4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v12, Let's Blu-ray :D

fadthil
post Apr 20 2011, 11:06 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 19 2011, 03:12 PM)
i started collect VCR when i was age13. i went to restaurant washed dishes every week to earned RM25 for 2 VCR. I got over 500 VCR & i throwed all away last year when i really got no space to keep it, besides, my VCR player gone.
Waah!! You must be filthy rich to own over 500 "VCRs"!!!?! hahaha.... bro, i know what u meant... "VHS" aka video tapes; just joking again... laugh.gif

Well, I started collecting movies on VHS but almost all were Jack Sparrows! They were so chunky and get degraded after a few playbacks - no complaints though knowing the price I paid for these types of quality at Petaling St.! But when I read about DVD format going to be introduced in the market & being the more superior in AV than VHS & VCD, I quickly jumped into the bandwagon. My first DVD player bought was a Panasonic back in 1998 for RM1,950!!?! doh.gif And the poison soon crept into me where I bought 1 DVD title per day the first week I owned the player! tongue.gif

At that time R1 discs cost around RM105 - RM130 (depending title/studio) bought at retailers in Sg Wang Plaza.... & R3 discs for RM89 - 99 (fixed price from Speedy's MovieMagic). These are some of the collection still lying around in boxes collecting dusts, fungus maybe.... biggrin.gif

I started collecting Blu-ray when the hi-def format war ended early 2008... my first 2 titles being The Rock & Hellboy bought @ Amazon.com and my first BD player was a PS3 40Gb; the rest are history... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Apr 20 2011, 11:07 AM
fadthil
post Apr 20 2011, 01:31 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Anyone read or heard any news that Scream, Scream 2 & Scream 3 will be released as a trilogy or in a boxset.... or will they initiate that by the time Scream 4 hits out on BD later this year? hmm.gif
fadthil
post Apr 20 2011, 02:44 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(kayroll @ Apr 20 2011, 01:34 PM)
Already released in UK. Scream Trilogy but region b lock. biggrin.gif

http://uk.blu-ray.com/movies/Scream-Trilogy-Blu-ray/22387/
oops, i mean region A... sorry to mention i never fond of UK's nippled-bds & its thick casing, let alone region-locked hassle... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Apr 20 2011, 02:45 PM
fadthil
post Apr 20 2011, 03:03 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 20 2011, 02:35 PM)
today might be your lucky day cause AMAZON CANADA is having 1 day sale for the SCREAM FRANCHISE. go to AMZON CANADA after 3.00pm to check it out.
urmm... this one released by Alliance; not by the official studio.... still prefer original studio (Miramax / Dimension Films) to buy from irregardless of price factor. Heard it is also bare-bones BD25 with 1080i video shakehead.gif

Added on April 20, 2011, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 20 2011, 03:02 PM)
Went BD won de HD war.. Started buyin frm amz.com n tower .. 1st ttl was 5th Element n didnt hv my ps3 yet even..
Oh yes, Tower! haha.... managed to buy only 1 title from there (Dark City) before they stop sending to M'sia... doh.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Apr 20 2011, 03:09 PM
fadthil
post Apr 20 2011, 03:57 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 20 2011, 03:25 PM)
do not overestimate the big studio release. FROM DUSK TILL DAWN US Dimension release is far worse than my ALLIANCE release. icon_rolleyes.gif
True... but i'd rather be pissed-off to under-par release by big studios (if there's any...) and willing to wait for it to be remastered or improved rather than buying cheap from an unknown studio releasing half-baked 'on-behalf' of big studio release; knowing it can't improve itself because they didn't own it in the first place.... hehe... whistling.gif

This is a similar case where: Will you buy Speedy or Berjaya HVN blu-ray version just for the cheaper price? To each their own... (that is; if their price is cheaper then haha tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by fadthil: Apr 20 2011, 03:59 PM
fadthil
post Apr 20 2011, 05:21 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 20 2011, 05:13 PM)
hey brother, ALLIANCE is much more better than speedy lah
laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
fadthil
post Apr 22 2011, 11:32 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(bobtahar @ Apr 22 2011, 05:05 PM)
Agree on the minority report but the grains still acceptable... only I wish it would be shinning as I Robot...

I Robot is damn beautiful...
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 22 2011, 06:10 PM)
I Robot beautiful? It's gorgeous alright, reference material..i loved every frame of the film. Grain wasn't a main concern. There are more to discuss
QUOTE(Pok Leh @ Apr 22 2011, 08:34 PM)
I Robot, beautiful?

that, I have to agree..really nice pic quality.. thumbup.gif
I, Robot should be one of 'the' video reference material for all 'film-based' feature film converted to hi-def format aka blu-ray... using an emulsion-based material shouldn't be an excuse for a bad presentation of a certain 'effect' on a hi-def format transfer especially on some older titles... whistling.gif

Added on April 22, 2011, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 22 2011, 09:07 PM)
Guys,

I have a question. It may sound rather unwise.Does the digital copy provided with the Blu-ray pack any use for any of you? Does it impose illegal issue if it were to be sold separately? Taking into consideration many iPhone users are actually having the digital copy in their devices. Does it goes as legal since it uses iTunes account to transfer and i understand most of the iPhone's are "JB" version?

I find the Digital Copy is rather shrewd move for those having high end mobile devices and not for those whose having low tech phones? What's the major impact on legalizing digital copies and it could lead to conspiracy of piracy?
For me, it doesn't have any use eventhough I do owned a few 'types' of Apple products. Out of 20 digital copies, maybe I've only transferred no more that 1 digital copy movie to my iPhone... and that's only because to test it out the first time. I think a blu-ray / dvd combo makes more sense to me if only they don't hike up the price so much compared to a non-combo set! nod.gif For the legal part, I'll let others to comment... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Apr 22 2011, 11:43 PM
fadthil
post Apr 24 2011, 09:41 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Ares187 @ Apr 24 2011, 01:49 AM)
Four Sylvester Stallone Films Coming to Blu-ray

Warner Home Video have revealed that they will release on Blu-ray four Sylvester Stallone films: Cobra (George P. Cosmatos, 1986), Demolition Man (Marco Brambilla, 1993), The Specialist (Luis Llosa, 1994), and Assassins (Richard Donner, 1995). At the moment, it is unclear what supplemental features will be offered on these releases. Street date is August 16th.
Assassins thumbup.gif & The Specialist drool.gif for me... Demo Man only if it's cheap enuff. Cobra.. i dont fancy dis Sly's flick. How about Judge Dredd & Daylight; i dont mind those haha...
fadthil
post Apr 25 2011, 07:33 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Vivato @ Apr 25 2011, 07:29 PM)
nope, bought a few bd from there before.

Its how they display the bd kinda funny.
They display the movies with self printed empty bd case.
You need to ask for the movie at the counter or present the (empty) bd case.

I say its an efficient way to prevent theft.
only that shop have this style of shopping
Prevent theft or to prevent 'goods' being confiscated by authorities during raid.... tongue.gif
fadthil
post Apr 26 2011, 01:24 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Watched Scre4m yesterday... luv the flick, characters old & new, and the dark humor; reminds me of the 1st instalment 15 years ago... wow! though storyline & scare are quite cliché. cant wait for it 2 hit bd via a quadrilogy boxset... rclxms.gif
fadthil
post Apr 27 2011, 01:42 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Apr 27 2011, 11:11 AM)
i have found a way to put a "bra" on the uk nipples,
will show u guys when my project completed.
QUOTE(fx20 @ Apr 27 2011, 11:38 AM)
AMZ UK - 70 pound, released on 30/9/2011
AMZ US - $90, released on Malaysia Day, 16/9/2011

Look like UK(RM345) is more expensive than US one (RM270) and released later as well. I will try amazon.
pay more u get nipple... pay less get bra?? laugh.gif
fadthil
post Apr 28 2011, 08:54 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

vah-vah, u guys so active this couple of months... boxsetlah, steelbook-lah, criterionlah... very well-off. me no buy for months oso eat maggi and/or grass... laugh.gif
fadthil
post Apr 28 2011, 10:14 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

my problem is... i bought like so many especially during last year's big haul black friday but none of which are opened yet! i even hv 4 titles unopened since 2009 black friday! doh.gif
fadthil
post Apr 29 2011, 01:25 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 28 2011, 10:52 PM)
We are always ready to help you open it , if you require tongue.gif. That's 2 years stuff bro.
You really have to find time to open them
QUOTE(wiNd @ Apr 28 2011, 10:55 PM)
haha, i guess most ppl buy becos the title its cheap, not becos they really like the movie very much. thats why many unopen BDs...tongue.gif
well there r some truth in dat and some r not... most of the titles bought r favourite of mine but buying first when price was dirt cheap and only watch when i hv proper gears to really enjoy hi-def all out! i hv friends who bought cheap reg.1 dvds years ago and only bought a dvd player few years back... dats worst! doh.gif
fadthil
post Apr 30 2011, 02:45 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

CWF Blu-ray huh... haha, just saw dat link.. funny how i knew the proprietor!! for those who do not know or heard of him; he's been in the business a long time since early 2000 but then was selling e-hem dvds at sg wang plaza & later low yat plaza (dat sounds familiar... tongue.gif ).

I havent seen him for years but later he opened a shop at cineleisure (now known as e@curve) selling ori-imported hd-dvds & bds when the hi-def war was at the beginning stage. but i do agree he sold those at ridiculous prices... doh.gif but he would hv all the up-to-the week brand new releases! he stopped selling hd-dvd when the war was over but he closed shop at cineleisure 2 years ago & opened somewhere in kota d'sara... im not sure. never heard of since... and now this! just to share... biggrin.gif

nice & friendly chap by the way... nod.gif

This post has been edited by fadthil: Apr 30 2011, 02:48 AM
fadthil
post Apr 30 2011, 10:06 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 30 2011, 03:14 AM)
Sounds familiar to me, Kelvin ..was he some around the corner lot of Lowyat 3rd floor / 2nd (can't recall)?
Wat a small world eh..he is a nice chap..but in terms of opening BD at the prices stated, not a leisure.
yup... his shop also sells pioneer players & some audio-pro speakers then. whenever i dropped by at his cineleisure outlet i always saw some elderly taukeh or some rich datoks buying like 5-10 bds or hd-dvds at one go... so dat explains the prices where he does hv his own type of regular 'well-off' customers... smile.gif
fadthil
post May 1 2011, 01:53 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 30 2011, 05:58 PM)
One of my Amazon US shipment has been auto upgrade to expedited via i-parcel !!! Hmmm... shall I smile or cry?!?  shakehead.gif
iParcel is the 1st useless product/service provider bearing the "i" after iMac, iPod, iPhone & iPad... laugh.gif
fadthil
post May 1 2011, 05:02 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 1 2011, 12:11 PM)
The CWF promotion price is out! with certain titles discount RM20 on it! HAHAHA!!! ..... CWF definitely a "black shop"... tongue.gif

are you being racist... laugh.gif

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ May 1 2011, 03:53 PM)
Precious movie time on weekend. Luck you  blush.gif

for a moment i thought u were cursing... tongue.gif

fadthil
post May 1 2011, 06:08 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ May 1 2011, 05:49 PM)
Weekends on standby for any major issues...or need to be in the office..on the other note..i hate to work on weekends !
well, who does... especially when it's long weekend, right... rclxub.gif
fadthil
post May 3 2011, 10:32 AM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

Wow... Scream, Scream 2 & Scream 3 all go for USD9.49 each!! thumbup.gif if only all of 'em are in a boxset, can save on per item cost... doh.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:13 PM