Astro B.yond Episode III (Version 8.0), NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

orenhijau
post Jun 15 2011, 03:41 PM

61 posts

Hi everyone... i'm new here. Just subscribe byond last january with HD services, and i upgrade to SP1 last week with PVR decoder. Installer came yesterday (4 days after my request). After an hour he finished setup everythin and leave (i pay rm150).

Half and hour later i can watch all the channels BUT i can't record or scheduled my programme. I call CS and she ask me switch off and etc..etc.. finally she tell me will send someone to check it out. This morning the technician call and will bring NEW decoder tomorrow..... yeay!!!! hope no problem anymore...

orenhijau
post Jun 23 2011, 07:55 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 23 2011, 07:28 PM)
Mine got installed today.  Activation is instantly via IVR.

Anyone here knows how to record a whole series like AOD without the need to select each episode one by one?
Use the series link option. when u select ur programme to record there will be the series link button at the bottom.
orenhijau
post Jun 24 2011, 10:08 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 23 2011, 08:29 PM)
So, all the episodes in that series will be recorded?
I noted that only Wax and Wane got series link but not Ghetto Justice...
Yup, for now its working just fine, it automatically scheduled to record at original timeslot of the series. Not the repeat show..

the bad thing about byond pvr is when the signal glitch due to rain, it only record b4 the signal lost. cry.gif

I did check 4 Ghetto Justice, there is series link option there as well... biggrin.gif
orenhijau
post Jun 24 2011, 10:15 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(sky3742 @ Jun 24 2011, 09:39 PM)
why astro byond sometimes appear that banner automatically?
I don't press ok tought~~
It happen to me too, when i use old byond decoder. But after i change to PVR decoder, it's not happen anymore..
orenhijau
post Jun 25 2011, 12:16 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Jun 24 2011, 10:38 PM)
Able to record via series link option now.
If the series recorded is not successfully completed then will it be smart enough to redo it?

The PVR is not smart enough, We have to do it manually. We are lucky if there is a repeat show for that uncompleted episode.

Mine happened on the very last episode of Tokyo Shower ch393, i scheduled PVR for 03:40am show, then the storm coming at 4am, it only record 20 minutes of it. I noticed when i wake up that morning and scheduled again for the last show at 14:20pm. Leave for work and cameback at nite and notice the same prob. it's raining again that noon. cry.gif

anyway manage to find the final episode online.. biggrin.gif
orenhijau
post Jul 15 2011, 04:41 PM

61 posts

Hi guys! I'm planning to bring my pvr decoder balik kampung for hari raya. My house there still have an old astro dish (the grey one). So can i just connect the cable to receive signal? icon_question.gif
orenhijau
post Jul 15 2011, 11:25 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jul 15 2011, 08:03 PM)
Yes but only one tuner is receiving signal
Thx. biggrin.gif One tuner is good enough, my pvr is almost full with movies.

QUOTE(neb @ Jul 15 2011, 08:10 PM)
bring along your dual-output LNB, some extra RG-6 cable and a few F-connectors
when you reach your kampung, replace the old LNB and lay another cable into your house
what if i have 2 dish. one is 1st gen philip dish, the other is 3rd gen thomson dish. I can connect to both tuner right? so no need to bring dual-o LNB?
orenhijau
post Jul 17 2011, 06:46 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 17 2011, 03:56 AM)
hi all...i have 2 questions:

q1. currently i'm a astro subscriber, let say if i wanna upgrade to astro beyond decoder...and my TV is CRT...can that be possible? OR i do have to need a HDTV to enjoy beyond...pls advice....

q2. is it worth to upgrade to super packages....currently (after revise price) i have to pay rm 90 ++ for my package....so is it worth to get rm 125 package...u pay less for more channels...
Answer

q1. Yup no problem. u can use component cable or standard composite cable to connect to your tv.

q2. Depends, for me it's worth it but remember its almost RM40 difference from ur current pack. (SP1 + 6% tax is RM132.50).
orenhijau
post Jul 18 2011, 07:01 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jul 18 2011, 06:13 PM)
I added Learning and Variety packages today and I am glad I can change the subtitle language or make it disappear

EXCEPT for FOX !  mad.gif  what happened ?

Furthermore, the variety package sucks as it only contains two watchable channel FOX and Star world...

Not worth the money, is it better to get Cartoon or News instead of variety package ? can Anybody recommend ?
FOX stop broadcast the subtitles when they start the Bahasa Melayu bilingual service which my 67yrs old mom find it sucks, she do understand a little bit english but she prefer malay subs with original audio. Any encore show b4 the service still have subs.

orenhijau
post Jul 18 2011, 10:29 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jul 18 2011, 09:10 PM)
How about news package ? Is it better to get news or cartoon package ? which is more worth for money ?  brows.gif
For me i prefer news package, cartoon pack too much ad n too frequent repeat.

Aljazeera = better views n balance in news.
CNN and BBC = gr8 coverage when big disaster happen.
Bloomberg = i dont watch coz i'm not into business or stock market.
Aussie Net = gr8 down under prog with drama, aussie football and travel show. I like their 2hour music video prog call RAGE.
CNBC = Jay Leno show, comedy central.
orenhijau
post Jul 18 2011, 11:21 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Jul 18 2011, 10:35 PM)
hmm.gif I think you're right but why ASTRO don't include channel news asia ?  mad.gif

I saw it in thailand and it is very good.
CNA now on Unifi, not sure its the same feed in Sgp. Most of us like me in Johor can watch for free both on analog n digital broadcast. Maybe CNA give too diff views from our gov especially news on Malaysia. Sometime their reporting more balance than our tv channels.
orenhijau
post Jul 19 2011, 02:14 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jul 19 2011, 12:24 AM)
Channel News Asia often airs news that dont sit well with our government..and I tell u something..if people in the north, east coast, west coast of Malaysia and also Sabah and Sarawak get CNA, the government might lose substansial support from these people..so I dont see it ever coming in to Astro..Im not sure if the feed that I get in Johor is the same or not as that of Unifi but what I get is a breath of fresh air comard to the government flavoured RTM and TV3 news..just search Channel News Asia'e reports on YouTube regarding last week's rally and bouyh u could see the difference on the news and reort we got and what they gave..

As for ur dilemma, I think better u take News instead of variety coz u might get bored with cartoons just like u got bored with the variety package..news package is just more than just 24 hour news..documentaries, special reorts, sports and even comedy is found on the news package..and like the post earlier, CNN, BBC and Al Jazeera also sometimes carries news about Malaysia just like about last weeks rally thumbup.gif
Totally agree with u! rclxms.gif
orenhijau
post Jul 20 2011, 04:41 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 20 2011, 01:07 AM)
thanks again.....if i upgrade from my current normal decoder to byond decoder its FREE....and let say i opt for super packs - RM 125....do the RM 20 exclude or include?
remember RM 20 is for enjoying HD contents....since in super pack already having these HD channels...so i just have to pay RM 125...rite? correct me if i'm wrong...not RM 125 + RM 20.... hmm.gif
The SP1 already include the HD service and recording fee. U just need to pay RM125 + 6% tax = RM132.50.
orenhijau
post Jul 21 2011, 02:14 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 21 2011, 01:17 AM)
thanks bro for ALL the queries answered in perfect manner...soon will call astro and gt my byond.....how long will they take to complete this process..? 1 week?
No problem bro. Usually they take up to 5 working days, but for a little impatience customer like me they doin it faster. In my case (upgrade from normal byond to pvr decoder), i made request on thursday, call back astro cs on sunday and they give me the installer phone no. I call the installer and he came to my house on monday noon.

After he finished installed and left, i notice my pvr cant record a thing. I call back astro cs and complaint, the technician guy call the next day and came to my house on wednesday. He replaced the decoder and wait until it got signal and check the recording function and its working.

U just need to keep nagging them and be a little bit impatience customer and then they will serve u better. icon_rolleyes.gif
orenhijau
post Jul 21 2011, 01:18 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 21 2011, 11:59 AM)
sure will nagg them till max....they're no diffrent to streamyx agents....

bro....if i jump from normal astro to PVR decoder...is it FOC too?
old astro -> byond =free
old astro & byond -> byond pvr = rm150
new cust -> byond pvr = rm150
promo till Sep 2011, tied to 2 year contract.
orenhijau
post Jul 22 2011, 04:19 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jul 22 2011, 03:47 PM)
The saddest thing compared to earlier ones ,in the event u  enter a wrong channel number say 833 the older one wld go to the nearest channel but this silly one acts smart by displaying no  such channel.Imagine the nuisance for old folks who hv to memorise every channel number!! doh.gif
i hope they enable this feature again with the longer delay when enter the channel number (so the elderly like my mom doesn't have to rush to enter the correct number b4 the 'no channel found' appear). Pity to her coz she so used to the old decoder which is easy to navigate her fav channels. She keep complaining to me "astro baru ni susah la". mad.gif
orenhijau
post Jul 22 2011, 05:15 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(krk24 @ Jul 22 2011, 05:13 PM)
Guys...is it better to call astro directly for upgrade or go to dealers at shop?  Any dealer at puchong branch? appreciate ur comments
better call astro
orenhijau
post Jul 24 2011, 07:33 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Jul 24 2011, 09:16 AM)
Not kno abt Toshiba...mine is a Samsung.
Mayb look into Picture Settings/Advanced Settings or similar?

A few questions here. Pls help to clarify. TQ in adv. :

1. Btw How do we set to record a Series eg AOD serial, using PVR?
2. Settings in Installation show only 1 LNB ie Universal type. Astro saving $$ connecting 2 cables to only ONE LNB? sad.gif
3. One input Signal is stated as "Locked" while the 2nd input is "Unlocked". I rber-ed both were "Locked" after Installer left... rolleyes.gif
4. Set 2auto record movie fr abt 12:35 -1:35 BUT this morning found only 30 min of movie recorded!! Frus! Any1 kno wat went wrong? sad.gif

Sorry to kacau but only had 2 days with new Beyond PVR. Will b grateful for any help...TQ!! notworthy.gif
answer:-
1. Use the series link option.
4. Happen 2 me too. In my case its raining that nite. Suppose 2be 2 1/2 hour movie, lost signal after 45 min recording. Found out that mornin and have 2 scheduled it again. Hmmm.
orenhijau
post Jul 24 2011, 10:26 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Jul 24 2011, 09:24 PM)
Tks, Bro, for help! notworthy.gif

Re using Series Link, the only SL is when press yellow button for Sort in Planner. Kenot find anywhere else la. sad.gif

Yellow "tick-like" symbols are displayed for all episodes of series but....

Read somewhere to press Rec button 2X but doesn't work either. sad.gif

Can pls give step by step how 2do so? TQ in adv.

Re Only 30 min rec of movie, possibly... Dunno cos me in deep Zzz oledi! Haha! No repeat of that movie this week... sad.gif Hope got nxt week so can try agin. nod.gif rolleyes.gif

Added on July 24, 2011, 9:30 pm@afig2819 :  Think so...Astro famous for repeats!! whistling.gif
In SP3, we get AOD & episodes repeated EVERY DAY...EVERY WEEK!! Mayb MONTHS??...Dunno tho...rolleyes.gif
Ok, Try this.
1. Go to any aod channel, i.e ch 903.
2. Press TV button to go to the tv guide.
3. Let say now 10pm, go to 1am show of Ep1 Wax and Wayne, press OK.
4. U will see this option from top to bottom (set reminder, record, series link).
4. Choose the series link option. Then it will automatically set to record all the episode of the series. selamat mencuba. biggrin.gif
orenhijau
post Jul 26 2011, 12:42 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(khairulnizam @ Jul 25 2011, 11:43 PM)
aku baru langgan superpack 1...nak tanya..memang kalau kita langgan SP1 ni kita akan dapat celestiaal movies gak ke? try tekan chl 322 dapat view ni
Kalau dapat tgk, kita diam2 sudaaa... enjoy la selagi x kena block. biggrin.gif

Added on July 26, 2011, 1:23 am
QUOTE(zeone @ Jul 25 2011, 08:49 AM)

Added on July 25, 2011, 8:56 am@orenhijau : Fyi when I deleted the "Booked Series" and tried to re-do it again, that 3rd Option (Series Link) did NOT appear and thus Kenot re-"Book" same series!
Is there a timed delay or can only do "Series Link" one time only for each series? TQ in adv.
Have u find the solution for this matter? I'm not sure how to help u.... I think u should rescheduled it to record one by one. hmmm hmm.gif

This post has been edited by orenhijau: Jul 26 2011, 01:23 AM

0.0284sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:05 PM