Enquiries/Recommendations A43SV (i7) vs N43SL, Can't decide!!!

TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 05:33 AM, updated 15y ago

234 posts

Ok so finally both of these laptops are out!

Unfortunately, there isn't a 14 inch N-Series i7 SB laptop available otherwise this wouldn't be a problem. So I call on you, help me decide!
I will be using it for gaming, for the most part.

I realize between gaming there isn't much difference between i5 and i7, but could there be a couple of months down the line?
How much difference will I see in everyday use between the i7 and the i5?
Will an A-Series with and i7 have more or less resale value than an N-Series with i5?
Besides being pretty, does the design of the N-Series have any functional uses?
Which one has an easier to open case so that I can actually clean it myself ?
What would you do?

TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 12:58 PM

234 posts

Thanks for all the replies!

The N series looks soo much better, but at the same time I know I'll be damn jealous anytime someone has an i7 if I get the N series lolol.

Damn, I'm so indecisive rclxub.gif
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 01:34 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Apr 16 2011, 02:02 PM)
well, anytime i would grab N series, unless budget is a problem...

in my 2yrs of using my N81Vp it never gave me any serious problems at all... nod.gif
Haha I'm using an acer 4736G the C2D one w/ G105M, never give me any problem at ALL.

Is the cooling of the A series really bad? I am going to be using the CoolerMaster U2 whenever I game if that helps.
I wouldn't mind getting the N series but for some reason I really want an i7 LOL.

Added on April 16, 2011, 1:36 pm
QUOTE(Riddhy @ Apr 16 2011, 10:35 AM)
n43sl really out? how much?
It's 2899 with an i5, The A43SV is the same price, but with i7

This post has been edited by ellimistx99: Apr 16 2011, 01:36 PM
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 02:22 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Apr 16 2011, 02:47 PM)
I won't say bad, but obviously n series have bstter cooling than a series...

Asus n series tend to be heavier for tne sam web hardware offered by other models. Th e extra wei th t goes to the heatsink... I ve taken out the one in my n81 and it's pretty solid... A series, on the other hand is a budget line and thus some corners will be cut so as to keep the cost lower
Ahhh ok wow, didn't know that, different heatsink. Hmm I may just get that instead then
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 02:43 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(Kyozen @ Apr 16 2011, 03:25 PM)
its better if you go try out the demo unit and feel it hands on. im kinda positive that you will prefer n series quality built
My Fren have the N53SN, I didn't like the buttons on the trackpad, and didn't really like the keyboard all that much. But yea I'll go check it out. The speakers I thought were pretty good though, and it does look a whole lot sexier
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 02:49 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(thieflord @ Apr 16 2011, 03:46 PM)
inrease only by like 2 or 3 fps..
Yea I think I'm going A-series with the i7, if I was gonna go i5 I would rather save my $$$ and get the Acer TimelineX

Added on April 16, 2011, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(astria @ Apr 16 2011, 02:47 PM)
I won't say bad, but obviously n series have bstter cooling than a series...

Asus n series tend to be heavier for tne sam web hardware offered by other models. Th e extra wei th t goes to the heatsink... I ve taken out the one in my n81 and it's pretty solid... A series, on the other hand is a budget line and thus some corners will be cut so as to keep the cost lower
Quick clarification, the heatsink is on the processor or the GPU? Because I've never had my processor overheat on a laptop, but the GPU frequently does.

This post has been edited by ellimistx99: Apr 16 2011, 04:31 PM
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 08:10 PM

234 posts

what about the HP DV4? That seems to have a much better Video card
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 08:35 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 16 2011, 09:21 PM)
Yeap, for a 14 incher, until the M14x/N43Sn comes out, its unrivaled... now the problem is the heat, and maybe the touchpad  laugh.gif
Anyone seen the real thing?  hmm.gif
Well I doubt M14x/N43SN will be in the under 3K range and have a better processor. Damn so many options... Is the dv4 available already in Malaysia? I think I'll go pyramid and go check all of them out.
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 08:40 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 16 2011, 09:37 PM)
N43Sn will be in range (in time)  laugh.gif
THe Dv4 is quite new I think, won't be easy to find  sad.gif
Awww, wow the prices on the sticky seem to be throwing me off when did the DV6-6001TX become 3300? Wow.

Someone say it's lower if no beats headphones? Crazy.
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 09:08 PM

234 posts

been looking at the 6750 in the hp dv4 ... wow...

Now have to decide between A43SV, N43SL, and HP DV4 ... and all in my budget under 3k ..... blink.gif

I only care about gaming performance and nothing else.

This post has been edited by ellimistx99: Apr 16 2011, 09:09 PM
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 10:31 PM

234 posts

OMG just checked the price list, N43SL is 2599?! I fear if I dont buy something soon I'll never end up buying a laptop haha
TSellimistx99
post Apr 16 2011, 11:35 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 16 2011, 11:44 PM)
That's sad  sad.gif

Added on April 16, 2011, 10:45 pm

The competition gets more and more intensive....
In between the 4830Tg, A43Sv, N43SL, which one would you choose?  brows.gif
If you've higher budget, then its rather straightforward - HP DV4  laugh.gif
Haha really? It's not even i7! I worry about buying HP laptops, I've never had one myself, but I can't remember them every being all that great.
TSellimistx99
post Apr 17 2011, 02:09 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 17 2011, 12:38 AM)
Yeah me too... never really heard anyone brag or boast about their HPs  hmm.gif
But now we have the HP Dm1z, Dv6 and this.. lets wait and see where this goes hehe~
Well, the GPU in the Dv4 is on par with the GT550M, so the difference is rather big compared to the GT540m in the 4830Tg, A43Sv etc. Processor has got little or nothing to do with gaming performance  nod.gif
Haha I think i'll have to play with all 3 before I drop some $$$. Really dunno which way, if the HP was i7, I would have bought it immediately.

0.0208sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:02 PM