133 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

[Top-Gun]
post Sep 26 2005, 02:11 PM

Wanted: Dead or Alive
1,061 posts

htkaki, i live in rasah jaya one.. haha!!
Siriuslycold, i believe u should b a very active member at echoloft or vr-zone? Haha.. dunno.. anyway thanks for the opinions guys!!
I just got an offer for the Infinity Prius II 160, seems like new unit around <$300, should be a good buy..
How about it? Wat kind of amps should i buy? (preferably small ones)
I'm not going into HT (lol i am 18this year studying at JC le), but will b going into audio monitoring/recording.. so wat would u guys recommened? like wat types of cable/interconnects (wat's this?)..

This post has been edited by [Top-Gun]: Sep 26 2005, 02:12 PM
htkaki
post Sep 26 2005, 02:40 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE([Top-Gun] @ Sep 26 2005, 02:11 PM)
htkaki, i live in rasah jaya one.. haha!!
Siriuslycold, i believe u should b a very active member at echoloft or vr-zone? Haha.. dunno.. anyway thanks for the opinions guys!!
I just got an offer for the Infinity Prius II 160, seems like new unit around <$300, should be a good buy..
How about it? Wat kind of amps should i buy? (preferably small ones)
I'm not going into HT (lol i am 18this year studying at JC le), but will b going into audio monitoring/recording.. so wat would u guys recommened? like wat types of cable/interconnects (wat's this?)..
OIC. RJ.

NAD C320BEE will do or Cambridge Audio Azur 540 (If not mistaken).

Cables - to connect amp to spkrs (black and red wire)
Interconnects - to connect CDP to amp (Those red and white interconnects)
Since you are going into entry level, those budget cable and interconnect will do. Try to scout around in Sim Lim. Audioquest, QED, Wireworld, Van Den Hul, Ixos, and so forth.
Thrust
post Oct 3 2005, 10:36 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Seems like u are setting up an entry level system. I thought of recommending u valve amplifiers. It sounds very much different from solid state amp.
[Top-Gun]
post Oct 4 2005, 01:01 AM

1,061 posts

Valve? Gulp.. told ya!! I am a student onlie.. getting onli like 200 dollars per month for allowance with no support from parents at all.. all from S'pore government tongue.gif.. wat u expect?
I love music.. that's all and i want nice music..
SiriuslyCold
post Oct 4 2005, 12:51 PM

1,976 posts

Top Gun, the Primus should do very well with the drAMP you mentioned in the other thread. wanna listen?
[Top-Gun]
post Oct 4 2005, 01:24 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Oct 4 2005, 12:51 PM)
Top Gun, the Primus should do very well with the drAMP you mentioned in  the other thread. wanna listen?
Haha.. reali? Are u the guy i emailed? The one that works at JBL Audio Place methinks.. Singapore have friendlier service maybe..
But maybe Malaysia too big a place so seems more unfriendly ppl..
THanks man notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Oct 4 2005, 02:12 PM

1,976 posts

do you didn't email me - and i don't have a primus - i have a T-Amp and a drAMp
htkaki
post Oct 4 2005, 03:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE([Top-Gun] @ Oct 4 2005, 01:01 AM)
Valve? Gulp.. told ya!! I am a student onlie.. getting onli like 200 dollars per month for allowance with no support from parents at all.. all from S'pore government tongue.gif.. wat u expect?
I love music.. that's all and i want nice music..
Valve amp? For starter, there is this bgt valve amp; Soundstage Stage 1 (If not mistaken the model name) distributed by Tong Lee in Low Yat Plaza. However, I am not too sure whether there is any dealer in Sing importing it. It retails at RM999. On special offer season, it comes with a pair of Soundstage bookshelf spkrs too. (Let's forget abt the spkrs)
outdoorxplorer
post Oct 22 2005, 10:31 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

bump **********
htkaki
post Oct 24 2005, 09:55 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Oct 22 2005, 10:31 PM)
bump **********

I see that you have quite a list of equipments there. thumbup.gif

gavlim
post Oct 29 2005, 09:50 PM

i'm too sexy for my girlfriend
1,487 posts

i'm trying to decide whether i should go with the wharfdale diamond 9.1 or some other set, possibly quad 11L which is considerably pricier sad.gif or the Eltax Liberty. anyone have comments on these? probably going to get a ok amp like the NAD (cant afford much else) to go along with it.
htkaki
post Oct 30 2005, 11:19 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(gavlim @ Oct 29 2005, 09:50 PM)
i'm trying to decide whether i should go with the wharfdale diamond 9.1 or some other set, possibly quad 11L which is considerably pricier sad.gif or the Eltax Liberty. anyone have comments on these? probably going to get a ok amp like the NAD (cant afford much else) to go along with it.

I dunno why. But, I am head over heels whenever I see Quad 11Ls. wub.gif It cld be its look and outstanding performance. If I got the cash to spare, I dont mind its asking price. thumbup.gif

Omegaminx
post Oct 30 2005, 03:48 PM

181 posts

I am using the Quad 12L and they do sound transparent provided the front end & source is up to par.

Also using the Epos M12.2 now in its place. The Quads are definately more classy looking, it even has a netting in both the port holes at the back(shine a torch in and u will see what I mean). Other speakers(I mean even high end ones usually allow you to see directly into the tweeter etc.). The Epos are more dynamic and offer ample detail.

If you are using a small room (3x4m) with space constraints or listening near field(PC style), the 11L will suit you more as the sweet spot has a higher chance of crossing in front of you rather than behind.

I drive my speakers with NADC352CT & a Pioneer A400(original, made in Japan, a legend in its time and still going strong). I must also attest to the Wharfedale 9.1, even stereophile rates them quite highly, I think they beat the Primus 150 and looks better with more solid construction. Bear in mind that, the 9.1 sound quite neutral and they don't wow u at first listen - some might even say they sound flat and hazy(I don't but a dealer friend believes so, it's all personal taste I guess).

At ~ half the price of 11L, The 9.1 are a good buy gavlim, try them out for <1k

Cheers!

This post has been edited by Omegaminx: Oct 30 2005, 04:05 PM
Omegaminx
post Oct 30 2005, 04:05 PM

181 posts

Just to add on, I have no comment on Eltax but they don't seem too hot personally.

Other options to consider apart from Quad11L/Wharfedale 9.1
1)Epos M5 or ELS3
2)B&W 602S3
3)Infinity Primus 150
4)Usher S520 (Singaporeans seem to like this a lot)
5)Monitor Audio RS1 or S1/S2

Excellent mini monitors that need a bull to drive, at least solid 100W to do them justice, but sound excellent with audiophile CDs/vocals:
5)Spendor S3/5se or 3/5 ($$$ sweet mids)
6)ATC SCM7 (world class sound but $$$)
7)Harbeth P3-ES2 ($$$)
8)Dynaudio Audience 42/52/52SE (more of all rounder $$$)
9)ProAc Reference 8 or 8 Sig (braging rights $$$)
10)PMC DB1+ (transmission line, good bass, $$$)
11)Stirling or Richard Allen Ls3/5a (classic back in production, only if you listen to lots of vocal and less bass heavy media $$$$!!)

5)-11) would be at least RM4k and above for those with the heart (and wallet) to spend this kinda moolah smile.gif

htkaki
post Oct 31 2005, 12:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Excellent mini monitors that need a bull to drive, at least solid 100W to do them justice, but sound excellent with audiophile CDs/vocals:
5)Spendor S3/5se or 3/5 ($$$ sweet mids)
6)ATC SCM7 (world class sound but $$$)
7)Harbeth P3-ES2 ($$$)
8)Dynaudio Audience 42/52/52SE (more of all rounder $$$)
9)ProAc Reference 8 or 8 Sig (braging rights $$$)
10)PMC DB1+ (transmission line, good bass, $$$)
11)Stirling or Richard Allen Ls3/5a (classic back in production, only if you listen to lots of vocal and less bass heavy media $$$$!!)

5)-11) would be at least RM4k and above for those with the heart (and wallet) to spend this kinda moolah smile.gif

[/quote]I have auditioned the ATC before. It was driven by Conrad Johnson amp. Boy oh boy, it sounds thumbup.gif but the price tag kills

Omegaminx
post Oct 31 2005, 06:30 PM

181 posts

Agree htkaki, they r costly, if u care to pair them up with a musical sub ie. the REL/Hsu, they truly sing but of course, whenever the heart wants to get this monitor-sub system for music, the brain will always butt in to remind us that for the same money, we can get excellent floorstanders or high end "used" speakers, so in the end, not many pursue that route as Ringgit/speaker value is just unfavourable.

Some believe that the best "bang for buck" lies in professional arena, ie. the active speakers made by professional companies like ATC/PMC/Dynaudio/Mackie etc. as they do one of the most optimum matching for drivers and internal amps to give one of the top dollar sounds money can buy. Hifi involves ample mixing and matching to get the right sound or perhaps the individual sound that a particular person likes (which is the beauty of hifi but also a drawback simultaneously for some).

Cheers!
hasnul
post Nov 3 2005, 01:36 PM

235 posts

1) The Richard Allen LS3/5a will cost you RM8k. I believe Tong Lee won't bring them in anymore so the RA's will be while stock last.

2) The Sterling LS3/5a will cost you RM6,800.00 with special finish (Ebony,Rosewood etc.) while regular finish will be near RM6k. p.s bare in mind the sterling does not use the original tweeter,mid-drivers and crossovers like the original ls35a such as Rogers, Spendors, RA's.... though it sonics does resembles the character of LS3/5a.

3) Spendor S3/5 cost over RM5k around 1 1/2 years ago. I suspect the price may go higher nowadays.

- Try to look for used LS3/5a. If you are lucky, you just might find one.

As for me, I'm keeping my Spendor LS3/5a. After listening to mini monitors such as Harbeth P3, Pro Ac Tablette Reference 8, PMC DB1+, ATC SCM 7, I just preffered the legendary mini monitor : LS3/5a !!

This post has been edited by hasnul: Nov 3 2005, 01:37 PM
Omegaminx
post Nov 3 2005, 04:49 PM

181 posts

Nice to hear that u have a pair of Spendor Ls3/5a.
You can demo the new V2 stirling Ls3/5a at the MBD, City Square and apart from the finish, the bass has improved and the highs are more extended, well the magical midrange is still preserved (not just my opinion, but also several friends who heard them, some who own not one but few pairs of Ls3/5a 11/15 ohms).

Even Ken Kessler and another Ls3/5a buff applauded the new V2 which as u already know, is designed strictly according to BBC specs using the new custom made Scanspeak/Seas drivers (if I remember correctly). They even have a BBC endorsed certificate to acclaim the new V2 as "BBC acknowledged".

I don't know about the the other mini-monitors but I have been swayed a little by the sound of the ATC SCM7, PMC DB1+ and ProAc Tablette 8 Ref Sig. Each hold its own against one another and of course against the ls3/5a but most of the newer monitors seem to have a more fullrange sound and yet maintain an enticing (but different) midrange warmth (Ls3/5a is actually mainly about midrange sweetness as the lows and highs do lose to many new speakers in its class).
But it is always the reference when comparing mini monitor achievements, that's quite a feat I must say this shoe-box size of a speaker has attained cult status among many audiophiles.

safetylance
post Nov 3 2005, 05:55 PM

491 posts

newbie here.

i got a apir of 2nd Mission M733i floorstand speaker....

anyone can suggest what is the stereo amp to pair with...

budget around RM 1200

thx
hasnul
post Nov 3 2005, 06:21 PM

235 posts

Hi Omegaminx,

I actually did went and have a listen to the Sterling at MBD. Manage to meet a few ls3/5a owners and they are happy to say it sounded really nice. It was unfortunate that the price was higher then I have expected.

Yes, you're right about the rest of the mini monitors do have their own virtues such as PMC DB1+ have the greatest dynamics and deepest bass. But then it will all go down to individual taste on the character of the speakers. When I first heard about LS3/5a, I dont know what's all the fuss about. However, once I got the stung from the LS3/5a....the rest is history..........(perhaps I might buy the Sterling when I have enough money) !! Say, what speakers you're using ?

Cheers !!

133 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:22 AM