Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys

rickysim84
post Apr 17 2011, 11:35 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 17 2011, 11:04 AM)
Hven start workin thr yet, but soon, wil find out. But for me,m those can skip lunch type. I dun mind skippin on food for da sake of savin!  laugh.gif

R they generally dat stingy?  hmm.gif

Added on April 17, 2011, 11:19 amHi,

For those who hv been workin in Sg for quite a while,may i knw hw much in a mth wud u spend on da followin? Roughly...Jz wonderin hw much can one save in a mth. =(
Thnx!

-Food
Wat if i dun practice 3meals a day? Mayb i wil settle wiv 1 or 2 meals a day.
-Transportation
Goin to work bck n forth,MRT + Bus,wkend go out once in a while.
for me, one month 400sgd is enough for food and transport. Average one day spending = 10 to 12 sgd per day for 2 meal. the rest for transport.
rickysim84
post Apr 17 2011, 11:58 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 17 2011, 11:45 AM)
OMG!R u kiddin me?!400sgd for both food n transport?!Cant be dat cheap right? shocking.gif
U muz be stayin nearby ur ofiz? hmm.gif
Say 12sgd 1day for food...12 x 30 = 360 loh...u oni spend 40sgd for transport?!! shocking.gif

My rough estimation is food - 500 or 600sgd, transport - 300sgd. << Was thnkin, if datz da case,i cant be savin much d.  cry.gif
M xpectin da worst anyways.
i stay near to my company transport pickup place, so i can save alot from it. meal wise is bout 10sgd to 12sgd, it is not worth starving urself just to save a few. Transport for me 50sgd can last for 1 month.
rickysim84
post Apr 17 2011, 12:20 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 17 2011, 12:04 PM)
Wow...tq guys for all da useful info!
I din knw transport can be dat cheap? unsure.gif  hmm.gif
Wat abt food? Did u cook sumtimes?

Added on April 17, 2011, 12:09 pm
Erm...More than 2ksgd.  smile.gif
80sgd?U stay nearby ur ofiz oso? hmm.gif
Wat if u tk MRT then change to bus,wudnt be dat cheap right?

My apologies,i duno hw to rply to all,so 4gv me if i din rply ur msg here. notworthy.gif
try find a room tat is near to the mrt station instead of taking a bus + mrt which would cost alot. For cooking wise, i can save some but not much
rickysim84
post Apr 17 2011, 12:31 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 17 2011, 12:26 PM)
Hi Both,

Wat i meant cookin here is, light cookin, as in makin sandwiches? Plain porridge? Fried Noodles n etc.Not those 3 or 4 courses meal type.
arent those less nutritious compared to the food outside?
rickysim84
post Apr 21 2011, 11:05 AM

1,106 posts

yup, all paid by ur company
rickysim84
post Apr 22 2011, 09:16 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 22 2011, 09:02 AM)
Hi All,

Was wonderin does Sg hv prepaid sim as well?
M currently usin Blackberry, runnin on Hotlink prepaid. Wud like to knw if itz possible to switch to prepaid in Sg as wel? Watz da rate?
Singapore sure got prepaid sim, and to be frank, prepaid sim is alot more cheaper compare to register sim. For me, i use starhub, reload using happy 128. i can hardly finish the credit in one month.
rickysim84
post Apr 22 2011, 09:21 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Apr 22 2011, 09:20 AM)
Does dis support BIS? Hmmm...
Hw much to pay as a start up pack for da sim?
erm, wat is bis?

i forget the price for the start up pack already, should be less than 20sgd.
rickysim84
post Apr 22 2011, 09:33 AM

1,106 posts

just to let u know that prepaid card can be use to online but u need to reload it with "Data package included" reload card. And it gonna cost alot. It depend on what u need actually.

If u prefer calling, then normal prepaid is the best for you.

If u prefer online and surfing, then register a line with data package worth alot more.
rickysim84
post Apr 22 2011, 10:37 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(perkinsonline @ Apr 22 2011, 10:26 AM)
Hey Lengjaiz and Lengluiz....

I need your opinion.

At the place you are staying (I assume you are renting a room), will the owner allow u to apply for landline broadband?

Problems?
Considerations?

I am not keep about 3G internet.

Some techie house owner allowed, those non techie one mostly not allowed. Because once u sign the contract, the line will be there for at least 1 years to 2 years. What if during these few years u run move to other places? And the new comer don't need internet?
rickysim84
post Apr 23 2011, 08:38 AM

1,106 posts

yeah.. when i come to singapore the first day i read it.. but after few months reading it, i get fedup over it.
rickysim84
post Apr 23 2011, 10:17 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 23 2011, 10:01 AM)
I feel you. With 100mbps, who wouldn't want a landline connection.

Added on April 23, 2011, 10:04 am
unless u have a corporate plan, which really is xtreme low. sometimes I wonder how they can make money by selling iP4 at sgd10 for 2 years contract at sgd30/month package when the phone retail price alone is sgd888
but the calling time is very limited. 120min i presume? or less than 200 min free calling? With prepaid, i got 100sgd credit of calling singapore to singapore while having 28sgd for oversea call. Arent prepaid is better?
rickysim84
post Apr 23 2011, 10:46 AM

1,106 posts

even with 100sgd local call, i can barely finish it after a long hours of chatting or receiving calls.
rickysim84
post May 10 2011, 03:01 PM

1,106 posts

Actually working in singapore does not necessary must be related to money. It can be other stuff like exposure, working with a multi nation environment, and so on.

Also, working in Malaysia arent tat bad too, u got ur family there, eating ur family food and friends there. Less pressure working in malaysia compare to singapore. so on.
rickysim84
post May 14 2011, 12:57 PM

1,106 posts

i can join too, but please, i dun drink and i hate smoker xD

Or more likely, dun smoke in front of me rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by rickysim84: May 14 2011, 12:57 PM
rickysim84
post May 14 2011, 04:14 PM

1,106 posts

hey bro chill.. i stated, more likely dun smoke in front of me. No offence dude, everyone know smoking is bad, if u wanna smoke, please dun smoke in front of non smoker. Tat is wat i want only.. chill

This post has been edited by rickysim84: May 14 2011, 04:14 PM
rickysim84
post May 23 2011, 11:25 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(johnnywzm @ May 23 2011, 11:19 AM)
I'm a M'sian who wish to finish my degree in Accounting and Finance with Curtin Singapore. Probably, for final semester. While I was there, I want to apply for a job. which means, I would be working and studying at the same time.

What kind of visa I need?

Is there any other thing/requirement I needed to make it happen?
icon_question.gif
oh, u are from curtin too. I am from curtin miri. lol. Bout the passes, i am not sure u can apply a work permit and work part time or not. sad.gif
rickysim84
post May 27 2011, 09:16 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 27 2011, 09:15 AM)
Y dun wait until u get an offer then only resign?
Personally, I dun think physically in Singapore will help very much on getting job offer.
For west Malaysia, it wont help much, but for east Malaysia, it does help alot.
rickysim84
post May 27 2011, 12:31 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(venicelim @ May 27 2011, 12:24 PM)
dun filled up the white card for exactly 2months.
Put it maybe 30 days or less.
And when period nearly ends, just go out for a walk in City Square, then come back in again.
With this way, there is no need cooling period right?
maximum stay will me 60 days, mean that he can go out and come in second time, but if third time he is doing like tat, he gonna barred from coming in singapore for at least 1 weeks or 2 if my memory serve me right
rickysim84
post May 27 2011, 01:30 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(paranoid @ May 27 2011, 01:28 PM)
yes we are so blinded by $ing Dollar  lust.gif  lust.gif  lust.gif  lust.gif  lust.gif  lust.gif  lust.gif  lust.gif
so?
i don't know how you weigh the discrimination in malaysia versus singapore, there's also a huge difference in discrimination versus racism
or perhaps you're a bumi?

yes we can live with discrimination in singapore, we truly understand why they hate malaysians.
due to our country's conflict in the past, malaysia expelled singapore seeing it as a burden. (in case you didn't know, singapore was expelled. it wasn't as in malaysia history you read)
now when their currency is doubled ours, hordes of malaysian move to singapore.
and they aren't getting any job offers because we are able to juggle about with an amount of salary which singaporeans think otherwise.
if i'm singaporean i would be ticked off too.

but in malaysia not only discrimination, we all have to live with extreme racism, corruption.. whatever you name it .. malaysia boleh..
singapore GE has just passed, we all lived peacefully, nothing much changed.
unlike the time during penang 2008 election, (oh yea opposition won  icon_rolleyes.gif ) where my parents forced me to stock up food at home..
we don't have to live like that in singapore you see..

we'll continue to work here, and you can continue to work in malaysia all you want,
if you feel that glorifies you..as a malaysian.. pls do so..
we be unpatriotic leeches, you be the hero.

we'll thank you enough if you would stop flaming the thread meant for malaysians that are working in singapore..
you can start another thread and b**** about it..
i second tat, i come to singapore to work is to pay back the loan tat i register for my studies in my degree.

This post has been edited by rickysim84: May 27 2011, 01:30 PM
rickysim84
post Jun 8 2011, 09:23 PM

1,106 posts

Guys, just to be sure, to apply for PR, i need to fill up form 4 in this website right?

http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151

0.0421sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:45 PM