i don't know if my advise holds any weight but here's my 2 cents worth based on my readings for the last page or so.
dibs vs non-dibs.
it's really a customed thingy for each individual. some have higher capital to invest, some don't. some might have standby surplus cash to pump into the loan, some don't. so there's no really clear cut answer to this question. but being all equal, i would assume non-dibs will result in savings. firstly, it is absolutely true that purchasers are being billed based on stages of completion (or commencement depending on the description of schedule H in the SPA). if under ministry of housing, it should follow the conventional billing based on completion of:
a) 10% upon SPA
b) 10% upon completion of foundation (for the building)
c) 15% upon completion of structural frame of your unit (not building)
d) 10% upon completion of the walls to your unit with doow & window frames
e) 10% upon completion of the M&E and roofing to your unit
f) 10% upon completion of internal and external wall finishes
g) 5% upon completion of sewerage connection to the project
h) 5% upon completion of infrastructural works
i) 5% upon completion of drainage to the project
j) 12.5% upon vacant possesion
k) 2.5% + 5% upon VP but to be held under stakeholder
for more information, you can try this:
http://www.hba.org.my/laws/housing_reg/200...H/schH-2007.htmor you can try googling SPA schedule H.
a few notable points for calculation of the interest. the interest chargeable will only hit the maximum upon VP. BUT at the same time, when VP, you can theoretically start leasing your unit or you may move into your unit liao.
so the highest chargeable limit of the loan prior to getting your keys will be capped at 70% of your purchase price (bcos you pay the first 10% and the last 20% coincides with handing over date).
and the 70% is distributed over a period of approximately 3 years and thus interest chargeable will be minimal. fyi, the date of the first billing would be quite some time from now because foundation could possibly take a few months (some even >6months). so interest chargable would only be 10% of your loan amount. and from 1st billing to 2nd, there is also a big gap in duration because developer needs to build to at least level 8 to start billing level 8 purchaser. again, to build 8 floors would take minimum 4 months (based on 2 levels per month). so you may potentially be looking at serving interest upto 20% of your loan amount in about a years time. let's not forget, some may have capital reserve and if he/she wishes to dump in capital repayment of about rm25k, they will be able to ofset a lot of interest. think there's a lot of investor who have this amount as reserve anyway. guess this pretty much gives you an idea of the amount of interest involve for your calculation assumption.
stamp duty waiver
as far as i know, this is applicable for first purchase and price of property below RM250k only (but i think this amount has been revised to rm350k). the RM220k/RM250k/RM280k limit thing is meant for 1st time purchaser who draw a salary of rm2.5k and below to qualify for 100% loan. this is the government's my 1st home scheme. i think most will be more interested in the stamp duty 50% waiver scheme. you can try
http://imdavidlee.com/50-stamp-duty-waiver...ouse-purchased/ for more information. better yet, check with LHDN.
good luck guys.
Hi brother, can you please clarify what is "structural frame of the unit"? Sorry, tak faham....