(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

Nightstalker1993
post Apr 13 2011, 10:35 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(hAnn @ Apr 13 2011, 09:34 AM)
hey bros, care to add me in the list? my defy is arriving in few days. i won a bid in lelong for only rm879 biggrin.gif
your nick sounds familiar tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Fasap @ Apr 13 2011, 10:17 PM)
Darn it, looks like im one of those unlucky lots owning this phone.. *sigh*

Only one day use, and the so called Gorilla glass gets loadsa hairline scratches~ ! all this while the phone was in a pouch wit no other contact wit keys or other stuf etc for whole day.

Lesson learned, just use screen protector regardless of wht they say. To all those soon to be and new owners pls do take note. I learned the hard way sad.gif

Now am wondering whether the other features of this phone can whitstand anything it was marketed abt..

*or maybe the set i bought is a fake moto?? Huhu
hairline scratches are ok, at least it dissappears completely when the screen turns on. I got a hugeass scratch in the middle of my screen thanks to my idiot friend who took it and scratch it on the edge of a cement chair doh.gif

now i have a layer of XtremeGuard over it and the scratches magically disappears! thumbup.gif
blackwhitechipsKL
post Apr 13 2011, 10:36 PM

330 posts

yup, my phone so far no screen protector still ok (touch wood) but i'm still looking for one mainly for 2 reason

anti-glare
anti-fingerprint
TStyenfei
post Apr 13 2011, 10:38 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 13 2011, 10:36 PM)
yup, my phone so far no screen protector still ok (touch wood) but i'm still looking for one mainly for 2 reason

anti-glare
anti-fingerprint
my wife unit using anti-fingerprint ... which i personally feel doh.gif not really clear if u read ebook a lot.
theBigO
post Apr 13 2011, 10:43 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 13 2011, 10:38 PM)
my wife unit using anti-fingerprint ... which i personally feel  doh.gif  not really clear if u read ebook a lot.
I am using anti-glare/fingerprint also with a protective case. With my daughter around...nothing is safe. She alrdy bite off my earphone rubber piece. Not to mentioned she always play with my phone after eating biscuits, banana, apple, cake...u name it. At least it wont look so oily. Huhu. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 13 2011, 10:45 PM
hAnn
post Apr 13 2011, 10:45 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 13 2011, 10:35 PM)
your nick sounds familiar tongue.gif laugh.gif
hehe i remember u, my sifu. i was once e398 n rokr e2 modder like some of u here... but im totally new to android... just got my defy fresh. i got prob accessing my sim card contact

instead only shows my gmail contact sweat.gif any tips?

This post has been edited by hAnn: Apr 13 2011, 10:46 PM
theBigO
post Apr 13 2011, 10:47 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(hAnn @ Apr 13 2011, 10:45 PM)
hehe i remember u, my sifu. i was once e398 n rokr e2 modder like some of u here... but im totally new to android... just got my defy fresh. i got prob accessing my sim card contact

instead only shows my gmail contact  sweat.gif any tips?
There should be an app call Manage Sim on ur phone. Just copy to the phone.
hAnn
post Apr 13 2011, 10:51 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ Apr 13 2011, 10:47 PM)
There should be an app call Manage Sim on ur phone. Just copy to the phone.
ah thx, too much to explore rclxub.gif

i wish to upgrade to froyo if its recommended? does solely follow the guide in 1st page helps? or its not dat easy?
blackwhitechipsKL
post Apr 13 2011, 10:59 PM

330 posts

it's not as easy as it looks, but not that hard either. just dont be a hero and try shortcut.

also, if you are doing it, get the applications from the link there, and not elsewhere. that is what i did and had problems.

if you do follow everything there, you should be safe, if not, got sifus around to assist
TStyenfei
post Apr 13 2011, 10:59 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ Apr 13 2011, 10:43 PM)
I am using anti-glare/fingerprint also with a protective case. With my daughter around...nothing is safe. She alrdy bite off my earphone rubber piece. Not to mentioned she always play with my phone after eating biscuits, banana, apple, cake...u name it. At least it wont look so oily. Huhu.  shakehead.gif
my daugther 15th months old now .. always run to me when i'm holding my Defy in hand sweat.gif

but i'll never let her take/ play direct on my phone. only watch mickey mouse cartoon and play some kids piano/ flash card.

lucky now my wife Defy can do the same things also laugh.gif

Added on April 13, 2011, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(hAnn @ Apr 13 2011, 10:51 PM)
ah thx, too much to explore  rclxub.gif

i wish to upgrade to froyo if its recommended? does solely follow the guide in 1st page helps? or its not dat easy?
as blackwhitechipsKL mention, the program just inside your phone. easy to transfer from sim to phone.

for the froyo upgrade, will recommend u will to play with your stock rom few more days. just to make sure everyhing work fine ( speaker, gps, camera, battery .. )

then try the step by step at front page 1st nod.gif

This post has been edited by tyenfei: Apr 13 2011, 11:03 PM
theBigO
post Apr 13 2011, 11:04 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 13 2011, 10:59 PM)
it's not as easy as it looks, but not that hard either. just dont be a hero and try shortcut.

also, if you are doing it, get the applications from the link there, and not elsewhere. that is what i did and had problems.

if you do follow everything there, you should be safe, if not, got sifus around to assist
LOL brows.gif I remember all this...lucky got Lingch to help u. icon_idea.gif

Added on April 13, 2011, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 13 2011, 10:59 PM)
my daugther 15th months old now .. always run to me when i'm holding my Defy in hand  sweat.gif

but i'll never let her take/ play direct on my phone. only watch mickey mouse cartoon and play some kids piano/ flash card.
lucky now my wife Defy can do the same things also laugh.gif

My daughter like to play Angry birds and Talking Tom cat...even watch barney on youtube on my phone. No choice...i have to let her use my phone cos my wife wont let her touch her Iphone 4. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by theBigO: Apr 13 2011, 11:06 PM
blackwhitechipsKL
post Apr 13 2011, 11:12 PM

330 posts

so wife has iphone4 AND defy??
TAGreptiles
post Apr 13 2011, 11:15 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Fasap @ Apr 13 2011, 10:17 PM)
Darn it, looks like im one of those unlucky lots owning this phone.. *sigh*

Only one day use, and the so called Gorilla glass gets loadsa hairline scratches~ ! all this while the phone was in a pouch wit no other contact wit keys or other stuf etc for whole day.

Lesson learned, just use screen protector regardless of wht they say. To all those soon to be and new owners pls do take note. I learned the hard way sad.gif

Now am wondering whether the other features of this phone can whitstand anything it was marketed abt..

*or maybe the set i bought is a fake moto?? Huhu
Mine got a lot of scratches... on the screen protector. brows.gif

Added on April 13, 2011, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 13 2011, 10:36 PM)

anti-glare
anti-fingerprint
anti-glare not worth it la. Kills the resolution. I got a tip for you. When mine is all oily and full of finger prints. I wash it. Its a defy anyway. laugh.gif

I watch the Atrix Promo video now i jelly and butthurt. cry.gif

This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: Apr 13 2011, 11:19 PM
TStyenfei
post Apr 13 2011, 11:30 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ Apr 13 2011, 11:04 PM)
LOL  brows.gif  I remember all this...lucky got Lingch to help u.  icon_idea.gif

Added on April 13, 2011, 11:06 pm

My daughter like to play Angry birds and Talking Tom cat...even watch barney on youtube on my phone. No choice...i have to let her use my phone cos my wife wont let her touch her Iphone 4.  shakehead.gif
so far .. my daughter can only watch me play Angry bird laugh.gif
blackwhitechipsKL
post Apr 13 2011, 11:31 PM

330 posts

Defy to gonna get CyanogenMod!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1033654
lingch
post Apr 13 2011, 11:33 PM

Master of the house
1,755 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Apr 13 2011, 11:15 PM)
Mine got a lot of scratches... on the screen protector. brows.gif

Added on April 13, 2011, 11:19 pm
anti-glare not worth it la. Kills the resolution. I got a tip for you. When mine is all oily and full of finger prints. I wash it. Its a defy anyway.  laugh.gif

I watch the Atrix Promo video now i jelly and butthurt.  cry.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Patiently waiting... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
hAnn
post Apr 13 2011, 11:35 PM

329 posts

great advices guys, so im thinking of getting some apps, mandatory ones like those app killers & ______ (recommend pls)

oh wait i dun hav a mem card yet, can install app in phone?
lingch
post Apr 13 2011, 11:37 PM

Master of the house
1,755 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 13 2011, 11:31 PM)
2.3.3? Dilemma again whether to sell my Defy or not cry.gif
Fasap
post Apr 13 2011, 11:39 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 13 2011, 10:35 PM)
hairline scratches are ok, at least it dissappears completely when the screen turns on. I got a hugeass scratch in the middle of my screen thanks to my idiot friend who took it and scratch it on the edge of a cement chair doh.gif

now i have a layer of XtremeGuard over it and the scratches magically disappears! thumbup.gif
wow? you just let ur fren do that to test the screen or it was an accident? shakehead.gif

Yep.. im on you with that, when turned on the scratches wont show, but in standby sure still can see.. oh well, no things can be 100% perfect, gotta live wot it now..

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Apr 13 2011, 10:35 PM)

one of our owner here have the same case like u .. but his unit been really "test" by face down the Gorilla glass and then .....
glass make by sand .. so if got sand inside the pouch sweat.gif  .. this might happened.
yeah, i also think there were sand particles (?) in my pouch as last time I used the pouch when I was in a fabrication yard. oh well..

Thanks for the words of assurance guys, but now just to be safe gotta get me XtremeGuard just to feel a lil' better! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Fasap: Apr 13 2011, 11:40 PM
TStyenfei
post Apr 13 2011, 11:43 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(hAnn @ Apr 13 2011, 11:35 PM)
great advices guys, so im thinking of getting some apps, mandatory ones like those app killers & ______ (recommend pls)

oh wait i dun hav a mem card yet, can install app in phone?
apps will install in phone .. but some apps need additional data to download and store in SD icon_idea.gif

such as .. Asphalt5 car racing, GPS software ... so go and get a MicroSD coming pc fair flex.gif
TAGreptiles
post Apr 13 2011, 11:48 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(lingch @ Apr 13 2011, 11:37 PM)
2.3.3? Dilemma again whether to sell my Defy or not cry.gif
Today lunchtime went Gardens testing Xperia Arc. 2.3 is awesome yo. HD playback. But the arc look damn cheap and plastic compared to our defy.

113 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:46 PM