Unifi UniFi get disconnected intermittent, wondering it's router problem or UniFi?

TSvanillacloud
post Apr 27 2011, 04:31 AM, updated 15y ago

Previously I was experiencing some sort of service interuption, to be precise it's VOIP turns red & dsl signal blinking intermittent (it's connecting ONCE A WHILE IN A MINUTE). After bothering me for more than 3 weeks, it finally gone... UniFi sent a guy, and he replace the black modem unit, then no more blink blink and things SEEMS ok already.

By the way, now it's about 12 hours after the replacement of that modem... I think the Big issue has gone, but maybe there's still some Small issues...
I'm not a networking expert so i captured some Ping message to you all to have a look for me.

I'm not sure this is a problem causing by the DIR 615 or it's on UniFi's line/server side? What I know is this really disconnect me from the internet for A WHILE (the duration depends on luck).
I guess it's the router's problem cause I went out and check it at the living hall the signals look just fine but 4 computers in my house was disconnected from the internet and couldn't reach the router default gateway.

So anyway I'm going to buy a TL-WR841ND as a replacement...

This reminded me something: I've already bought 2 wireless repeater and 2 wireless adapter c/w signal boost, to cater this high speed home wireless network from the TM-provided bloody good DIR-615. I still remember on the day of installation and finish testing at my living hall, I told him there're 3 computers in the rooms, 2 of them couldn't get signal, 1 of them got 1 bar out of 4 bars. Being an old customer of TM I truly know what's the problem then I joke with that installer asking "dunno whether it's because the wall too thick?" he said "ah mungkin lah"
hazairi
post Apr 27 2011, 05:12 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(vanillacloud @ Apr 27 2011, 04:31 AM)
Previously I was experiencing some sort of service interuption, to be precise it's VOIP turns red & dsl signal blinking intermittent (it's connecting ONCE A WHILE IN A MINUTE). After bothering me for more than 3 weeks, it finally gone... UniFi sent a guy, and he replace the black modem unit, then no more blink blink and things SEEMS ok already.

By the way, now it's about 12 hours after the replacement of that modem... I think the Big issue has gone, but maybe there's still some Small issues...
I'm not a networking expert so i captured some Ping message to you all to have a look for me.

I'm not sure this is a problem causing by the DIR 615 or it's on UniFi's line/server side? What I know is this really disconnect me from the internet for A WHILE (the duration depends on luck).
I guess it's the router's problem cause I went out and check it at the living hall the signals look just fine but 4 computers in my house was disconnected from the internet and couldn't reach the router default gateway.

This reminded me something: I've already bought 2 wireless repeater and 2 wireless adapter c/w signal boost, to cater this high speed home wireless network from the TM-provided bloody good DIR-615. I still remember on the day of installation and finish testing at my living hall, I told him there're 3 computers in the rooms, 2 of them couldn't get signal, 1 of them got 1 bar out of 4 bars. Being an old customer of TM I truly know what's the problem then I joke with that installer asking "dunno whether it's because the wall too thick?" he said "ah mungkin lah"
why u need to buy a new equipment?
just ask TM to replace it..
nandayryu
post Apr 27 2011, 06:17 AM

1,072 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Apr 27 2011, 05:12 AM)
he wants a better signal,just incase the provided routers isnt sufficient enough to cover the transmission .
lighter
post Apr 27 2011, 03:23 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

I have the exactly same problem like you.. UniFi down for 3 weeks.. technician came over replace my BTU and D-link DIR615.. my line is intermittent disconnect.. I've replaced the DIR615 with my other equipment problem still persist.. i believe is the line issue not the devices..

if your signal is weak.. you may try homeplug..

BTU --> D-Link DIR615 (Disable the Wireless) Port LAN2 --> Homeplug @ Living hall --> Homeplug @ Room --> Another wireless AP/Router
jolmy
post Apr 27 2011, 07:35 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

Buy a notebook cooler fan (with a big fan) & place the VDSL modem (black) on top of it! I have mine replaced a 2nd time in 2 months using UniFi!
XPS
post Apr 28 2011, 12:43 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(jolmy @ Apr 27 2011, 07:35 PM)
Buy a notebook cooler fan (with a big fan) & place the VDSL modem (black) on top of it! I have mine replaced a 2nd time in 2 months using UniFi!
The modem is pretty robust. Run mine without fan and in an enclosed cabinet. What you need to watch out for is the DIR-615 which is known to over-heat.

With regards to the original post, looks like your wireless connection to the router dropped. Could be issue of poor signal or interference.

tanghm
post Apr 28 2011, 12:24 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

I got no problem with the wireless on 615.

All you need to do is to change the default channel which the installer never bother to do it for you.

And at the Advance Wireless setup, change the beacon interval from default 100ms to 80ms.
g5sim
post Apr 28 2011, 01:26 PM

5,752 posts

i have been having the same problem for nearly a month now and at times, no connection/tel/iptv for hours. TM came and changed the port at the apartment building on the first visit. Did not fix the issue. The came again on Monday and replaced the ZTE modem with the Huawei modem. Still did not fix the problem. There is totally no Internet at the BTU level. i am non wired home network. when the net is down, both the PCs do not have connection ahd the Internet, DSL and VOIP light shut down. freaking annoying. I had to get a standby digi broadband mofo!
Viliarde
post Apr 30 2011, 11:07 AM

hmm.. wanted to ask you guys. I'm having wireless drops at times. my wired connection is working fine but my wireless can't seem to connect to the internet. kindda pissed off now... anyone facing this same problem??
TSvanillacloud
post Apr 30 2011, 06:24 PM

QUOTE(Viliarde @ Apr 30 2011, 11:07 AM)
hmm.. wanted to ask you guys. I'm having wireless drops at times. my wired connection is working fine but my wireless can't seem to connect to the internet. kindda pissed off now... anyone facing this same problem??
The ping images i shown above is the result when i connect using DIR-615 wireless router. When I plug in LAN port directly it will be TIME=32 flat. My bro room which is just next to mine, cannot detect the wireless signal at all.

Are you in the same condition or something else?
Viliarde
post Apr 30 2011, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(vanillacloud @ Apr 30 2011, 06:24 PM)
The ping images i shown above is the result when i connect using DIR-615 wireless router. When I plug in LAN port directly it will be TIME=32 flat. My bro room which is just next to mine, cannot detect the wireless signal at all.

I can connect to the wireless but the wireless does not seem to be able to connect to the internet. I need to recreate a new SSID using the wizard then its better again. but it will happen again within a few hours or a few days. something seems wrong with the router..

Added on May 1, 2011, 10:32 am
QUOTE(vanillacloud @ Apr 30 2011, 06:24 PM)

eh.. i experienced it just now. check your wireless settings. my housemate could not detect my wireless cause i was on channel 12. when i set to channel 11 then it detected the SSID. check and see if thats the problem. my housemate is running winXP. his android phone also kenot detect. i'm using win 7 and iphong, it could detect.

This post has been edited by Viliarde: May 1 2011, 10:32 AM
de_ghost
post Dec 18 2014, 11:19 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(Viliarde @ Apr 30 2011, 08:27 PM)
I can connect to the wireless but the wireless does not seem to be able to connect to the internet. I need to recreate a new SSID using the wizard then its better again. but it will happen again within a few hours or a few days. something seems wrong with the router..
i had the same problem. How do you solve this
sHawTY
post Dec 19 2014, 08:55 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Apr 27 2011, 05:12 AM)
Because all hardwares provided by TM is a piece of crap.
tboxmy
post Apr 29 2015, 06:34 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 19 2014, 08:55 AM)
Because all hardwares provided by TM is a piece of crap.
There is a problem with Unifi Hyptv from 6pm as I noticed. No picture and words sound like scrambled ham radio. Called unifi call centre but cant get thru and the voice says my call is important.

Looking for other ways to ge TM help and found this thread. Would like to share that I Just changed the modem last year. Previous year changed the router.

How else do I get help? Email them?

0.0252sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:24 AM