(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

Nightstalker1993
post Apr 13 2011, 10:35 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(hAnn @ Apr 13 2011, 09:34 AM)
hey bros, care to add me in the list? my defy is arriving in few days. i won a bid in lelong for only rm879 biggrin.gif
your nick sounds familiar tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Fasap @ Apr 13 2011, 10:17 PM)
Darn it, looks like im one of those unlucky lots owning this phone.. *sigh*

Only one day use, and the so called Gorilla glass gets loadsa hairline scratches~ ! all this while the phone was in a pouch wit no other contact wit keys or other stuf etc for whole day.

Lesson learned, just use screen protector regardless of wht they say. To all those soon to be and new owners pls do take note. I learned the hard way sad.gif

Now am wondering whether the other features of this phone can whitstand anything it was marketed abt..

*or maybe the set i bought is a fake moto?? Huhu
hairline scratches are ok, at least it dissappears completely when the screen turns on. I got a hugeass scratch in the middle of my screen thanks to my idiot friend who took it and scratch it on the edge of a cement chair doh.gif

now i have a layer of XtremeGuard over it and the scratches magically disappears! thumbup.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 14 2011, 06:15 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

I'm using Fpse too and seriously its a hell lot better and smoother than psx4droid and more compatibility with games too. And btw, your signature is too big bro. Remove the gigantic hp image please smile.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 21 2011, 02:29 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Just sent my phone in to Phoneworx in Sunway Mentari for warranty claim for the earpiece problem.

Told the technician that i already flashed the phone to 2.2 and asked him whether is the warranty voided. He told me technically it should be voided but he can close one eye and just change the earpiece without touching the software. 3rd party service center ftw!!! laugh.gif

best part is that i send it in today, it would be ready by tomorrow rclxm9.gif

and damn, CM7 really looks damn tempting man drool.gif

only thing missing in the feature list is auto-brightness and a-gps since i use GPS alot else it'll be a no-brainer to upgrade laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 22 2011, 03:58 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Damn the Phoneworx service center damn efficient man! Yesterday noon sent to service, just now noon ready for collection already! laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 22 2011, 04:24 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Who say not yet collect? Collected it right before i went to work. Now posting this through my defy tongue.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 22 2011, 07:43 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Yeap i dumped my phone into the water many times before. But before i do that, i triple check that all ports and back cover is closed properly. The microusb cover is quite loose but it does hold against water. Just make sure it doesn't open while its underwater then can liao. Heck, i applied my screen protector totally underwater LOL laugh.gif

The defy makes a great party trick and conversation starter when you dunk your phone into a glass of beer and the crowd goes O.O laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 22 2011, 11:00 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Regarding the shaking issue, it should be the battery rattling. You can try by putting a piece of paper or something between the battery and the cover. An if you think the earpiece is a problem, the speaker mai lagi big problem? LOL laugh.gif

Added on April 22, 2011, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(junshern222 @ Apr 22 2011, 10:57 PM)
Do you guys notice the tiny holes behind the phone,whats that for?For the water that went into the earpiece to discharge??
Thats for the secondary microphone used for noise cancelling for calls.

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Apr 22 2011, 11:02 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 25 2011, 01:52 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

That depends on your luck though. My case was coz the dude memang say its a common problem so he help me that time. Else it'll be considered warranty void already. Now you're not sure its the software or hardware problem plus you're on a modded firmware so better don't send to warranty that fast. Later they put your warranty status as void then lagi teruk rclxub.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 26 2011, 02:37 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 26 2011, 12:08 AM)
suddenly .. my Defy internet browser can't view flash content..

all stock/ firefox/ dolphin ... ><.

will check n see tomorrow .. now sleepy jor
uninstall then reinstall flash 10.2 see how

last time after i install liquidarc, flash wasnt working at all but i see it installed and it says updated to the latest version in the market. Uninstalled it then reinstalled and problem solved laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 28 2011, 05:42 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Btw guys, wanna have a short gathering somewhere in May?

I'm heading off to National Service on May 17th so hopefully May 7th or 14th?

Had been a pretty long time since i've been to a gathering and i think its about time we have our own! rclxm9.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 28 2011, 12:32 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

wahh me organiser ar? Tyenfei organiser can? I don't even know my way around mid valley! LOL! laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 28 2011, 04:07 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 28 2011, 12:50 PM)
Aiyo ~ u ah .. Defy owner got GPS software to check POI mah  laugh.gif

I can help you do some admin work here.
As in I don't know my way inside mid valley, not the mid valley laugh.gif

Which place in mid valley got big space with many seatings and free wifi? Mcd?

QUOTE(hooi1 @ Apr 28 2011, 02:57 PM)
hi.. today do so many thing to my bro's defy.. lol..

from 2.59 flash to 2.51.. then test the upgrade to froyo..
and now just finish install the cm7 beta 4..

any of u have tested beta4??
video recording seems ok for me.. but camera din works =/
it can take picture but wont save it and hang there.. omly home button is funtioning.. haha

others haven test tho..
Apparently if not mistaken there's a specific way to install cm7 for it to run properly. Will post up the post I found late since im at work now and posting this one my defy laugh.gif

QUOTE(®Bart™ @ Apr 28 2011, 03:28 PM)
Anyone here has earpiece problem already??
Mine earpiece almost failed. Sound cracks when volume is above 1/3

In the end sent back to warranty with 2.2 still installed and got it fixed thumbup.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 29 2011, 11:47 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Apr 29 2011, 01:36 AM)
Note on the gathering, i would suggest it to be at Chillies. Got happy hour, and free refills for those who don't drink, and can smoke your lungs out = Winrar
Too bad some of us here(me) don't smoke sad.gif

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 29 2011, 07:55 AM)
Oh Yes! Most important thing is we can update the map monthly  laugh.gif

But .. as I notice papago use GPS not aGPS.

aGPS mean it will get your location by Wifi/Telco station ( not so accurate ), works without satellite. Thats why it call assist-GPS.
Google map support both GPS/ aGPS. U guys can try this,

Launch the google map, with enable location with wireless network under setting/ location & security/ then connect to internet ( wifi or data plan ). Without switch on the satellite signal it will still able to locate your location.

But not so accurate most of the time if you are out of town. ( less telco station  sweat.gif )
Actually, aGPS means that every time you turn on the GPS, it will download the aGPS location data which is the location of the satellites at that current time since the position of the satellites is forever changing to decrease the time needed for locking onto a satellite. If say you had not used the GPS for a few days and you turn on the GPS, it might take a couple of minutes to lock since the satellite location data cached in the phone is outdated. But if you turn on the GPS and have data connection to allow the phone to download the GPS Assistance Data, it should lock in seconds instead of minutes. And for people like me who don't have data plan, i can still make use of aGPS by downloading the assistance data right before i use the GPS through wifi. You can do that with an app called GPS Status and clicking the 'Manage A-GPS State' button and it will download the latest aGPS data and your GPS should lock in seconds once you go outdoors smile.gif

Added on April 29, 2011, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Apr 29 2011, 09:24 AM)
Well, good news to Defy owners for now.

http://ausdroid.net/2011/04/27/confirmatio...ndroid-devices/
where you get the picture from? Can't find the source anywhere rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Apr 29 2011, 12:01 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 30 2011, 03:03 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(hooi1 @ Apr 30 2011, 09:44 AM)
oic... then how to make it kong now... lol

still in warranty.. can clain it  laugh.gif
Does your earpiece sound cracks when playing the standard dial tone when calling? If yes just send it in for warranty straight away since that's not supposed to happen in the first place.

I sent mine in for warranty when that happened to me and it was ready to collection on the next day. Of course, i sent mine direct to the service center for warranty claims though laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post May 1 2011, 07:43 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Hey guys, sorry but i think i have to bail from the gathering. Just screwed up my car this morning. no transport anywhere sad.gif
Nightstalker1993
post May 1 2011, 01:21 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

i was supposed to be the organiser. planning to do it the coming weekend since yesterday was supposed to be my last day of work so i have alot of free time. But now my car is screwed so i lost my mode of transport sad.gif
Nightstalker1993
post May 3 2011, 02:22 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 3 2011, 01:32 AM)
cm7 is rooted. so far, i havent re-flash cm7 before, and is still on the first installation. so far so good.

wifi is cranky, but usable.
camera flash not working
aGPS not working

FM radio apparently works, but i dont think i use it. what apps uses that??
mine wifi is pretty stable, camera flash working no probs. GPS works but takes a hell long to lock. aGPS is definitely not working.

and btw, reason i can't organise/join any gathering sad.gif

Nightstalker1993
post May 3 2011, 01:25 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ May 3 2011, 08:35 AM)
u may try, my experience is with Jboogies rom my phone signal "some" times gone and come back at KL area. Most of the time are ok.

then when i travel back to home town from KL, Lekas, N.S all the way mostly signal ok ... right until my hometown then no signal  shakehead.gif

so, after i use a Defy SEA India 900mhz -1800Mhz fix zip file then all okay. 
http://www.mediafire.com/?k8dsbbq0ceodv86

Added on May 3, 2011, 8:36 am
shocking.gif  .... hospital now ???????
nope. damn lucky. scratchless rclxub.gif

my passenger just got some bruises and scratches from the glass only though.

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 3 2011, 08:43 AM)
damn man....the phone should be ok, but how about the human? 

tyanfei: I do not use FM radio but its fixed in 4.1. Just scared of the wifi only. GPS as long as it works what gives. I have a garmin my self. only problem is i cant be carrying my garmin in my packet all day long no? So still need GPS. I was wondering what "working but has bugs" means. Maybe today i'll flash.

EDIT: if i backup using titanium, do i still need to download google apps?
phone lucky i put in my pocket instead of my door handle that time. else the phone sure hilang liao laugh.gif

both me and my passenger also ok. me pulak not even a single scratch rclxub.gif

no idea about the wifi but so far its been a full day since i've used CM7 and wifi is pretty much connected whole day without problems thumbup.gif

aGPS doesn't work so the time taken for a gps fix will be alot longer than what you're used to.

and i'm not too sure about google apps. but i read that to sign in your google account, you need the google apps coz if not mistaken it also includes the market and stuff onboard. So just install all at once only la.

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 3 2011, 09:46 AM)
Disable all 3G. if not your credit habis la. Keep updating and connected to 3G. Syok syok the fella will download new updates. Haha. You might as well get data plan to unlock the full potential of this phone.
CM7 Help: after i download the CM7 pack, do i need to unzip it or put the whole zip into my SD card folder?
stock 2.1 i don't think can disable data just like that. have to install those apn renamer if not mistaken.

QUOTE(efariz @ May 3 2011, 10:06 AM)
if i used offline GPS, the location accurate or not.??

Added on May 3, 2011, 10:08 am
how do to it.??sorry, i'm new to this things
if i cache, the location will be accurate or not.??
i'm afraid to get lost again
accurate is accurate, until you reach the heart of kl with giant skyscrapers on your front, back, left right. That time i went KL with my friend at night with my phone gps and his Garmin Nuvi dedicated GPS. Both lost signal at roughly the same time when we approached the skyscraper area rclxub.gif

so don't rely on the gps 100% laugh.gif

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 3 2011, 10:39 AM)
just put the zip card in any folder you want. select the folder when custom recovery prompt you to do so. it goes the same for any update.zip or whatever

Added on May 3, 2011, 10:40 am

wow, nightstalker really nightstalker...who you stalking until become like that??
wanted to go kl stalk some club chicks LOL! laugh.gif

QUOTE(theBigO @ May 3 2011, 12:30 PM)
Before u flash....reboot...press power button + volume down. You will see a android with an exclamation mark in a triangle. Press volume up + volume down together. The menu will come out. Choose wipe data and then wipe dalvik cache. After done reboot and straight away press power + volume up to Bootloader mode. Then flash the sbf again. It should work now.

If you planning to go back to CM7, try use 3.4.2_177 Deblur. I am using this 1 as my base in CM7. Everything works fine.
i'm using the Nordic as my base and pretty much everything that needs to work, works! laugh.gif

btw, anybody else here having delays between changing brightness for the screen? i set my screen to auto-brightness and i noticed its always setting my brightness too low and takes some time to change the brightness when i move around from dark->bright or vice versa. I remembered last time when i was on 2.2 it was much faster and smoother transition between brightness.
Nightstalker1993
post May 8 2011, 04:39 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

BTW, I'm running on CM7 beta 4.1, does anyone encounter a bug in the alarm?

When using apps like Alarm Clock Extreme or Alarm Clock Plus and you set the ringer style to increase the volume gradually in like 10s or also known as 'soft alarm', the alarm will be stuck at the lowest volume doh.gif

i woke up for work late for the past few days because of this and i didn't realize it was a bug in the phone. Always thought it was just me oversleeping and didn't came to my mind at all that it was my phone alarm ringing at the lowest possible volume until i tested it out yesterday doh.gif

just wanna know any of you facing this problem? If yes, does 5.1 solves it? I saw it solves the aGPS bug and that they reworked the sensors. now thinking whether to flash that or to wait until beta 6,7,8 or RC1 or wait until a stable release comes out? thumbup.gif
Nightstalker1993
post May 9 2011, 01:06 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ May 9 2011, 12:52 PM)
I got mine around February 2011. Dem... now talking using speakerphone liao... cannot talk for long with wife while in office... tongue.gif
send back to warranty bro if you're having an ori set.

their service center is at Sunway Mentari only. Sent there on Thursday, got it back on Friday! rclxm9.gif

0.0357sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:30 PM