How To Tune Air/Fuel Ratio (4G13/4G15 Carburetor), Need ur help guys

TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 14 2011, 11:35 AM, updated 12y ago

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

Hi guys.
Need ur help on tuning "air/fuel ratio" On 4G13/4G15 carburetor.
I changed to open pod setting but not quite satisfied.
Before this stock intake can reach 180kmh but now 160kmh is damn hard to reach.
Few people suggest using spark plug head as screw to tune it but i don't know ler..
icon_question.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 14 2011, 11:53 AM

158 posts

cause you got more air comapred to fuel now, lack of power.

I'd suggest you look for uncle fred aka fstrader on the marketplace, super duper professional carb tuner for 4g engines wink.gif.

People like me and you can never get it right. People like him gets it right through his nose lol.
gagak_84
post Apr 14 2011, 12:10 PM

132 posts

are using cap ayam open Pod?
the_catacombs
post Apr 14 2011, 12:55 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 14 2011, 11:53 AM)

I'd suggest you look for uncle fred aka fstrader on the marketplace, super duper professional carb tuner for 4g engines wink.gif.

People like me and you can never get it right. People like him gets it right through his nose lol.
his nose is wideband o2 sensor maa... laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 14 2011, 01:10 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 14 2011, 11:53 AM)

All people in the forum suggest me to go find unker fred.
I've asked unker fred few months ago liao.
But unfortunately, unker fred ask me to change back to stock setup.
sad.gif

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Apr 14 2011, 12:10 PM)
Bukan cap ayam bro..K&N..
Angin lebih punya pasal ni..

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 14 2011, 12:55 PM)
his nose is wideband o2 sensor maa...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Bro,ur long intake pipe good ke?
Top speed got or not?
makaveli
post Apr 14 2011, 02:52 PM

Livin' la Vida Loca
1,491 posts

haha.unker gettting old sumore.
gagak_84
post Apr 14 2011, 03:19 PM

132 posts

ade kedai tune carb..
dia ada CO punya tuning.. masuk lubang exhaust tu.. baru tune carb.. kalau nak cun la.. kalau guna pakai dengar pon boleh..

hehehe
ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 14 2011, 06:22 PM

158 posts

or else go to PJ state shell statoion, theres a workshop there that has this CO analyzer machine
sinister_sid
post Apr 15 2011, 12:46 AM

unker fred is right
i olso diy open pod
respond good but top speed crap
change back closed factory still the best
what not open pod sucking all the hot air and the air ram paip lenght so damm small so restrict air speed
the_catacombs
post Apr 15 2011, 03:43 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 14 2011, 01:10 PM)
Bro,ur long intake pipe good ke?
Top speed got or not?
good laa... brows.gif
top speed dunno leh... habis meter i start goyang d also havent tekan finish... sweat.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 06:41 AM

888 posts

More air will result cooling effect to your engine.....
If want good response, suggest to blow your original air filter every 1000km.... More work but will work, up to certain extend....
GEFORCEXTREME
post Apr 15 2011, 08:45 AM

60 posts

rclxms.gif

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:47 am
QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 06:41 AM)
If want good response, suggest to blow your original air filter every 1000km.... More work but will work, up to certain extend....
More air will result cooling effect to your engine?
What air you mean? The air into engine or air into the engine bay? If engine bay then yes, if into engine then wrong. Ppl who use turbo cars have their car tune to be slightly richer (more fuel vs stoich a/f ratio of 14.7) to avoid detonation and provide some cooling effect.

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:49 am
QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 14 2011, 11:35 AM)
Hi guys.
Need ur help on tuning "air/fuel ratio" On 4G13/4G15 carburetor.
I changed to open pod setting but not quite satisfied.
Before this stock intake can reach 180kmh but now 160kmh is damn hard to reach.
Few people suggest using spark plug head as screw to tune it but i don't know ler..
icon_question.gif
Actually, 160-180 km/h on 1.3 liter is damn impressive if you ask me! I basically never drive over 160 on my 1.6.

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:50 amBtw amir, why don't you give maddriver a call to see if he know how to tune? He's damn friendly, even for a shy guy like me I have no problem talking to him.

This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: Apr 15 2011, 08:50 AM
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 09:05 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Apr 14 2011, 03:19 PM)
ade kedai tune carb..
dia ada CO punya tuning.. masuk lubang exhaust tu.. baru tune carb.. kalau nak cun la.. kalau guna pakai dengar pon boleh..

hehehe
kedai tune tu kat mana eh? whereeeeeeeeeeee? drool.gif

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 14 2011, 06:22 PM)
or else go to PJ state shell statoion, theres a workshop there that has this CO analyzer machine
I see..so if using CO analyzer machine more accurate la?

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Apr 15 2011, 12:46 AM)
unker fred is right
i olso diy open pod
respond good but top speed crap
change back closed factory still the best
what not open pod sucking all the hot air and the air ram paip lenght so damm small so restrict air speed
I've done a good heatshield wor..
siap cover dari heat radiator tu..
confirm all the air is cold one..
the ram pipe is 3 inch.i'm thinking of extending the ram pipe..
but if not effective rugi ler beli pipe...

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 15 2011, 03:43 AM)
good laa...  brows.gif
top speed dunno leh... habis meter i start goyang d also havent tekan finish...  sweat.gif
aiiii...habis meter tu berapa kmh bro?..hihiiiiii...

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 06:41 AM)
So u suggested me to change back to stock intake or what?

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Apr 15 2011, 08:45 AM)
rclxms.gif

Actually, 160-180 km/h on 1.3 liter is damn impressive if you ask me! I basically never drive over 160 on my 1.6.

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:50 amBtw amir, why don't you give maddriver a call to see if he know how to tune? He's damn friendly, even for a shy guy like me I have no problem talking to him.
Well...carburetor is no brain one..
no speed cut.. brows.gif
i wanted to ask for maddie's help..
but the problem is...
maddie also ask to change back to stock intake!
hahahahaahaha laugh.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 09:54 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Apr 15 2011, 08:45 AM)
rclxms.gif

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:47 am

More air will result cooling effect to your engine?
What air you mean? The air into engine or air into the engine bay? If engine bay then yes, if into engine then wrong. Ppl who use turbo cars have their car tune to be slightly richer (more fuel vs stoich a/f ratio of 14.7) to avoid detonation and provide some cooling effect.

So, our friend's car is normal or turbo engine? Use a gas detector to test your exhaust gas first before bringing that uncomplete version of wiki info.
That 14.7 are just a general ratio, still have to know the hydrocarbon chain that have inside petrol.

Added on April 15, 2011, 9:55 am
QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 15 2011, 09:05 AM)
So u suggested me to change back to stock intake or what?
Yeah, just stick with original. Other mods like spark plugs, plug cables, extra grounding will give you better results, best of all, improve your FC....

This post has been edited by kyheng: Apr 15 2011, 09:55 AM
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 10:05 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 09:54 AM)
So, our friend's car is normal or turbo engine? Use a gas detector to test your exhaust gas first before bringing that uncomplete version of wiki info.
That 14.7 are just a general ratio, still have to know the hydrocarbon chain that have inside petrol.

Yeah, just stick with original. Other mods like spark plugs, plug cables, extra grounding will give you better results, best of all, improve your FC....
I see..hmm..but stock intake not good throttle response as the open pod that i'm using now.
So now i'm finding a way to keep the current throttle response and reach the last top speed i've reach before when using stock intake.
Tuning carb and extend intake ram pipe will make difference? hmm.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 10:25 AM

888 posts

Like that.... Maybe block the pipe of your air filter a bit may help? Have to know that, air flow to your engine are designed and calculated, putting more air in that will only improve the performance until certain extend. Or make it this way, original air filter won't give you enough air....
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 10:45 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 10:25 AM)
Like that.... Maybe block the pipe of your air filter a bit may help? Have to know that, air flow to your engine are designed and calculated, putting more air in that will only improve the performance until certain extend. Or make it this way, original air filter won't give you enough air....
Hmm..but sometimes i think it is because of air too fast going inside..
Maybe extend the ram pipe will make the air slower.. hmm.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 10:47 AM

888 posts

Can also I guess? But I'll try and error to get the best results.....
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 10:51 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 10:47 AM)
Can also I guess? But I'll try and error to get the best results.....
Yes agree with u..try and error to get the best result..
I'm hoping for someone to post picture of how to tune the Air/Fuel ratio before i buy longer intake ram pipe or change back to stock.. laugh.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 10:57 AM

888 posts

Got a screw at the engine, have to adjust that... But the actual location I'm not that sure.... Can always ask your foreman to adjust for you....
h4dRi
post Apr 15 2011, 11:03 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 15 2011, 10:51 AM)
Yes agree with u..try and error to get the best result..
I'm hoping for someone to post picture of how to tune the Air/Fuel ratio before i buy longer intake ram pipe or change back to stock..  laugh.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1223594
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 04:26 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 10:57 AM)
Got a screw at the engine, have to adjust that... But the actual location I'm not that sure.... Can always ask your foreman to adjust for you....
I'm afraid foreman also ask to change back to stock! hahahaha

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Apr 15 2011, 11:03 AM)
Thanks bro..
Lean and Rich eh..hmm..

SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 04:38 PM

888 posts

Not really, you just say you want to try lor.....
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 04:40 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 04:38 PM)
Not really, you just say you want to try lor.....
Hmm..do u know normally how much they charge for it?
i'm afraid tomorrow kena chop..
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 06:58 PM

888 posts

When you change engine oil and tune together, should be FOC... Don't tell me you don't have a "regular" foreman that you know....
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 16 2011, 10:10 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 06:58 PM)
When you change engine oil and tune together, should be FOC... Don't tell me you don't have a "regular" foreman that you know....
hehe..got la regular foreman..
last night i've change back to drop in.
no power ler.. haizzz...
GEFORCEXTREME
post Apr 16 2011, 11:13 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 09:54 AM)

shocking.gif shakehead.gif
Bro, you're so funny, I'm just pointing that you're wrong. It doesn't matter if our friend's car here is turbo or NA. Leaner A/F ratio will not make the engine cooler.

Gas detector? Do you mean air/fuel sensor? shakehead.gif shocking.gif

Basically, the closer to A/F ratio of 14.7, the more optimum your engine will be. Too lean and it will cause problems, too rich and you're wasting fuel.

How to know the hydrocarbon chain inside petrol? So you mean the mechanic/tuner must first study Bachelor in Chemical Engineering first?

STOP SPREADING WRONG INFO ALREADY!

Added on April 16, 2011, 11:14 amAnd enough of your sinkalan!

Added on April 16, 2011, 11:16 amAt least try to Google or Wiki first before you say anything from your "intuition" or "experience".

Added on April 16, 2011, 11:20 amThat's why for fuel injection engines, ppl buy management to tune after they have done some significant mods on their car. They want the max power they can get though their mod and this is done by bring back the A/F ratio as close as stoich as possible.

This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: Apr 16 2011, 11:20 AM
xxboxx
post Apr 16 2011, 12:04 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 15 2011, 04:26 PM)
I'm afraid foreman also ask to change back to stock! hahahaha
Thanks bro..
Lean and Rich eh..hmm..

Lean means lesser petrol go into engine, Rich mean more petrol.
since more air going in with your open pod, you also have to make more petrol going in to compensate it.

or just take your car to shop with CO analyzer to tune it, only tens of ringgit. laugh.gif
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 16 2011, 12:10 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 16 2011, 12:04 PM)
since more air going in with your open pod, you also have to make more petrol going in to compensate it.

or just take your car to shop with CO analyzer to tune it, only tens of ringgit. laugh.gif
Oooo..
nice bro..now can understand a bit..
thumbup.gif
later will find workshop that have the CO analyzer..
the_catacombs
post Apr 16 2011, 02:21 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 15 2011, 09:05 AM)
aiiii...habis meter tu berapa kmh bro?..hihiiiiii...
my meter until 180 laa.. brows.gif

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 15 2011, 10:45 AM)
Maybe extend the ram pipe will make the air slower..  hmm.gif
its not making the air flow velocity slower... imagine open ur mouth wide wide and breath... and close half and breath... which is more efficient... open too wide, u have higher cfm with lower air intake velocity.... close half, u will get lesser cfm with higher air intake velocity.... concept slightly same with exhaust, just dat exhaust piping size is meant for scavenging effect while intake isnt....

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Apr 16 2011, 11:13 AM)
Basically, the closer to A/F ratio of 14.7, the more optimum your engine will be. Too lean and it will cause problems, too rich and you're wasting fuel.

Added on April 16, 2011, 11:20 amThat's why for fuel injection engines, ppl buy management to tune after they have done some significant mods on their car. They want the max power they can get though their mod and this is done by bring back the A/F ratio as close as stoich as possible.
actually not as close to 14.7:1 as possible... different tuner tune each car differently for different application depending on owner's preference... u tune it close to 14.7 or even 15 for better fuel consumption on lean cruise... but if u want outright power, approx 13-13.5 would be good for NA to produce lean best torque.... turbocharged engine would need richer AF approx 11-12.5, depending on turbo setup...
SUSkyheng
post Apr 16 2011, 02:43 PM

888 posts

shocking.gif  shakehead.gif
Bro, you're so funny, I'm just pointing that you're wrong. It doesn't matter if our friend's car here is turbo or NA. Leaner A/F ratio will not make the engine cooler.

Gas detector? Do you mean air/fuel sensor?  shakehead.gif  shocking.gif

How to know the hydrocarbon chain inside petrol? So you mean the mechanic/tuner must first study Bachelor in Chemical Engineering first?

Added on April 16, 2011, 11:16 amAt least try to Google or Wiki first before you say anything from your "intuition" or "experience".

When an idiot don't know how to differenciate what is called gas detector and air/fuel sensor, do I still need to waste time on an idiot?

Added on April 16, 2011, 2:45 pm
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 16 2011, 12:04 PM)

Well, I got a gas detector that can do this job, measuring O2, CO, HC.... But you have to come to PD..... Being tested few cars, I can only get CO and O2.....

This post has been edited by kyheng: Apr 16 2011, 02:45 PM
GEFORCEXTREME
post Apr 16 2011, 06:50 PM

60 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: Apr 16 2011, 07:08 PM
siqplus
post May 10 2011, 01:36 PM

81 posts

guys,
my car (old satria 1.3 carb) eat

Before tune = RM70 of ron95 petrol for 350km.
After tune = RM70 of ron95 petrol for 423km.

17% improvement.

Just want to ask, what the average fuel consumption for satria 1.3 carb? stock one.

gagak_84
post May 10 2011, 02:22 PM

132 posts

RM70 423km?
mine iswara 4g91 1.5 ron 95
RM50 can go 320 - 350
the_catacombs
post May 10 2011, 04:21 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(siqplus @ May 10 2011, 01:36 PM)
guys,

17% improvement.

Just want to ask, what the average fuel consumption for satria 1.3 carb? stock one.
thats quite good already...
gagak_84
post May 10 2011, 05:37 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 15 2011, 10:45 AM)
Maybe extend the ram pipe will make the air slower..  hmm.gif
i think ur engine are sucking the hot air.. that is y ur FC getting high.. blush.gif
sinister_sid
post May 10 2011, 06:04 PM

QUOTE(siqplus @ May 10 2011, 01:36 PM)
guys,

17% improvement.

my saga 1.3 year 91
65 buck = 449 km
siqplus
post May 10 2011, 08:40 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 10 2011, 02:22 PM)
RM70 423km?
mine iswara 4g91 1.5 ron 95
RM50 can go 320 - 350
rclxms.gif that good man. i plan to transplant 91 too. still kumpul duit.
my mechanic quote me 5000 for the halfcut, 1500 for labor.
can u recommend me other place?

Added on May 10, 2011, 8:40 pm
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 10 2011, 04:21 PM)
thats quite good already...
yup. me think so too.

Added on May 10, 2011, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(sinister_sid @ May 10 2011, 06:04 PM)
my saga 1.3 year 91
65 buck = 449 km
wow. 20 yo car with good fc brows.gif

This post has been edited by siqplus: May 10 2011, 08:43 PM
rozz_1291
post May 11 2011, 05:16 AM

Semi N/A
861 posts

@ the_catacombs

U need this la... for better accuracy in tuning your AFR.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1845582

whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
TSamir_tengkorak
post May 11 2011, 09:30 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 10 2011, 05:37 PM)
i think ur engine are sucking the hot air.. that is y ur FC getting high..  blush.gif
I've built a custom "super heat shield".
And make sure no hot air will be sucked.
But still macam shait ler..
Because of not tune after change to open pod.
More air than fuel.
So not balance.
Now tukar balik to stock intake.
Super satisfied!
FC good,Torque not that good,but top speed is niceeeeeeeee.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by amir_tengkorak: May 11 2011, 09:31 AM
gagak_84
post May 11 2011, 11:54 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ May 11 2011, 09:30 AM)
I've built a custom "super heat shield".
And make sure no hot air will be sucked.
But still macam shait ler..
Because of not tune after change to open pod.
More air than fuel.
So not balance.
Now tukar balik to stock intake.
Super satisfied!
FC good,Torque not that good,but top speed is niceeeeeeeee..  rclxms.gif
ayam open pod? hmm.gif
TSamir_tengkorak
post May 11 2011, 11:59 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 11 2011, 11:54 AM)
ayam open pod? hmm.gif
Earlier post :

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Apr 14 2011, 12:10 PM)
QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 14 2011, 01:10 PM)
Bukan cap ayam bro..K&N..
gagak_84
post May 11 2011, 12:39 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ May 11 2011, 11:59 AM)
Earlier post :
KNN ori or imitation tongue.gif

TSamir_tengkorak
post May 11 2011, 01:07 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 11 2011, 12:39 PM)
KNN ori or imitation  tongue.gif
Hahaha! Coverline cemerlang! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
devakt
post May 30 2011, 12:46 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 14 2011, 06:22 PM)
Hi, Which SHELL station the one near Civic HALL or the one Opposite Pizza Hut

tku

fstrader
post May 30 2011, 11:11 AM

No Replacement, For Displacement.
2,327 posts

dry.gif dry.gif
the_catacombs
post May 30 2011, 12:56 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(fstrader @ May 30 2011, 11:11 AM)
dry.gif  dry.gif
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TSamir_tengkorak
post May 30 2011, 02:45 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(fstrader @ May 30 2011, 11:11 AM)
dry.gif  dry.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif

limhongwoon
post May 31 2011, 12:47 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

The Open Pod Air Filter is better than the square air filter ?? How long do I need to replace a air filter ? Or depend on milleage ?
the_catacombs
post May 31 2011, 01:06 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ May 31 2011, 12:47 PM)
The Open Pod Air Filter is better than the square air filter ?? How long do I need to replace a air filter ? Or depend on milleage ?
if it is washable, u dont need to replace it
limhongwoon
post May 31 2011, 02:00 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ May 31 2011, 02:06 PM)
if it is washable, u dont need to replace it
How to see it whether washable ? If use High Air Flow Air Filter , will it damage my car ?
gagak_84
post May 31 2011, 03:31 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ May 31 2011, 02:00 PM)
How to see it whether washable ? If use High Air Flow Air Filter , will it damage my car ?
KNN is washable.. but i dont know the efficiency of the filteration once u wash it using KNN air filter cleaner kit..
limhongwoon
post May 31 2011, 03:51 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 31 2011, 04:31 PM)
KNN is washable.. but i dont know the efficiency of the filteration once u wash it using KNN air filter cleaner kit..
If use High Air Flow Air Filter , will it more dust going inside the throttle body ? KNN is the best or ... ?
the_catacombs
post May 31 2011, 06:30 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ May 31 2011, 02:00 PM)
depending on what air filter u purchasing lor...
it wont damage ur car as long as there is an air filter in place...
there are cars which do not run on any air filter... that is damaging in long run, especially in country like ours....

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ May 31 2011, 03:31 PM)
clean the filter thoroughly with its provided detergent and rinse with running water....
after wash must reoil la... make sure oil is sufficient but not dripping wet... should be ok...

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ May 31 2011, 03:51 PM)
If use High Air Flow Air Filter , will it more dust going inside the throttle body ? KNN is the best or ... ?
filtration efficiency is different for all types of air filter...
peachmonkey
post Nov 16 2011, 10:04 PM

282 posts

Anyone knows of any reputable carb tuners in Kota Kinabalu? Planning to get my carb tune by an expert tongue.gif
mmaher22
post Feb 19 2012, 10:29 PM

icon_question.gif
Dear all i need to know what is function of screw in picture which marked with bblack line and how to adjust it caz i found it losen

poolcarpet
post Feb 25 2012, 10:54 AM

548 posts

main jet screw i think, you should NOT have to adjust this....

http://www.lilevo.com/mirage/92-95%20Colt%...ENT/1995/11.pdf

QUOTE(mmaher22 @ Feb 19 2012, 10:29 PM)
icon_question.gif
Dear all  i need to know  what is function of screw in picture which marked with bblack line and how to adjust it caz i found it losen
LionelStep
post Oct 24 2012, 12:32 AM

QUOTE(mmaher22 @ Feb 19 2012, 10:29 PM)
icon_question.gif
Dear all  i need to know  what is function of screw in picture which marked with bblack line and how to adjust it caz i found it losen
Hi forumner, for the picture shown, please teach me how to access the 4G13 throttle body - throttle plate (or also named as throttle buttlefly valve), which are the screws or items to be removed or dismantled? Thanks !
sinister_sid
post Oct 24 2012, 01:04 AM

QUOTE(LionelStep @ Oct 24 2012, 12:32 AM)
Hi forumner,  for the picture shown, please teach me how to access the 4G13 throttle body - throttle plate (or also named as throttle buttlefly valve), which are the screws or  items  to be removed or dismantled?  Thanks !
a efi system throttle body or a carburetor throttle flap ?
LionelStep
post Oct 24 2012, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Oct 24 2012, 01:04 AM)
a efi system throttle body or a carburetor throttle flap ?
Thanks for your question to clarify, it should be Carburetor Throttle Flap. This 4G13 I am having is carburetor type. I have put photos and quick questions in this thread, appreciate help to reply if you know, thanks so much ~~

sinister_sid
post Oct 24 2012, 09:02 PM

u flip the carb upside down u can see the butterfly , two screw that hold it , need impact screw to remove the screw , and to take the shaft out u have to basicly dissassemble the entire carb
LionelStep
post Oct 24 2012, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Oct 24 2012, 09:02 PM)
u flip the carb upside down u can see the butterfly , two screw that hold it , need impact screw to remove the screw , and to take the shaft out u have to basicly dissassemble the entire carb
You mean, based on the photos which I showed, the throttle butterfly can be reached from below ?
I just want to clean up the throttle butterfly only.

And what is the function of the shaft actually ? Do I need to dismantle the shaft?
Just in case I remove the two screws in red, can I still clean the throttle butterfly without having to take out the entire carburettor ?
sinister_sid
post Oct 25 2012, 02:35 PM

yes u can get accsess to the butterfly at the bottom , if u wanted to clean it i dont see the need to disassemble the butterlfy , just a simple turn of the spindle u can clean the entire butterfly
TSamir_tengkorak
post Oct 25 2012, 02:58 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

Wow..
Amazing..
evangelion
post Oct 25 2012, 03:43 PM

The Ancient Ones
1,057 posts

Sifu tunjuk ajar.......... notworthy.gif
Quazacolt
post Oct 29 2012, 02:23 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

hmm our stock carb only 2 knobs/screws to tune? (1 being AFR the other being idling?)
LionelStep
post Oct 30 2012, 01:07 AM

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Oct 25 2012, 02:35 PM)
yes u can get accsess to the butterfly at the bottom , if u wanted to clean it i dont see the need to disassemble the butterlfy , just a simple turn of the spindle u can clean the entire butterfly
Please advice what are the ways to access to the throttle butterfly valve if I do not remove the 4G13P carburetor from the car ? Thanks ~~
sinister_sid
post Oct 30 2012, 03:27 AM

QUOTE(LionelStep @ Oct 30 2012, 01:07 AM)
Please advice what are the ways to access to the throttle butterfly valve if I do not remove the 4G13P carburetor  from the car ?  Thanks ~~
no other way , simple solution , use carburator cleaner to get ur butterfly clean of dirt and carbon
LionelStep
post Oct 30 2012, 08:39 AM

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Oct 30 2012, 03:27 AM)
no other way , simple solution , use carburator cleaner to get ur butterfly clean of dirt and carbon
1. Please advice, can we just spray carburetor cleaner into the 4 holes in yellow of the picture?

2. And secondly, in case I still want to attempt to access the throttle butterfly valve without taking out this carburetor from the car, can I just remove the 2 screws in red circle in the picture (and plus one more screw under which cannot be shown on the carburetor view), only 3 screws, then I can remove the front housing, and access to the throttle butterfly valve ?

calvin
post Oct 30 2012, 09:47 AM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

as per the thread title.. where am I able to find someone to tune my 4G13 carb ? unsure.gif
sinister_sid
post Oct 30 2012, 08:40 PM

QUOTE(LionelStep @ Oct 30 2012, 08:39 AM)
1.    Please advice, can we just spray carburetor cleaner into the 4 holes in yellow of the picture?

2.   And secondly, in case I still want to attempt to access the throttle butterfly valve without taking out this carburetor from the car, can I just remove the 2 screws in red circle in the picture (and plus one more screw under which cannot be shown on the carburetor view), only 3 screws,  then I can remove the front housing, and access to the throttle butterfly valve ?
u spray carburator cleaner with engine running , the cleaner will be suck by the induction along with the dirt , u will get a clean surface , yes u can spray inside the breather hole and air bleed hole , and result to flooded system and make ur engine hard to start

removing the front screw will gain u access to the variable ventury piston housing and the piston itsself and to remove the piston u have to take out a screw on the top , yep it will gain u alittle access to the buterfly , but with the risk of spring falling into the intake manifold , that time it will be fun rclxm9.gif

Added on October 30, 2012, 8:44 pm
QUOTE(calvin @ Oct 30 2012, 09:47 AM)
as per the thread title.. where am I able to find someone to tune my 4G13 carb ? unsure.gif
pmed you smile.gif

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: Oct 30 2012, 08:44 PM
Quazacolt
post Oct 30 2012, 11:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 29 2012, 02:23 AM)
hmm our stock carb only 2 knobs/screws to tune? (1 being AFR the other being idling?)
anyone can confirm on this?
LionelStep
post Oct 31 2012, 12:09 PM

Thanks for advice ~~ so, it seems it is too complicated to see the throttle butterfly with carburetor still in the car. So will you suggest that I can only spray the carburetor cleanner through the 4 holes when engine is still running ?

And if it is the correct way, then I would only need to remove the circular air filter, which is relatively much simplified work...

[quote=sinister_sid,Oct 30 2012, 08:40 PM]
u spray carburator cleaner with engine running , the cleaner will be suck by the induction along with the dirt , u will get a clean surface , yes u can spray inside the breather hole and air bleed hole , and result to flooded system and make ur engine hard to start

removing the front screw will gain u access to the variable ventury piston housing and the piston itsself and to remove the piston u have to take out a screw on the top , yep it will gain u alittle access to the buterfly , but with the risk of spring falling into the intake manifold , that time it will be fun rclxm9.gif

sinister_sid
post Oct 31 2012, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 30 2012, 11:25 PM)
anyone can confirm on this?
yes , the upper is idle jet screw mixture , bottom is main jet screw mixture , to adjust idle to 2k / 3k afr u have to fiddle with the idle jet , beyond that is main jet
Quazacolt
post Oct 31 2012, 09:04 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Oct 31 2012, 08:27 PM)
yes , the upper is idle jet screw mixture , bottom is main jet screw mixture , to adjust idle to 2k / 3k afr u have to fiddle with the idle jet , beyond that is main jet
argh hand itchy to play with it despite everyone say leave it unsure.gif
LionelStep
post Nov 1 2012, 12:43 PM

[quote=LionelStep,Oct 31 2012, 12:09 PM]
Thanks for advice ~~ so, it seems it is too complicated to see the throttle butterfly with carburetor still in the car. So will you suggest that I can only spray the carburetor cleanner through the 4 holes when engine is still running ?

And if it is the correct way, then I would only need to remove the circular air filter, which is relatively much simplified work...

[quote=sinister_sid,Oct 30 2012, 08:40 PM]

[/quote]

Hi sinister_sid, so, am I correct to just spray the Carburettor Cleaner into the 4 holes when engine is running ? Thanks so much !
felix_fky
post Nov 25 2013, 10:26 PM

QUOTE(calvin @ Oct 30 2012, 09:47 AM)
I would like to know also. There is a problem when I mati my engine, there is a little vibration occurred, what's the problem, any sifu can explain and tell what I should do? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
jackaroo
post Jan 6 2014, 11:20 AM

QUOTE(felix_fky @ Nov 25 2013, 10:26 PM)
I would like to know also. There is a problem when I mati my engine, there is a little vibration occurred, what's the problem, any sifu can explain and tell what I should do? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
hi... i try to reach uncle fred (fstrader). can anyone share with me his contact?
rcracer
post Jan 17 2014, 07:35 AM

?????
3,772 posts

yeah been trying to find a good tuner , seems all are extinct
TSamir_tengkorak
post Jan 22 2014, 09:19 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

Wow

This post has been edited by amir_tengkorak: Jan 22 2014, 09:31 AM
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 22 2014, 10:38 AM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Jan 22 2014, 09:19 AM)
Wow
hmm.gif
anyways how are doing mang? long time no hear from u..
Quazacolt
post Jan 22 2014, 12:49 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Jan 22 2014, 09:19 AM)
Wow
ohai lol. so suddenly?
Codyx
post Jan 22 2014, 02:46 PM

Hardcore as Always
928 posts

The screw which tuned with a sparkplug basically is the A/F for Idling only...no use

For Carb tuning you need to tune something else and for Aisan Carbs on 4G13/15 can get 150% more torgue after tuning compared to stock
DrCar
post Apr 30 2014, 12:47 AM

Kyheng, stop giving bad advice and superficial info on cars. Read your replies on removing positive terminal vs negative terminal. First time i join a forum to correct and taruh people back! Your knowledge on car is very very bad..LOL!

Flying Dmax
post May 26 2016, 12:26 PM

hi expert,
may i know how to adjust the air/fuel mixture screw? mine 4g13p carburetor, the screw was protected inside a steel ring, do you know how to adjust it?

shocking.gif  shakehead.gif

Gas detector? Do you mean air/fuel sensor?  shakehead.gif  shocking.gif

delsoo
post Jun 24 2016, 08:21 AM

3,187 posts

What is the prupose of install the battery meter ( volt meter) in the car ? why we need to know the voltage ?
lsm1991
post Jun 24 2016, 01:48 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Jun 24 2016, 08:21 AM)
What is the prupose of install the battery meter ( volt meter) in the car ? why we need to know the voltage ?
lari topic ni....

anyway volt meter to measure voltage..... some pipu wana regulate their voltage at all times~~ why do we wana do this? cause we like to make sure everything works as is
Azam Maju
post Jul 9 2016, 10:05 PM

Hi guy's and sifus,please help,I'm having a jerking acceleration while in middle of 140km trying to increase my speed and while to tarik pickup in 2nd gear or sometimes in 3rd gear mostly around 80km.i was thinking the only problem is the carb,before overhaul and change the parts with new carb service kit was already done,new fuel filter, open stadium air intake,Arospeed 10.2mm plug cable,but still make my nose itchy. FYI mine is old saga 1989 4G15.Is that related to the mixture setting? Anyone guy's?BTW i like to wish Selamat Hari Raya to whom celebrating it.tq
alexwsk
post Aug 31 2016, 02:55 PM

4,094 posts

any good place and reasonable price to tune 4g13 (carburetor a/f ratio and distributor timing)? should be below RM100, right? thanks

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Aug 31 2016, 02:58 PM
LokiRay
post Oct 24 2016, 02:01 AM

Hello, nice to meet you.
Im a newbie first time to join this website forum, and I just face a freaky problem after rebuilt my saga 12v carburetor ,
Firstly I got no petrol inject by the chamber linkage when rotate the pulley,
then found the plunger rubber flatted and use carburetor cleaner and airgun to clean the clogged jet, problem fix.

after i install and start the car then second problem coming up like smash on my head,
engine keep 5k rpm un til i switch off my car to prevent engine blow up.

Really no ideas whatt happen with that carburetor. need help and Urgent.
Wish someone carburetor experts can help.
If not i gotta spend more money to find another better carburetor.

Thank You Very Much. cheers.gif
kimi04
post Nov 18 2016, 03:50 AM

Hi experts..my 4g13 has been sitting for 8 months and now im going to rebuilt..after fix several problem now my car is starting but the engine died after a few second..
Im suspecting the carburetor but i cant tell which part..can anybody help?

Other info :
Cranking
New plugs
New distributor
Working fuel pump
New fuel filter
JinXXX
post Nov 20 2016, 07:53 PM

2,516 posts

hey guys..

want to check i'm having problem like

but the sputtering is only when i start my engine (morning or afternoon)... sometimes ok sometimes not ok..
very troublesome sometimes, when after trying 5x time without success to start,
i open up and push push the piston like thingy, then when i try again can jalan ..

seems like when i start the thing is unable to be regulated, and giving too much air or too little air until engine mati

is it due to something blocked or what ? anybody know where i can go to get experienced help ?

This post has been edited by JinXXX: Nov 20 2016, 07:54 PM
sakaic
post Nov 20 2016, 09:42 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(Flying Dmax @ May 26 2016, 12:26 PM)
hi expert,
may i know how to adjust the air/fuel mixture screw? mine 4g13p carburetor, the screw was protected inside a steel ring, do you know how to adjust it?
The hidden screw is tuned using a special tool. Can buy from tool shops.

Tuning an engine depends on purpose of tuning, mods done, advance setting and engine condition. No magical bullet. That's why experienced mechanics do it better.

Ok. Your case, from my limited understanding and experience, the reason they ask you to go back to stock intake is like this. You can correct me if I am wrong. The problem with cold air intakes is that you have a tendency to cool the intake manifold too much. Petrol does not burn in liquid form. It burns in vapour form, that means gas form. That's why some people call it gasoline. If you look at you manifold, there is a water manifold. That is to warm it up so that the petrol can evaporate. When you put the CAI, you cool it so much that the mixture cannot evaporate in time. If you notice, pick up is fine, in lower gears also actually ok. Only top speed runs semput a bit. Original intake gives it some warmth. If it's too cold, there is a pipe to draw warm air from the exhaust manifold. That's also why older NA F1 engines have the injectors before the throttle body not before the valves like our engines.

Another possibility is that there is not enough swirl. Mixing not enough

Sorry if too long.

This post has been edited by sakaic: Nov 20 2016, 10:40 PM

0.0497sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:56 PM