PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V4, Comparison and advice needed

night
post May 13 2011, 02:17 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ May 13 2011, 11:47 AM)
can try Edifier HCS2330. but if you want some boom boom bass maybe ought to try other brand. perhaps altec or logitech z523
Or eith Edifier M3300. But the bass is pretty weak. You have to tweak it before achieving your preferred level.
night
post Jun 11 2011, 10:15 AM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Jun 11 2011, 12:50 AM)
because new Altec Lansing is not as good as the old ones
Couldn't agree more to this. Recently, I went and audition several Altec Lansing speakers and I was fairly dissapointed with the quality of the sounds produced.
night
post Sep 5 2011, 10:29 AM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 5 2011, 03:04 AM)
@bulibulizaimon

What's your say on the Edifier S530D? Worth it if I upgrade from my C3?

Going from built-in sound card + C3 to Asus Xonar D1 + S530D hmm.gif
That will be a huge upgrade from your previous system. Also, that will burn a deeper hole in your pocket.
night
post Sep 14 2011, 09:26 AM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(GroundMan @ Sep 14 2011, 01:27 AM)
going to get 2.1 speaker. using xonar dx. is the soundcard good enough?

i narrow down my choices to corsair sp2500 or aegoM50W. or got other better speakers?

usage is 80% game, 20% music. replacing my old m3300
In your case, I would strongly suggest going with the Corsair SP2500 since you're more into gaming.
night
post Oct 25 2011, 04:02 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(xSea @ Oct 24 2011, 07:09 PM)
I am staying at a small room. my budget : 500~800. not included soundcard.

After I read from v1 to v4, I'm looking at s530d/da5000pro. is there any other better than tat? Please recommend me a sound card for s530d/da5000pro.

>60% movie, 20% game, 20% song.
Same budget like me. I have decided to go with Edifier S530D and pair with Asus Xonar D2X PCIE. Perhaps we can have a discussion with the speakers that we are currently interested at? Will be dropping by Lowyat this weekend.
night
post Nov 18 2011, 12:34 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Nov 18 2011, 11:33 AM)
Appreciate your advice. smile.gif E3100 is also fine for gaming right?

Btw, just a quick one. Is it actually ok to place the subwoofer on top of the table, beside the monitor?
It will be better if you place your subwoofer on the floor. The vibration produced by subwoofer can vibrate your table and in the long run, may damaged it as well. Secondly, you get better bass if placed on the floor.
night
post Nov 19 2011, 12:19 AM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(JayHee @ Nov 18 2011, 03:49 PM)
So its between edifier n logitech?wat bout sonic gear?
Sonic gear is by far the worst brand amongst the rest. Just head down to Lowyat and audition yourself. From there, compare those results and you will know why.
night
post Dec 3 2011, 12:51 AM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Dec 2 2011, 11:37 PM)
What THE!!! 17 KG!!! that why I hardly lift the box up Yesterday! Arghhhhhhhhhh!!!!  rclxub.gif
Considering if my gf can help me... better forget it  shakehead.gif

Btw I just found out that previously you've suffered from the same dilemma of S330 and C3 before just like how I did now  tongue.gif

Still... 17kg... IF I manage to carry it to cyberjaya I will end up become muscular like this
[attachmentid=2565271]
17kg should be ok lar. Imagine carrying S530D. Haha! Anyway, worth the effort and sweat putted in. By the end of the day, you will get to enjoy the speakers.
night
post Dec 3 2011, 10:29 AM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Dec 3 2011, 01:07 AM)
S530D? meh that thing was easy stuff...
I respect those who carries S730D home
The S730D Sub is huge to begin with. Anyway to TS, really worth the effort putted in. And good luck with your audiophiles journey bro.
night
post Dec 23 2011, 12:04 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(maeve @ Dec 23 2011, 08:44 AM)
I know I asked this before to someone else, but I kinda need your expert opinion. Currently I own a Klipsch GMX 2.1, and I'm seriously thinking on upgrading. I dunno what happened with my speaker, the right channel is not working anymore, speaker made a noisy hiss when the PC is shut down/ on standby (more obvious now), the subwoofer enclosure is partly damaged because it was soaked with spilled water...and the list goes on and on  cry.gif

I figured u might be familiar with how the set sounded like (kinda like Z623). So what would u recommend for a perfect <RM900 replacement with tighter (but still deep) bass, clearer mids and highs. I audited S530D, but when I heard the rattling sound cmoing out from the sats, that kinda sucks  sad.gif  ..so now my choice is narrowed down to T3 and SP 2500 (any other suitable recommendation around the price range would be nice)

BTW my usage is kinda broad (Online radio, movies/series/anime, GAMES-FPS/RPG/RTS, SONGS-pop/r&b/rock/jazz/swing/classical/instrumental ). Thats why I need an all rounder,but more towards music and movies. Klipsch is good for movies/games, but for music, its kinda so-so..not that bad, but...but I heard better,.. and now I want better  rolleyes.gif

Please help, thanks  icon_question.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I would strongly recommend you giving the Edifier S530D another try; perhaps this time at a different place/set. This speaker is seriously good for all rounder and I am pretty sure you will fall in love with it. Else, you can always give other brand a try bro.
night
post Dec 25 2011, 12:44 AM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(CherryD @ Dec 24 2011, 06:51 PM)
Hi guys, I'm going to Chicago next Wednesday to further my studies for another 2 more years. In the mean time, I was hoping if you guys could recommend me a portable speakers for mostly music(rock,pop,jazz,trance,house..etc) and movies(all sorts) for my iPhone and laptop. Budget would be below RM500.

To be more specific, what I'm looking for is :
a)Portability(I can carry around without any hassle) - so item should be small and light weight
b)Overall good sound experience (sound quality clear and crips and bass is heavy enough)
c)Does not require external sound card to improve sound quality

...something like Razer Forex http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1990435
I would strongly recommend you these following options. Either you purchase a new set of speakers there or I would rather spent the RM500 on a good headset/earphone as compare to a portable speakers. The quality wise to money spent, headset/earphone win hands down.

If you still insists on a portable speakers, I own an Edifier MP220 and overall, pretty alright.
night
post Dec 25 2011, 11:34 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Dec 25 2011, 10:49 PM)
Just want to know, actually the Edifier S530D is rm700++ or RM6++ around rm700 ?
Because I feel it disappear on the price list......T_T

Still hard to decided to get S330D or R501 when my Altec lansing 4121 "Red" led no work anymore cry.gif, now my Altec Lansing 4100 also .... stop working at all ( can't turn on... don't know want to knock where...).
So just upside down want to grab what speaker, 2.1 or 5.1, and budget don't over rm800, actually is want base on rm500 but since so much people suggest on S530D, so just want to know is how much nowadays.
I bought my Edifier S530D from Viewnet Lowyat at RM710 because I bought several items from them. The price should be around there and will not vary much bro. I would suggest you bringing your own MP3 and play your favorite songs via their display unit S530D. You will be amazed by the sound produced bro.
night
post Dec 26 2011, 07:28 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Dec 25 2011, 11:39 PM)
They can test by your own mp3 or phone ? I though they already stick on their own player.
Hmm I will go test by these 3 choices again. Very hard to get between S330D or R501 for me, see is it the S530D will shock me direct grab it. tongue.gif
You are allowed to bring your own MP3 there. At least that is what I did when I first tested the Edifier S530D. Was really shocked with the sound produced.
night
post Dec 27 2011, 08:59 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Dec 27 2011, 04:26 PM)
Maybe I just copy those song to my phone then plug at there test.
Hmm S530D size quite big also... Need to arrange the table again if get it. tongue.gif
Or DA5000 ?
You don't need much space for the S530D. Only a small area for the subwoofer and satellite on the table. Unless you're rearranging the table position to get the best location for your speakers placement. Bear in mind that DA5000 is a 5.1 setup, therefore you will need a m/board that can support 5.1 or soundcard.

night
post Dec 28 2011, 02:54 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Dec 28 2011, 12:53 AM)
Ok, now I turn to focus on 2.1 which is S530D ( not list on price list.. need to check out is it still got this stock nowadays... ), due to my place, I will grab the S530D if possible. biggrin.gif
I see that you are from Klang as well. I am from Klang and travelled down to Lowyat to purchase my Edifier S530D. If distance is an issue for you, you could always purchase from Moderno at SS15. Good luck in your audiophiles journey bro.
night
post Jan 4 2012, 10:44 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(HellZoker @ Jan 4 2012, 08:41 PM)
1 question where should i shop for various of brand of speakers as well as allow me to test it out. lowyat plaza got all sort of brands?? even corsair?
I am not too sure about Corsair but the rest of the famous speaker brands are readily available at Lowyat. If given the choice, I preferred testing speakers at Viewnet due to their huge space provided. At least you don't feel like you're in a pasar bro.
night
post Mar 4 2012, 12:12 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 3 2012, 08:05 PM)
hey guys What is the best 2.1 system I can get with budget around 1K. I dont mind being top up a little more as long it justify the money I put in.

Being having 4 home theater system price range from 2K to 10K on each set. My ear get rather picky tongue.gif

I got 2 other existing PC speaker, Klipsch GMX 2.1, Altec Lansing 45.1, and these speaker are reliable they last many many years without prob already. ALansing 45.1 is about to hit 12yrs old lol.

Listening choice would be all rounder as I spend as much time on games/movies/Musics as well.
For that budget, you can go for Edifier S730D

night
post Mar 31 2012, 03:44 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Mar 31 2012, 03:27 PM)
Anyone own an Edifier M3300SF here?Is it just me,or the speakers don't really sound that impressive,like what reviews on the internet say?Or this is what I get for the price I pay.Should I get a USB DAC,something like this USB DAC to improve the sound quality?Would there be a huge improvement?
You definitely can feel the difference. For a small price paid for the USB DAC, it is worth it bro.
night
post Apr 1 2012, 12:47 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Mar 31 2012, 03:51 PM)
While searching about these speakers,I came upon ur thread selling this speakers together with a DAC right? How come u were selling it off? And u are speaking based on personal experience? Is it really a world of difference? I don't really want to spend and end up getting the same thing. I mean,when I got this Edifier M3300SF,I realized that it sounds almost the same as my very old,8 years OEM speakers that came together with my Acer computer last time  doh.gif
I sold them off because I got a new computer rig and a new speaker. With bigger budget, I bought a monster speaker and a dedicated soundcard. Previously, I paired my Edifier M3300 with a USB DAC via my 4 years old laptop. Speaking of experience, you can definitely feel a difference after using a USB DAC. I remembered bringing my friend to my house and he was amazed to hear the difference.
night
post Jul 15 2012, 10:01 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Jul 15 2012, 02:41 PM)
Stilll wondering which speaker to choose, sp2500 / s530, mainly for music and little gaming. Budget rm700++ please advice.
You should probably give both a try. Bare in mind that you have difficulty trying the SP2500 as not many store carry that particular brand. As for me, I am a proud owner of S530D.

0.0417sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:28 AM