Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V16, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

kmrdeva
post May 5 2011, 09:59 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ May 5 2011, 09:53 AM)
Not possible?... cry.gif  cry.gif

Office no WiFi... my laptop has to connect to through LAN cable to surf...

Thought got way if I connect my USB cable to my laptop...maybe some sort of method/software to connect  sad.gif

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  Any suggestions?? Damn bored without WiFi/Internet for my phone  whistling.gif
OK, I thought of a way, but have never tested it before since I have data plan on my phone and also wifi in my office.

1. Connect laptop to internet via LAN (wired network)
2. Set up Internet Connection Sharing on your laptop to share Internet out via the laptop's WIFI
3. Connect phone to laptop's WIFI (adhoc connection, methinks)
4. Surf away..
kmrdeva
post May 5 2011, 04:04 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ May 5 2011, 11:32 AM)
Hey guys, what are you configurations on the GB ROMs that you've tried and which do you think is the best currently (including Kernel and Modem)?
I am happy with stock JVB for now. Rooted and lagfixed (ext4) via CF-Root 3.1 kernel. Am still looking around for a custom rom that fits my taste..
kmrdeva
post May 5 2011, 04:26 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ May 5 2011, 04:13 PM)
I'm still holding on to Froyo as I've tried stock JVB with CF Root, but can't defeat the smoothness of Froyo for me. Not sure why.
With ext4 conversion of the filesystem, for me, JVB GB ROM smokes all other stock Froyo ROMs.. smile.gif So I guess everyone's mileage varies..

Added on May 5, 2011, 4:27 pm
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ May 5 2011, 04:22 PM)
yup..there's still bug (eg, inaccuracy of gps) but not tht obvious and i can bear with it
highly recommended for those who wanna get a new phone (read system) for urself  rclxms.gif
Bro, does native MKV/AVI video playback work now on CM7? How about 720p video recording? These 2 things are kinda important to me. Battery life ok and no lags too?

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: May 5 2011, 04:31 PM
kmrdeva
post May 5 2011, 05:03 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ May 5 2011, 04:53 PM)
- just played chuck (.avi) with subtitle using moboplayer.. everythings great
- dont have mkv files so cant test it for u
- 720p recording.. not sure about the resolution..just got got "high" setting recording in it
- im using it in extensive way today.. but imo the batt isnt drain like crazy (some even reported the batt life is improved greatly in this version)
- lags? not at all!  rclxms.gif
MoboPlayer supports software decoding and also hardware decoding (e.g. like stock video player) of certain video format. I think under MoboPlayer's settings you can set the decoding mode for specific video formats. Hmm, maybe I should try the new 01/May release of CM7 smile.gif

After you record the 'high' video, can you try to find it in MoboPlayer? If 720p, the video thumbnail will have a HD label on it.

Thanks for the feedback.
kmrdeva
post May 5 2011, 05:32 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ May 5 2011, 05:09 PM)
just tried.. no HD label can be seen.. mby not as u hope smile.gif
Damn.. stock JVB then for me.. until I see something more interesting on the horizon. smile.gif
kmrdeva
post May 6 2011, 06:16 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ May 6 2011, 06:01 PM)
New GB ROM is out!
Really? Which version? Newer than JVB? I don't see anything announced on Samfirmware's twitter timeline.
kmrdeva
post May 6 2011, 06:21 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ May 6 2011, 06:19 PM)
It's JVH, yes.
Yay, something to flash after 2 weeks running stock JVB smile.gif

Must wait for root package and CF-Root kernel with ext4.
kmrdeva
post May 8 2011, 10:13 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Fries @ May 8 2011, 10:01 AM)
root explorer can't be used on gb? mine always fc
Works fine for me.
kmrdeva
post May 9 2011, 05:04 PM

4,790 posts

Trying MIUI rom now.. Waaah, everything is so different than CM7, stock, and all the current custom ROMs I've tried.. Very iOS-ish.. Not sure if I like it or not, yet.
kmrdeva
post May 10 2011, 12:02 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(muman7 @ May 9 2011, 11:57 PM)
I'm on deodoxed JVB and want to remain on it but it's a bit slow now...
Any bro can point me to a lagfix or other method to speed it up? Thanks
CF-Root kernel 3.1 for JVB with ext4 app addon to convert filesystem to ext4 (from rfs).

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...359&postcount=6

and

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...371&postcount=7
kmrdeva
post May 10 2011, 10:17 AM

4,790 posts

Have you all noticed that if you take the current MIUI 2.3.4 MGv1 link 'http://www.modroms.co.uk/miui/MIUI-MGv1.zip' and change it to 'http://www.modroms.co.uk/miui/MIUI-MGv2.zip', there actually is a file to download. I wonder why the info for this so-called v2 is not posted on the MIUI thread @ xda-developers.
kmrdeva
post May 10 2011, 02:29 PM

4,790 posts

Soft bricked my phone twice yesterday, lost all my data in the internal SD (lucky I had a backup on PC) and all around many adventures moving back and forth between ROMs (JVB -> EZBase Froyo -> MIUI -> EZBase Froyo -> CM7) but am finally using CM7 with the latest nightly.

Barring lack of smooth MKV playback (AVIs play fine with MoboPlayer), it does look like CM7 is stable and mature enough to be used as a daily driver. Speedy beast this AOSP rom - practically no lags at all.

Had MIUI for about 4 hours on my phone - it was a beautiful looking ROM but I didn't like the iOS-ness feel of the whole UI. It wasn't super smooth too, did notice some minor lags here and there. Plain old CM7 feels way better, in my experience.
kmrdeva
post May 10 2011, 03:44 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ May 10 2011, 03:17 PM)
1) yes, it's true. CM7 doesn't lag at all. I know this very well. but codec support is what makes me jump back to Samsung rom. I want to be able to brag to my friends that I don't need to convert any of my videos to be played in my phone.
2) as I thought, there are still lags in MIUI.
Ya, still enjoying the lagless CM7 ha ha. Codec support not critical to me ever since I dumped my iPad and got myself a Galaxy Tab, a much better MKV/AVI/RMVB/WMV/FLV/MP4 player gadget than the SGS can ever hope to be.

Yep, MIUI still has lags, sadly. Good thing I didn't like its UI.

kmrdeva
post May 10 2011, 05:49 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 10 2011, 05:09 PM)
Don't try with contacts .  Try to access by pressing the "call" button and then press "logs" or "favourites " and see if it lags.
Scrolling through the call logs has always lagged for me since Eclair days, no different in latest Gingerbread JVH stock rom. It doesn't lag in CM7 rom for me, but then again, I had lost all my entries when I moved to CM7, currently only 10 entries, so no jerkiness or lagginess yet.
kmrdeva
post May 10 2011, 06:27 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ May 10 2011, 06:14 PM)
guys...sorry if this question has been asked many times before...long time no enter here already

is the official gingerbread update for malaysia out already? my friend told me no, so just to confirm
Your friend is correct.
kmrdeva
post May 10 2011, 10:14 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ May 10 2011, 09:31 PM)
guys..anyone can recommend any kernel to use with cm7..right now i'm using stock kernel that came with nightly cm7..
I see a number of kernels for CM7, not sure which is good but judging from user feedback, the bilboa one seems to be getting more positive comments.

glitch = http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1041532
platypus = http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1053304
bilboa1 = http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=979206

Have not tried them yet, still learning the ropes with CM7. The settings page alone has so many options to set/unset and so far since there is no lag, I am happy to stick to whichever kernel is active in the latest nightly.

Added on May 10, 2011, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(saya_zharif @ May 10 2011, 08:50 PM)
can go download mode, but after finish flashing JVs8 wont hidup d, after boot animation str8 die d, now im on JVH, so pelik, can flash JVH but cannot jvs8, sien -.- dunno y lah. jvh not so many kernel, cannot ext4 oso, tried fugu, followed all instructions, stuck at bootscreen, tried GTO, dun have ext4 -.-
Maybe the gingerbread bootloader buat kacau for you. From JVH, I went down to Froyo bootloader before I tried MIUI and CM7 by flashing to EZBASE Froyo ROM first using EZODIN utility.

EZbase-PDA-XWJS3.tar.md5
EZbase-PHONE-XXJVE.tar.md5
EZbase-CSC-XXJV1.tar.md5

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=12068557

Added on May 10, 2011, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 10 2011, 10:04 PM)
How is the battery life with cm7.  I did read about very poor battery life on cm7.  Is that fixed yet?
Slightly worse than stock JVB with CF-Root kernel, I think. Usually with my 2700mAh battery, my phone on that stock ROM would have about 50-60 percent of juice left at 10pm. With CM7, I had about 40+ percent left when I got home just now.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: May 10 2011, 10:22 PM
kmrdeva
post May 11 2011, 12:56 AM

4,790 posts

Bloody wow.. Just watched the last part of today's Google I/O event livestream. Each and every of the 5000 developers attending the event will get a Samsung Honeycomb tablet! Not sure if it's the redesigned 8.9 or 10.1 model.. Samsung and Google way to go!!
kmrdeva
post May 11 2011, 01:51 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 11 2011, 01:41 AM)
Talks about GB, is there an AOSP ROM for our phone?

I want to have the feel like on Nexus S, so smoooooooooooth.
CM7 = AOSP, no?

kmrdeva
post May 11 2011, 02:08 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 11 2011, 01:54 AM)
On earlier threads, I saw comments on CM7 being unstable or something?

Is it stable already? Can we get something like Nexus S experience?  drool.gif
CM7 is as plain android as I can see. Seems stable enough. Using it now. What do you mean Nexus S experience? Sorry, have never played with or owned a Nexus S.

0.0347sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:52 PM