Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

venicelim
post Apr 13 2011, 08:48 AM

330 posts

hi all,

does singapore's company take in malaysia university's student for internship?

i would like to have my internship in singapore bcz the internship period is the last semester of my degree, which means that i am able to continue the job as in permanent position directly after my internship period.

I study Electrical and electronic engineering.

anyone of you all here can of any help?
appreciate very much.
venicelim
post Apr 14 2011, 11:04 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Apr 14 2011, 10:49 AM)
Mustafa sells RM at rate of RM2.3975 to SGD1.00... Woooo
what / who / where is mustafa? rclxub.gif
venicelim
post Apr 17 2011, 06:34 PM

330 posts

urgently need help..
anyone here knows any engineering company that would like to take Malaysia university's student for internship (sept - Dec 2011), follow with permanent job position after that?
cz i am finishing my studies at tis August but my university requires us to have 4 months attachment. and I would like to work in Singapore. So I want to have my internship in singapore continue with permanent job after that.
venicelim
post Apr 18 2011, 11:11 AM

330 posts

anyone got recommendation for Engineering jobs in Singapore?
I am looking for 4 months attachment continued with full time position.
venicelim
post Apr 18 2011, 10:27 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Apr 18 2011, 10:10 PM)
No, it was not so smooth as I think. I started to work after my final exam in April 2009. I was too excited to apply for PR then as I heard from many said that Msian can obtain PR easily, even with less than 6 months of working experiences (that was b4 Spore population hit 5 millions in August 2009). For those applied after June 2009, I hardly heard good news.

1st Time
29 Aug 2009 => Got rejected on 27 Nov 2009  cry.gif heart-broken

2nd Time
19 Jun 2010 => Got rejected on 5 Dec 2010  cry.gif heart-broken again, very sad
Appealed on Jan 2011 => ....................
Received approval letter just now, finally  icon_rolleyes.gif
heard that once you applied 3 times and got rejected, you cant apply PR within a time range.
is that true?
Luckily u manage to get it approved on your 3rd try.
venicelim
post Apr 26 2011, 09:40 PM

330 posts

hi Lester,

wana ask you, when converting the malaysia license to singapore license, regarding the JPJ extract, how to obtain it?
and does JPJ opens during sat/ sun?

wat other documents needed to convert to singapore license?
venicelim
post Apr 26 2011, 10:22 PM

330 posts

tkz kockroach.

but how long will it take for JPJ to issue the extract?
venicelim
post Apr 29 2011, 10:40 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Apr 28 2011, 02:43 PM)
Finally, I've gotten my EP after waiting for almost a month. Had a number of issues to get to here, my word, but past is past!

Quick question: in order to open a bank account in SG, do I need to bring 1K SGD in cash or will banker's cheque suffice?
hi all,
I wana ask, if i havent get the Degree cert from uni yet, can I apply for the EP?
Normally what are the documents needed to apply for EP?
venicelim
post Apr 30 2011, 05:13 PM

330 posts

hi all,
I wana ask, if i havent get the Degree cert from uni yet, can I apply for the EP?
Normally what are the documents needed to apply for EP?

Bcz the answer obtained from MOM is quite inconsistant.
venicelim
post Apr 30 2011, 07:05 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Apr 30 2011, 05:50 PM)
In the form, you will asked to fill in the highest qualification that you currently have and submit the certification as a proof.
since i do not have the cert yet, can I ask my lecturer to write a reference / recommendation letter like that, to prove my education qualification.
Is that acceptable?

really need help here.
cz the company do not know whether they can apply EP for me or not.
Or is there any other type of VISA for those havent obtain the degree cert?
venicelim
post Apr 30 2011, 08:07 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 30 2011, 07:22 PM)
Get your university's registrar to issue a letter of completion.
ok. tkz. but my uni cant issue letter of completion for me.
bcz i havent graduate yet.
I will be doing my internship attachment in Singapore. Internship is the last requirement of my Degree.
After the 4 months internship, I will be continue to work as permanent staff in that company.
Now the company doesnt know what VISA to apply for me.
Should they apply the Training Employment Pass or Employment Pass.

Anyone got experience in this?
Really need advuce on this. Cz the company said they have no experience on this. icon_question.gif
venicelim
post May 2 2011, 09:33 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 2 2011, 08:53 PM)
Just give a call to the person who attended your case. It may be something as simple as the person being overseas unable to progress. It took me about 2 months also, from interview to obtaining my EP.
It looks like a good course to take. I'm interested to take up some short courses / diplomas to widen my skillset. Can you share on other similar courses (1 year or less) as well?
Just apply for a Training Employment Pass, I was in the same situation as you and that's what my company applied for me.
hi, tkz for the advice.
But then how long is the validity of training employment pass?
Then after the internship 4 months, the company should help me to apply for employment pass right?

btw, u mentioned u wait for 2 months from interview to obtaining your EP. Then during the 2 months, do u just wait in malaysia or do u start working ard?
venicelim
post May 3 2011, 11:25 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ May 3 2011, 11:03 PM)
im going for internship in sg
just submitted the Training Employment Pass Application to my host company

hope that my TEP will be approved,
maybe after this can meet fellow malaysians and get some guidance,
hi,
1) Are u currently studying in Malaysia university?
2) when u apply for the TEP, does there stated how long is ur internship period? How long is ur internship?
3) and what are the documents needed to apply for TEP?
4) your employer help you to apply or you apply yourself?
5) Mind to share which field you are in? How much Singapore company pay for internship student?

Pls share..

bcz i wanted to have my internship in Singapore too.
Till now still no company want to hire me.

This post has been edited by venicelim: May 3 2011, 11:25 PM
venicelim
post May 3 2011, 11:56 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ May 3 2011, 11:37 PM)
well i already replied u in pm,  biggrin.gif

1) yup
2) well, you download the form from sg MOM, my internship is 7months, so i applied for 7 months
3) passport scan copy, degree cert, resume,
4) my employer help me apply
5) im doing IT, they pay me SGD1250 only...

glad if i could help some more, but im also new to this.
what company u applying to?
hi. realy thanks for your advice.

I am in engineering field. Think that it is very hard to get the engineering company to hire malaysia uni internship student.
I have applied many companies but still no news yet.
My internship period is this sept-dec. 4 months. and I hope that i can find a job in Singapore to do internship 4 months and continue with permanent job position there since internship is my last degree semester.

Btw,
1) Since u still need to do internship, how come u have degree cert? For my case, internship is my last semester of degree. So I dun have degree cert yet. What to do?

2) When will your internship starts? So now u waiting for the TEP to be approved? Sorry..touch wood, but what if TEP still not approved and the internship period starts?

really thz a lot for your reply.
Need help and I am eagerly wanted to work in Singapore.
venicelim
post May 10 2011, 02:38 PM

330 posts

what are the points when you guys looking at when considering for a job?

Location, salary, job scope? Which comes first?

and why does you all chose to work in Sg? Aside from the currency.
Bcz I might got an offer in Penang.
I am thinking whether I should opt to work in penang or Sg.

This post has been edited by venicelim: May 10 2011, 02:40 PM
venicelim
post May 11 2011, 08:59 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ May 11 2011, 08:52 AM)
i'm not quite sure bro. But i think should be a standard procedure right?
Any clinic around AMK area can do this?
I thought there is a few specific clinic listed by the company?
bcz at the end, the company is the one paying for the medical checkup isnt it?
venicelim
post May 27 2011, 09:15 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ May 26 2011, 11:27 PM)
Guys, I plan to go Singapore work.

But I'm haven't get any job yet and I will resign tomorrow. So roughly will be going to Singapore in July.

However, I applying job through online. I wanted to know what is other alternative to find job when I'm physically in Singapore? Beside newspaper.
Y dun wait until u get an offer then only resign?
Personally, I dun think physically in Singapore will help very much on getting job offer.

venicelim
post May 27 2011, 12:24 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ May 27 2011, 12:04 PM)

BTW yr white card has a maximum staying period of 2 months. Thereafter there is a cooling period of something like 1 month before u can come back to SG.
dun filled up the white card for exactly 2months.
Put it maybe 30 days or less.
And when period nearly ends, just go out for a walk in City Square, then come back in again.
With this way, there is no need cooling period right?

This post has been edited by venicelim: May 27 2011, 12:24 PM
venicelim
post Jun 2 2011, 07:34 PM

330 posts

hi guys,
I have got an job offer in singapore.
But the employer have no idea which permit to apply for me.
I am going to have 4 months internship attachment with the company, then after that continuing with a permanent position depends on my performance in that particular 4 months.

So right now, should I go for TWP (training employment pass) or WP?
I havent get my uni degree cert yet. and for internship attachment, the salary is <SGD1000.
So which permit is better in this case?

And also, my employer said they will help me to prepare for the application form, but I myself have to go over to MOM for submission.
Because for TWP, it is not available for online application.

Thus, how long will it take to process the application if I take the form to submit at MOM?
venicelim
post Jun 2 2011, 09:23 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 2 2011, 09:12 PM)
hayar bro... insulting ppl is bad leh... people might not be as high standing as you but arent we all just trying to make a living? the legal way?
but did you also see, 'not at the expense of' ....

jobs& economical growth is not the only reason why singapore needs more aliens... dont forget that most singaporeans are very good at making babies, either they replace and welcome... or shrink
TWP... usually very fast, sg is efficient
but i will submit TWP "manually", not through online.
I saw some ppl here said EP process also need 1 month or something if not apply through online.

So I wana confirm whether or not it is true.

And btw, anyone have experience applying TWP before?
Is it hard to get?

0.0468sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:10 AM