Data Plan for iPad Users Discussion Thread

SUSgogo2
post May 1 2011, 11:10 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(alankhoo @ May 1 2011, 11:03 PM)
I also narrow down to two option. Digi Discovery 38 and UMobile 28. Must consider coverage area as well...
uMobile use Celcom. Should be wider than DiGi lo.

QUOTE(asrul @ May 1 2011, 11:05 PM)
confirm with my friend, no dealer selling u-mobile here.
WHere you stay?
asrul
post May 1 2011, 11:12 PM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ May 1 2011, 11:10 PM)
uMobile use Celcom. Should be wider than DiGi lo.
WHere you stay?
come to Soviet Sarawak brows.gif

of course my place do have Celcom 3G coverage.
but, DiGi Edge is more stable than Celcom 3G here.

This post has been edited by asrul: May 1 2011, 11:13 PM
kc3832
post May 1 2011, 11:21 PM

100 posts

If you're on the move so much and need internet connection, I'll assume that you go out station a lot. If that's the case, pay more for Maxis. Not to say Digi is bad, is just that the connection in rural area is next to none... I know cause I'm using Digi now and I move around quite a lot too.

Oh! Just to share with you, I was previously a Maxis user and there's not a day I don't regret switching to Digi because of the frequent drop calls, delayed SMS and poor internet connection outside KL or any other big city. None the least, Digi has the cheapest service plan available when you do the maths, and you don't have to worry about over-shooting your 'quota', which can save you hundreds if you're a heavy user. Well, I guess we can't have all good things under the same roof right...?

U-mobile and Yes is too infant to be called a mobile data plan because their coverage is very limited. It restrict the 'area' that you'll be able to travel if you need data connection for your work. Trust me, the restriction is really maddening and I don't think they should call themselves high speed mobile data provider yet...

Celcom... is a mystery to me like the toilet sink to the plumber... sometimes their're good, sometimes their're just... not there... I think it's the frequent breakdown of their cellular network that causes the problem. GL company like TM or celcom has very bad maintenance record (ask all those Streamyx user) and I guess this should be the only reason why this phenomena happened so often. Otherwise, I would think that it should have an upper hand agains Digi.

Well, my 2 cents opinion and my conclusion; pay more for Maxis coverage. Get Digi if you're an al'cheapo like me. The rest can just kiss your ass and remember to wave your hand when you see them passing by... at least for this moment...

This post has been edited by kc3832: May 1 2011, 11:26 PM
baretta
post May 1 2011, 11:32 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Nyanyanmeow @ May 1 2011, 10:36 PM)
idk lah. even for ipad 1 pun i never see jb tether apps.
U can use mywi on ipad 1. And i used that before upgrading to ipad 2.
Jerryc
post May 1 2011, 11:35 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ May 1 2011, 10:38 PM)
im using DiGi Prepaid Broadband for my iPad.

this is the cheapest that i can found,
but,must topup rm100 at one time, so the credit will last for 100 days, which means rm1 per day.

but if topup only rm30, it will only last 5 days.
Is it juz top up RM100 and digi will change the period to 100days? Got any limit on speed?

This post has been edited by Jerryc: May 1 2011, 11:36 PM
bernard90
post May 1 2011, 11:38 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ May 1 2011, 11:32 PM)
U can use mywi on ipad 1. And i used that before upgrading to ipad 2.
means can tether ipad 3G plan to laptop for surfing net?
asrul
post May 1 2011, 11:38 PM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(Jerryc @ May 1 2011, 11:35 PM)
Is it juz top up RM100 and digi will change the period to 100days? Got any limit on speed?
yeap. top up rm100 for 100 days.

but regarding the speed,i cant confirm sweat.gif
Sunshine
post May 1 2011, 11:47 PM

160 posts

Get digi discover postpaid rm38, sign up for auto debit credit card for a rm5 discount, total u only pay rm33 /mth. Speed if good during the daytime, but like mentioned above not for intensive video/ dling between 7pm till 7am.
AhNiCk
post May 2 2011, 12:35 AM

84 posts

Correct me if I'm wrong,

Discovery day = RM 38 /RM 33 (auto billing)
7am - 7pm = 700kbps
7pm - 7am = 128kbps(just normal browsing)
Capped @ 3GB

&

Limited edition prepaid = RM 100 (3 months) = RM 33.33 per month
24hrs = 384kbps
No quota, unlimited usage?

baretta
post May 2 2011, 01:26 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(bernard90 @ May 1 2011, 11:38 PM)
means can tether ipad 3G plan to laptop for surfing net?
Yep but Jb ipad 1 only..
Jerryc
post May 2 2011, 01:31 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(AhNiCk @ May 2 2011, 12:35 AM)
Correct me if I'm wrong,

Discovery day = RM 38 /RM 33 (auto billing)
7am - 7pm = 700kbps
7pm - 7am = 128kbps(just normal browsing)
Capped @ 3GB

&

Limited edition prepaid = RM 100 (3 months) = RM 33.33 per month
24hrs = 384kbps
No quota, unlimited usage?
how is the speed of 384kbps ? Anymore used it ?
bernard90
post May 2 2011, 01:33 AM

230 posts

if the place no have digi and maxis broadband/3G coverage, got any idea how to connect to internet without using wifi?

This post has been edited by bernard90: May 2 2011, 01:55 AM
OKLY
post May 2 2011, 02:52 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(bernard90 @ May 2 2011, 01:33 AM)
if the place no have digi and maxis broadband/3G coverage, got any idea how to connect to internet without using wifi?
If that area isn't under 3G coverage, it will automatically revert back to GPRS/EDGE, yes it's slow but at least you will still remain connected to the Internet. smile.gif
bernard90
post May 2 2011, 01:23 PM

230 posts

got anyone here using YES 4G plan on ipad?
zenhai88
post May 2 2011, 01:40 PM

419 posts

I'm using celcom RM 48 package, it is still acceptable.
At first I want to take digi de, but when I go back kelantan, digi line is suck.
If you just stayin kl and less go outstation, digi is the best choice.

jiro1986
post May 2 2011, 02:10 PM

Trader
817 posts

For far i think have few option here which if pretty good for me.

Digi Limited Edition Prepaid Internet
- top up for 3 month to get lowest rate
- RM 100 for 3 month which mean RM33.33 per month
- its unlimited online if not wrong

U-Mobile
- RM 28 per month for unlimited online

Yes Campus Pack (EPP Student only)
- RM28 for 1gb data Per month

This post has been edited by jiro1986: May 2 2011, 02:26 PM
asrul
post May 2 2011, 02:16 PM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(jiro1986 @ May 2 2011, 02:10 PM)
For far i think have few option here which if pretty good for me.

Digi Limited Edition Prepaid Internet
- top up for 3 month to get lowest rate
- RM 100 for 3 month which mean RM33.33 per month <--- its for 100 days. not 3 months which is only 90/91/92 days
- its unlimited online if not wrong

U-Mobile
- RM 28 per month for unlimited online

Yes Campus Pack
- RM28 for 1gb data Per month
xenohawk
post May 2 2011, 02:52 PM

991 posts

I think the Digi Limited Edition Prepaid Internet have 3GB/month quota, after that it slows down, but its the cheapest plan with no commitment other then the 100days. If you don't reload after it expires your line will still have grace period of 90days for your to reload to keep your line active.
zXJaMeSXz
post May 2 2011, 02:55 PM

670 posts

Is the Digi limited edition prepaid internet still available?
Seems like a pretty good deal...
jiro1986
post May 2 2011, 03:31 PM

Trader
817 posts

QUOTE(xenohawk @ May 2 2011, 02:52 PM)
I think the Digi Limited Edition Prepaid Internet have 3GB/month quota, after that it slows down, but its the cheapest plan with no commitment other then the 100days. If you don't reload after it expires your line will still have grace period of 90days for your to reload to keep your line active.
ya... but umobile also not bad if u within the coverage

34 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:31 AM