 2011, 2:49 am
QUOTE(krayden @ May 3 2011, 01:28 AM)
^
Agree with you completely.

But from forum experience, most ppl dun bother going to TTs for exposure. They just come to forums like this, ask questions a for a week, then go to some installer and buy what the installers recommend instead. Then they get disapointed again and call it an ICE day come back forum to ask for comments on their chicken brands.

The ones who start in forums then carry on yamcha and audit for a few years are few and far between.
The last time Craziechild came down to KL only like 5 guys showed up (I also din go, sorry bro lol).

Ppl dun understand that ICE is all about experience. Specs will only give you 20% or so. I guess because most forumers here are essentially PC heads.

So my point is .......... I also dun know. If ppl are interested enough, they will pm someone with experience and try a TT 1st.
fixd tongue.gif
you have no idea how much i want to go TT lol.

really happy that i got to try out larry's proton, (though albeit having some issues with the subs, and lol sorry cant remember the model) howie's estima and mywifecar's latio.
and yes, thats craziechild's TT along with victor (carcrazy i believe lol) from audiocreations and howie from ea autoworks (for the rest who doesnt recognize them lol)

the 2nd TT was really disappointing though. didnt get to go into anyone's car T^T

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 3 2011, 02:49 AM
craziechild
post May 3 2011, 07:29 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

haha... krayden... no problem.. still got chance in near future... biggrin.gif expecting 3 more trips to KL later this year... biggrin.gif
Sh@rty 5
post May 3 2011, 07:41 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ May 3 2011, 07:29 PM)
haha... krayden... no problem.. still got chance in near future... biggrin.gif expecting 3 more trips to KL later this year... biggrin.gif
so when's the next tt

am still new into ice, more into sq , but aagain,, budget, started off wit ameron top model comp , and ameron amp, half year, after listening to my supplier speaker, poison, and just change to alpine type x comp set

still saving for better cables
( dun shhot me, now using those cheapest rca cable :
TSPoodlepaddly
post May 3 2011, 09:11 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(hyy87 @ May 3 2011, 01:07 AM)
I'm not a professional, i'm just a beginner in ICE and i'm after my own ideal SQ setup. Above all are not my ideas, they have been pass on to me previously by different people from different continents with the same aim: to build the ideal sound system of your own. So i'm here to share abit of my experience in searching my ideal set of ICE. if you're interested in my journey, i don't mind to share it with you.... blush.gif

Bro, I am all ears.. I started my ICE journey a bit rough and impulsed. Now i gotten some ayam brand stuff in my house. Trying to fix this now. As once said, DO IT ONCE, DO IT RIGHT. THEN RETIRE! cry.gif

Whats TT? I know its some kind of ICE gathering right? Wont mind joining one! But i am based in Kuantan atm.. let me know if there is a future TT. blush.gif

Hmm, Larry (proton), Howie (estima) and mywifecar (latio).. I envy you guys with car that has rear bonnet.. I am driving a Mitsu Triton and i dont have much space inside : (

This post has been edited by Poodlepaddly: May 22 2011, 09:54 PM
Quazacolt
post May 3 2011, 10:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ May 3 2011, 09:11 PM)
Bro, I am all ears.. I started my ICE journey a bit rough and impulsed. Now i gotten some ayam brand stuff in my house. Trying to fix this now. As once said, DO IT ONCE, DO IT RIGHT. THEN RETIRE!  cry.gif

Whats TT? I know its some kind of ICE gathering right? Wont mind joining one! But i am based in Kuantan atm.. let me know if there is a future TT.  blush.gif

Hmm, Larry (proton), Howie (estima) and mywifecar (latio).. I envy you guys with car that has rear bonnet.. I am driving a Mitsu Triton (sport mod) and i dont have much space inside : (
TT = test and tuning, or Teh tarik if you prefer lulz
but yea, generally, ICE gathering, sit down chat ICE, then main event: audition people's cars thumbup.gif

now, this is where you're horribly wrong. because... *drumroll* *(ei howie/mywifecar: dont mind me stealing the honors ya? LOL) howie got his subwoofer at the handbrakes compartment, while mywifecar's sub is at the pessenger side under dashboard compartment. LOL

to me, it doesnt satisfy me, after all im having a full sized boxed and ported 12"sub in the trunk, and being an anisong listener there are many song that can be really bassy/upbeat, and i lean a lil more on those songs anyways myself. thats why some may refer my setup as SQL especially when i tend to turn up the volume high just so im in a world of my own within my car smile.gif
craziechild
post May 4 2011, 12:51 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

i had fun setting up a triton few years back... its one hell of a car to play ICE with... biggrin.gif

Added on May 4, 2011, 12:55 amnext TT you asked? hehe... will be going down in July... biggrin.gif

look out for invites... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by craziechild: May 4 2011, 12:55 AM
TSPoodlepaddly
post May 4 2011, 06:06 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 3 2011, 10:55 PM)
TT = test and tuning, or Teh tarik if you prefer lulz
but yea, generally, ICE gathering, sit down chat ICE, then main event: audition people's cars  thumbup.gif

now, this is where you're horribly wrong. because... *drumroll* *(ei howie/mywifecar: dont mind me stealing the honors ya? LOL) howie got his subwoofer at the handbrakes compartment, while mywifecar's sub is at the pessenger side under dashboard compartment. LOL

to me, it doesnt satisfy me, after all im having a full sized boxed and ported 12"sub in the trunk, and being an anisong listener there are many song that can be really bassy/upbeat, and i lean a lil more on those songs anyways myself. thats why some may refer my setup as SQL especially when i tend to turn up the volume high just so im in a world of my own within my car smile.gif
Count me in bro in the next Teh Tari.. *cough i mena test and tuning session! I will come down all the way to see this rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(craziechild @ May 4 2011, 12:51 AM)
i had fun setting up a triton few years back... its one hell of a car to play ICE with... biggrin.gif

Added on May 4, 2011, 12:55 amnext TT you asked? hehe... will be going down in July... biggrin.gif

look out for invites... biggrin.gif
Crazychild, I am loving what you said $_$ triton good to play ICE? I installed one fiber casing for 2X 12 inch sub at the back. While the results is a much solid bass, some people told me it will overheat my sub and amp too fast. Reason being the space or cubicle squarefeet isnt sufficient? Lots of people said one 12 inch sub is enough.

This post has been edited by Poodlepaddly: May 22 2011, 09:55 PM
craziechild
post May 4 2011, 09:16 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

one is definitely enough... setup up a lot of hilux vigo, ford ranger and triton... definitely one 12" is enough because your cabin size is so small already... all the rides i help setup was using custom made sealed box...

well... overheat the amp and subs?? the vigos i setup never had any probelm till now.. that was 4 years back... unless of course, your amp is under powered, or well... your gain is too high...

cheers.gif

This post has been edited by craziechild: May 4 2011, 09:17 AM
Quazacolt
post May 4 2011, 10:22 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ May 4 2011, 06:06 AM)
Count me in bro in the next Teh Tari.. *cough i mena test and tuning session! I will come down all the way to see this  rclxm9.gif
Crazychild, I am loving what you said $_$ triton good to play ICE? I installed one fiber casing for 2X 12 inch sub at the back. While the results is a much solid bass, some people told me it will overheat my sub and amp too fast. Reason being the space or cubicle squarefeet isnt sufficient? Lots of people said one 12 inch sub is enough.
im intrigued by your "definition" of solid bass lol. because to me, 2 chicken brand subs will do nothing more than destroying any form of clarity and sound stage. so never mind solid bass when your music is totally muddied. unless of course you're a bass head and all you want is just nothing but bass, then i rest my case heh.

on the overheating part also, unless you're having some horrible setup and/or driving in the desert or something, non chicken brands wont overheat as easy as you think. chicken brand though, well, they've already cut so much cost already, how durable you think their materials/equipment can last?

and yes, for most, if not all SQ setups, 1 ported well sized 12" sub is more than enough.
TSPoodlepaddly
post May 4 2011, 10:27 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 4 2011, 10:22 AM)
im intrigued by your "definition" of solid bass lol. because to me, 2 chicken brand subs will do nothing more than destroying any form of clarity and sound stage. so never mind solid bass when your music is totally muddied. unless of course you're a bass head and all you want is just nothing but bass, then i rest my case heh.

on the overheating part also, unless you're having some horrible setup and/or driving in the desert or something, non chicken brands wont overheat as easy as you think. chicken brand though, well, they've already cut so much cost already, how durable you think their materials/equipment can last?

and yes, for most, if not all SQ setups, 1 ported well sized 12" sub is more than enough.
Long story. Visited a shop and my friend offered a set of stuff. Called it ICE. The only question posted was "U like heavy metal songs? Use this". After 2 weeks, sub woofer died off, amp fried. Had my lesson. Enough of the past sleep.gif I am ready to move on.

Agreed when i go SQL next, i am getting one Sub woofer and a good one. No more fcking cap ayam i kick you if i ever see u again u ^*&%(&^ chicken essence brand!!!

Quazacolt
post May 4 2011, 02:21 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ May 4 2011, 10:27 AM)
Long story. Visited a shop and my friend offered a set of stuff. Called it ICE. The only question posted was "U like heavy metal songs? Use this". After 2 weeks, sub woofer died off, amp fried. Had my lesson. Enough of the past sleep.gif I am ready to move on.

Agreed when i go SQL next, i am getting one Sub woofer and a good one. No more fcking cap ayam i kick you if i ever see u again u ^*&%(&^ chicken essence brand!!!
lol really amp fried/sub dead? maybe still can salvage. however i think at this point you wouldnt really give a damn after being poisoned by the various threads/advices here tongue.gif

ps: one sifu here is using
Ayam HU - Itik Amp - Lembu Speaker - Kambing Sub

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0236sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:11 PM