Samsung Galaxy TAB Official Thread V2, Best and most portable 7" Android tablet

tanvicious
post Jun 11 2011, 10:36 AM

20 posts

Guys....

Just got my Tab recently....awesome experience....
I share my experience in my new blog....not a commercial blog...just me sharing my tab experience...

Btw i noticed there is gathering this evening...is it still on? how do i join ?

tanvicious
post Jun 11 2011, 11:47 AM

20 posts

Antonio

I just got my GT for a bargain...brand new in plastic still (in the box with plastic wrap lor

But the guy make it clear, this is not from AD. If i want from AD he also got but with additional RM 200. I just refused.
Different AD and this cheaper version would be the AD come with 2 years warranty, this cheaper version with one year and need to go back to his shop.

I made a conscious judgement. I take a risk to save a bit, for i am sure i dont need the warranty anyway (i never had same phone for more than 2 years...at average only about 6 months per phone)

But i am lucky, the guy who sell the GT to me is a honest guy. I know out there many sales people con us saying this has 2 years warranty etc. So if you are those kind who need 2 years warranty then be careful...If you dont really mind about it, find the cheaper one and the difference can be invested on good Bluetooth Headset.....

By the way, mine was intended for romanian market i think as the preloaded language when you first start up was in this alien language....hahaha....luckily i just know how to figure things out despite first time using android....

Added on June 11, 2011, 11:50 amGuys...this is old school question....i should have checked every posting and i might get the answer....but 87 pages in this forum plus 100 over pages in the previous forum will take forever for me to read....so please i beg u guys...help me answer this question

I know we are not getting the Honeycomb but will we get the Gingerbread???? oh please tell me

now second question, my froyo is .jmk version...is it the latest one ? and on kies it stated i cant upgrade my firmware...i assumed that is korean way of saying this is the latest but would i be able to upgrade if anything new pop up ???? please advice....

This post has been edited by tanvicious: Jun 11 2011, 11:50 AM
tanvicious
post Jun 12 2011, 12:29 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(rashad @ Jun 11 2011, 04:30 PM)
The gingerbread is already officially out at least for Europe region, you can get the one for asia region from http://www.samfirmware.com. To update from kies maybe u need to wait couple of weeks or months, and yes when there is an update for ur region u can update using kies.

now there is a better working version of gingerbread if u like to install a custom rom and kernel such as the overcome. i suggest u get the overcome rc1 for now and wait a couple of days there will be a new update coming soon.

now if u head to the xda developers forum u will get alot of ur questions answered there even u would find a honeycomb port for the GT.

p.s: i advice u to read the first page of this thread and the extra 100+, benny thx to him has put alot of work in to it to help us all in answering our questions, i know its alot but you will learn alot and you will find the answers for questions u didn't think of yet.
Thanks a lot
tanvicious
post Jun 15 2011, 08:34 AM

20 posts

Hello All Sifu....I really need help....Please

a few weeks back, my friend and i bought Galaxy Tab. I got mine from different place than his.
The first week went just fine, we both are happy with it. However soon after his Tab got haywired ....i dont know why....First he couldnt get android, then the system keep crashing..etc

So he sent the unit to the shop he originally bought, i suppose they help him to hard reset the unit and it seem fine at a time.

A day after it started again and becoming more severe...excessive force close....and end up to he cant even load his dialer. And the ultimatum yesterday ....well the phone reboot itself and freeze at logo.....He went to the shop but the salesmen dont know what to do and wanted to send it back to factory.....

Before he do that, we decided that we should give it one last try on our own.....So this is what i did and exactly this...

a) The phone freeze at boot (Galaxy Tab logo)
b) Turn it off by pressing the power button for several second...
c) Let it rest a few second
d) Press both volume up and power button for it to go to recovery mode.
e) Indeed it went to recovery mode but got stock here.

a massage appear which should be the beginning of the recovery mode "Update media, please wait" But it got stuck there whole night. I tried it several time and nothing change. It just stuck there. It doesnt goes to 4 option. The writing is at the bottom right, in yellow

So please Sir....really help us....Please advice what should we do

Take note...

a) We didnt root our phone before. We dont feel the need
b) However on his GT, papago was installed by the salesmen. I wonder would that mean that the unit has been root ???
c) I dont know whether rooting would solve the problem. if yes , i would really appreciate if you can give us advice on how exactly to do this.

Looking forward to your reply

tanvicious
post Jun 15 2011, 09:36 AM

20 posts

Thank you sir. Will read through

But i need your opinion. Can i do it this way

A) Go to download mode (i still able to do this)
b) Connect to PC with Odin 1.7 . I have installed this
c) I donwloaded latest version 2.3.3 from samfirmware (this is gingerbread is it ??? )
d) and flash (i dont know whether this is the right term) using odin.

Please advice

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 15 2011, 10:24 AM)
Rooting will never cause such issues. Papago install does not need root.
It is obvious internal SD card is corrupted causing boot failure
Refer page 1 on Rom flashing how to revive the tab. Go to download mode and flash rotohammer jme to revive it. Make sure select pit n repartition. You will lose all your 3rd part apps, data, setting etc. Basically you will get a new tab in factory state
tanvicious
post Jun 15 2011, 09:39 AM

20 posts

Thank you. Thank God i asked first.

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 15 2011, 10:37 AM)
Do not flash any samfirmware on bricked tab. Never never do it
Follow my recommendation

Added on June 15, 2011, 9:47 amSir

Really sorry...i am newbie. I just need to ask. Hope you dont mind

What is the different between samfirmware and rotohamer.jme ? Can you explain.

QUOTE(tanvicious @ Jun 15 2011, 10:39 AM)
Thank you. Thank God i asked first.

Added on June 15, 2011, 9:49 amActually i am asking this while downloading the rotohammer.

Another question would be, say i finished flashing rotohammer to my tab succesfully...can i after that flash it with samfirmware 2.3 ? would it effect anything ?

I am using odin 1.7

Added on June 15, 2011, 10:10 amanother quick one Benny sir...

From the read...i learned that JMI is the newer better version than JME. Yes?

In the link to download...there is 2 files...JMI full and JMI upgrade...which one ??? or both....

sorry if i annoyed you...really sorry sir

Added on June 15, 2011, 10:20 amBenny Sir...Just read your blog....ok...will try that first.....Thank you

This post has been edited by tanvicious: Jun 15 2011, 10:20 AM
tanvicious
post Jun 15 2011, 10:32 AM

20 posts

I officially owe you a very nice lunch/dinner meal.....BB area....let me know when sir....

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 15 2011, 11:26 AM)
jmi also can but i remember jmi don't have the phone modem file. If you choose jmi you need to add in a sepearate modem file , choose jmf. The link to jmf modem in page 1 too. Flash jmi n jmf modem sametime
After you flash jme or jmi and tab revive you can flash another Rom you need
Precautionary step before flashing any other Rom.do check and patch botloader see page 1 on such steps or refer my blog on this subject
Samfirmware are official builds of the various roms. You can flash such but make sure your bootloader is unlock or you will brick your tab
tanvicious
post Jun 15 2011, 01:00 PM

20 posts

Earlier i post about the problem i had....the i flashed it with rotterhammer JMI version...
now i have one problem...the GT reboot itself every a few second....turn on , turn off, turn on, turn off like a sick joke....

Please help....

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jun 15 2011, 01:30 PM)
I came from restock v3 then to OC 3.0.1. My Maxis broadband SIM was detected but the wrong APN setup was auto-created. I am guessing MY locale is detected by the ROM.
tanvicious
post Jun 27 2011, 11:09 AM

20 posts

MIne having problem last week...dont know why
now ok...location perhaps...

Btw need to ask...anyone manage to upgrade to 2.3 via kies ? mine is super duper standard...no plan for rooting (i rooted my friends almost brick SGT with help from Benny successfully...but intent to keep mine standard...) mine shows at kies "This version of the device can not be updated" is it korean way of saying no upgrade available for me ?

my current firmware is JMK...any advice ( my unit is AP from ROmania....hahahhaa)

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jun 27 2011, 04:30 AM)
anyone having maxis 3g down time now ???
my phone seem like no 3g/edge or any internet connection now .....
tanvicious
post Jun 27 2011, 11:40 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(pianz_xray @ Jun 27 2011, 12:36 PM)
try restart your tab. it will ok -from my experience la.
sometime i also kena like that.
I tried this...press power button a few sec...till a menu pop up...choose deactivate data network...repeat again and now activate the network...
it work well for me
tanvicious
post Jun 27 2011, 04:12 PM

20 posts

Guys

Wonder why some of you already got the the update whilst mine still showing This version of the device can not be updated....why la???
aiyaaa

QUOTE(SinnerBuyer @ Jun 27 2011, 04:50 PM)
hi epul,

may i know why?

i looking forward for digi smartplan coz i dun have broadband/internet connection at home. so this one will be my solely internet connection.

does my need justifies the 'string attached'  biggrin.gif
tanvicious
post Jun 28 2011, 10:07 AM

20 posts

No wonder la...mine is romanian AP set...
One quick question....any way i can change this ? make it malaysiannnn Any advice other than manually flashing it from firmware i can download from samfirmware ?

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 28 2011, 09:39 AM)
kies is region specific. i mention many times already. u want kies fully functionsl in updating buy local msian set

0.0500sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:01 AM