7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

ASUS A | N | U Series Combined Thread V4, All about ASUS...

TSAlexLai
post Jun 29 2011, 09:12 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(vinchess @ Jun 29 2011, 10:43 AM)
i cant seem to decide, the more i look up, the more in a dilemma im at.
now im torn between a43 a53 and n53. im looking at i7

basically my usage will revolve around high end 3D softwares like maya, max,c4d.....video editing stuff bla bla bla

of cuz with that said, i dun expect any less when it comes to gaming

so could you advise me on that?
I still say, on a more personal bias to take the A43SV because it does not have Optimus which sometimes (SOMETIMES) can be a bit of a pain in the ass.
TSAlexLai
post Jun 29 2011, 11:18 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 29 2011, 11:00 PM)
im facepalming myself.....did not do enough research on the optimus....  vmad.gif notebook that came with GT540M should have a onboard intel graphic. but this A43SV does not have....its more like a strip down version  vmad.gif
It does since it's build right into the processor. It's just disabled.

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jun 29 2011, 11:18 PM
TSAlexLai
post Jul 2 2011, 11:13 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(SBS888G @ Jul 2 2011, 09:19 PM)
GT525/520?

Definitely not a gamer...
GT525M is good for gaming, but the GT520M should be avoided if you are a gamer.

GT525M is just a slower clocked GT540M whereas the GT520M is more like a faster GT330M.
TSAlexLai
post Jul 3 2011, 11:44 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(leob @ Jul 3 2011, 11:06 AM)
hi, i am finding a solution to full screen my game because the game i play in full screen will have black space on the both left and right side. But i cant find a solution for that. I am using A53SV which has GeForce GT 540M as GPU. Can anyone tell me how to full screen the game? Thanks in advance.
Go to the Intel Graphic Properties, under the display tab, select "Scaling" and choose "Scale to Full Screen".

QUOTE(tslc0250 @ Jul 3 2011, 08:02 PM)
Hi AlexLai,
Please help to add me to the club... N53SV I7... reporting in...
Just bought it at a Penang IT fair.
RM3199 with free gift HP 2050 printer (RM175) + cheap HP head set...

Now burning the CD...  wink.gif

BTW... the laptop bag sucks big time...

got the Asus "Logitec" mouse...

fail to apply the laptop protective screen... wasted RM16...

still need to buy U3 cooler... not available there... Opposite PISA, Penang.

now i took out the batery after 100% charged... downloading drivers... sweat.gif a lot of things to do...
Alright, welcome to the club! smile.gif

QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Jul 3 2011, 10:20 PM)
Personally the laptop bag doesnt scream "I AM A ASUS LAPTOP COME AND ROB ME". Kinda low profile for a laptop bag and I like it this way
Actually, the new bag sucks. I prefer to old bag they gave out 4 years ago. Was grey, very subtle and most of all, lots more space to put things!

Added on July 3, 2011, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(eidda @ Jun 29 2011, 11:44 AM)
as53sv here..my laptop sometime when charge, i can feel statistic at aluminium body but sometime when charge dont have..why..grounding prob?but not always..
QUOTE(sora90 @ Jun 29 2011, 02:47 PM)
new a43sv owner here~
QUOTE(silentser @ Jul 1 2011, 02:48 PM)
just bought N52SV-SX255V  biggrin.gif

anyone want me to make review? the keyboard maybe, which i think nothing wrong with it, i dont know why many people say it sucks or things like that
Welcome to the club guys! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(SBS888G @ Jul 3 2011, 01:30 PM)
They should have named it 530 then.

525 makes it sound like a low-end part.

Anyway, not an NVIDIA enthusiast so it doesn't bother me the least bit. Hmm.
Nvidia really gives people headaches with their naming conventions sometimes.

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jul 3 2011, 11:48 PM
TSAlexLai
post Jul 12 2011, 06:41 PM

5,531 posts

Seems like we can add decently long battery life for the N43SL's pros.
TSAlexLai
post Jul 15 2011, 11:59 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 15 2011, 08:20 AM)
Mind sharing a step-by-step guide on how you did that?
I'm trying to update the BIOS for my sis N43SL as well  sweat.gif
THanks thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Update: Just read some tips on how to update BIOS.... seems very hard and risky  doh.gif
I'm using the Asus utility WinFlash for flashing the BIOS. I just downloaded the utility and the newer BIOS version and then just ran the utility. Pretty straightforward.
TSAlexLai
post Jul 24 2011, 09:25 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 23 2011, 09:48 AM)
me aso core 2 duo.... intel gd4500.. power drain is 21W  blink.gif

That's more than my laptop. Mine only guzzles 20W while browsing and watching videos.
TSAlexLai
post Aug 2 2011, 06:40 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(SBS888G @ Aug 1 2011, 06:22 PM)
If the colours are not up to standard, it's normal.

Asus uses cheapshit Chimei TN LEDs in their laptops, so it's only normal if your screen looks sucky.
Mine's using an LG. Muahahahaha biggrin.gif
TSAlexLai
post Aug 2 2011, 09:37 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(SBS888G @ Aug 2 2011, 07:03 PM)
768p panel?

Most 768p's I've seen are Chimei units.
Yep, 768p panel. So happens that the K42JV line was supplied with these panels rather than its Chimei counterpart. Interesting factoid is that these panels are only 13.9" diagonally.
TSAlexLai
post Aug 8 2011, 11:28 PM

5,531 posts

It's normal. There's no dummy to fill it in ex-factory.
TSAlexLai
post Aug 9 2011, 09:39 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(SBS888G @ Aug 9 2011, 09:33 PM)
Weird, because my A42Jr has one.
That' surprising. Maybe cuz the A42Jr is the first model released in the line. After that they couldn't be bothered.
TSAlexLai
post Aug 10 2011, 01:03 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Xeigen @ Aug 10 2011, 01:01 AM)
Does anyone know how long is the warranty for Asus A42JV/K42JV?is it 2 years?
Bought mine at Sri Computers one year ago, and i think i'm gonna need to send it for service..
warranty is international right?means i wont have any problem if i send for service at Singapore??..
2 years standard international by default.

You can have it serviced as long as the country has a service center there.
TSAlexLai
post Aug 22 2011, 10:47 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(j3srocks @ Aug 22 2011, 11:54 AM)
Hi! Pls add me to the User List for A43SV. Just got it yesterday  rclxms.gif

Thanks!
Aight added.

QUOTE(darkcurves @ Aug 22 2011, 02:08 PM)
I am planning to get ASUS U36JC. Is it a good choice? It's so slim, are there any overheating issues?
My coursemate is using it, so far no problems with it. Why not get a U36SD instead?

QUOTE(ketapang @ Aug 22 2011, 08:18 PM)
I got a problem here. I think my hdd wan die ordy. last week when i turn on my laptop, it hangs at "starting windows" logo screen. i tried like 5 times but still cant turn on. after that then can boot normally. Im using a42jc. i suspect it was my hdd bcus last time also got people complaining abt hdd regarding this model. do i nid to send for warranty service? or can i just change it manually by buying another hdd? but hw abt the os? do i nid to buy a new os again?
Same case with my A42JV last time. It just hangs at the Windows screen after booting right? At least mine died after just 8 days so not much damage done. Just send your model in for warranty. They will replace the HDD for you and also with a freshly reinstalled OS.

Added on August 22, 2011, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Aug 19 2011, 07:30 PM)
Has anyone here changed their HDD with SSD? o_o Does it work?

5400rpm HDD makes my laptop feels sluggish lol
I did. It flies. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Aug 22 2011, 10:47 PM
TSAlexLai
post Aug 23 2011, 07:27 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Atwa @ Aug 23 2011, 07:37 AM)
Hi guys, i have a problem that my lappy can play NFS hot pursuit in 1920 x 1080 without any lag when the power is plugged in. But there seem some lags when i play it on battery.

I had adjust the battery settings to high performance and everything is same with the battery mode and plugged mode.

Why?
Probably your Power4Gear/Super Hybrid Engine settings make your laptop throttle down when unplugged.
TSAlexLai
post Sep 1 2011, 09:37 PM

5,531 posts

A42JV is using an i5-450M. That was the old Arrandale platform. Not too sure about Sandy Bridge now.
TSAlexLai
post Sep 4 2011, 09:53 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Nur Amina @ Sep 3 2011, 02:14 PM)
Yeah i got my A43TA-vx019v with Radeon HD 6720G2 also Amd Fusion  laugh.gif ,
QUOTE(clown @ Sep 4 2011, 02:36 PM)
Got my ASUS A53SV-SX053V yesterday

Welcome to the club guys. smile.gif

QUOTE(VCBlogger @ Sep 4 2011, 05:48 PM)
Hi i am planning to get either U41SV -WX031V or A53SV - VX053V next weekend ..any feedback on both of these units... personally i  prefer U41SV as i will be travelling overseas and a lighter notebook always helps..but i am not sure of its quality any feedback appreciated
I would recommend the U41SV or you can take a look at the similarly specced but better designed U46SV. My physical torture test on both these units are very positive. Minimal flexing, very acceptable strength and also less glossy surfaces (the U46SV has no glossy surfaces except the screen). Battery life and performance is pretty great as well.

QUOTE(HOKOKO @ Sep 4 2011, 08:19 PM)
Hi guys, I need some help.

I'm very interested to buy the Asus N45SF. Does anyone here know if the ODD can be removed ?

I want to remove it and install my own caddy with SSD inside so I can boot from there.
Should be able to, except to remove it might require removing the keyboard to access the ODD retention screws.
TSAlexLai
post Sep 13 2011, 05:07 PM

5,531 posts

Not much point replacing the CPU in any case. Your weakest link would be the graphics and hard drive.
TSAlexLai
post Oct 1 2011, 03:47 PM

5,531 posts

Should be a guide somewhere here or in the V3 by Najmods. Need to go look for it. sweat.gif
TSAlexLai
post Oct 2 2011, 07:56 PM

5,531 posts

Some games, like TF2 is free, Free, FREE!!! laugh.gif
TSAlexLai
post Oct 6 2011, 08:03 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Oct 5 2011, 08:54 PM)
Guys thinking of buying Asus U46SV for mainly wanting it to be portable (also require optical drive with it and no, I do not want to carry along an external OD). Any U46SV user here? Appreciate much with the feedback for this model..
Feedback like? All I can say is it has a very solid frame and body with non-glossy surfaces on everything except the screen. And battery life is a brute.

QUOTE(chiahau @ Oct 6 2011, 05:47 PM)
Erm, need a quick guide here.

Prefer an Asus laptop for the price range of 2k - 4k max, which has optimum specs and best bang for bucks.

Photoshop and dreamweaver usage, mild to zero gaming. Mind reco me few models to check out? Thanks.

P.S - The lesser the mass, the better biggrin.gif
Probably U46SV or U36SD if you need something light with some decent performance.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0271sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:17 PM