Income Tax Issues

andrekua
post Apr 19 2009, 06:44 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(kaffra @ Apr 19 2009, 04:35 PM)
Just got married last year and now first time filing under married category.

If my wife is earning below 2500, should i submit mine and hers together?

what areas can i claim rebate for spouse?

Thank you
If Im not mistaken, only if your wife isnt working then only can claim rebate. If working, end of story.
andrekua
post Aug 10 2010, 12:20 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I think IRB very desperate for money.

I received a letter from them, demanding me to pay them 2010 bonus income tax. I was like wtf, this year dunno got bonus or not and amount also unsure, you want me to pay what!!

Apparently a few in my company also get it. We are some sort of partnership among relatives, therefore low salary but compensate with higher bonus depending on company performance. IRB really dare to abuse their power.
andrekua
post Aug 10 2010, 06:07 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 10 2010, 03:56 PM)
Nowadays, company, sole-proprietorship, even PCB, all are paying ahead or pre-installment one.

Company every year even before new financial year begin, they need to provide forecast for their next year profit, and paying tax ahead (some sort like PCDB for individual)

With the current new system, there is little tax being paid when the assessment year ended.
I understand what you mean. For boss its okay la... But we are all employees nia... working with relatives. We are not boss.
andrekua
post Aug 10 2010, 11:25 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Aug 10 2010, 10:37 PM)
It is still the same. Pay as you earn.
Yeah, Im paying. I mean, my boss is deducting my contribution as stated. When receiving bonus, it will be deducted before being pay to us. Why IRB has to force me to pay something that I havent received?
andrekua
post Aug 11 2010, 07:06 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Cherroy,

Im just an employee. All the directors are my relatives, so I ter-use 'we' there. Right now my salary is RM3k and the norm is I pay somewhere less than RM100 if Im not mistaken. But now IRB wants me to pay RM500++ from July till Feb. Make sense to pay RM500++ for RM3k salary?
andrekua
post Aug 11 2010, 09:37 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Aug 11 2010, 09:18 AM)
maybe you have other income such as rental income
Wah lao eh...

You want me to use four letters word meh?

Which part you dont understand? 3k salary and only 3k.
andrekua
post Aug 11 2010, 10:51 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Aug 11 2010, 09:52 AM)
If you are under employment, impossible IRB ask you to pay instalment. I don't know what is the documents you received. Maybe
1. its an instalment for your arrear taxes
2. you have undisclosed income.

Since you like 4 letters word so much , you settle it yourself
Are you even helping?
I already state its for 2010 bonus. Its written in the letter. I dont know if my English is totally junk or what.
andrekua
post Sep 26 2010, 08:30 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(ajau @ Aug 27 2010, 08:45 AM)
The PCB (monthly tax you pay to IRB) is based on your monthly income. There is a table for that but I couldn't find inside IRB web site at this moment. Usually your HR has the table. If that month you earn bonus, for sure your PCB for that month will be crazy.

Let's say in Feb:
monthly salary = RM3000
Bonus 2 month = RM6000
Total gross income = RM9000

So the PCB for Feb is similar like you earn RM9000 x 12 income. However next month, March, your PCB will definitely be reduced like you earn RM3000 x 12.

That's why suddenly you need to pay huge amount when you receive bonus for that month. It doesn't matter the bonus for which year. IRB just concern you receive this amount of money in that month, so your PCB will be changed.

I know it sound crazy and unfair, but this is our IRB.

You can calculate your monthly PCB here:
http://ekl.hasil.gov.my/pcbcalc/

Sometimes, we feel it is good not to get bonus because most of the bonus we receive will go to IRB. Don't be too happy and excited when you get bonus.
Thanks for clarification... I think already settle the case. Call them to explained and they said will send me a letter again..

0.0436sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:32 PM