34 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Data Plan for iPad Users Discussion Thread

Damonzero
post Aug 28 2011, 10:54 PM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

It happens to me sometimes too, but if u patiently wait for awhile it will auto switch back to 3G.
jenli_84
post Aug 29 2011, 10:04 AM

377 posts

any conclusion which is the best?
Damonzero
post Aug 29 2011, 10:52 AM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Aug 29 2011, 10:04 AM)
any conclusion which is the best?
Go for umobile smile.gif
jenli_84
post Aug 29 2011, 10:58 AM

377 posts

U mobile prepaid? details is how much? im confused after so many comment here....cause i just need it when im outside...home i can use my hse wifi
SUSsuicai99
post Aug 29 2011, 11:59 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(truthosis @ Aug 28 2011, 08:04 PM)
well u can assign which button on the ipad that will activate the queryussd, now im using the press twice home button later ill change it to somethin else for it not to spoil~
well for me i try not to use physical buttons. any moving parts are bound to fail after wear and tear - the most famous is the home button bcoz thats the most used button on ipad/iphone/ipod touch.

i set "double tap on status bar" for USSD, "left to right swipe" for a single home press and "tap and hold status bar" for home button double press. with that, i hardly use the home button unless if i'm in apps that couldnt show the status bar.

QUOTE(radi0head @ Aug 28 2011, 09:22 PM)
guys... i'm on umobile and de problem is when i put the umobile sim in2 my ipad, it alwiz shows 'umobile2g' where i took it out and plug it into my 3g phone, it shows 'umobile3g'! so, i'm sure that my area here got '3g' signal...

but still, any configuration i missed out? hmm...

wink.gif
dont forget to turn your Data Roaming to ON..

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Aug 29 2011, 10:58 AM)
U mobile prepaid? details is how much? im confused after so many comment here....cause i just need it when im outside...home i can use my hse wifi
what are you confused about? just post your Q and i'll try explain what i know.

Umobile :
Pro - this is the cheapest prepaid data package i can find. RM28 1 month, 500MB allowance. if exceed, speed capped (but you still can surf.). whole day usage.
Cons - coverage so-so, if not because of celcom, umobile can gulung tikar.

Digi:
Pro - RM38 forgot how much is the allowance, but if exceed, speed capped. Coverage in KL is good.
Cons - Package only valid during Day time. 7am-7pm rite? i lazy to Google. or you can take RM68 package for 3GB and whole day usage. Data Coverage is poor out of KL.

Celcom:
Pro - RM48 (celcom broadband), 1GB data allowance, speed cap if exceed. whole day usage.
Cons - Data Allowance low for the RM you paid. I personally use Unlimited Data for my main line, RM68 for 5GB allowance. (better than Digi in many aspects)

Maxis : is the most expensive and pariah data package and i wont bother write it here. (but some other users like it becoz of the coverage and speed, but caveat is, diff user diff experience.) and i'm saying this although i am a maxis ex-staff.

Tunetalk : i forgot how it is since i tried it a few years back when they first started and they dont have data package then. now i dono and dowan to try.

jenli_84
post Aug 29 2011, 12:11 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(suicai99 @ Aug 29 2011, 11:59 AM)
well for me i try not to use physical buttons. any moving parts are bound to fail after wear and tear - the most famous is the home button bcoz thats the most used button on ipad/iphone/ipod touch.

i set "double tap on status bar" for USSD, "left to right swipe" for a single home press and "tap and hold status bar" for home button double press. with that, i hardly use the home button unless if i'm in apps that couldnt show the status bar.
dont forget to turn your Data Roaming to ON..

what are you confused about? just post your Q and i'll try explain what i know.

Umobile :
Pro - this is the cheapest prepaid data package i can find. RM28 1 month, 500MB allowance. if exceed, speed capped (but you still can surf.). whole day usage.
Cons - coverage so-so, if not because of celcom, umobile can gulung tikar.

Digi:
Pro - RM38 forgot how much is the allowance, but if exceed, speed capped. Coverage in KL is good.
Cons - Package only valid during Day time. 7am-7pm rite? i lazy to Google. or you can take RM68 package for 3GB and whole day usage. Data Coverage is poor out of KL.

Celcom:
Pro - RM48 (celcom broadband), 1GB data allowance, speed cap if exceed. whole day usage.
Cons - Data Allowance low for the RM you paid. I personally use Unlimited Data for my main line, RM68 for 5GB allowance. (better than Digi in many aspects)

Maxis : is the most expensive and pariah data package and i wont bother write it here.  (but some other users like it becoz of the coverage and speed, but caveat is, diff user diff experience.) and i'm saying this although i am a maxis ex-staff.

Tunetalk : i forgot how it is since i tried it a few years back when they first started and they dont have data package then. now i dono and dowan to try.
why ppl is saying umobile is unlimited internet access....and u mention is 500mb allowance? sorry..i'm noob in all this
ddr3
post Aug 29 2011, 05:46 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Aug 29 2011, 12:11 PM)
why ppl is saying umobile is unlimited internet access....and u mention is 500mb allowance? sorry..i'm noob in all this
unlimited internet access means that u can surf as long as u like, nt like sum operator after exceed the QUOTA, u need to topup to continue surfing the net...500MB allowance is the QUOTA, b4 u reach 500 MB, the speed is very very fast but after that u will b throttled and ur speed bcom slower bt still u can surt d net.....
awiekupo
post Aug 29 2011, 08:07 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

Do we need to turn on Data Roaming? I thought it's only when u traveling oversea?
SUSsuicai99
post Aug 29 2011, 10:45 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Aug 29 2011, 08:07 PM)
Do we need to turn on Data Roaming? I thought it's only when u traveling oversea?
roaming allows users of operator A to tap onto operator B's network provided they have agreement to allow shared network. In this case, umobile have a contract with celcom to use celcom's network wherever umobile is unable to build their tower. Of course umobile would have to pay to celcom for using their networks... Sorta like rental lah.

Back to your question, if you read the instruction manual that comes with umobile simpack, you'll find one sentence that tells you to switch it on so your device will tap to available celcom's 3g network if umobile doesnt have 3g at that location. For me, so far so good. If i'm going overseas, i only use wifi la... Wat for switch on mobile data?
awiekupo
post Aug 29 2011, 10:55 PM

Lucky to be coming home again..
1,481 posts

cool.. so that's how it works.. thx for the tips bro! smile.gif
bob_afdlin
post Aug 31 2011, 08:29 PM

159 posts

I just took maxis..which is rm70 for 3.5gb..

I'm really satisfy with the speed and coverage!!!

Thumbs up!!!
yunjaeLOVE602
post Aug 31 2011, 08:42 PM

I use maxis prepaid as my home and college got wifi. So i just topup when i need to be away from home and college smile.gif
JY.
post Sep 27 2011, 08:51 AM

1,630 posts

Guys, i just got my maxis prepaid data. Been using it for few days, works perfectly until yesterday, my 3G symbol disappeared and my ipad now cant go online, since yesterday night till now, any idea what went wrong? when i try safari, it says could not activate cellular data.
SUSsuicai99
post Sep 27 2011, 01:11 PM

43 posts

Package sudah habis?
lansi_shao
post Sep 27 2011, 01:58 PM

25 posts

if i use sim card in ipad, can i take out the sim card to use in another phone?
because the ipad's sim card have been cut before
SUSsuicai99
post Sep 27 2011, 03:51 PM

43 posts

plug it back into the original sim frame, cellophane tape.

or you can buy microsim adapter at most phone shops, LYN garage or mudah. RM15 for 2 i think.
JY.
post Sep 27 2011, 06:46 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(suicai99 @ Sep 27 2011, 01:11 PM)
Package sudah habis?
Nope, still active. Problem solved by restarting the ipad.
saadi33
post Sep 27 2011, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(JY. @ Sep 27 2011, 08:51 AM)
Guys, i just got my maxis prepaid data. Been using it for few days, works perfectly until yesterday, my 3G symbol disappeared and my ipad now cant go online, since yesterday night till now, any idea what went wrong? when i try safari, it says could not activate cellular data.
I do experience it.restart the ipad.
If ur package exceed, u will automatically link to mypadlaunch.
Nicole Tan
post Sep 27 2011, 11:13 PM

39 posts

I am using DIGI Unlimited plan
ding_dong
post Sep 29 2011, 03:56 PM

44 posts

Umobile pakage rm28 is still da best for me
They dont cap my speed after i exceed...dont know why
Speed maintain around 2mbps

34 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top