Tripod advice pls, Monfrotto, Benro, Jusino

TSchinkw1
post Apr 10 2011, 12:54 PM, updated 14y ago

3,158 posts

Which is better in terms of weight, stability and practicallity plsssssssssss?

Manfrotto 7302YB
Benro Tripod A-350EX
Jusino AX-255
ieR
post Apr 19 2011, 08:58 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Jusino is a cheap replica of benro travel angel. It's quality can't compare to travel angel. Benro A350 is just a so so model. Manfrotto is good in quality but design wise, not exactly worth the money.

Weight, jusino win. Big, portable, cheap.
Stability, manfrotto.
Practical, I would fond benro is nicer to handle.

You no budget? Google travel angel.
ifer
post Apr 19 2011, 11:35 AM

4,637 posts

tripod is something that is super important to me.
therefore, i will not get cheap and not long lasting tripods like jusino and benro. the older manfrotto is good but their quality is dropping nowadays.

believe me, get the gitzo traveller series. small, stabil and it last longer than an average human being. but expensive though
pingpang
post Apr 19 2011, 11:56 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Apr 19 2011, 11:35 AM)
therefore, i will not get cheap and not long lasting tripods like jusino and benro. the older manfrotto is good but their quality is dropping nowadays.

believe me, get the gitzo traveller series. small, stabil and it last longer than an average human being. but expensive though
Get a good tripod if photography is your "bread & butter".
A medium tripod to consider if you occasionally shoots.
Everdying
post Apr 19 2011, 01:16 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

jusino doesnt last long?
which parts usually give out first?
ieR
post Apr 19 2011, 02:39 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Nobody make claim how bad is jusino yet because its fairly new product. To me, benro is not just a random China brand, its quality controlled. Compare to manfrotto, a bigger and longer history company, I find benro have better ballhead, same quality pods, a tack cheaper. Of coz la, compare same value with same value...Apple to Apple. Don't take CF vs allu.

Once at convention some guy ask what's in my backpack(yes, IN my backpack)... I took out my travel angel, first thing he claimed is its very heavy hence lousy.... He being a gitzo fan, say gitzo is lighter and better, well I do agree with him as gitzo standard is really higher, we walked over to gitzo booth, and play with gitzo tripod, the friend wanted to show off gitzo quality and ask me take out my 'lousy' benro, to our surprise, my benro is lighter, even sturdier. but the idiot friend start claiming light is not good.....The salesman came and took a look, even he say he was surprise with benro quality... Even the price is competitive. Lesson of the day, don't be fanboy hehe...

The jusino, a copy of benro, is so darn cheap, I have friend who brought is gave a thumbs up for the pod, but thumbs down for the ballhead, he quote, cant compare to benro ballhead.

This post has been edited by ieR: Apr 19 2011, 02:46 PM
Everdying
post Apr 19 2011, 02:41 PM

30,735 posts

i got a manfrotto ballhead for my manfrotto monopod.
if i get a jusino i wont need their ballhead.
ieR
post Apr 19 2011, 02:43 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Btw, I uses benro CF travel angel, due to my frequent travel, gitzo pod are big, not as light. Defeat the purpose of light travel. I find jusino very interesting copy of benro, cheap, could consider to get one to try....

Added on April 19, 2011, 2:44 pmCheck the weight limit for the monopod head, if its suitable to hang your gear.

This post has been edited by ieR: Apr 19 2011, 02:44 PM
Everdying
post Apr 19 2011, 02:46 PM

30,735 posts

my head is the manfrotto 494rc2...4kg max load.
ieR
post Apr 19 2011, 02:54 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Cos usually monopod, requires user to hold on their camera whole time, hence it dies require for a high load head. But when use on tripod, where you will let your hand off... So must make sure the load is suitable.

4kg is decent for non heavy lens with flash. No VG.
opfish
post Apr 19 2011, 04:04 PM

366 posts

Maybe we can organize a "Tripod Shootout" session. I volunteer to bring along my el-cheapo Jusino AX254 with the ballhead.
ifer
post Apr 19 2011, 04:24 PM

4,637 posts

jusino is young so the long lasting part is anyone's guesses.
as for benro, i have been hearing mixed reviews. but my own personal experience tell me something else.

well, it was a demo set in a photo shop. carbon fibre type.
i did the usual thing of setting the tripod up and put pressure on the tripod from the top. one of the leg's section gave way and it went in. oppss... i thought well, it can't last being a demo for a couple of years.

but then again, if one is taking good care of one's tripod, or seldom use it, i am sure it will last.

another brand to consider is feisol. heard of good reviews of this brand over at largeformat forum. it's a taiwanese brand, not chinese. and there were rumours that feisol used to be the OEM for gitzo.
ieR
post Apr 19 2011, 04:43 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Feisol rare.. noone distro bring it in Msia. Have to hunt

The benro you try, quick clip lock or twist release type? Clip lock like manfrotto need re-tighten once a while. Twist type load also got limit, and don't go over the limit, it could be not tighten enough or the grease went into the barrel, need cleaning. Branded/good tripod is self service-able.
ifer
post Apr 19 2011, 04:51 PM

4,637 posts

it's the twist release type.

and i didnt put a lot of pressure on it. hard to say how much pressure i put it on but it's not a lot. but it surprise it nonetheless.

i thought can only get feisol from their own online store
loverjinx
post Apr 20 2011, 01:21 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(pingpang @ Apr 19 2011, 11:56 AM)
Get a good tripod if photography is your "bread & butter".
A medium tripod to consider if you occasionally shoots.
yeah. i guess you should choose what you want to buy based on what you need.

if you do not use the tripod all the time and just for the occasional shoots then you can consider a mid range tripod.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 19 2011, 02:46 PM)
my head is the manfrotto 494rc2...4kg max load.
everdying, i just bought the manfrotto tripod too, with this 494rc2 ballhead ! im happy with it cos it can hold the weight of my camera + BG + lens. just tried it out. im sure mount flash on it also should be a problem tongue.gif
ieR
post Apr 20 2011, 10:19 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Ifer: no comment, everyone will get diff exp...
In Taiwan, I went into a huge camera shop, they carries them. Dunno in Msia thou.

Added on April 20, 2011, 10:21 amThe manfrotto head 4kg limit is when the weight is tilt one side. Even 1kg head can hold a camera at 0 degree. Try tilt 45 degree for the camera see if it slip down....

This post has been edited by ieR: Apr 20 2011, 10:21 AM
loverjinx
post Apr 20 2011, 10:35 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 20 2011, 10:19 AM)
Ifer: no comment, everyone will get diff exp...
In Taiwan, I went into a huge camera shop, they carries them. Dunno in Msia thou.

Added on April 20, 2011, 10:21 amThe manfrotto head 4kg limit is when the weight is tilt one side. Even 1kg head can hold a camera at 0 degree. Try tilt 45 degree for the camera see if it slip down....
yeah. i tested out already. to hold the weight tilt at one side. my camera total weight about 2.5kg only so should be okay smile.gif
Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 10:52 AM

2,734 posts

This is a very good piece of information, never see any tripod related threads here..Would definitely help when I want to purchase a proper tripod
ieR
post Apr 20 2011, 11:07 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Bliz but tripod is very subjective.... Some just need a rm 100 one... Some need or wants a rm1000 one. It at the end depend how deep your pocket can burn.....

Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 11:40 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 20 2011, 11:07 AM)
Bliz but tripod is very subjective.... Some just need a rm 100 one... Some need or wants a rm1000 one. It at the end depend how deep your pocket can burn.....
Hhaa true, but for my anything exceeds RM700 is expensive for me since I seldom use it anyway ( maybe like once in a few months sweat.gif )
Everdying
post Apr 20 2011, 11:46 AM

30,735 posts

doesnt matter cheap or not.
as long as it doesnt fall over when ur camera is on it tongue.gif
ieR
post Apr 20 2011, 12:05 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

bliz, 700 can get a very good pod, but careful of where u buy la, some shop mark up margin by 50-70%...

i have many landscape shooter friend, in my town, all the shop here carry cheap china (they sell it rm200-300), eventually most of them broke down after 1 year, i have 2 digieye that my friend left it at my house -___- not excately broken, but the clip for the leg broke, so its full-time extended, cant keep retract anymore, so we use it as lightstand. then until i got in contact with benro malaysia, i brought in 10 unit of travel angel(MGallu version), sold out in a week. then i pamper myself with a CF version. and it was more then a year ago, till today, all of the 10unit sold has no known issue, all very happy customer. the thing is, i wan to get a slightly more expensive tripod, that i wan to know that i will be keeping a tripod that last 10 years to come... like gitzo that my dad has last till today, but its big and UBER HEAVY.
Cynox
post Apr 20 2011, 01:05 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Just come across the Fotopro tripod, dun know how's the quality.

Link: http://www.leephoto.com.my/FOTOPROC5IORANGE.html

I am looking for a budget tripod too - budget RM400-RM700, total weight 1.6kg or less. Jusino A255C carbon fibre tripod is priced at RM789 with ballhead, quite tempted to get this too.

Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 03:52 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 20 2011, 12:05 PM)
bliz, 700 can get a very good pod, but careful of where u buy la, some shop mark up margin by 50-70%...

i have many landscape shooter friend, in my town, all the shop here carry cheap china (they sell it rm200-300), eventually most of them broke down after 1 year, i have 2 digieye that my friend left it at my house -___- not excately broken, but the clip for the leg broke, so its full-time extended, cant keep retract anymore, so we use it as lightstand. then until i got in contact with benro malaysia, i brought in 10 unit of travel angel(MGallu version), sold out in a week. then i pamper myself with a CF version. and it was more then a year ago, till today, all of the 10unit sold has no known issue, all very happy customer. the thing is, i wan to get a slightly more expensive tripod, that i wan to know that i will be keeping a tripod that last 10 years to come... like gitzo that my dad has last till today, but its big and UBER HEAVY.
700 including head? laugh.gif I believe u meant RM700 just for the tripod right? Been thinking of spending on proper tripod+head lately, gear is D700+BG+16-35, any suggestion for tripod+head ~RM700?
iXora.ix
post Apr 20 2011, 08:41 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

so, when what to have a TT season for tripod?
i can show my even cheapo octopus tripod tongue.gif
Confused_man
post Apr 20 2011, 09:14 PM

45 posts

Got a tripod for rm50. Purchased online. No brand(Maybe it fade away). Is it expensive??
sukhoi37
post Apr 20 2011, 09:42 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

cant find sirui in malaysia?
it's cheaper then benro here in sg, the built is better.
travel type, carbon fibre one(T1204 with g10 ballhead) cost around sgd330 only with ballhead.
it can be back folded like gitzo, very short after folded.
http://www.siruiusa.com/tripods/t1204.htm
Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 10:09 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Apr 20 2011, 09:42 PM)
cant find sirui in malaysia?
it's cheaper then benro here in sg, the built is better.
travel type, carbon fibre one(T1204 with g10 ballhead) cost around sgd330 only with ballhead.
it can be back folded like gitzo, very short after folded.
http://www.siruiusa.com/tripods/t1204.htm
Build quality for Sirui is better? I can find sirui here, it's available at shashinki and my local dealer , i always thought benro is one of the higher quality China made tripod hmm.gif
loverjinx
post Apr 20 2011, 11:10 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Apr 20 2011, 10:09 PM)
Build quality for Sirui is better? I can find sirui here, it's available at shashinki and my local dealer , i always thought benro is one of the higher quality China made tripod  hmm.gif
yeah. benro is one of the higher quality china made tripod. you may consider this combination

Manfrotto 190XPROB + 494RC2 = RM680

The ball head is not bad actually. cos my gear is similar to yours and it's able to support the weight properly smile.gif
ifer
post Apr 21 2011, 08:56 AM

4,637 posts

do consider velbron. their higher spec tripod is good
ieR
post Apr 21 2011, 09:01 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Bliz: errrrr can la, 700 for pod (non CF) with head (non friction control, just release and lock type) hehehe, got many option out there, like loverjinx suggest a good combo too.
a good benro B-1(12kg) head already cost around 3xx. actually i took that heavyload head for birding use... coz need keep moving the camera, then at time, u just wanted to 'let go your hand' to rest, u know ur ballhead will keep it steady with 300 F2.8. IF u are not on birding or dont own lens over 1.5kg, then u dont really have to get a 12kg load ballhead.

my travel angel can go inside airplane cabin without the security chase me out, and travel angle pod twist lock can be water resistance~ (i dont trust jusino or octopus on this), coz i sometimes need to go into rivers to get shooting spot (u cant really shoot much from inside between trees.) and i dont think manfrotto is not afraid of water.

not to mention benro travel angel is 2in1 (tripod > monopod) where jusino and other just copy it -___-

iXora.ix: hohoho octopus copy 100% benro~ the head, the pods, and 1/3 of the price...

sukhoi37: shashinki, and my trip to KL last year, i saw some shop in lowyat sells them. sirui is more expensive then benro for the same/similar design and spec. or maybe that is the price in msia, maybe SG benro even cheaper?

Added on April 21, 2011, 9:03 amifer: all brand high spec sure is good! manfrotto/gitzo/benro/etc high spec one is really good, but price also more... tongue.gif

dig out some old picture from my fb...

This post has been edited by ieR: Apr 21 2011, 09:03 AM
Bliz
post Apr 21 2011, 10:48 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 21 2011, 09:01 AM)
Bliz: errrrr can la, 700 for pod (non CF) with head (non friction control, just release and lock type) hehehe, got many option out there, like loverjinx suggest a good combo too.
a good benro B-1(12kg) head already cost around 3xx. actually i took that heavyload head for birding use... coz need keep moving the camera, then at time, u just wanted to 'let go your hand' to rest, u know ur ballhead will keep it steady with 300 F2.8. IF u are not on birding or dont own lens over 1.5kg, then u dont really have to get a 12kg load ballhead.

my travel angel can go inside airplane cabin without the security chase me out, and travel angle pod twist lock can be water resistance~ (i dont trust jusino or octopus on this), coz i sometimes need to go into rivers to get shooting spot (u cant really shoot much from inside between trees.) and i dont think manfrotto is not afraid of water.

not to mention benro travel angel is 2in1 (tripod > monopod) where jusino and other just copy it -___-
iXora.ix: hohoho octopus copy 100% benro~ the head, the pods, and 1/3 of the price...

sukhoi37: shashinki, and my trip to KL last year, i saw some shop in lowyat sells them. sirui is more expensive then benro for the same/similar design and spec. or maybe that is the price in msia, maybe SG benro even cheaper?

Added on April 21, 2011, 9:03 amifer: all brand high spec sure is good! manfrotto/gitzo/benro/etc high spec one is really good, but price also more... tongue.gif

dig out some old picture from my fb...

Which model of benro are u using? I am not going to buy CF tripod as it's too damn expensive cry.gif .. just a normal travel angel series+a proper ball head(must fit my RM700 budget also la haha) icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Bliz: Apr 21 2011, 10:49 AM
ifer
post Apr 21 2011, 02:17 PM

4,637 posts

ieR,
have you seen KEEP's higher spec tripod? lol

joke aside, what i mean for velbron is those aluminum or carbon fibre's tripod. don't get those plastic tripod of velbron.
ieR
post Apr 21 2011, 04:53 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

of coz, need to see properly what are u getting... >.<,... who will buy jelly tripod at 2k... hahahaha~

allu will always end up slightly heavier then CF.

and a lot mis-concept that CF is stronger hence bigger load limit. wrong, CF is just merely lighter~ (if u willing to pay).

the strength of the load is at the leg "lock". usually bigger the barrel diameter, better the lock design to hold heavier load. gitzo has really good lock. but do i really need a 40kg tripod load limit? well, i choose mine 12 kg (although my gear is not even 5kg, the rest of 9kg load is reserve for my backpack to hook on the tripod to stabilizes it. the last time i was in taiwan, it was raining so heavy and huge wind, my 15 sec exposure didnt shake one bit.

bliz: try check shashinki if they still carry them, or yamiya.com.my
Bliz
post Apr 21 2011, 10:52 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 21 2011, 04:53 PM)
of coz, need to see properly what are u getting... >.<,... who will buy jelly tripod at 2k... hahahaha~

allu will always end up slightly heavier then CF.

and a lot mis-concept that CF is stronger hence bigger load limit. wrong, CF is just merely lighter~ (if u willing to pay).

the strength of the load is at the leg "lock". usually bigger the barrel diameter, better the lock design to hold heavier load. gitzo has really good lock. but do i really need a 40kg tripod load limit? well, i choose mine 12 kg (although my gear is not even 5kg, the rest of 9kg load is reserve for my backpack to hook on the tripod to stabilizes it. the last time i was in taiwan, it was raining so heavy and huge wind, my 15 sec exposure didnt shake one bit.

bliz: try check shashinki if they still carry them, or yamiya.com.my
Good point for the heavy bag to stabilize the tripod, will check it out thumbup.gif
porkchop
post Apr 21 2011, 11:41 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i saw some octopus can convert tripod to monopod...try see that??
ifer
post Apr 22 2011, 12:00 AM

4,637 posts

i am sure not everyone here knows what is being classified as a jelly tripod, hence this thread...
gnome
post Apr 22 2011, 12:03 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Imo if you're on the look out for tripod, maybe just wait a little for DCIM next month. Judging from last year theres a crap load of tripod on sale.

Oh yea im looking for one also actually tongue.gif
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 01:18 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Apr 22 2011, 12:03 AM)
Imo if you're on the look out for tripod, maybe just wait a little for DCIM next month. Judging from last year theres a crap load of tripod on sale.

Oh yea im looking for one also actually tongue.gif
I am waiting for the DCIM event as well brows.gif
ieR
post Apr 23 2011, 02:11 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Apr 21 2011, 11:41 PM)
i saw some octopus can convert tripod to monopod...try see that??
yea, total copy of benro travel angel. lol, coz world wide, the benro travel angel sale were greater then manfrotto add together. hence octopus (the origin factory is not octopus, there are several company that rebagde the tripod) copied that travel angel.

Bliz: that is the point to get tripod more then 8kg load, jangan la see see 4kg tripod, u think ur gear is 2kg, then its good, but the overall weight and center of gravity is high above, wind blow bit bit, sure shake one. lol. 8kg is actually fine, ur bag with 2 lens, would pass 4kg, provided, ur flash and big lend on the camera, which weight up to 4kg on top too, the 8kg ballhead should able to provide really good flexibility and strength.

or skip to 12kg. u will see benro always state 2 set of weight load limit, one for pod, one for head. pod usually more tahan then ballhead one.

ifer: wahahaha, benro was my first tripod, my previous 2 set, one is dad old gitzo (heavy) and one from my ex gf father, another old vivitar tripod, very nice~ but not QR plate, its fix on the pod... old tech... sad.gif both pod are older then me tongue.gif so i hope my pod will last till my childrens tongue.gif unlike jelly pods.
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 03:55 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 23 2011, 02:11 PM)
yea, total copy of benro travel angel. lol, coz world wide, the benro travel angel sale were greater then manfrotto add together. hence octopus (the origin factory is not octopus, there are several company that rebagde the tripod) copied that travel angel.

Bliz: that is the point to get tripod more then 8kg load, jangan la see see 4kg tripod, u think ur gear is 2kg, then its good, but the overall weight and center of gravity is high above, wind blow bit bit, sure shake one. lol. 8kg is actually fine, ur bag with 2 lens, would pass 4kg, provided, ur flash and big lend on the camera, which weight up to 4kg on top too, the 8kg ballhead should able to provide really good flexibility and strength.

or skip to 12kg. u will see benro always state 2 set of weight load limit, one for pod, one for head. pod usually more tahan then ballhead one.

ifer: wahahaha, benro was my first tripod, my previous 2 set, one is dad old gitzo (heavy) and one from my ex gf father, another old vivitar tripod, very nice~ but not QR plate, its fix on the pod... old tech... sad.gif both pod are older then me tongue.gif so i hope my pod will last till my childrens tongue.gif unlike jelly pods.
Appreciate your input there, currently i am looking at this model

Benro Travel Angel

icon_idea.gif
elainor
post Apr 23 2011, 04:05 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

why not go for CF? 50% lighter than Alu... I just went to test out benro and manfrotto, Manfrotto is friggin expensive and it costs twice as much than the Benro, but i could get the same thing from benro for just 50% less of the price... But Manfrotto made in Italy la...
ieR
post Apr 23 2011, 04:16 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

elainor, is it stable? the benro? which series u tested?

Added on April 23, 2011, 4:19 pm

poison

This post has been edited by ieR: Apr 23 2011, 04:19 PM
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 04:24 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Apr 23 2011, 04:05 PM)
why not go for CF? 50% lighter than Alu... I just went to test out benro and manfrotto, Manfrotto is friggin expensive and it costs twice as much than the Benro, but i could get the same thing from benro for just 50% less of the price... But Manfrotto made in Italy la...
If budget is not a problem of course I would get CF, i will not spend over 1k for a tripod
elainor
post Apr 23 2011, 04:31 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 23 2011, 04:16 PM)
elainor, is it stable? the benro? which series u tested?

Added on April 23, 2011, 4:19 pm

poison
I tried Benro Travel angel cf model number C0690TB00 but the price cry.gif RM 1300
QUOTE(Bliz @ Apr 23 2011, 04:24 PM)
If budget is not a problem of course I would get CF, i will not spend over 1k for a tripod
Ok if that the case why not get sirui t2205x or n2205? Around rm900+-

12kg load, 165cm max height, CF weight only 1.02kg...

Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 04:36 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Apr 23 2011, 04:31 PM)
I tried Benro Travel angel cf model number C0690TB00 but the price  cry.gif RM 1300
Ok if that the case why not get sirui t2205x or n2205? Around rm900+-

12kg load, 165cm max height, CF weight only 1.02kg...
No point lah, it's not much lighter, only like 300grams lighter? 900++ is only the tripod, not including the head yet sweat.gif
elainor
post Apr 23 2011, 05:20 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

To be exact for travel angel is 1kg lighter. Do u prefer ball head more?
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 05:56 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Apr 23 2011, 05:20 PM)
To be exact for travel angel is 1kg lighter. Do u prefer ball head more?
The benro C069 CF tripod only is 0.78kg while the Alu version is 1.18kg, where did u find the CF is 1kg lighter than the Alu version? That's why i mentioned that its not worth paying for that 300grams decrease in weight smile.gif
ieR
post Apr 24 2011, 03:03 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

the 069 to be honest, is small, easy, for "lite" gear. if u have 70200F2.8 in ur pocket, this tripod will not like it. its good enough for a body with 16-50* F2.8 lenses.

no problem if u are traveling a lot, since u are traveling with lite gears.

*any crop F2.8 kitlen replacement, for 24-70, it might be a little heavy
Bliz
post Apr 24 2011, 11:22 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 24 2011, 03:03 PM)
the 069 to be honest, is small, easy, for "lite" gear. if u have 70200F2.8 in ur pocket, this tripod will not like it. its good enough for a body with 16-50* F2.8 lenses.

no problem if u are traveling a lot, since u are traveling with lite gears.

*any crop F2.8 kitlen replacement, for 24-70, it might be a little heavy
Wah i thought the A-069 is enough for my gears, cos can support up to 8kg, seems like i have to find some other tipod sweat.gif
vikingw2k
post Apr 25 2011, 08:27 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

You guys might want to consider the Sirui T-1204 CF Tripod. I've been using it for 2 years since I won from DCIM 2009 photography contest. It's 0.7kg, very compact and design same like Gitzo Traveller series. I've tortured it to the max and it still able to last till today. The reason I don't plan to change to others is due it's FOC very light and ideal if you always bring it out for shooting.

Other than good tripod, you should think of getting a good ballhead too.
onijoseph
post Apr 25 2011, 10:28 AM

Photography Guru
835 posts

any review from jusino AX-255 tripod users here?
thinking of getting it for travelling purpose.

Added on April 25, 2011, 10:31 amhttp://www.manfrotto.com/product/7269.101591.31708.0.0/322RC2/_/Heavy_Duty_Grip_Ball_Head
manfrotto joystick ballhead.
i got quoted rm438 for this ballhead. any better ballhead with this kind of design?

This post has been edited by onijoseph: Apr 25 2011, 10:32 AM
vikingw2k
post Apr 25 2011, 11:22 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(onijoseph @ Apr 25 2011, 10:28 AM)
any review from jusino AX-255 tripod users here?
thinking of getting it for travelling purpose.

Added on April 25, 2011, 10:31 amhttp://www.manfrotto.com/product/7269.101591.31708.0.0/322RC2/_/Heavy_Duty_Grip_Ball_Head

manfrotto joystick ballhead.
i got quoted rm438 for this ballhead. any better ballhead with this kind of design?
Why do you need that for? You always take panning shot / video? smile.gif
onijoseph
post Apr 25 2011, 11:51 AM

Photography Guru
835 posts

planning to. the joystick a bit bulky and but i like multipurpose ballhead.
Cynox
post Apr 26 2011, 09:01 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

finally bought the Fotopro MGC-584N carbon fibre tripod. thumbup.gif Initial impression - quite a solid built. nod.gif Price slightly lower than Jusino AX-255 CF at Shashinki.com.

Chinese Link: http://www.fotopro.cn/products/professional-tripod/461.html

English Link: http://www.fotopro.net.cn/product/26853663...bon_Tripod.html
Bliz
post Apr 27 2011, 11:51 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 26 2011, 09:01 PM)
finally bought the Fotopro MGC-584N carbon fibre tripod.  thumbup.gif  Initial impression - quite a solid built.  nod.gif  Price slightly lower than Jusino AX-255 CF at Shashinki.com.

How's the weight? Seems quite heavy to me from the specs smile.gif , price? notworthy.gif
LS_Ngu
post Apr 27 2011, 12:58 PM

90 posts

Planning wan to get the Jusino AX-255, anyone had using it before?
Need some review from the exits users... coz my budget under 400 only..

W_9235
post Apr 27 2011, 01:36 PM

232 posts

i'm using a velbon sherpa 600r.. quite heavy, but reliable for me..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r-SlesDdOaY

prices under 400~~ forgot the price..
Cynox
post Apr 27 2011, 03:05 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Apr 27 2011, 11:51 AM)
How's the weight? Seems quite heavy to me from the specs  smile.gif , price?  notworthy.gif
wow.. how light you want it to be? 1.48kg with ballhead is consider quite light already. It is just slightly heavier than a generic low end aluminium tripod with a 3-way fixed head (not ballhead) i borrow from my friend.

I bought it from Spore at $305 (roughly RM732) compared to Shashinki AX-255C CF about RM789. They are almost the same in terms of weight, design (both with monopod function) and prices but AX-255C is 5 sections though which make it slightly shorter in folded mode. The Fotopro also has a alum version just like the AX-255C has a alum version. Since the alum version just cheaper by about RM200, i just took the CF one which looks much nicer although just 200gram lighter than the alum version.
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 08:23 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 27 2011, 03:05 PM)
wow.. how light you want it to be?  1.48kg with ballhead is consider quite light already.  It is just slightly heavier than a generic low end aluminium tripod with a 3-way fixed head (not ballhead) i borrow from my friend.

I bought it from Spore at $305 (roughly RM732) compared to Shashinki AX-255C CF about RM789.  They are almost the same in terms of weight, design (both with monopod function) and prices but AX-255C is 5 sections though which make it slightly shorter in folded mode.  The Fotopro also has a alum version just like the AX-255C has a alum version.  Since the alum version just cheaper by about RM200, i just took the CF one which looks much nicer although just 200gram lighter than the alum version.
I'm also looking to get this one. Any chance you could give a short of review of it in terms of build quality, sturdiness, design, etc. Can't seem to find any reviews or report on this brand.

fruitie
post Apr 29 2011, 08:49 AM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

My current tripod Fancier a.k.a WeiFeng WF-531 is quite OK (keyword: quite) but when I wanna shoot in portrait position, it seems the tripod is swaying to the left side. Is it normal for all tripods or my tripod is not sturdy enough to support the weight of my camera?

My usual setup will be 550D+Tamron 1750 f/2.8VC+580EXII+battery grip.

I think I gotta save for a better tripod that could last me for years. Anything for me that is light, compact and sturdy? Budget, let's say RM 500 or lower? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Apr 29 2011, 08:50 AM
Cynox
post Apr 29 2011, 09:40 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 29 2011, 08:23 AM)
I'm also looking to get this one. Any chance you could give a short of review of it in terms of build quality, sturdiness, design, etc. Can't seem to find any reviews or report on this brand.
can you read chinese? here are 2 reviews: Fotopro C4i review Fotopro C5i review

C5i is the same model which i got (MGC-584N), only it is aluminium and anodized coloured.

I lazy to give review lah.. tonight if too free nothing to do I will give some comments. laugh.gif

EDIT: There is a youtube review too.....

This post has been edited by Cynox: Apr 29 2011, 09:42 AM
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 01:58 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 29 2011, 09:40 AM)
can you read chinese?  here are 2 reviews: Fotopro C4i review  Fotopro C5i review

C5i is the same model which i got (MGC-584N), only it is aluminium and anodized coloured. 

I lazy to give review lah.. tonight if too free nothing to do I will give some comments.  laugh.gif
Thank you, but cant read chinese. Just your personal observation on the device suitability/functions, etc. Simple stuff will do lah. I more or less already made up my mind, just want a bit more assurance, thats all??LOL
gnome
post Apr 29 2011, 02:03 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Read somewhere that fotopro tripod is recommended for beginner dslr+lens? not for those with full frame body and lens. Izzit true? unsure.gif
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 02:26 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Apr 29 2011, 02:03 PM)
Read somewhere that fotopro tripod is recommended for beginner dslr+lens? not for those with full frame body and lens. Izzit true? unsure.gif
It'll be Good to know where you got that from. I think Full frame or APC sensor nor relevant relevant. As long as the tripod can support the weight of the equiptment you have , is sturdy and functions well then it shouldn't be a problem. Just because it's made in China and relatively new in the market doesn't mean it's for beginner.

If you use a tipod for traveling, weight is of importance. Then again you pay for what you get, so price performance will govern my decisions most of the time. If $$ is not an issue then go for the most expensive ones which almost always mean better stuff, but I believe you can still get good shots with a decent tripod, which is what I'm aiming for.

This post has been edited by kakulukia: Apr 29 2011, 02:31 PM
Cynox
post Apr 29 2011, 02:51 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 29 2011, 01:58 PM)
Thank you, but cant read chinese. Just your personal observation on the device suitability/functions, etc. Simple stuff will do lah. I more or less already made up my mind, just want a bit more assurance, thats all??LOL
the youtube video demo quite extensively the features of the tripod - low angles, upside down shooting, etc. The build quality is good and the ball head is smooth. I never use a better tripod - my previous tripod is a cheapo 3 way pan head alum Slik tripod. This Fotopro has everything i need - low angle, ballhead, lightweight, small when folded, nice padded bag, height that suited me (without the need to extend center column) - all at a price i can afford.

where are you located actually? If in JB, I dun mind meeting you somewhere to let you have a feel of it. laugh.gif

QUOTE(gnome @ Apr 29 2011, 02:03 PM)
I think it is not about beginner or full frame - it should be more relevant to the weight of the setup. Of course normally the full frame body is heavier. Thus, they will need a tripod that can handle the weight.

For me, the Fotopro (or the Jusino) is great as they are not so bulky and can mount my Canon 60D with 18-200mm lens comfortably since they are only 1.35kg. Fotopro claim the MGC-584N can hold up to 8kg, so i think mine should be quite safe. I am not a pro or even enthusiast/kaki. I just need a better camera (than P&S) to take photos whenever I go on a trip, so reasonable specs gadgets at affordable price is more important than the ultimate specs.

Just before I bought the Fotopro, I went to Melaka with my family, so I borrowed a tripod from my friend. He gave me 2 choices - a generic no-brand alum cheapo lightweight (about 1kg) 3-way pan tripod and a "gigantic" Manfrotto (i din check which model) which is HUGE (really) and HEAVY (3-4kg at least)!! As you can guess easily, I took the lightweight option. But I do take extra care when using the cheapo tripod as it seems will topple easily if not balance properly when my 60D mounted on it. sweat.gif I immediately go Spore to get the Fotopro after back from Melaka. laugh.gif
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 03:04 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 29 2011, 02:51 PM)
the youtube video demo quite extensively the features of the tripod - low angles, upside down shooting, etc.  The build quality is good and the ball head is smooth.  I never use a better tripod - my previous tripod is a cheapo 3 way pan head alum Slik tripod.  This Fotopro has everything i need - low angle, ballhead, lightweight, small when folded, nice padded bag, height that suited me (without the need to extend center column) - all at a price i can afford.

where are you located actually?  If in JB, I dun mind meeting you somewhere to let you have a feel of it.  laugh.gif
I think it is not about beginner or full frame - it should be more relevant to the weight of the setup.  Of course normally the full frame body is heavier.  Thus, they will need a tripod that can handle the weight.

For me, the Fotopro (or the Jusino) is great as they are not so bulky and can mount my Canon 60D with 18-200mm lens comfortably since they are only 1.35kg.  Fotopro claim the MGC-584N can hold up to 8kg, so i think mine should be quite safe.  I am not a pro or even enthusiast/kaki.  I just need a better camera (than P&S) to take photos whenever I go on a trip, so reasonable specs gadgets at affordable price is more important than the ultimate specs. 

Just before I bought the Fotopro, I went to Melaka with my family, so I borrowed a tripod from my friend.  He gave me 2 choices - a generic no-brand alum cheapo lightweight (about 1kg) 3-way pan tripod and a "gigantic" Manfrotto (i din check which model) which is HUGE (really) and HEAVY (3-4kg at least)!!   As you can guess easily, I took the lightweight option.  But I do take extra care when using the cheapo tripod as it seems will topple easily if not balance properly when my 60D mounted on it.  sweat.gif   I immediately go Spore to get the Fotopro after back from Melaka.  laugh.gif
Yes I had a look at the video, tq. I'm from kl so no chance of meeting up, but I have actually demo(c5i) it at the shop premises, so I know it's very good value for money. The guy at the shop also swears by it although he had so many other more expensive models. Just wanted to know from someone whose actually used it in the field. I'm also using the 60d so I think I'll get the mgc-584n too, just to save a little bit of weight and furthermore only rm200 extra. It's retailing for Rm 750 here.

This post has been edited by kakulukia: Apr 29 2011, 03:06 PM
Cynox
post Apr 29 2011, 03:32 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 29 2011, 03:04 PM)
Yes I had a look at the video, tq. I'm from kl so no chance of meeting up, but I have actually demo(c5i) it at the shop premises, so I know it's very good value for money. The guy at the shop also swears by it although he had so many other more expensive models.  Just wanted to know from someone whose actually used it in the field. I'm also using the 60d so I think I'll get the mgc-584n too, just to save a little bit of weight and furthermore only rm200 extra.  It's retailing for Rm 750 here.
wow.. you are more "fortunate" than me. I can only rely on that youtube videos and the 2 review articles to make my decision - not possible to play with it before I go all the way to Spore to buy it. The Spore dealer demo it to me and folded both the CF and alum (C5i) to let me have a feel of the difference of weight. Although it is only 200 gram difference (the dealer said about weight of a can drink) but you can really feel it when holding them in both hands.

yes, i think more worth to get the CF version with just RM200 extra - the looks and feels of carbon fibre is just irresistible. RM750 is a great price consider I paid about RM732 and need to go all the way to Spore. I did check malaysia distro web site and find out that a well known JB camera shop is their dealer but when i call the JB camera shop, they said they are not selling it. rclxub.gif

btw, i haven't got chance to use it on the field. Just play with it at home. laugh.gif
kakulukia
post Apr 29 2011, 04:35 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 29 2011, 03:32 PM)
wow.. you are more "fortunate" than me.  I can only rely on that youtube videos and the 2 review articles to make my decision - not possible to play with it before I go all the way to Spore to buy it.  The Spore dealer demo it to me and folded both the CF and alum (C5i) to let me have a feel of the difference of weight.  Although it is only 200 gram difference (the dealer said about weight of a can drink) but you can really feel it when holding them in both hands.

yes, i think more worth to get the CF version with just RM200 extra - the looks and feels of carbon fibre is just irresistible.  RM750 is a great price consider I paid about RM732 and need to go all the way to Spore.  I did check malaysia distro web site and find out that a well known JB camera shop is their dealer but when i call the JB camera shop, they said they are not selling it.  rclxub.gif

btw, i haven't got chance to use it on the field.  Just play with it at home.  laugh.gif
Its going for RM750 for the carbon fibre one and Rm550 for the C5i. Thats the best price I got from vendor at Digital Mall anyway.

ieR
post Apr 30 2011, 09:18 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

for that price, i rather settle with benro with given better ballhead then fotopro, and the CF claim by them, is just simple weaving CF, compare to other branded CF (hence expensive)... there is higher chance of the fotopro cf will break tongue.gif but still, if you are just a family shooter, by all mean, spend the money wisely, family comes first.

many ppl would think rm300 tripod is sufficient, yes it is. but i would always advise people, settle for the best, not the 2nd, else u find yourself looking again. but then, also learn to be contented with what you can afford.

some may say, aiyo, this rm500, that better one is rm800... rm300 is not hard to save if u smoke less, mamak less, eat properly, etc, most a month save 100, 3 month can get u to the rm800 pod, and never look back. (but the rm800 is for people who are really serious in photography la)

my above writing may be very contracting on every point, but its how every people see it here too. those brought the good expensive one will advise the latter one, while people who manage to get their hand on cheap bargain good tripod will be the early advise... its up to how you guys see it. i am a owner of benro travel angle CF269-1, and i am planing to get one more CF 069-1 for even lighter travel uses
Cynox
post Apr 30 2011, 12:18 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

with RM750, can get a lightweight benro tripod at 1.5kg with ballhead? For ppl like us, mid end tripod is good enough - we just buy the best within our budget. There are more than thousand ringgit carbon fiber tripod out there but what's the point spending so much for 3 sticks of metal. laugh.gif and how you know the cheaper one is "simple weaving", hence lower quality? and why you buy the benro not gitzo which is much pricier (hence better?) ? hmm.gif dun forget benro is also make in china. So i dun see the cf tripod produced by benro is much difference with cf tripod produced by fotopro/jusino.

I take care of my gear carefully so for me few hundred ringgit tripod is as good as a thousand ringgit CF - as long as it can mount my camera safely and steadily. I believe the quality for mid range tripods are not that far away from top end tripods but the higher price tripods are definitely more durable. For casual user like us, the durability of our RM700+ tripod may be as durable as the thousand ringgit tripod used by professional as the frequency of our usage is lower.

So getting a suitable (price and features) tripod for us is more appropriate than getting a high end one.
Everdying
post Apr 30 2011, 03:45 PM

30,735 posts

finally found a decent table top tripod.
fotopro m-5 mini...its a copy of the slightly more expensive velbon ultra max mini...

kakulukia
post Apr 30 2011, 04:32 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 30 2011, 12:18 PM)
with RM750, can get a lightweight benro tripod at 1.5kg with ballhead?  For ppl like us, mid end tripod is good enough - we just buy the best within our budget.  There are more than thousand ringgit carbon fiber tripod out there but what's the point spending so much for 3 sticks of metal.  laugh.gif  and how you know the cheaper one is "simple weaving", hence lower quality?  and why you buy the benro not gitzo which is much pricier (hence better?) ?  hmm.gif  dun forget benro is also make in china.  So i dun see the cf tripod produced by benro is much difference with cf tripod produced by fotopro/jusino. 

I take care of my gear carefully so for me few hundred ringgit tripod is as good as a thousand ringgit CF - as long as it can mount my camera safely and steadily.  I believe the quality for mid range tripods are not that far away from top end tripods but the higher price tripods are definitely more durable.  For casual user like us, the durability of our RM700+ tripod may be as durable as the thousand ringgit tripod used by professional as the frequency of our usage is lower. 

So getting a suitable (price and features) tripod for us is more appropriate than getting a high end one.
Actually, i tend to agree with you. Benro is also china made and quality the same as fotopro. Just bcause its been around longer doesnt mean its better. Afterall benro stuff is pretty cheap also and not like the continental stuff which i have to admit are well built but always heavier. I guess everyone is entitled to buy what he or she feels will best suit their needs. Expensive tripods need not translate to better pics so spend wisely.

Added on April 30, 2011, 6:00 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 30 2011, 03:45 PM)
finally found a decent table top tripod.
fotopro m-5 mini...its a copy of the slightly more expensive velbon ultra max mini...

Do you mind telling us how much this item cost and where it was purchased?

This post has been edited by kakulukia: Apr 30 2011, 06:00 PM
Cynox
post Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 30 2011, 04:32 PM)
Actually, i tend to agree with you. Benro is also china made and quality the same as fotopro. Just bcause its been around longer doesnt mean its better. Afterall benro stuff is pretty cheap  also and not like the continental stuff which i have to admit are  well built but always heavier. I guess everyone is entitled to buy what he or she feels will best suit their needs. Expensive tripods  need not translate to better pics so spend wisely.

exactly what my thoughts are.... thumbup.gif

for the fotopro M5mini - Spore is selling at S$98 (about RM240) at the shop i got my MGC-584N. I think Malaysia price should be slightly cheaper. I m also thinking to get one for travelling but the price is quite expensive.
Everdying
post Apr 30 2011, 09:18 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 30 2011, 04:32 PM)

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM)
exactly what my thoughts are....  thumbup.gif

for the fotopro M5mini - Spore is selling at S$98 (about RM240) at the shop i got my MGC-584N.  I think Malaysia price should be slightly cheaper.  I m also thinking to get one for travelling but the price is quite expensive.
i guess malaysia must have missed that notice, cos i got mine for rm250 from mitmivec.
kakulukia
post Apr 30 2011, 09:45 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 30 2011, 08:35 PM)
exactly what my thoughts are....  thumbup.gif

for the fotopro M5mini - Spore is selling at S$98 (about RM240) at the shop i got my MGC-584N.  I think Malaysia price should be slightly cheaper.  I m also thinking to get one for travelling but the price is quite expensive.
Hmmm, Rm240 sounds about what I thought it would cost. Surprised to see from the pic that it can take the weight of a dslr. I'll have to investigate this one and see if this can serve as a spare "on the go" kinda tripod for when you can prop it up on table/ledges. Must say it looks kinda dodgy as far as stability goes. Perhaps Everdying can give some feedback? hmm.gif
Everdying
post Apr 30 2011, 09:57 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ Apr 30 2011, 09:45 PM)
Hmmm, Rm240 sounds about what I thought it would cost. Surprised to see from the pic that it can take the weight of a dslr. I'll have to investigate this one and see if this can serve as a spare "on the go" kinda tripod for when you can prop it up on table/ledges. Must say it looks kinda dodgy as far as stability goes. Perhaps Everdying can give some feedback?  hmm.gif
umm its meant to take the weight of a DSLR.
the ballhead has a max load of 3kg...its a very simple design ballhead...obviously not as nice as a manfrotto...
and thats basically the only thing dissapointing about the tripod so far...the head to tripod attachment uses a smaller diameter screw...so i cant attach my manfrotto head on it sad.gif

but its actually made for usages such as shown in their ad.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Apr 30 2011, 10:09 PM
kakulukia
post Apr 30 2011, 10:43 PM

187 posts

Wow great info. This may be just what I need...small and mobile.
onijoseph
post May 1 2011, 02:52 AM

Photography Guru
835 posts

i just tested a few tripods today at penang.
the photopro m-5mini is nice for entry dslr and good support for videography. price for dslr and photo accessories always is cheaper here in penang, as i got quoted rm220 for it.
1 thing i didn't like about the mini is the leg design. although it is easy to twist and unlock all the joints in one shot, i must also twist it hard so that it can lock properly. and the warranty the shop give me is only 3 months.
swt.
then i go to another shop to check out the jusino 255. before this, i heard from many retailers saying the jusino is not good as it claimed.
but to my surprise, after some weight testing using my body weight, the ballhead still not move a bit. the whole design is rather normal, and the monopod is rather short for normal usage.

kakulukia
post May 1 2011, 08:10 AM

187 posts

Thought so. I guess from the name itself, the Fotopro mini shouldnbe judged by its purpose and that is for a quick and light tripod that can be used for short term stability. I don't think it was designed to replace the conventional tripods. I also had a try at the Jusino's and I agree they are very good value for money, although the Otopro 5Ci felt a bit more sturdier and also a bit more expensive. Nice to have so many choices with tripods that we can pick and choose to suit out budget and needs.
Everdying
post May 1 2011, 01:36 PM

30,735 posts

yea obviously the m5 mini is never going to replace a full sized tripod.
but it will of cos work where space is an issue / table top product shots / informal gatherings etc...
and like the ad shows of cos in video shooting...which i dont bother doing tongue.gif
like how many times u gone out and want to take group photo...and have to pass ur dslr to some bystander like a waiter? tongue.gif
i also would like to try it in a situation where shooting over a railing where some ppl put beanbags or whatever to stabilize...but instead stick the mini tripod over the railing.

This post has been edited by Everdying: May 1 2011, 01:38 PM
post May 1 2011, 09:47 PM

DrEaM^mAkEr
611 posts

any advice for tripod around rm200? (with ball head) smile.gif
gear is for D90... tq...
kakulukia
post May 2 2011, 10:54 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(02286 @ May 1 2011, 09:47 PM)
any advice for tripod around rm200? (with ball head) smile.gif
gear is for D90... tq...
I believe for a d90 ( very good camera) you will need to spend a little bit more than Rm 200 to have a peace of mind that your camera is on a stable tripod. It's just too risky to have a good piece of equipment like the D90 supported on a flimsy tripod under Rm 200. Why not have a look at the jusino, which I believe is good value or even the lower end Benro's. If you can double your budget, then you may consider the Fotopro's c4i also.
icon_idea.gif
porkchop
post May 2 2011, 02:31 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

fotopro c4i and c5i wat diff??
kakulukia
post May 2 2011, 03:46 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ May 2 2011, 02:31 PM)
Not much, both are mag/alum bodies and 4 sections, and I believe the main difference would be that the c5i can be converted to a monopod from one of it's leg. It's also a bit more meatier which gives a more studier feel to it, but overall very similar characteristics. C4i is also the older model!

This post has been edited by kakulukia: May 2 2011, 03:47 PM
Cynox
post May 2 2011, 03:54 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ May 2 2011, 02:31 PM)
I think main difference is C4i has no monopod function and it is lower in height.

Fotopro C5i 2 in 1 Color Tripod
Fotopro C5i Colorful 2 in 1 Travel Tripod(+Monopod)

• CNC machined and harden anodized finishing body.
• 2 in 1 design,One leg can be released and used as a Monopod.
• Folded size:43cm
• Min operating H.:11cm
• Max operating H.:157cm
• Net weight:1.17kgs
• Loading capability:8kgs
• Max Tube:25mm diameter
• 4-section

Specification about Fotopro 51G Panhead
• Camera mounting screw:U1/4.
• Tripod mounting screw:U3/8.
• 36mm diameter ball.
• Net weight:400grams.
• Max Loading Capacity:12kgs.

Fotopro C4i Tripod

Specification of Tripod Leg
• Extended Max Height: 1380mm
• Min Oprerating Height: 105mm
• Folded Length: 405mm
• Maximum load: 6kg
• Net Weight: 0.97kg
• Max Tube Diameter: 22mm
• 4-section

Quick release plate Pan Ball Head with spirit level.
• High:87CM.
• Weight:340g.
• Load capability:6kg.
• Ball size:30 diameter.
• Camera mounting screw:U1/4.
• Tripod mounting screw:U3/8.
onijoseph
post May 2 2011, 05:44 PM

Photography Guru
835 posts

money wise, i will recommend the jusino 255.
a really worthwhile item costing less than rm400.
i just bought mine in penang with price a bit cheaper than shashinki.
i now have a vanguard alta 263 and jusino 255 lying in my room doing nothing...lol.

This post has been edited by onijoseph: May 2 2011, 05:56 PM
kakulukia
post May 2 2011, 09:33 PM

187 posts

All, the china ones are pretty good nowadays. I mean what isn't made there anymore! They do strive to churn out quality stuff and value for money goods, so you just can't discount them anymore.
chongkiatz
post May 2 2011, 09:44 PM

6,786 posts

Actually china can produce good product, it depend on how much u going to pay them to produce a product
post May 2 2011, 10:34 PM

DrEaM^mAkEr
611 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ May 2 2011, 10:54 AM)
I believe for a d90 ( very good camera) you will need to spend a little bit more than Rm 200 to have a peace of mind that your camera is on a stable tripod. It's just too risky to have a good piece of equipment like the D90 supported on a flimsy tripod under Rm 200. Why not have a look at the jusino, which I believe is good value or even the lower end Benro's. If you can double your budget, then you may consider the Fotopro's c4i also.
icon_idea.gif
tq for ur kindness suggestion... this is wat i mean... i will double my budget!! smile.gif
finally, i know wat range of tripod i will goin to purchase... tq ya!!
ieR
post May 3 2011, 03:36 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Cynox: that why i said everyone has diff opinion, and u fall to the latter one that are happy with what they have, nothing wrong.

but i disagree with u that benro is just another china pod, like saying iphone made from china is no diff from any other china phone, that's ignorance, not only benro has been around, they have many patents, its not easy to apply for patents. i even have a talk with Dr Koh, bout benro and jusino, he, quote "jusino quality can never come near to benro, even the carbons one" unquote. and, i actually upgraded from manfrotto (kinda forgot the model number, and i am big manfrotto fan, dislike benro too during that time) a 12kg pod(rm5xx), + a 8kg shiity ballhead(rm3xx), i sold it to upgrade to this benro, which is far more stable, it doesnt wobble like manfrotto that claimed 12kg. if i have not be ignorance and tested benro (listen many of my taiwan friend suggested, i would have spend that rm900 on benro A269) not only that, the plates that benro offers is enough so show benro is not just some small factory trying to make money out of desperate poor photographer.... not to mention their long trusted KS ball head is well known over the world. they are not cheap, for sure, and they aim is for people who know to appreciate their product.

but in the end, yes, try get something suit ur budget, but dont make claim like fotopro is better then benro or manfrotto. its like china made iphone replica, claiming its as good or better then the real iphone.

again, if you are just a casual photographer, go ahead on jusino or fotopro, nothing wrong. if u can appreciate benro, manfrotto or gitzo, and has the account that allow you to get them, by all means.

This post has been edited by ieR: May 3 2011, 03:39 PM
Cynox
post May 3 2011, 05:34 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

@ieR, thanks for the shares of experience of using Benro and Manfrotto and compared them. I am more convinced now after you elaborated rather than just a 1-liner saying Benro is good. Will take a note of Benro if i want to get another tripod in the future, which I think not very possible in near future unless my fotopro met with accident (touch wood laugh.gif ).

to set the record straight - I did not claim fotopro is better than benro since i never use benro. I am just doubting the difference between them is that much.

btw, have you tried fotopro? If not, how you know it is not as good as benro. tongue.gif Just joking..... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 3 2011, 05:36 PM
kakulukia
post May 3 2011, 07:18 PM

187 posts

Just got my Fotopro MGC 584 carbon fibre tripod today. Very happy with it and I have made comprisons with the other china brands before settling with this. All I can say is before you decide on any product do try out a few brands first that's within your budget, weigh the pro and cons before you decide. For me this tripod is very stable fully extended, light and good value for money. If I were to change anything, it'll be the ball head, to FLM, but that will be maybe a year from now.
Cynox
post May 3 2011, 08:05 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ May 3 2011, 07:18 PM)
Just got my Fotopro MGC 584 carbon fibre tripod today.  Very happy with it and I have made comprisons with the other china brands before settling with this. All I can say is before you decide on any product do try out a few brands first that's within your budget, weigh the pro and cons before you decide. For me this tripod is very stable fully extended, light and good value for money. If I were to change anything, it'll be the ball head, to FLM, but that will be maybe a year from now.
good buy... thumbup.gif your tripod bag is the multi-purpose carrying bag/stone bag or the newer conventional tripod bag? The monopod holster is actually good for carrying the tripod (as tripod, not monopod) at your waist. icon_idea.gif But I dun know whether it is pratical to do so since the tripod may swing to and fro when we walk around.

the carbon fibre texture and colour looks really great. If you disconnect the lower part of centre column, you will how light it is. thumbup.gif almost lighter than plastic. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 3 2011, 08:06 PM
elainor
post May 3 2011, 08:06 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

im still deciding either to get benro c2691 or sirui t2205x... any advice?
tienern
post May 3 2011, 09:17 PM

40 posts

ieR, i have been following this thread for a while. just want to know where can i see & test some of the benro tripod in KL / Selangor. been going around few shops but not really much choices and never see a benro until now. interested to get this kit Transfunctional Travel Angel - AL Twist Lock A1691TB0 or combination of Travel Flat Tripods - AL Twist Lock Legs A1190T + B Series - Double Action Ball Heads B0. it will be more on traveling and casual purposes. not going into carbon fibre for now but later on. if happen you know where is the place, PM me the contact no. yours help is much appreciated.

other forumers, your good suggestion of jusino or fotopro will be in my consideration also. yours review is helpful for others that still looking for a decent tripod.

let keeps this forum alive and everyone are free to give their opinions and critics.
kakulukia
post May 3 2011, 09:48 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 3 2011, 08:05 PM)
good buy...  thumbup.gif  your tripod bag is the multi-purpose carrying bag/stone bag or the newer conventional tripod bag?  The monopod holster is actually good for carrying the tripod (as tripod, not monopod) at your waist.  icon_idea.gif  But I dun know whether it is pratical to do so since the tripod may swing to and fro when we walk around.

the carbon fibre texture and colour looks really great.  If you disconnect the lower part of centre column, you will how light it is.  thumbup.gif  almost lighter than plastic.  sweat.gif
That right, I went tru the whole demo with the salesguy, and very impressed with it. Length at 400mm and weight of 1.5 kg is just perfect for travel. Build quality also is top notch. My tripod bag is just the normal conventional one.. What is the multi-purpose carry/stone bag?. Haven't used it in the field yet so not sure if the holster is an issue. rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
Cynox
post May 3 2011, 10:44 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ May 3 2011, 09:48 PM)
That right, I went tru the whole demo with the salesguy, and very impressed with it. Length at 400mm and weight of 1.5 kg  is just perfect for travel. Build quality also is top notch. My tripod bag is just the normal conventional one.. What is the multi-purpose carry/stone bag?. Haven't used it in the field yet so not sure if the holster is an issue. rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif
this is the first generation multi-purpose tripod "bag"

this is the second generation bag we got, which is way much better for protection. Too bad they leave out the first gen carrying bag, else even better with extra. tongue.gif Btw, the tripod bag is very good quality, i think worth at least RM50 by itself.

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 3 2011, 10:46 PM
kakulukia
post May 4 2011, 09:15 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 3 2011, 10:44 PM)
this is the first generation multi-purpose tripod "bag"

this is the second generation bag we got, which is way much better for protection.  Too bad they leave out the first gen carrying bag, else even better with extra.  tongue.gif  Btw, the tripod bag is very good quality, i think worth at least RM50 by itself.

The second pic is exactly the one I have (2nd gen) and yes I agree it is a Nice fit carrying case and well paded. The one in the first pic is very useful if you want added stability by loading stuff on to the bag between the legs. I have also seen these things somewhere that you can unfold and latch onto your tripod legs, but I can't remember where!

This post has been edited by kakulukia: May 4 2011, 09:19 AM
Cynox
post May 4 2011, 09:47 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kakulukia @ May 4 2011, 09:15 AM)
The second pic is exactly the one I have (2nd gen) and yes I agree it is a Nice fit carrying case and well paded. The one in the first pic is very useful if you want added stability by loading stuff on to the bag between the legs. I have also seen these things somewhere that you can unfold and latch onto your tripod legs, but I can't remember where!
ours also can do that actually, just rotate the hidden screw out from the centre column and screw on the hook provided and hook your camera bag on it to add the weight/stability of the tripod. thumbup.gif
kakulukia
post May 4 2011, 10:23 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 4 2011, 09:47 AM)
ours also can do that actually, just rotate the hidden screw out from the centre column and screw on the hook provided and hook your camera bag on it to add the weight/stability of the tripod.  thumbup.gif
Thats right, I'm going to have a go at it this weekend and see how it performs out in the fields. Still can get over how light this thing is, as you can hardly feel it carrying it with the pouch.
porkchop
post May 4 2011, 10:33 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

cynox how much u get yours ??? smile.gif

Cynox
post May 4 2011, 11:30 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ May 4 2011, 10:33 PM)
cynox how much u get yours ??? smile.gif
i posted the price at the first page i think. I bought at S$305 from Spore. A bit cheaper than what kakulukia paid but i need to go all the way to Spore. rclxub.gif but of course very happy with my new toy, worth the trip. thumbup.gif
ieR
post May 5 2011, 09:26 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 3 2011, 05:34 PM)
@ieR, thanks for the shares of experience of using Benro and Manfrotto and compared them.  I am more convinced now after you elaborated rather than just a 1-liner saying Benro is good.  Will take a note of Benro if i want to get another tripod in the future, which I think not very possible in near future unless my fotopro met with accident (touch wood  laugh.gif ).

to set the record straight - I did not claim fotopro is better than benro since i never use benro.  I am just doubting the difference between them is that much.

btw, have you tried fotopro?  If not, how you know it is not as good as benro.  tongue.gif  Just joking.....  laugh.gif
HEHE~ well, u dont have to get benro if you not crazy mountain/forest tracker, landscape shooter, i shoot with my benro in ponds, waterfall, and on SEA. the lock/seal being water resistant is a great plus. the heaviest part of pod is the iron cast joint, which result the stability of the pod.

i stand corrected if i mis'acused' you, but i just scare other might have that type of "thinking" just like me when i was big'o'manfrotto fan tongue.gif to me, benro was like chaeap fake china pod (because their ball head was a little "arca-swiss" replica/idea/design.

the main differences in them is the "HEAD" the pod, i think fotopro Pod Legs might be as good, the only thing i dislike bout benro is they never came out with "dual 'rubber/spike feet", else i would brought them(the feet) already. they cost slightly cheaper (allu) then benro, but the CF is far more cheaper, which is obvious because they dont have "patents fees" for the CF components, hence cheaper? or just they came with a cheaper head compare to benro with "pair" nicely with the right head size.

i seen the allu fotopro, but i wouldnt judge the CF yet. but i can say, fotopro's box, bag, joint, is 99% replica of benro rclxub.gif when i saw my friend brought his alu to show to me.

tienern: wait for the upcoming photography fair in KL, benro will come out with a booth and offer great prices. but i suggest u take a look at other tripod booth too. of coz, judge the head too, because pod mostly now design is same/similar with each other, the big diff is the head they offered combo with. smile.gif i cant really help u with shops, because i am not from KLside.

vios2002
post May 19 2011, 12:22 PM

167 posts

planning to get a jusino tripod with monopod function but not sure what model should i get, any recommendation?

elainor
post May 19 2011, 01:00 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

budget wise?
vios2002
post May 19 2011, 01:09 PM

167 posts

below rm400 or around that range posible?
porkchop
post May 19 2011, 07:09 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i think octopus also got a replica like that too
Cynox
post May 20 2011, 01:40 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ May 19 2011, 01:09 PM)
below rm400 or around that range posible?
easy... either the Jusino AX-253 - RM355 or the Jusino AX-254 - RM375.

I think the main difference is AX-253 has 3 sections while AX-254 has 4-section which make AX-254 shorter when fully folded for storage/transport. But more section will cause the last section of the leg to become very thin. smile.gif

EDIT: You can also consider Fotopro aluminium series. Price wise quite near to Jusino but some says the built quality is slightly better and Fotopro has quite a few colors too.

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 20 2011, 01:42 PM
Jeffrey1987
post May 20 2011, 02:43 PM

1,661 posts

I'm wondering whether I can bring out my KEEP tripos for outdoor? Relatively risky?
sniper on the roof
post May 22 2011, 04:46 PM

23,414 posts

What do you guys think about Benro A-068?
angelic88
post May 23 2011, 12:01 AM

325 posts

erm , thought that i should contribute some input

i have Jusino Ax-253 here , initially tot , it is easy to travel with , shorter and seperate as monopod ...

but in the end as most of the time sitting somewhere in the room , think i dun need such expensive stuff either =p

With more joint , 254 / 255 it will be shorter after fold , but more tiresome to setup and thinner diameter at the end. Even if the tripod is fold up , the size aren't really small because of the diameter of the leg( perhaps CF could benefit from here) ....

and would like to point out , the ballhead might swap a bit toward the gravity point ( around 0.5-1mm) after tighten , not that it doesn't hold well , just that it will sway a bit ...

so well , if u dun really need to do extreme stuff like going sea river etc , perhaps u can consider this , less chance to jelly than those rm50 1

P.S : water might be a problem especially SEA since they might have salt deposit later, but u can dissemble the leg for cleaning later i think ( dissemble even the joint)
ieR
post May 23 2011, 08:46 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 22 2011, 04:46 PM)
What do you guys think about Benro A-068?
Really compact when folded. Easy to bring around with its weight.

Good ballhead. 300% reliability then jusino, profoto, octopus head.

Small is Erm a little more flimsy then the bigger brother.

Pricey. So only for people who knows how to appreciate it. Since you in Taiwan, order from China is like freaking cheaper then even buying jusino in Malaysia.

Plan to buy one cf version around end of the year.
sniper on the roof
post May 23 2011, 10:05 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ May 23 2011, 08:46 AM)
Really compact when folded. Easy to bring around with its weight.

Good ballhead. 300% reliability then jusino, profoto, octopus head.

Small is Erm a little more flimsy then the bigger brother.

Pricey. So only for people who knows how to appreciate it. Since you in Taiwan, order from China is like freaking cheaper then even buying jusino in Malaysia.

Plan to buy one cf version around end of the year.
There's about a ~ RM300+ premium for the CF version here. So you reckon its worth it for the 400gram savings? Thanks.
Cynox
post May 23 2011, 11:14 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 23 2011, 10:05 AM)
There's about a ~ RM300+ premium for the CF version here. So you reckon its worth it for the 400gram savings? Thanks.
400 gram is a lot!! nod.gif I paid extra RM200 to get my Fotopro CF compared to the same specs with Aluminium to save only 200gram. If you weight them together with both your hand, can feel the extra weight significantly.

Brought my fotopro out for a event shooting in a shopping mall, feel the arca swiss screw type quick release plate very troublesome. Still prefer those old-type QR, will get a Manfrotto RC2 or RC4 QR plates to replace it.
Everdying
post May 23 2011, 11:18 AM

30,735 posts

just wondering on the CF ones now, are they still fragile?
meaning a small knock will chip it?
ieR
post May 23 2011, 12:05 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 23 2011, 11:18 AM)
Cf actually is elastic and strong bond. Not harder then allu. Because of elastic, it can absorb better impact, if its harder, it'll chip off like u said.
Everdying
post May 23 2011, 12:09 PM

30,735 posts

elastic?
isnt CF used to strengthen a already light tripod?
ifer
post May 23 2011, 05:53 PM

4,637 posts

carbon fibre is elastic?
Cynox
post May 24 2011, 10:08 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 23 2011, 11:18 AM)
never subject my CF tripod to any knock, so not sure about this. But the user guide did mention to store the tripod in upright position (as opposed to horizontally) as it is more fragile to lateral impact. 2 of the 3 legs of Fotopro are largely wrapped with thick sponged hand grip, so the possibility of knocking it is minimized.

Maybe can gaffe tape it if you worry about chipping. icon_idea.gif But not so sure that CF is elastic. hmm.gif I think it will chip rather than dented like aluminium, so should not be elastic imho. This is what i read about super sports car with CF exterior like the Pagani Zonda, etc. Once it met an accident, not possible to knock knock like normal car coz it will break like plastic.

This post has been edited by Cynox: May 24 2011, 10:10 AM
sniper on the roof
post May 24 2011, 10:37 AM

23,414 posts

My experience with CF bicycle is that CF is not elastic but it does dampen vibration better than aluminum. On the subject of durability, I reckon if they can use it on a AM mountain bike, it should be ok as tripod legs as tripod's are not subjected to as much structural stress as a bicycle frame even if the protective enamel layer's chipped.

david9
post May 24 2011, 10:58 AM

493 posts

Hi , sorry for interruption .

Is velbon cx888 a good choice to buy for large camera (d7000 with lens ) ?

Best price i found was rm 170 (seremban)
Cynox
post May 24 2011, 12:23 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(david9 @ May 24 2011, 10:58 AM)
Hi , sorry for interruption .

Is velbon cx888 a good choice to buy for large camera (d7000 with lens ) ?

Best price i found was rm 170 (seremban)
you need to check the specs to see whether it can support your equipment weight. Best is to bring your setup to test it on the spot at the shop. But for RM170, i doubt it can be a good companion to your heavy d7000.
ieR
post May 25 2011, 11:08 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

It's elastic in absorb vibration... Not elastic that you can bend it la... >.< like how bullet proof plexi vs glass itself that shatter upon impact.
elainor
post May 27 2011, 10:36 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

Just a quick question, im searching for a tripod to support a d7k and a 70-200mm vr2. Should i opt for a benro c2691 or sirui t2205x? Or is it overkill? Thanks
XiuKeong
post May 27 2011, 10:50 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

I'm going to get Jusino Ax-254. Can use as tripod and monopod smile.gif
Cynox
post May 28 2011, 12:07 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 27 2011, 10:50 PM)
I'm going to get Jusino Ax-254. Can use as tripod and monopod smile.gif
do give some feedback after you use it. icon_idea.gif
XiuKeong
post May 28 2011, 12:57 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 28 2011, 12:07 AM)
do give some feedback after you use it.  icon_idea.gif
No problem smile.gif

But I think that this tripod doesn't come with the "hook" feature.
sniper on the roof
post May 28 2011, 07:30 PM

23,414 posts

I think for the time being, a proper tripod doesn't fit my plans so I'm thinking of a new ballhead (something small and light) to replace the awful joby head. Any suggestions?
hihi
post May 31 2011, 11:21 AM

189 posts

OMG..i'm still using the benro A150 for my D700 + Nikkor 28-70 F2.8..
Luckily nothing happen..now want to start to find a better tripod already..
I have 2 set of Benro A150 and one of it ballhead spoiled..how much can i sell this tripod?
Or keep it for future use? For strobist perhaps?

litnit
post Sep 17 2011, 01:49 PM

135 posts

Hey, anyone would like to comment about CF version here? any comment between benro C068 and Jusino AX-254C??
thanks...
CocoMonGo
post Sep 18 2011, 12:20 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

anybody got any comments from using the Jusino AX-253? Reviews? I am quite interested in getting it.
beelze_gpwk
post Sep 18 2011, 07:21 AM

632 posts

I'm user of Jusino AX-254. So far so good, the ball head is easy to operate with quick release, spirit level and so on.
Can transform to monopod as well.
AX-254/253/255 are basically the same, just the number denotes how many section they have (253 = 3 section tripod, 254 = 4 sections and so on)
If you are travelling a lot, invest on carbon fiber. Save the few kgs for your lens and gears instead.
Jusino LS-254 is similar to AX-254, just the tripod leg for LS use quick lock while AX is twist-release...

My overall experience with Jusino tripod... so far so good. solid and stable.
The only down side I feel with my Jusino is the setup time is a little longer... but once it is ready, everything just get fire away!

http://shashinki.com/shop/jusino-ax254-bla....html#!tab3

Check here for more pictures.
jimlim007
post Sep 18 2011, 04:47 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Sep 18 2011, 12:20 AM)
anybody got any comments from using the Jusino AX-253? Reviews? I am quite interested in getting it.
i am using jusino 254, the more section more small packing/fold in bag. so far so good la, but i am seldom used especially after sold my camera. it is vey firm tripod. every one them is human hand made engineering smile.gif
CocoMonGo
post Sep 18 2011, 09:45 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

i would like to buy a carbon fiber too.. but too rich for my wallet tongue.gif Since a tripod is something I rarely use I rather save the money and spend on a new body or lens.
Currently I have a manfrotto 055 and 486RCII head which is rock solid but weigh almost the same! Almost 3kgtogather without any carrying case yet.

For the jusino how is the construction quality and workmanship?
litnit
post Sep 19 2011, 02:02 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Sep 18 2011, 09:45 PM)
i would like to buy a carbon fiber too.. but too rich for my wallet tongue.gif Since a tripod is something I rarely use I rather save the money and spend on a new body or lens.
Currently I have a manfrotto 055 and 486RCII head which is rock solid but weigh almost the same! Almost 3kgtogather without any carrying case yet.

For the jusino how is the construction quality and workmanship?
save 300g, cost around RM400. sound expensive.
AX254 vs AX254C
ifer
post Sep 19 2011, 05:07 PM

4,637 posts

some good read on how to choose a good tripod

RRS CF tripod
nicholas_1213
post Sep 19 2011, 08:27 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

Using Manfrotto 190cxpro4 with a 488rc2, so far no complaint.. Would only upgrade if there's something more stable while small in size when fully retracted (saw some Benro travel angel which can reach around 30-35cm length after retracted, looks quite impressive but not sure about the stability). Big tripod is really PITA during traveling but no doubt they provide extra stability and extra reach...
ReeNz
post Sep 20 2011, 09:59 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ Sep 18 2011, 07:21 AM)
I'm user of Jusino AX-254. So far so good, the ball head is easy to operate with quick release, spirit level and so on.
Can transform to monopod as well.
AX-254/253/255 are basically the same, just the number denotes how many section they have (253 = 3 section tripod, 254 = 4 sections and so on)
If you are travelling a lot, invest on carbon fiber. Save the few kgs for your lens and gears instead.
Jusino LS-254 is similar to AX-254, just the tripod leg for LS use quick lock while AX is twist-release...

My overall experience with Jusino tripod... so far so good. solid and stable.
The only down side I feel with my Jusino is the setup time is a little longer... but once it is ready, everything just get fire away!

http://shashinki.com/shop/jusino-ax254-bla....html#!tab3

Check here for more pictures.
QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Sep 18 2011, 04:47 PM)
i am using jusino 254, the more section more small packing/fold in bag. so far so good la, but i am seldom used especially after sold my camera. it is vey firm tripod. every one them is human hand made engineering  smile.gif
I'm a Jusino AX-255 user (red color). So far i do agree with beelze and jimlim. It is good looking and rock stable.
XiuKeong
post Sep 20 2011, 10:42 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,437 posts

Brought my Jusino tripod along to The Peak, Hong Kong. Very rock solid against the wind but with the help of the hook of course smile.gif
litnit
post Sep 25 2011, 10:52 PM

135 posts

How about velbon? Velbon Ultra REXi L? any comment on this?thanks..
yuman
post Sep 26 2011, 12:41 AM

78 posts

I can't agree less!! Tripods are very important. But it depends where you really wanna take your camera too. Don't need such an expesnive one or heavy one if you don't use it that often. It depends on your camera size too. you want one that can support up to 8-10 pounds
smokey
post Sep 26 2011, 08:22 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

hei guys, is it worth paying double the price for a carbon fiber tripod?
my case is Jusino AX254, alu rm3xx vs carbon rm6xx. Saving of 200 grams...
coffeetea
post Sep 26 2011, 10:14 PM

Hey guys, spend a few hours in reading all the recommendations. I found out that Jusino is the best choice. My budget is around RM350~RM400(MAX). I just want to ask is there still any other options at this range...my gear is nikon D7000 with kit lens. Intend to upgrade later.
inv
post Sep 28 2011, 11:41 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

what's the advantage of 3 leg vs 4 leg? i should think 3 legged tripods should provide better stability?
ifer
post Sep 28 2011, 11:46 AM

4,637 posts

are there 4 legged tripod? well, if it's 4 legged, it's not call a tripod anymore
litnit
post Sep 28 2011, 01:46 PM

135 posts

i believe it is not so called 3 leg or 4 leg, but 3 section or 4 section.
The advantage for 4 section is the smaller folded dimension. Of course 3 section is more stable.
Please correct me if it is wrong.
inv
post Sep 28 2011, 02:13 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

oops my bad. i meant 'section' instead of legs.

Added on September 28, 2011, 2:17 pmthen what about the difference between 'clip' lock and twist lock? which is more durable in the long run?

looking through shashinki's catalogue of jusino tripods, i'm kinda contemplating between ax253 and ax284.. hmm.. i have a 450d with kitlens atm, planning to get a 18-200mm in the near future.

This post has been edited by inv: Sep 28 2011, 02:17 PM
litnit
post Sep 28 2011, 04:26 PM

135 posts

Regarding the clip lock and twist lock, I am looking for answer too.
I am struggling for AX-254 vs AX-254C...lol...
inv
post Sep 28 2011, 09:19 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

i think i'd settle for ax253, 1 section less to setup, plus the difference in length is only 5cm.

any shop in kl/pj which carries this in store?
smokey
post Sep 29 2011, 11:14 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

hi jusino users,

wan to ask does the short center column has hole at the bottom to attach the spring hook or it's just hollow one?
tkdfever
post Oct 12 2011, 06:33 AM

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 29 2011, 09:40 AM)
can you read chinese?  here are 2 reviews: Fotopro C4i review  Fotopro C5i review

I lazy to give review lah.. tonight if too free nothing to do I will give some comments.  laugh.gif

EDIT:  There is a youtube review too.....

is it tall enough without centre column extend? because it's only 129cm
beelze_gpwk
post Oct 12 2011, 09:25 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Sep 29 2011, 11:14 PM)
hi jusino users,

wan to ask does the short center column has hole at the bottom to attach the spring hook or it's just hollow one?
MY tripod is not with me now, but if i remember correctly, the short center column should be hollow without spring hook. you don't really need that function when using the short center column anyway, so you?
oxygen_
post Oct 12 2011, 05:05 PM

78 posts

its harder to find the AX-253 than the AX-254 ehh..??
any suggestion where to find one??
David900924
post Oct 13 2011, 12:13 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

whats d fastest setup tripod available in market? This is useful as travel tripod.
sniper on the roof
post Oct 13 2011, 01:52 PM

23,414 posts

Tumpang tanya... fotopro C4i ok or not? Looking for something cheap and light for travel.
SeanLee85
post Oct 24 2011, 05:52 PM

54 posts

Anyone try Benro Traveler Flat? Cant find any review of it.
yuman
post Oct 24 2011, 10:56 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(oxygen_ @ Oct 12 2011, 05:05 PM)
its harder to find the AX-253 than the AX-254 ehh..??
any suggestion where to find one??
ebay?
minute_m
post Oct 25 2011, 09:20 PM

QUOTE(yuman @ Oct 24 2011, 10:56 PM)
ebay?
will it be too expensive in transport cost?
SeanLee85
post Oct 26 2011, 09:06 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(minute_m @ Oct 25 2011, 09:20 PM)
will it be too expensive in transport cost?
Some are free postage
ifer
post Oct 27 2011, 08:54 AM

4,637 posts

i know it's wayyy over the budget for most/all of us here
but still...

is this the world's best tripod?
SeanLee85
post Oct 27 2011, 10:36 AM

54 posts

Even only RRS quick release clamp also killing me, the price is damn high!
camerawhizz
post Oct 31 2011, 08:46 AM

Validating

i'm using the benro ... stability is good ... & its really light ...

manfrotto is a good tripod too ... better than benro , but u need more pulus to buy it ... biggrin.gif
post Nov 1 2011, 05:32 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(SeanLee85 @ Oct 26 2011, 09:06 PM)
Some are free postage
where to get the free postage one? smile.gif

Added on November 1, 2011, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(camerawhizz @ Oct 31 2011, 08:46 AM)

manfrotto is a good tripod too ... better than benro , but u need more pulus to buy it ... biggrin.gif
any cheaper tripod you recommend?

This post has been edited by 3107: Nov 1 2011, 05:40 PM
Frida8
post Nov 2 2011, 12:03 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(camerawhizz @ Oct 31 2011, 08:46 AM)

longing for benro's tripod, Saving my pennies for it!!!
SeanLee85
post Nov 4 2011, 11:59 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(3107 @ Nov 1 2011, 05:32 PM)
where to get the free postage one? smile.gif
Ebay!
QUOTE(Frida8 @ Nov 2 2011, 12:03 PM)
longing for benro's tripod, Saving my pennies for it!!!
What model you targeting?
kenary820
post Nov 17 2011, 06:06 PM

~(**)~
1,862 posts

what the best price for fotopro 5i (alu)? interested to buy but difficult to find

This post has been edited by kenary820: Nov 19 2011, 10:39 PM
oxygen_
post Nov 21 2011, 11:13 AM

78 posts

still in dilemma which tripod + ballhead to buy..
if my budget <rm350 (of course cheaper is better lah tongue.gif ), what tripod i hav to aim for?
n in addition, where (shop in kl area) can i get that tripod?

Kent3888
post Nov 28 2011, 12:00 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

Need advise from you guys, which is a better tripod deal may u advise? I'm aiming for the lightweight + steady + good weather resistant.

1. Benro Travel Angel A-168 Mg-Aluminium Tripod

http://www.yamiya.com.my/store/product.php?productid=18902

2. Jusino JR-254 Black Professional Titan Wing Series 4-Sections Tripod (Max Load 12kg) with BS-18 Professional Ballhead

http://shashinki.com/shop/jusino-jr2...650.html#!tab2

3. Jusino AX-254 Black Professional Traveller Series 4-Sections Tripod (Max Load 12kg) with BT-02 Professional Ballhead with Arca Swiss Quick Release System

http://shashinki.com/shop/jusino-ax2...kg-p-6301.html

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Nov 29 2011, 05:28 PM
TSchinkw1
post Jan 16 2012, 05:21 PM

3,158 posts

I find that Jusino AX253 would be better than Jusino AX254

3 section tripod is more stable than 4 sections.

Anyone share the same thought as me ?
Kent3888
post Jan 16 2012, 05:41 PM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 16 2012, 05:21 PM)
I find that Jusino AX253 would be better than Jusino AX254

3 section tripod is more stable than 4 sections.

Anyone share the same thought as me ?
Yes u r right, but it's just slightly. It's based on your liking. I picked the 5 sections travel angel, but it's still very stable. If u want to do long exposure landscape in windy condition, u can extend just 4 section to take the shot.
stan001
post Aug 22 2012, 01:42 AM

623 posts

Where can I buy Benro tripod in KL/PJ ?

I m looking for this model :-

Benro C1681TB0
http://english.benro.cn/CpListTA1.aspx?Par...3&ProductId=681

makoshark
post Aug 27 2012, 10:58 PM

300 posts

i shoot group photo with D7000 + Nikon 17-55mm f2.8 & SB900, which tripod can support my equipment? my budget is RM400
tachlio
post Apr 10 2013, 11:12 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

Hi anyone had experiance with Jusino AS-254 vs LS-284

thinking to get either one of it

0.0802sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:10 PM