♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 ♠ Official Thread V2, mid range phone ,released date feb 2011

MerzadNazmi
post Apr 28 2011, 08:47 PM

QUOTE(xDragonZ @ Apr 28 2011, 07:21 PM)
Same problem here . Try the third party market like 'applanet '  'neng ' 'GoMarket'
Try install this apps too not bad. : 'gingerbread keyboard '
Game : Death Worm
with the gingerbread keyboard, still can use swype a? damn loving that method! i'll sacrifice if it means getting to use swype
MerzadNazmi
post Apr 28 2011, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(sapik900906 @ Apr 28 2011, 07:31 PM)
sorry for this question... what is SOD? hehehe
i'm planning to get a SGA soon.. thanx.,
i think it means screen of death. when ur phone turns off and cannot turn on unless u take out the battery first. been having my phone for 2months. no SOD's reported! ^^ maybe just plain luck but I am still using the older factory DXKA9 baseband version. try changing to the old one guys! good luck!
MerzadNazmi
post May 2 2011, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(sapik900906 @ May 2 2011, 11:14 PM)
that mean, it ok if i getting phone now?
yeay! rclxms.gif
but don't get ur opes too high up okay. too lazy just wan to buy stuff out of box, then depend on luck la. I think any problem can be worked out if u r rajin enuff.
MerzadNazmi
post May 5 2011, 04:21 AM

QUOTE(roshen43 @ May 5 2011, 12:03 AM)
Hi guys, SGA User here since 25-04-2009

TS might wan to add this case for ace to 1st page:

SOS

Bought at wangsa walk at rm58. and the case fits very well.
oooooh!! nice man! I want one!!
MerzadNazmi
post May 5 2011, 03:16 PM

guys, currently downloading the gingerbread package xxk something. did my homework and stuff and decided, I will upgrade it tonight. I would first test out third party camera app can focus or not (people keep reporting this issue but i don't see anybody saying they tried or third party apps are a solution) pray it all goes well ^^
MerzadNazmi
post May 5 2011, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(lee82gx @ May 5 2011, 04:56 PM)
if want to scrutinize the picture, is better to transfer to laptop or pc before saying the picture out of focus. It may be the camera app purposely reduce the viewing resolution for better performance / speed.

Anyway you can notice this already in froyo, the picture review after snap picture is always blur-er than when viewed in Gallery.

hope it goes well with you (May the force be with this android).
thank you for the support, guys! ^^ alright! I have already installed the gingerbread (GB) OS. rclxm9.gif so far, everything is fine, more beautiful is the first impression. first time, the phone will come out in russian I think, so u might wanna have a little practice finding how to change the language without the help and guidance of words. =p.

camera is quite good. blurry a little bit, but to me it doesn't really stick out. I have a few pictures of my table from Froyo, and I will take pictures tommorow the same table, the same position and compare. other than that, it seems fine. I may not be able to test out the data 3G and what not (student, no money) from first day reporting, I'd say it's worth the shot to try it out.

performance wise, a little bit slow when u wake up the phone however, other functions are suprisingly faster for a speed junkie. perhaps not so much fast to other peeps. can't comment on the battery, but I will update more after a few days.

Build: Gingerbread.xxkp9
version: S5830XXKP9

For those who want to try out the beta GB OS, here's a link showing u step by baby steps how to do it
http://androidadvices.com/how-to-update-sa...xxkp9-firmware/

one thing to note, u can find a complete package link there. contained in the link is Odin 4.03. In my case, this didn't work. I had to pull USB, remove battery and reinsert. Thank God my baby didn't turn into stone. sweat.gif now, my Ace has been lucky not to experience SOD's n whatnot, but for other people who may not be lucky, I would STRICTLY ADVICE you to download Odin 4.38 downloadable from samfirmware. The flash guide also requires Odin 4.38. I just don't understand why they call it complete package n put something that could potentially fail the process and possibly brick ur phone. plus, I didn't have a backup, so it was more of a do or die situation. =p goodluck to anyone else who wants to try! thumbup.gif

Cheers!
MerzadNazmi
post May 5 2011, 09:30 PM

squeezing one more update. the texting is improved, as announced in the GB official GB changelog, however, I found out that swype is a little less user friendly now. =( I miss my old swype. u cannot double tap to select the mispelled text. anybody who found a way to correct this, do tell me. or one of the users above suggested there are xxkpb version, perhaps in that version it has already been fixed? can some one try it out?

Added on May 5, 2011, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(lisahasan @ May 5 2011, 09:29 PM)
SGA white back cover for sale.new still with the plastic at behind of the cover.currently using the black one.rm40firm.free postage.pm me.
a little bit lower biggrin.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by MerzadNazmi: May 5 2011, 09:35 PM
MerzadNazmi
post May 5 2011, 09:47 PM

alright, found out that it is the cursor issue. double tapping a word will not select the whole word, instead just put a cursor in the middle of it. =) going to have to bear it a while until the new update rolls out ^^
MerzadNazmi
post May 6 2011, 01:47 AM

QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 6 2011, 01:23 AM)
y dun u back up all ur apps n data using titanium backup free...
its work like a charm...its backup all my apps n data...
yes, i have to agree. it will all be gone. and I was also batak with the GB as if it was a new phone blush.gif

Added on May 6, 2011, 1:48 am
QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 5 2011, 10:03 PM)
It's a gingerbread feature. single tap to put the cursor, then tap the cursor to get available options.
but how to select one whole word? guess they didn't figure that one out right? if any of the samsung android testers are reading this, I hope u guys can fix this issue! TQVM!

This post has been edited by MerzadNazmi: May 6 2011, 01:48 AM
MerzadNazmi
post May 6 2011, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(Kirinochan @ May 6 2011, 01:03 PM)
Changing to gingerbread need rooting? And will it void my warranty? And anybody know any step by step tutorial to do it? Thank you  cry.gif
no need rooting.. and no need to unroot also if u've already rooted ur froyo. previously, posted a link on step by step guide to upgrade to GB. the page before I think. on the same post there is also some tips I found helpful. it's in the page before. =)

MerzadNazmi
post May 8 2011, 12:18 AM

hey all, i've got some great news to share! I think the battery is quite good now.. maybe because my phone is a clean new phone without so many apps. IDK but right now, it's running for a few days straight now. For 2 full days with around 60% left from full charge.. altho, i restate that this may be because i don't have task killer and too many widgets on the screen.. (lazy to instal, waiting for the official asian version of GB) The news about the xxkpe version is a delight but anyone can confirm the swype experience, has it been fixed? kinda liked the GB keyboard. be a shame if I had to DL the froyo keyboard just to swype better

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:20 am
QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 7 2011, 10:45 PM)
The picture I snap b4 update my ace to XXKPE
[attachmentid=2200547]

the picture after thumbup.gif
[attachmentid=2200566]
two thumbs up bro! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif nice! can u check whether u can select a whole word by double clicking it when typing a message? I would like to know that please.

This post has been edited by MerzadNazmi: May 8 2011, 12:20 AM
MerzadNazmi
post May 8 2011, 05:32 AM

QUOTE(SilenTz_1993 @ May 8 2011, 12:38 AM)
Used to be able to do that back when I was using 2.2 Froyo with Swiftkey Keyboard software.

After updating to 2.3 double tapping on the word no longer highlights the whole word =(

One of the bad things of 2.3 I guess. Or maybe there's some other functions yet to be discovered  laugh.gif

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:40 am

It is indeed there, at the first page.

Posted by stupiak07 on 15th April 2011, time : 07:56 PM

FAQ

4. How to Set Ringtone/Notification/alarm tone
Please refer to here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1213449

Oh and, it's the 4th post just incase you don't see the FAQ  smile.gif
QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 8 2011, 12:32 AM)

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:20 am

thanx...
n ive tried it...it wont select a whole word by jz double clicking it...
but there a popup to choose whether to select or copy the word...
u need to drag  the cursor to the word u wanna select...
this is jz from what ive tried...
sorry if its not clear enough...
right? I hope Samsung solves this issue. oh how i will miss swyping.. seems to me right now, there is no better way to text other than swyping. hate to go back to the olden days. biggrin.gif
MerzadNazmi
post May 10 2011, 03:28 AM

QUOTE(breaker84 @ May 9 2011, 11:17 PM)
which one is the best??
i'm like keep only single app rather than several app for same function...
from ur MO pic, let's just say ur a geeky nerd, then I'd say cam 360 or vignette. did me good IMO. but if ur really MO, then I'd suggest u use retro cam. quite nice effects with very low technical details to worry. select one type of camera and start clicking!
MerzadNazmi
post May 12 2011, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(xizzat @ May 11 2011, 09:29 PM)
after upgrade to gingerbread im not able to get the MMS (Celcom)  cry.gif
is there any way to get MMS only without internet? stock rom works well b4.
xizzat, how do u get celcom to just use MMS without internet? tell me tell me! the only workaround that i can find is by rooting ur device and using droidwall. that works very3 well
MerzadNazmi
post May 14 2011, 01:44 AM

ran into a problem here. I need to use froyo back. the GB experience is kinda bad for me. i swype a lot n swype on GB is unbearable! okay, here's the low down, i downloaded ddkc1 firmware from samfirmware and all i got is

amss
boot.img
csc.rfs
recovery.img
system.rfs

it says here that I need to use Odin, fine. OPS file also got from samfirmware, but then, for boot, phone, PDA and CSC they only accept .tar or .md5 type files only whereas the ones I have are those above. I tried loading them manually, but Odin said "invalid model binary" should I just run it or can I not revert back to froyo now? help pls icon_question.gif
MerzadNazmi
post May 14 2011, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(Bugeca @ May 14 2011, 12:28 PM)
You should not extracted the tar file.

If you have multiple tar files, then you can load accordingly to PDA, Phone and CSC. If only one tar file, then use one package option (be sure to check the one package check box)
thanks a bunch bugeca! u just made a dude tap dancing for 1 full hour man! rclxms.gif
MerzadNazmi
post May 14 2011, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 14 2011, 03:17 PM)
nice thanx...
but ive tried 2 change back 2 froyo...it finish but it wont reboot...y is that?
so im back 2 GB...
yea2, i got that. It won't reboot. Not from Odin, not from pressing of button, and it won't boot by removing the battery and reinserting it back in and turning on. I had already feared I bricked the phone, but then, it can go to download mode. thank god.

now back to GB also.. hahaha!

This post has been edited by MerzadNazmi: May 14 2011, 06:11 PM
MerzadNazmi
post May 14 2011, 07:33 PM

QUOTE(metaloid @ May 14 2011, 07:19 PM)
after going through pages seems that theres a number of problems such as SOD and other issues here and there. so im hesitating if its still worth it to get this. what do u users honestly think?
if u ain't got the greens, i suggest this phones. in its price range, this is the beast. but, with an extra 300-500, could get galaxy S or SL.
MerzadNazmi
post May 15 2011, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(normstar87 @ May 14 2011, 10:21 PM)
yeah thats right...i also thought that ive damage my phone or coz it 2 be dead permanently...
haha...
ive look down on samfirmware there was 1 user said need to cancel out the home text...
n it will work...but im afraid after what jz happened...hahaha
imma feeling a little brave here, so why don't u explain what do u mean by cancel out the home text? which one?
MerzadNazmi
post May 15 2011, 01:19 AM

QUOTE(MerzadNazmi @ May 15 2011, 12:11 AM)
imma feeling a little brave here, so why don't u explain what do u mean by cancel out the home text? which one?
alrighty peeps, after research, I found out generally u can revert back to froyo, however, there are two ways of doing this
1) get the JPKA7 version which is arabic multi-package file, install using Odin and afterwards re-do it using whatever one-package froyo fw u have.
2) seemingly easier, two time factory reset and then use Odin.

both have pros and cons (1 using Odin to flash which is always, super risky, like crossing-a-rotten-wood-bridge risky) Come Monday, I will go to cybercafe n proceed with the first option. tired already using GB. Too bad, dumped it just because of swype, other stuff was super smooth

0.0536sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:39 PM