Working in Singapore v6, Where maids carry bags for boys
seantang
Jun 9 2011, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(paranoid @ Jun 9 2011, 04:11 PM) no choice, i wont be allowed to dive if i go by flight. You just need a number of hours after the flight before you can dive, right? If the time period is less that the time you save flying vs bus, then kowtim lor.
seantang
Jun 9 2011, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(paranoid @ Jun 9 2011, 05:35 PM) I think that only applies to jets flying long haul at high altitudes. If you're flying to these resort islands, most likely you're flying turbo props like the ATR-72 etc. Their service ceiling is much lower. They are not even designed to manage any decompression problems, for eg. no double plate glass or oxygen masks.
seantang
Jun 9 2011, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 9 2011, 09:49 PM) well ... i found a place. nice newly furnished 2.5 bedroom (0.5 cos the smallest room to me seems like not for human stay one) 2 bath. nice malay lady owner. 5mins fast walk to bedok mrt. buuutttt ... owner only want 2 year lease ... so ... wallet can cry, 2mths deposit + 1st month rental + 1 mth agent fee = 4 months rental up front is paaaaaaaaaaaainful. this month eat rice with kicap only  How many dollar?
seantang
Jun 9 2011, 10:48 PM
That's HDB, right? Pricey, I'd have to say.
seantang
Jun 9 2011, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 9 2011, 11:09 PM) got lor... most, penang? msian cities are mostly undeveloped with it being surrounded by greenery You and I must live in different parallel dimensions either in Malaysia or Singapore. Penang's definitely full of something, not trees though.
seantang
Jun 10 2011, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(andoril @ Jun 10 2011, 01:46 PM) just to add something. it is an offence to chop down trees without the approval of Nparks, unless the tree is replanted or replaced by another tree. new developments require a green buffer just to plant greens. in malaysia, i dun think there is such a thing. In Malaysia, a "contractor" is given a lucrative contract to chop down every tree in sight, and then he is paid extra to "clean up" the area afterwards. This contractor then sells the lumber and pockets the money. I've even seen contracts to "prune and upkeep" trees still being paid each month long after all the trees have already been chopped down.
seantang
Jun 13 2011, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 13 2011, 12:02 PM) guys just for sake of discussion (i'm poor, can't afford) ... i see on the LTA website that OPC (off peak car) rebate is $17k.
but latest COE bid is $62k. so effectively speaking, now u buy new off peak car also still need to fork out $45k to government?
or is my understanding of the off peak car scheme fundamentally wrong? The only time you don't have to pay COE, is when you buy a car and you DON'T drive it. When you buy an off peak car, you pay 'off peak' COE lor. Still need to pay some COE, no... since you still drive the car.
seantang
Jun 13 2011, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(maloa @ Jun 13 2011, 05:11 PM) hi laine,
could it be due to faulty connector? can try and do a latency test.. =P Quite common for botched up wiring jobs to occur. Lots of flats have addition SCV points in multiple rooms. If the splitter, cabling and end points are not up to par, then the signal degrades as well. I recently put a TV in a spare bedroom with no SCV point, so I used a 15m long thin-gauge flexible coaxial cable to connect that TV to the SCV splitter point in the living room (slipping the cable under the bedroom door). Nothing more than a simple screw male-female connection but the degradation in signal quality is noticeable. When I connect the TV using the short, very stiff coax cable from Starhub, the picture looks noticeably better.
seantang
Jun 13 2011, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jun 13 2011, 06:38 PM) u'll need a booster diy shops should sell them...ur unit should b the furtherest unit from the lift lobby right? Closest to the lift lobby actually. Personally, I think it's the extra thin cable I'm using the slip under the door. Coax cables are stiff and thick from all the insulation for a reason.
seantang
Jun 14 2011, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 14 2011, 09:23 AM) @sean ehe nolah was just asking how the off peak scheme works. cos at the current COE price of 60-70k, a 17k discount is like hardly worth mentioning, so I was wondering what all the fuss is about.
on the other hand moving back 1+years to like jan-mar 2010 ... coe then was ~20k, so in that context a 17k discount makes a lot more sense to give up daytime driving. Besides COE, road tax for OPCs are cheaper as well. Insurance might be as well, but I'm not sure. But you're right... the incentive to go OPC shrinks as COE climbs and vice versa. Actually, if you want to get a car, you might also want to think about 2nd hand cars. Price dynamics follow COE movements of course (it's simple substitution after all), but the used car market is still a separate market, many a times with significantly divergent driving factors. Singaporeans also have a different car mentality than Malaysians... ie. cars are short term expenses which they think about entirely in terms of the monthly expense amount and residual value which becomes the "discount" when they upgrade (pretty much like handphones)... unlike Malaysians where we think about paying off the loan and value the car in terms of the total cost of the "asset".
seantang
Jun 14 2011, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jun 14 2011, 11:17 AM) 2.48 and you  ?? Isn't that higher than 2.46?  Some people have to bring ringgit into SG. We have to bring S$ back to Malaysia.
seantang
Jun 14 2011, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(edwardyap1214 @ Jun 14 2011, 09:31 PM) do u think admin jobs have bright prospect? Depends on what you mean by prospects and what you consider bright. On the whole though... admin is admin. It's a lot of well... admin work. How complicated or valued can it be? The highest paid admin person I know is our SG site manager. She manages the facilities, EH&S, security, admin services (eg. secretaries, despatch, cleaners, tea ladies, pantry etc) and has to know how to do everything from purchasing to public relations to negotiating rental with landlord and negotiating OHQ extension with EDB. Not an easy job, 14 hour days, Blackberry never stops beeping but her salary's around $12-13K including a car allowance.
seantang
Jun 14 2011, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 14 2011, 11:20 PM) wow i guess, admin got bright prospect  Not really. She's only 1 person, but there's almost another 30 admin people working for her and earn nowhere near that salary. Plus most of the other people in the company earning $10K or more, endure much less stress than she does. This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 14 2011, 11:57 PM
seantang
Jun 15 2011, 01:17 PM
My company's CEO earned US$17 million last year :| But he's in the US of course. Closer to home, our Singapore country GM draws about S$30K a month. Including shares and bonuses, he should be around S$500-600K per annum. And yet, in terms of ranking in the SG office, we've got a business unit VP, 2 product directors, a finance director and a regional GM who have higher job levels than he does.
If you talk about the $10K threshold, about 20% of our staff earn that or more. 10K is basically the crossover point between the most senior exec level and the most junior manager level.
Fact is that Singapore has a lot of rich people. Not surprising as it has the highest density of millionaires (USD) in world, surpassing even Switzerland and Monaco.
This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 15 2011, 01:24 PM
seantang
Jun 15 2011, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 15 2011, 01:45 PM) i am underpaid compare to the above and i tink he earn less than 10k a year .. if he know people earn 10k a month is quite a norm somewhere else. i think he be so depress he stab his leg and then stab me  There are people earning 10K everywhere. It's a norm that SOME people will earn 10K (or more) anywhere you go. The real question is... are you part of those SOME people, or are you part of the other people. Just because some people are earning 10K, it doesn't mean you and your Bangla friend should be earning 10K. It's not as if 10K is the mandatory minimum wage.
seantang
Jun 15 2011, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 15 2011, 02:05 PM) wow i m so enlighten and you are right.  No problem, enlightening unenlightened people is part of my kungfu training. QUOTE(ivanswk)  so wat industry you in, so I can work hard and be part of the 10k community Industry shouldn't matter. If you're only capable of earning say 2K in one industry, why would you suddenly earn 10K by switching to another industry? You're still the same 2K person, no?
seantang
Jun 15 2011, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 15 2011, 04:14 PM) I think I can only day dream that I earning 10k per month, and living luxury life driving imported car.  10K in Singapore will get you a lot of iPhones, HDTVs, clothes, nice restaurants etc... but in terms of luxury condos and luxury cars... not really. You'll be able to afford a nice HDB but you won't qualify to buy one because your income is too high. But $1million+ condos are not really within your reach either, without taking out a huge loan and tying all your savings and future income in Singapore. A cheap little runabout like a Suzuki Swift or Vios is affordable, but not a real luxury car like a Beemer or Merc. The 10K earners are some of the 'sandwiched class' that politicians keep referring to. Technically they should be able to afford the good life and are taxed as such, but realistically they are neither here nor there.
seantang
Jun 15 2011, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 15 2011, 04:47 PM) so 10k is good or not, i am getting confused, neither here not there mean i need to be higher or lower to really reap all the benefit singapore have to offer 10K is better than 2K. That's a no brainer. But it's not as good as some people think. How would earning a lower salary in Singapore reap more benefit than earning a higher salary? I'm confused how your logic works.
seantang
Jun 15 2011, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 15 2011, 05:00 PM) my logic is quite straight line, confuse then ask loh  , so more is better and 10k is indeed better, but not as good as people think Workload and stress aside... I struggle to find an example where earning less is better than earning more.
seantang
Jun 15 2011, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 15 2011, 05:07 PM) cause i earn low mah at the moment, but then if i work harder then become as 'sandwiched class', see worth it or not mah So don't work hard lor. Stay in the "sandwich also cannot afford" class.