Tripod advice pls, Monfrotto, Benro, Jusino

Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 10:52 AM

2,734 posts

This is a very good piece of information, never see any tripod related threads here..Would definitely help when I want to purchase a proper tripod
Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 11:40 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 20 2011, 11:07 AM)
Bliz but tripod is very subjective.... Some just need a rm 100 one... Some need or wants a rm1000 one. It at the end depend how deep your pocket can burn.....
Hhaa true, but for my anything exceeds RM700 is expensive for me since I seldom use it anyway ( maybe like once in a few months sweat.gif )
Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 03:52 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 20 2011, 12:05 PM)
bliz, 700 can get a very good pod, but careful of where u buy la, some shop mark up margin by 50-70%...

i have many landscape shooter friend, in my town, all the shop here carry cheap china (they sell it rm200-300), eventually most of them broke down after 1 year, i have 2 digieye that my friend left it at my house -___- not excately broken, but the clip for the leg broke, so its full-time extended, cant keep retract anymore, so we use it as lightstand. then until i got in contact with benro malaysia, i brought in 10 unit of travel angel(MGallu version), sold out in a week. then i pamper myself with a CF version. and it was more then a year ago, till today, all of the 10unit sold has no known issue, all very happy customer. the thing is, i wan to get a slightly more expensive tripod, that i wan to know that i will be keeping a tripod that last 10 years to come... like gitzo that my dad has last till today, but its big and UBER HEAVY.
700 including head? laugh.gif I believe u meant RM700 just for the tripod right? Been thinking of spending on proper tripod+head lately, gear is D700+BG+16-35, any suggestion for tripod+head ~RM700?
Bliz
post Apr 20 2011, 10:09 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Apr 20 2011, 09:42 PM)
cant find sirui in malaysia?
it's cheaper then benro here in sg, the built is better.
travel type, carbon fibre one(T1204 with g10 ballhead) cost around sgd330 only with ballhead.
it can be back folded like gitzo, very short after folded.
http://www.siruiusa.com/tripods/t1204.htm
Build quality for Sirui is better? I can find sirui here, it's available at shashinki and my local dealer , i always thought benro is one of the higher quality China made tripod hmm.gif
Bliz
post Apr 21 2011, 10:48 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 21 2011, 09:01 AM)
Bliz: errrrr can la, 700 for pod (non CF) with head (non friction control, just release and lock type) hehehe, got many option out there, like loverjinx suggest a good combo too.
a good benro B-1(12kg) head already cost around 3xx. actually i took that heavyload head for birding use... coz need keep moving the camera, then at time, u just wanted to 'let go your hand' to rest, u know ur ballhead will keep it steady with 300 F2.8. IF u are not on birding or dont own lens over 1.5kg, then u dont really have to get a 12kg load ballhead.

my travel angel can go inside airplane cabin without the security chase me out, and travel angle pod twist lock can be water resistance~ (i dont trust jusino or octopus on this), coz i sometimes need to go into rivers to get shooting spot (u cant really shoot much from inside between trees.) and i dont think manfrotto is not afraid of water.

not to mention benro travel angel is 2in1 (tripod > monopod) where jusino and other just copy it -___-
iXora.ix: hohoho octopus copy 100% benro~ the head, the pods, and 1/3 of the price...

sukhoi37: shashinki, and my trip to KL last year, i saw some shop in lowyat sells them. sirui is more expensive then benro for the same/similar design and spec. or maybe that is the price in msia, maybe SG benro even cheaper?

Added on April 21, 2011, 9:03 amifer: all brand high spec sure is good! manfrotto/gitzo/benro/etc high spec one is really good, but price also more... tongue.gif

dig out some old picture from my fb...

Which model of benro are u using? I am not going to buy CF tripod as it's too damn expensive cry.gif .. just a normal travel angel series+a proper ball head(must fit my RM700 budget also la haha) icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Bliz: Apr 21 2011, 10:49 AM
Bliz
post Apr 21 2011, 10:52 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 21 2011, 04:53 PM)
of coz, need to see properly what are u getting... >.<,... who will buy jelly tripod at 2k... hahahaha~

allu will always end up slightly heavier then CF.

and a lot mis-concept that CF is stronger hence bigger load limit. wrong, CF is just merely lighter~ (if u willing to pay).

the strength of the load is at the leg "lock". usually bigger the barrel diameter, better the lock design to hold heavier load. gitzo has really good lock. but do i really need a 40kg tripod load limit? well, i choose mine 12 kg (although my gear is not even 5kg, the rest of 9kg load is reserve for my backpack to hook on the tripod to stabilizes it. the last time i was in taiwan, it was raining so heavy and huge wind, my 15 sec exposure didnt shake one bit.

bliz: try check shashinki if they still carry them, or yamiya.com.my
Good point for the heavy bag to stabilize the tripod, will check it out thumbup.gif
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 01:18 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Apr 22 2011, 12:03 AM)
Imo if you're on the look out for tripod, maybe just wait a little for DCIM next month. Judging from last year theres a crap load of tripod on sale.

Oh yea im looking for one also actually tongue.gif
I am waiting for the DCIM event as well brows.gif
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 03:55 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 23 2011, 02:11 PM)
yea, total copy of benro travel angel. lol, coz world wide, the benro travel angel sale were greater then manfrotto add together. hence octopus (the origin factory is not octopus, there are several company that rebagde the tripod) copied that travel angel.

Bliz: that is the point to get tripod more then 8kg load, jangan la see see 4kg tripod, u think ur gear is 2kg, then its good, but the overall weight and center of gravity is high above, wind blow bit bit, sure shake one. lol. 8kg is actually fine, ur bag with 2 lens, would pass 4kg, provided, ur flash and big lend on the camera, which weight up to 4kg on top too, the 8kg ballhead should able to provide really good flexibility and strength.

or skip to 12kg. u will see benro always state 2 set of weight load limit, one for pod, one for head. pod usually more tahan then ballhead one.

ifer: wahahaha, benro was my first tripod, my previous 2 set, one is dad old gitzo (heavy) and one from my ex gf father, another old vivitar tripod, very nice~ but not QR plate, its fix on the pod... old tech... sad.gif both pod are older then me tongue.gif so i hope my pod will last till my childrens tongue.gif unlike jelly pods.
Appreciate your input there, currently i am looking at this model

Benro Travel Angel

icon_idea.gif
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 04:24 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Apr 23 2011, 04:05 PM)
why not go for CF? 50% lighter than Alu... I just went to test out benro and manfrotto, Manfrotto is friggin expensive and it costs twice as much than the Benro, but i could get the same thing from benro for just 50% less of the price... But Manfrotto made in Italy la...
If budget is not a problem of course I would get CF, i will not spend over 1k for a tripod
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 04:36 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Apr 23 2011, 04:31 PM)
I tried Benro Travel angel cf model number C0690TB00 but the price  cry.gif RM 1300
Ok if that the case why not get sirui t2205x or n2205? Around rm900+-

12kg load, 165cm max height, CF weight only 1.02kg...
No point lah, it's not much lighter, only like 300grams lighter? 900++ is only the tripod, not including the head yet sweat.gif
Bliz
post Apr 23 2011, 05:56 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Apr 23 2011, 05:20 PM)
To be exact for travel angel is 1kg lighter. Do u prefer ball head more?
The benro C069 CF tripod only is 0.78kg while the Alu version is 1.18kg, where did u find the CF is 1kg lighter than the Alu version? That's why i mentioned that its not worth paying for that 300grams decrease in weight smile.gif
Bliz
post Apr 24 2011, 11:22 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 24 2011, 03:03 PM)
the 069 to be honest, is small, easy, for "lite" gear. if u have 70200F2.8 in ur pocket, this tripod will not like it. its good enough for a body with 16-50* F2.8 lenses.

no problem if u are traveling a lot, since u are traveling with lite gears.

*any crop F2.8 kitlen replacement, for 24-70, it might be a little heavy
Wah i thought the A-069 is enough for my gears, cos can support up to 8kg, seems like i have to find some other tipod sweat.gif
Bliz
post Apr 27 2011, 11:51 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 26 2011, 09:01 PM)
finally bought the Fotopro MGC-584N carbon fibre tripod.  thumbup.gif  Initial impression - quite a solid built.  nod.gif  Price slightly lower than Jusino AX-255 CF at Shashinki.com.

How's the weight? Seems quite heavy to me from the specs smile.gif , price? notworthy.gif

0.0245sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:10 PM