How To Tune Air/Fuel Ratio (4G13/4G15 Carburetor), Need ur help guys

TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 14 2011, 11:35 AM, updated 12y ago

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

Hi guys.
Need ur help on tuning "air/fuel ratio" On 4G13/4G15 carburetor.
I changed to open pod setting but not quite satisfied.
Before this stock intake can reach 180kmh but now 160kmh is damn hard to reach.
Few people suggest using spark plug head as screw to tune it but i don't know ler..
icon_question.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 14 2011, 11:53 AM

158 posts

cause you got more air comapred to fuel now, lack of power.

I'd suggest you look for uncle fred aka fstrader on the marketplace, super duper professional carb tuner for 4g engines wink.gif.

People like me and you can never get it right. People like him gets it right through his nose lol.
gagak_84
post Apr 14 2011, 12:10 PM

132 posts

are using cap ayam open Pod?
the_catacombs
post Apr 14 2011, 12:55 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 14 2011, 11:53 AM)

I'd suggest you look for uncle fred aka fstrader on the marketplace, super duper professional carb tuner for 4g engines wink.gif.

People like me and you can never get it right. People like him gets it right through his nose lol.
his nose is wideband o2 sensor maa... laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 14 2011, 01:10 PM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 14 2011, 11:53 AM)

All people in the forum suggest me to go find unker fred.
I've asked unker fred few months ago liao.
But unfortunately, unker fred ask me to change back to stock setup.
sad.gif

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Apr 14 2011, 12:10 PM)
are using cap ayam open Pod?
Bukan cap ayam bro..K&N..
Angin lebih punya pasal ni..

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 14 2011, 12:55 PM)
his nose is wideband o2 sensor maa...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Bro,ur long intake pipe good ke?
Top speed got or not?
makaveli
post Apr 14 2011, 02:52 PM

Livin' la Vida Loca
1,491 posts

haha.unker gettting old sumore.
gagak_84
post Apr 14 2011, 03:19 PM

132 posts

ade kedai tune carb..
dia ada CO punya tuning.. masuk lubang exhaust tu.. baru tune carb.. kalau nak cun la.. kalau guna pakai dengar pon boleh..

hehehe
ThunderGod_Cid
post Apr 14 2011, 06:22 PM

158 posts

or else go to PJ state shell statoion, theres a workshop there that has this CO analyzer machine
sinister_sid
post Apr 15 2011, 12:46 AM

unker fred is right
i olso diy open pod
respond good but top speed crap
change back closed factory still the best
what not open pod sucking all the hot air and the air ram paip lenght so damm small so restrict air speed
the_catacombs
post Apr 15 2011, 03:43 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 14 2011, 01:10 PM)
Bro,ur long intake pipe good ke?
Top speed got or not?
good laa... brows.gif
top speed dunno leh... habis meter i start goyang d also havent tekan finish... sweat.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 06:41 AM

888 posts

More air will result cooling effect to your engine.....
If want good response, suggest to blow your original air filter every 1000km.... More work but will work, up to certain extend....
GEFORCEXTREME
post Apr 15 2011, 08:45 AM

60 posts

rclxms.gif

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:47 am
QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 06:41 AM)
If want good response, suggest to blow your original air filter every 1000km.... More work but will work, up to certain extend....
More air will result cooling effect to your engine?
What air you mean? The air into engine or air into the engine bay? If engine bay then yes, if into engine then wrong. Ppl who use turbo cars have their car tune to be slightly richer (more fuel vs stoich a/f ratio of 14.7) to avoid detonation and provide some cooling effect.

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:49 am
QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 14 2011, 11:35 AM)
Hi guys.
Need ur help on tuning "air/fuel ratio" On 4G13/4G15 carburetor.
I changed to open pod setting but not quite satisfied.
Before this stock intake can reach 180kmh but now 160kmh is damn hard to reach.
Few people suggest using spark plug head as screw to tune it but i don't know ler..
icon_question.gif
Actually, 160-180 km/h on 1.3 liter is damn impressive if you ask me! I basically never drive over 160 on my 1.6.

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:50 amBtw amir, why don't you give maddriver a call to see if he know how to tune? He's damn friendly, even for a shy guy like me I have no problem talking to him.

This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: Apr 15 2011, 08:50 AM
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 09:05 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(gagak_84 @ Apr 14 2011, 03:19 PM)
ade kedai tune carb..
dia ada CO punya tuning.. masuk lubang exhaust tu.. baru tune carb.. kalau nak cun la.. kalau guna pakai dengar pon boleh..

hehehe
kedai tune tu kat mana eh? whereeeeeeeeeeee? drool.gif

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Apr 14 2011, 06:22 PM)
or else go to PJ state shell statoion, theres a workshop there that has this CO analyzer machine
I see..so if using CO analyzer machine more accurate la?

QUOTE(sinister_sid @ Apr 15 2011, 12:46 AM)
unker fred is right
i olso diy open pod
respond good but top speed crap
change back closed factory still the best
what not open pod sucking all the hot air and the air ram paip lenght so damm small so restrict air speed
I've done a good heatshield wor..
siap cover dari heat radiator tu..
confirm all the air is cold one..
the ram pipe is 3 inch.i'm thinking of extending the ram pipe..
but if not effective rugi ler beli pipe...

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 15 2011, 03:43 AM)
good laa...  brows.gif
top speed dunno leh... habis meter i start goyang d also havent tekan finish...  sweat.gif
aiiii...habis meter tu berapa kmh bro?..hihiiiiii...

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 06:41 AM)
So u suggested me to change back to stock intake or what?

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Apr 15 2011, 08:45 AM)
rclxms.gif

Actually, 160-180 km/h on 1.3 liter is damn impressive if you ask me! I basically never drive over 160 on my 1.6.

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:50 amBtw amir, why don't you give maddriver a call to see if he know how to tune? He's damn friendly, even for a shy guy like me I have no problem talking to him.
Well...carburetor is no brain one..
no speed cut.. brows.gif
i wanted to ask for maddie's help..
but the problem is...
maddie also ask to change back to stock intake!
hahahahaahaha laugh.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 09:54 AM

888 posts

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Apr 15 2011, 08:45 AM)
rclxms.gif

Added on April 15, 2011, 8:47 am

More air will result cooling effect to your engine?
What air you mean? The air into engine or air into the engine bay? If engine bay then yes, if into engine then wrong. Ppl who use turbo cars have their car tune to be slightly richer (more fuel vs stoich a/f ratio of 14.7) to avoid detonation and provide some cooling effect.

So, our friend's car is normal or turbo engine? Use a gas detector to test your exhaust gas first before bringing that uncomplete version of wiki info.
That 14.7 are just a general ratio, still have to know the hydrocarbon chain that have inside petrol.

Added on April 15, 2011, 9:55 am
QUOTE(amir_tengkorak @ Apr 15 2011, 09:05 AM)
So u suggested me to change back to stock intake or what?
Yeah, just stick with original. Other mods like spark plugs, plug cables, extra grounding will give you better results, best of all, improve your FC....

This post has been edited by kyheng: Apr 15 2011, 09:55 AM
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 10:05 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 09:54 AM)
So, our friend's car is normal or turbo engine? Use a gas detector to test your exhaust gas first before bringing that uncomplete version of wiki info.
That 14.7 are just a general ratio, still have to know the hydrocarbon chain that have inside petrol.

Added on April 15, 2011, 9:55 am
Yeah, just stick with original. Other mods like spark plugs, plug cables, extra grounding will give you better results, best of all, improve your FC....
I see..hmm..but stock intake not good throttle response as the open pod that i'm using now.
So now i'm finding a way to keep the current throttle response and reach the last top speed i've reach before when using stock intake.
Tuning carb and extend intake ram pipe will make difference? hmm.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 10:25 AM

888 posts

Like that.... Maybe block the pipe of your air filter a bit may help? Have to know that, air flow to your engine are designed and calculated, putting more air in that will only improve the performance until certain extend. Or make it this way, original air filter won't give you enough air....
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 10:45 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 10:25 AM)
Like that.... Maybe block the pipe of your air filter a bit may help? Have to know that, air flow to your engine are designed and calculated, putting more air in that will only improve the performance until certain extend. Or make it this way, original air filter won't give you enough air....
Hmm..but sometimes i think it is because of air too fast going inside..
Maybe extend the ram pipe will make the air slower.. hmm.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 10:47 AM

888 posts

Can also I guess? But I'll try and error to get the best results.....
TSamir_tengkorak
post Apr 15 2011, 10:51 AM

Wow..Amazing...
1,347 posts

QUOTE(kyheng @ Apr 15 2011, 10:47 AM)
Can also I guess? But I'll try and error to get the best results.....
Yes agree with u..try and error to get the best result..
I'm hoping for someone to post picture of how to tune the Air/Fuel ratio before i buy longer intake ram pipe or change back to stock.. laugh.gif
SUSkyheng
post Apr 15 2011, 10:57 AM

888 posts

Got a screw at the engine, have to adjust that... But the actual location I'm not that sure.... Can always ask your foreman to adjust for you....

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:05 AM