HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia

azwandy
post Feb 4 2015, 10:17 AM

70 posts

I just ordered my Himedia Q1 thru lelong few days back:

http://www.lelong.com.my/himedia-q1-quad-c...7-01-Sale-I.htm

I haven't receive it yet.. I just bought it blindly as I think not much product review about it compared to other established brand such as minix.. recently I owned another China made Android box :

http://www.lelong.com.my/x10-tv-box-mini-p...5-08-Sale-P.htm

also bought thru lelong but very disappointed in it.. within 2 weeks need to do more than 1-to-1 exchange with the seller.. luckily the seller lives just nearby.. LAN not working, no display, and now the unit gone kaput already..

therefore, to anyone using the Himedia Q1 same as my spec, what's your verdict with the product? I am planning to get Minix in the future.. can't wait for Minix Z64 to reach Malaysian market.. you can install Windows/Android on it..

Cheers!!!
azwandy
post Feb 4 2015, 12:04 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 4 2015, 11:36 AM)
having used 3 units of himedia in the last 1.5 yrs, i can say it is a good, reliable brand in terms of hardware quality and firmware support.

the trouble i see from the numerous posts of users looking for help and not getting any seems to be:

1.. bought unpopular models, few users, can't get help.
2.. bought from seller(s) who don't/can't support for long in terms of firmware and/or user apps.
3.. users not familiar with androids, thought they are like astro decoders on/off/press buttons; didn't spend time to learn

i do not know much about q1, dunno if it is a popular model; i know many users for q5ii, q5iii and q16 - dual and quad cores.

but from the specs, it looks fine. only thing is whether u will be able to get help and resources to upgrade firmwares and apps over time and keep them working nicely. imo, this is the most impt aspect of any androidtv box, more impt than this brand or that brand. becos tech is changing very quickly, firmwares and apps change all the time. if no help for 2 yrs, the box is as good as dead becos the old software wud be pretty much obsolete, wont work or work poorly.
agreed with u on point number 1.. me myself is included in that group of people.. i was overwhelmed by the android tv market, and just bought the lousy china made, for the sake of the cheap price.. never bother to check on the spec, and in the end I feel like throwing my Rm170 into the monsoon drain.. hahaha..

yes you are right about point number 3.. most people thought the android box is something that just runs perfectly out of box, and in the end they ended up feeling that they wasted money on this product.. they don't even bother to do a little bit of technical research.. i bet some of them will have their jaws dropped if u ask them about APK.. hehehe..

BTW, any of you guys ever experienced with the cloudtv.bz or the myiptv android app?? I'm thinking of getting either 1.. I bought the Q1 for my living room tv, since I already stop Astro subscription.. I have already playing around with Kodi with SportDevil add-ons, but it seems like it is very hard to get reliable Live football stream from it.. what I heard is they can provide you with the cable tv experience, with minimal fee that still can be considered cheaper than Asteruk..
azwandy
post Feb 5 2015, 05:59 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Feb 5 2015, 03:43 PM)
guys, do you all able to play youtube 1080p in Q3?
mine only have 720 option though
i'm using himedia q1 4k quad.. same issue here.. utube only shows 720p.. any tweak can be done??
azwandy
post Feb 13 2015, 10:25 AM

70 posts

Been using himedia q1 for 1 week and quite happy with the performance.. adequate for me to play HD movies and watch myiptv

This post has been edited by azwandy: Feb 13 2015, 10:28 AM
azwandy
post Mar 27 2015, 02:48 PM

70 posts

Hi everyone.. using Himedia Q1 for 2-3 months now.. Very impressive hardware.. however got something bugging me at the moment.. when I launch the youtube app, any video that I tried to play will just show blank rectangular, but the sound is there.. I have already use the factory reset, but same issue.. now I have to use alt Youtube such as Youtube for TV apk and PVstar.. anyone encounter same issue as mine??
azwandy
post Apr 6 2015, 02:00 PM

70 posts

Hi guys.. anyone successfully rooted their himedia q1 box?? I tried the method from this blog :

http://voyager8.blogspot.com/2014/03/rooti...oid-tv-box.html

Rooting the HiMedia Q5ii Android TV box

You might wonder why you need to root the Android TV box in the first place. Well, I also never thought about this, until the recent Chinese version of Q5ii firmware taken away the Google Play Store, and I need root access to restore the Google Play Store in the HiMedia Q5ii Android TV box.

In order to gain root access of the HiMedia Q5ii from your computer, you need to put connect them to the same local network. Then, as usual, you'll need the famous Android Debug Bridge (ADB.exe) which is distributed in the Android SDK Tools in Android Developers website. All Android developers and/or hackers should already have this Android SDK Tools in their computers.

Alternatively, you can also install ADB in your computer by downloading and installing the Minimal ADB and Fastboot package from XDA Developers website.

If until this point, you don't know what I am talking about, and you have no idea what is "root", you should not continue. This is because rooting an Android device, if not handled properly, might introduce risk and damage to your Android device.

If you still keen to continue, then copy these 3 required files to a new folder in your computer:

adb.exe
    AdbWinApi.dll
    AdbWinUsbApi.dll

Then, we need the "su" binary and the Superuser.apk.

Download Superuser-3.2-arm-signed.zip here, unzip the file, and copy these 2 files into the folder where you put ADB just now:

su
    Superuser.apk

Then, you need to find out the IP address of your HiMedia Q5ii Android TV box and use ADB to connect to its port 5555.

Go to Windows command prompt by executing "cmd" in Run...

Go to your folder with ADB, and issue the following commands:

adb connect your_himedia_ip_address:5555
    adb root
    adb remount

An example of the command issuing and respond is as below...

Then continue with the following commands:

adb push su /system/bin
    adb push su /system/xbin
    adb push Superuser.apk /system/app
    adb shell chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    adb shell chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su

And finally, reboot your HiMedia Android TV box with this command:

adb shell reboot

After the reboot, you should be able to gain the root access to your HiMedia Android TV box now.
but later i found out my q1 still not rooted.. the su apk is already installed, but when i ran the root checker, it prompted the device is not rooted.. are there any himedia flashing tool, or does anyone have the original himedia q1 rom?? I quite regret that I bought this China based tv box.. not much support available.. even when I google, very less info available about this himedia products.. duhhhh..
azwandy
post Apr 8 2015, 09:51 AM

70 posts

My himedia q1 auto off by itself few times yesterday due to overheating.. at the time nothing much was done, just browsing movies thru Kodi.. damnn.. my 2nd hand used minix neo x5 no overheating problem whatsoever.. i should be patience and buy another minix.. sighh..
azwandy
post Apr 9 2015, 02:32 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 8 2015, 05:38 PM)
tried on q5ii and q16 - same like before, same error, tak pakai.
strange it's ok on ipad but not on android "tablets"...?
i m surprised... is the unit in "open air" or inside a tight space?
my 3 units, with or without mini fan, no such overheating problem for 1.5 yrs.
maybe q1 not as good as q5ii/q16 in heat dissipation design...?
q2... not sure but the firmware, even old cannot be that different from q5ii or q16.
when playback, press menu button on remote to bring up subtitle options - u get all kinds of settings there.
to get rigth firmware for yr model, best to get help from yr orig seller.
i find it unreliable to dwnld from unknown sources.
anyway, for anyone interested in himedia androids, i suggest u not to buy just any model but buy the more popular models - to my knowledge: q5ii which has been succeeded by q5iii and q16. there is a lot more user support and tips on the popular models.
It was put into open space.. i think time to upgrade the firmware.. so hard to find with all the chinese based forum for himedia.. luckily i found himedia vietnam, using google translate i might be able to patch the youtube no video issue..

http://himediatech.vn/huong-dan-up-rom/huo...20-1-2015-.html

Link tai firmware Q1IV 1.0.7: http://www.mediafire.com/download/2ed34sj2...pdate_1.0.7.zip

Changelog:

1. Google Browser/spotify music cannot install from Google Play Store.
2. Some add ons cannot work on XBMC/kodi.
3. User cannot install other luancher and set it as default launcher.
4. Youtube output sound, but no image.

2. Then install the APK file attachments such as image

Download APK optimization: download
azwandy
post Apr 9 2015, 05:12 PM

70 posts

Anyone want to try to root your himedia q1 quad?? you can try this link :

http://itvplus.net/UNG-DUNG/huong-dan-su-d...-4k-dts-hd.html

the instructions all in viatnamese so use google translate.. i just found it but haven't try it yet..

anyway root ur himedia and say bye bye to warranty there root at ur own risk..
azwandy
post Apr 10 2015, 09:20 AM

70 posts

To anyone using Himedia Q1 as same as the photo below;

I don't know are you having same issue or not but for official youtube app, there's no video, only audio playing, and just show a black rectangular box.. luckily i managed to resolve the issue by applying the update 1.0.7.. my version when i first received mine is 1.0.6..

Download the 1.0.7 update from here :
http://www.mediafire.com/download/6q3lmlkiycz5544/update.zip

Copy it to your sdcard root folder, go box settings/settings, system upgrade and select Local Upgrade

I managed to find this firmware from Himedia Vietnam :

http://himediatech.vn/huong-dan-up-rom/huo...29-1-2015-.html

If you succesfully update the firmware, you will have similar system information like mine :

As for how to root, download this file :
https://www.mediafire.com/?33tsc46erykeqt5

I got it also from Vietnam website :
http://itvplus.net/UNG-DUNG/huong-dan-su-d...-4k-dts-hd.html

Eventhough it said for Q5, I also managed to apply the root onto my Q1.. same update method, copy the update.zip to the root folder of your internal sdcard folder, go box settings/settings, system upgrade and select Local Upgrade

My system with root access enabled :

SELAMAT MENCUBA!!!
azwandy
post Apr 13 2015, 09:40 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Apr 12 2015, 01:43 AM)
nice tips.... what your opinion so far...is Q1 model gooding with kodi and network stream? tq  icon_rolleyes.gif
So far so good.. but i still not very satisfied with my q1.. need to underclock it using antutu cpu.. if not system become very heated..

0.0825sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:37 PM