12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Astro B.yond Episode III (Version 8.0), NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

smileguy
post Apr 26 2011, 11:52 AM

3,147 posts

Astro wl never bring channels which refuse to JV with them thats for sure it is not easy to be thier provider! An example ,they invested 20% in Sun Network and they control the local network here ! Time slots are sold to local advertisers for advertisement revenue!Just like that they want control on the channels and the contents as well.BBCE was not interested and took off !Everybody else in the world has Discovery HD but astro in NOT interested ! Sure it was a deal problem! hmm.gif

Well the only privelage is that they hv full BN backing and that NO competitors were allowed,they remain sole provider until today!

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 26 2011, 11:59 AM
smileguy
post Apr 26 2011, 07:47 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Apr 26 2011, 06:10 PM)
Would be great if Astro's IPTV had better coverage, even better if they can service housing areas which will not likely to be. sad.gif
Even so what has astro gotta to offer, their channel line up has bored the nation!!,Unifi has better choices! I wish unifi went nationwide ASAP.

Added on April 26, 2011, 7:50 pm
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 26 2011, 02:55 PM)
Not to say no competitors. The competitors all have crippling weaknesses. MiTV: Died because clueless (they have potential... but lousy coverage, and they overprice their package and make people buy decoder when Astro was giving away decoders for "free"). DETV: niche market because clueless (and almost all channels are Chinese, and when I requested for a channel, they ask "how contact the channel ah? Got people there speak Mandarin? We no speak good Engrish"). UniFi: Lousy coverage (only certain areas have) and cannot unbundle and take TV only.
Yes you are absolutely right! What makes me wonder , Singapore is so small but has 2 providers but we are so big but not a single cable operator! hmm.gif Those holding licences are so slow in take off, looks like next 10 yrs also things wld be the same! doh.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 26 2011, 07:50 PM
smileguy
post Apr 26 2011, 08:36 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Apr 26 2011, 08:14 PM)
I guess it depends on what you would like to watch. Sports fans definitely would still have to go back to Astro no matter what. Astro's IPTV also means no disruptions during rain which is also important for me. Also, at 6mbps for RM149 (compared to UniFi's 5mbps for RM149), sure seems good to me too espcially when it is serviced by TIME which I had pretty good experience with their service in the past compared to TM's.
I hv to agree with you on that, at the same time I feel giving Astro full exclusive control of EPL was unfair! 6 mbps at RM149 is fine ,how about your astro channels,how much wld that add up to? unsure.gif
smileguy
post Apr 26 2011, 08:46 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Apr 26 2011, 08:40 PM)
Apparently the Astro channels subscription fee remains the same as those on the satellite dish, it's just that you will definitely have to subscribe to their Internet service as well. So it's the Internet package together with your Astro subscription fee (depending on the package/channels you subscribed).

Do correct me if I'm wrong about the subscription fees.
Yes u are right ,the basic astro subsription is added to the IPTV charges,so if one takes unifi then he has more choice of Tv then to take the whole from astro.

smileguy
post Apr 27 2011, 06:22 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 27 2011, 12:27 AM)
As has been stated earlier, it depends on what a customer wants and that will determine whether they will go for Astro or Unifi..so just because Astro has the same old crappy content, doesnt mean a person will just switch over to Unifi..

Take me for example..Im a crazy football..not just EPL but every other league I will try and follow..now even though Astro doesnt offer me some of the things I want, just because of EPL nd the football, I will stick with them coz I dont seem interested with much with UNifi has to offer..but for some TV enthusiast who dont necessarily have one MUST HAVE TV content, yes they can probably test both services..n talking bout internet, as noob and as stupid I might sound, I can survive with just broadband so Unifi TV bundled with internet services would not be in my best of interests..I hope u know what I mean nod.gif

BTW, I have to disagree about Astro having exclusive rights for EPL..splitting EPL coverage over two providers would not make life better for football fans..it would create more burden..imagine u need two services to watch EPL (Astro & Unifi)..paying for that would be astronomical..and im just not talking about EPL..im talking about football in general..imagine u wanna see EPL and its on Astro but Champions League and Spanish La Liga is on Unifi..I think Singaporeans are facing this problem if Im not mistaken..
Bro,what I meant was FTA channels do carry some matches,like Indonesia so even the poor gets to watch a live game of his team! As the years go by we pay more and more ! Even when astro carries it its packed with adverts,so it makes no difference except here one person makes all the money.Exclusive rights screw up everything!
smileguy
post Apr 27 2011, 03:01 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 27 2011, 11:46 AM)
Yes I agree with u that probably some matches should be shown on FTA channels and at the same time on Astro..but u look at the Malaysian Super League..even that now has no coverage on FTA channels..only Astro has exclusive rights for that..luckily RTM can still show matches involving the Malaysian national team..

But can u blame Astro completely? Heck no..I will put a lot of blame also on FTA channels like RTM n Media Prima channels..they are simply not interested enough to show EPL or Malaysian football..look at Astro..since they took over the rights, there are at least 4 Live matches a week..when the rights was with RTM, only 1 match per week..and even that not guaranteed coz if government held those stupid festival open house, the matches will not be shown LIVE..their stupid highlights coverage is at 12 midnight every Sunday..how o u promote local football at that time of the day? n their presenters? All the same people who was in the same job 20 years ago..still the same bunch..suam2 kuku effort

N media Prima..when was the last time u saw any kind of football match on their channels? They would rather show Indon dramas 24 hours a day than do anything for the local sports scene..

Credit also has to be given to Astro..Astro Arena has brought sports of all kinds that Malaysian are involved with..they do bring some sports that u could not dream of would be shown on FTA channels simply coz those blokes at RTM and Media Prima just dont have an ounce of car about it..
Yeah, Astro took sports while the other local FTA resorted to dramas and lately POLITICS ! shakehead.gif The situations were in astro's favour and they are the exclusive No:1 Sports Provider whistling.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 27 2011, 03:03 PM
smileguy
post Apr 28 2011, 04:27 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(Mr Jones @ Apr 28 2011, 12:12 AM)
I was staying in Hong Kong and they had Sky News on there. It is intended for UK and Ireland viewers but of course a lot of stories are international and people in this part of the world love their English football stories too.

Added on April 28, 2011, 12:16 am

Yup but that deal came after EU competition bosses stopped them selling EPL exclusively to Sky. They now are forced to sell matches in 8 packages and one broadcaster can only buy a maximum of 6, that's why Setanta got the other 2 and then were taken over by ESPN. Basically Malaysia needs the same competition measures to dent Astro's dominance but you and I know know the likelyhood of that is slim.
Not slim pal.the chances are zero ! One malaysia One provider! rclxub.gif
smileguy
post Apr 29 2011, 02:29 PM

3,147 posts

Whatever said, Sky News is not Astro's taste it wl be gone tonight! Thier reason wld be that the preview did not attract many viewers! cry.gif

Added on April 29, 2011, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(MoonRider @ Apr 29 2011, 02:28 PM)
tommorow will be installing byond..

anything i should take note at during the installation?
Make sure account is activated before signing any invoices dont sign for something u cannot see and then complain!! nod.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 29 2011, 02:31 PM
smileguy
post Apr 29 2011, 07:51 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 29 2011, 07:46 PM)
Anyone here can answer my question please?

Since the SKY NEWS HD will be unavailable starting from 12 midnight, then how about my royal wedding recording? Is that still available and I can watch it anytime that I want if I still take HD packages or it will lost and unwatchable because that particular channel are not available at astro? Please someone enlighten me about this matters.... notworthy.gif
Strong probability u recording wld be gone ! hmm.gif
smileguy
post Apr 30 2011, 07:02 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 30 2011, 12:42 AM)
You know them lah. Unless everyone boycott them then maybe they'll listen. But then there's all the kaki bola and Chinese drama addict who will still go along with them no matter what.

What we all can do, all call in to Astro call center and demand Sky be brought back. If got 100 caller maybe they will think twice.

If need, promise that we will agree to package price hike. After all, Singapore is not getting it cheap either. This is a "size-up package" for them. They need to sign up for basic news package, then pay more to "size-up" to premium package for Sky. And that's not counting Sky HD.
I have to agree with you, they hv more sports and drama fans then those who want News and informative stuffs ! They thinking twice ,I doubt it cos so many channels were taken off when they wanted it out,remember BBCE, and V ! They dont cater for customers , only profit based. As I say Sky HD was to to save them from crictisms for not carrying the event in HD! doh.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 30 2011, 07:07 AM
smileguy
post Apr 30 2011, 10:11 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 30 2011, 08:57 AM)
We got ASS trolled!
Now SS 3D is up, this shows they are screwed,they hv no space seriously! They are sharing the last 2 HD space,BTW the recording of the RW on skyHD is still in my beyond and can be watched, so those who recorded see it fast cos I dont know if it wld remain. hmm.gif
smileguy
post Apr 30 2011, 05:14 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 30 2011, 05:01 PM)
astro indeed search house by house, they found my max and change it to pvr FOC without HD channels
Yeap, all old decorders MUST go but HD services wl be optional.

Added on April 30, 2011, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 30 2011, 01:02 PM)
Bro, I think they are indeed changing codec. No other reason for them to force subscribers to switch to B.yond box otherwise (in case you missed out on the news- now it's mandatory for everyone to get a B.yond decoder. They're going house to house changing decoder and dish if necessary).

Although, the full codec switch would most likely come shortly only after all the decoders have been switched. That would still be months away....

There's a third option for them: make IPTV mode work over all broadband links like DETV and deliver at least on-demand content over that. If need allow device to piggyback over Maxis 3G (free 3G dongle that plugs into front USB port and only connects to special AP for Astro use over Maxis airwave). That way they can free out at least two dozen channels of the satellite. Or switch to IPTV completely with Maxis 3G dongle (or Maxis LTE once that launched). HSPA+ can do 14.4Mbps, enough for one HDTV stream. LTE can fly at 100Mbps. And if they use UDP Multicast, hardly any bandwidth will be used. Again, this will require that their B.yond switch plan is complete. Which is still months away.

I hope they regret selling off MEASAT 1 to South Africa and completely phasing out MEASAT 2.
Profit matters most,Measat 3 leased maximum to India! yawn.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 30 2011, 05:15 PM
smileguy
post May 1 2011, 04:23 PM

3,147 posts

If U are a non beyond customer and want to upgrade of course u need to subscribe to HD cos thats wat the intention is. But if astro changes your decorder to Beyond then HD services is optional. Many of my friends boxes were phased out like this ,they hv the beyond box but did not take HD services.Thats why now u see many adverts on HD clarity and that a hdtv wld not allow HD just like that, unless u have Beyond HD services! rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: May 1 2011, 04:26 PM
smileguy
post May 1 2011, 08:23 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(cksia @ May 1 2011, 04:59 PM)
when they change your decoder to beyond without activating the HD service, do they change your smart card and dish too?
If they replace they replace the whole set,HD wl remain optional,.
smileguy
post May 2 2011, 08:44 PM

3,147 posts

There are no channels of international standards on astro's platform except for Australian Network,mostly the rest are all asian fare, so SKY is not to astro's taste!
smileguy
post May 3 2011, 10:18 AM

3,147 posts

I think some consumers are mute not dumb! vmad.gif They are prepared to accept whatever! cry.gif Astro dumb ? That I agree!
smileguy
post May 3 2011, 04:21 PM

3,147 posts

We can make a difference,its all in our hands, to get them get up or get them out ! It takes just a bit of sacrifice to see better things, what we lack is the support for that.Whatever they sell, really sells !! AF at RM15 no problem, maybe at RM30 one day also no problem!!Cricket at RM500 also no problem!
smileguy
post May 5 2011, 06:18 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ May 4 2011, 10:50 PM)
IMG Sports Media is the production partner for all the BPL programs on mio stadium.  John Dykes has some deals with IMG hence we can get to see him and gang presenting the BPL programs from the UK studios.  For the magazine programs on mio stadium, they are produced by the local IMG Sports Media Singapore office with presenters like Jamie Reeves, Paul Masefield, Steve McMahon, Patrick Kinghorn, Soo Kui Jien, Dominic Lau etc.

More info here: http://info.singtel.com/node/7211

mio stadium only has rights to BPL, UEFA CL & UEFA Europa League. mio TV also carries Goal TV1 & Goal TV2 channels which has rights to Carling Cup, English Championshop, English League 1, Dutch Eredivisie & Scottish Premier League.

mio TV sports channels includes mio stadium Ch 102-109, mio stadium Ch 199 [on demand matches], ESPN, STAR Sports, Goal TV 1, Goal TV 2, STAR Cricket, ASN HD, ESPNEWS, ESPN HD & TEN Cricket

For Starhub sports channels and soccer rights, kindly see attached....too lazy to type out.  laugh.gif

mio TV has exclusive rights to BPL and UCL/UEL hence Starhub subscribers would need to subscribe to SingTel mio TV in order to catch these matches.  The proposed ruling from broadcasting authority, MDA, is that there will not be any exclusive contracts with program/rights providers like ESPN, BPL etc.  Hence, Starhub & SingTel can both carry BPL or ESPN or FOX News etc. on their own platforms.  However, this ruling has met with objections from the broadcasters as this would mean they cannot "sell" their channel to the highest bidder -- less $$ for them to pocket.

This ruling still has yet to come into effect due to these objections.

I notice some similarity between Astro & Starhub....in order to block their competitor to offer full-time channels of other channel, the dirty strategy is that they buy exclusive rights to 1/2 or 1/3 of programs on the channels to "feed" their in-house channel. e.g. by "buying" exclusive programs blocks of Eurosports News, Astro effectievly blocked Eurosports News to offer the 24/7 Eurosports Channel to providers like Hypp TV or DETV.

Starhub bought exclusive programs from Taiwan Channel, San Lih TV, hence SingTel is unable to bring in this channel to SingTel subscribers as a chunk of the San Li TV programs are exclusive to Starhub.

Let me know if you need more info.  biggrin.gif
Yes finally u shed light on a matter which needed some confirmation. The so called dirty strategy, Astro is famous for that,so many channels hv been blocked this way by astro ! Have money wl travel,how true ?Although starhub does the same thing but it gives variety not like Astro,here we are doomed!We pay so much for so little !SETANTA Sports too is now under Astro's control on channel 811 !

This post has been edited by smileguy: May 5 2011, 09:16 AM
smileguy
post May 5 2011, 09:18 AM

3,147 posts

Watch programming blocks from Setanta on Astro SuperSports (811) in Malaysia and Brunei and you will get all of our best sport including:

Watch every game of the RBS 6 Nations featuring England, Ireland, Wales, Scotland, Italy and France.

Watch up to 125 matches (that's up to 7 games per round) of the Super Rugby featuring the top Rugby Union teams from Australia, South Africa and New Zealand.

Watch all the Tri-Nations matches featuring Australia, New Zealand and South Africa exclusively on Setanta.

GET SETANTA ON AstroSubscribing to watch Setanta's programming blocks on the Astro TV platform channel SuperSports (811) is easy. You have two options:

BY PHONE ASTRO SHOP You can call the Astro TV sales hotline and speak to one of their highly trained agents who can get you setup quickly should you have the information you require.

smileguy
post May 5 2011, 10:58 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 5 2011, 09:22 AM)
My comments are totally OT but I felt like saying it.

One thing I hv to say about ur comments, u hv been always very consistent in them. While I don't agree with most of what u say, I have to admire ur tenacity and ur vigour in always painting a negative picture of Astro. For that I salute u...
Bro how can I paint a negative picture,of course the bottom line it shld be factual, I cannot simply accuse someone right, as I hv said its all meant to improve things and the intentions are good,maybe one day it gets thier attention and then things change and evryone is happy and pleased.

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0546sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:43 PM