Bench Press, some clarification needed

TSmikehuan
post Apr 7 2011, 12:47 PM, updated 15y ago

6,160 posts

Now I've kinda learning the powerlifting way to bench press, somewhat like this Dave Tate Bench Press Cure

my question is; is this a proper way for isolating the chest? going on a new routine where bench presses would be the primary chest exercise, after DB presses. anyone else benches this way?
rubrubrub
post Apr 7 2011, 12:52 PM

senor
1,793 posts

hmm... as i can see it's one of the best way to build ur chest but becareful on the way u lift. can easily sprain ur shoulder
darklight79
post Apr 7 2011, 01:00 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Apr 7 2011, 12:47 PM)
Now I've kinda learning the powerlifting way to bench press, somewhat like this Dave Tate Bench Press Cure

my question is; is this a proper way for isolating the chest? going on a new routine where bench presses would be the primary chest exercise, after DB presses. anyone else benches this way?
You want to isolate the chest yet you're learning how to bench press the powerlifting way which uses every accessory muscle to assist in the lift which doesn't isolate the chest.
TSmikehuan
post Apr 7 2011, 01:20 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:00 PM)
You want to isolate the chest yet you're learning how to bench press the powerlifting way which uses every accessory muscle to assist in the lift which doesn't isolate the chest.
yea, figured as much. just that i cant really find any reliable sources on how to bench properly the bb way. the only advise i can get from forums is to flare out your elbows. any tips on how to bench the bb way?
darklight79
post Apr 7 2011, 01:23 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Apr 7 2011, 01:20 PM)
yea, figured as much. just that i cant really find any reliable sources on how to bench properly the bb way. the only advise i can get from forums is to flare out your elbows. any tips on how to bench the bb way?
I posted a vid of myself benching 345 x 6 bodybuilding style. It's in the progress thread. Nothing complicated.
TSmikehuan
post Apr 7 2011, 02:50 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:23 PM)
I posted a vid of myself benching 345 x 6 bodybuilding style. It's in the progress thread. Nothing complicated.
okays thanks!

edit: reviewed the video. some questions; do you arch your back and, do you keep your feet planted firmly to the ground?

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Apr 7 2011, 03:48 PM
darklight79
post Apr 7 2011, 04:51 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Apr 7 2011, 02:50 PM)
okays thanks!

edit: reviewed the video. some questions; do you arch your back and, do you keep your feet planted firmly to the ground?
Lol no I don't. I want to isolate chest remember? I'm not worried about how much I bench which is why I don't go heavy. I'm worried about it targeting chest.
TSmikehuan
post Apr 7 2011, 05:22 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 7 2011, 04:51 PM)
Lol no I don't. I want to isolate chest remember? I'm not worried about how much I bench which is why I don't go heavy. I'm worried about it targeting chest.
thanks again! o btw, the you're a beast in the vid..
janson_kaniaz
post Apr 7 2011, 05:43 PM

6,955 posts

since u asked, i have been struggling to break my plateau on bench press. any idea how to improve it??
chicaman
post Apr 7 2011, 05:46 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

Currently on the 3rd week using the smith machine bench press, trying to press heavier and heavier. So will be back to normal bench press soon and see if i'm able to break the plateau
razorboy
post Apr 8 2011, 11:11 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

Maybe I'm wrong but i think, when we're using Smith machine it really targets the intended muscle group because it takes the stabilizers out of play. I mean, If you really want to go for isolation, IMHO, i believe taking out the involvement of other muscle group would be the way to go.

Maybe I'm wrong but I'm just offering what I know. BB sifus care to comment here as well?

This post has been edited by razorboy: Apr 9 2011, 08:12 AM
darklight79
post Apr 9 2011, 11:11 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Apr 8 2011, 11:11 PM)
Maybe I'm wrong but i think, when we're using Smith machine it really targets the intended muscle group because it takes the stabilizers out of play. I mean, If you really want to go for isolation, IMHO, i believe taking out the involvement of other muscle group would be the way to go.

Maybe I'm wrong but I'm just offering what I know. BB sifus care to comment here as well?
Everything are tools as a means to an end. I use the Smith sometimes for a change.
SUSRaikkonen
post Jun 17 2011, 10:23 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Hi.

I have a couple of 5kg dumbells.
Using it for bench press.

Started with 4 sets x 25 reps.
Now, 2 sets x 50reps (half dead tongue.gif )

Is it ok?

PS: No budget to buy barbell. But since I got dumbells...no need barbell correct? Maybe not yet.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jun 17 2011, 10:24 AM
MelForC3
post Jun 17 2011, 10:32 AM

957 posts

perhaps u need a little bit more heavy?
Panda12
post Jun 17 2011, 06:48 PM

1,107 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 7 2011, 02:23 PM)
Can I please have a look at your video too? smile.gif
ijnek
post Jun 20 2011, 10:45 AM

566 posts

this will be useful to me...

when i'm pushing the bar up, how can i isolate my pecs properly?
i read somewhere i should be sort of like driving my upper body into the bench as this will place more focus on my chest and not using my arm to push the weights up instead. am i rite?
binghb
post Jun 20 2011, 10:54 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Jun 20 2011, 10:45 AM)
this will be useful to me...

when i'm pushing the bar up, how can i isolate my pecs properly?
i read somewhere i should be sort of like driving my upper body into the bench as this will place more focus on my chest and not using my arm to push the weights up instead. am i rite?
arch ur back and focus pushing using ur chest.shoulder strength will be used too but not arm o.
ijnek
post Jun 20 2011, 02:22 PM

566 posts

any video sample?...tryin to look for darklight's video...

===========================================

ok, i think i found darklight's video, but i can't tell the form...
i found some songs etc too...lol

This post has been edited by ijnek: Jun 20 2011, 02:30 PM
VeeJay
post Jun 20 2011, 02:30 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Jun 17 2011, 10:23 AM)
Hi.

I have a couple of 5kg dumbells.
Using it for bench press.

Started with 4 sets x 25 reps.
Now, 2 sets x 50reps (half dead  tongue.gif )

Is it ok?
PS: No budget to buy barbell. But since I got dumbells...no need barbell correct? Maybe not yet.

As you get onto heavier weights, you need barbell.

You may start it off with light weight, as you have, for a week, just to socialize with weights for a week, then you need to move up, your target should be at least your body weight. good luck.
Darah Harimau
post Jun 20 2011, 03:38 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 20 2011, 02:30 PM)
As you get onto heavier weights, you need barbell.

You may start it off with light weight, as you have, for a week, just to socialize with weights for a week, then you need to move up, your target should be at least your body weight. good luck.
Why barbell ? Couldnt he also use heavier dumbbell

0.0185sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:05 PM