Android general questions thread, Ask anything here!

kidmad
post Nov 19 2011, 12:37 AM

4,482 posts

now days where got ppl take their phone repair one. rosak liao sell cheap cheap take the money go upgrade new one. fixing is always more expensive.
kidmad
post Jan 6 2012, 11:51 PM

4,482 posts

anyone know where can i get a galaxy note with 2 year sme warranty ah? seems like all our SEP selling 1 year warranty device d.
kidmad
post Feb 5 2013, 05:58 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Feb 4 2013, 06:50 PM)
Pressing the HOME button only allows the app to remain residential. They will not be closed unless they either crash or being forced kill.

The reason why I started using Autorun Manager is due to certain apps running on its own, despite terminating them. Now I've more free RAM and don't need to use memory management apps(they're not effective anyway).
in android or to be more precise unix platform, the ram are meant to be fully utilize, no point having extra freespace. It's unix behavior to know which app to be stopped when you run out of memory. Having no extra space for ram doesn't make your device lag so do not need to worry about those manager which will terminate the application when you shut off the phone. It doesnt work like windows.
kidmad
post Feb 5 2013, 06:27 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Feb 5 2013, 06:22 PM)
That's interesting. So basically, more resources are used to kill an app rather to "restore" an app residing in the RAM?
yup. adding on it isn't restore an app residing an ram. basically an app resides in the ram pretty much it doesn't do anything. When the operating system needs the additional resources it will picked the one least use depending on which kernel you are on and it will be killed for the new one. Thus if you let the system learn your pattern usage on a long run the battery life would improve instead of draining too significantly.

Oh yeah however there is an issue with a certain app, certain app which sync or uses too much of your data downloading and uploading will cause more battery drain best if you observe the application which has the auto sync capabilities.
kidmad
post Feb 5 2013, 07:38 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Feb 5 2013, 07:15 PM)
So far, I've disabled sync but what about applications that have push notifications(CK Zombies, for example)? Do they cause massive battery drain too? They sometimes take a few percent of the CPU usage.
yup it will those are really bad programming. As long as it utilize the 3G connection it will actually drain massive battery usage. the last i notice was because my facebook was turned on for all sync then i disable them. And also LINE which somehow keeps connecting to push some msges accross.
kidmad
post Feb 6 2013, 12:45 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Feb 6 2013, 12:34 AM)
a proper well designed app doesnt use up battery with sync switched on for push notifications. It just use that few kb of data when the notification comes in.

for example facebook and twitter. Just set the news feed sync to never or longest as possible but leave notifications on. That way, you will know immediately when someone comments or posts something.
yup exactly thats why now besides of the notification everything from facebook i have turned it off.

QUOTE(UserU @ Feb 6 2013, 12:35 AM)
They don't utilize the 3G/ WiFi connection, but at times they will send you notifications about new items to check out and try them out.

I've Whatsapp too that keeps sending me the same unread messages. But you can turn them off by unchecking the Send notifications checkbox in the App Settings.
well in this case maybe a simple question. How does the application sends a message out from the phone? Through?
kidmad
post Feb 6 2013, 01:19 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Feb 6 2013, 12:55 AM)
I use my home WiFi to send out messages and sometimes I will receive messages(not pressing on them to display the conversation page) before turning the WiFi off. Even after clearing the notification about the new unread message, the notification appears after a certain interval.
haha exactly. As long as the application is utilizing your WIFI/3G network to send signal out it's pretty much utilizing your battery as well. If the application is sending them out once a blue moon then it's still ok but what if the application is designed to check every single sec and tries to send messages out every single sec?

That's the main problem with the application design. If that happens then your battery will drain damn FAST. Just like facebook sync photo / google + sync photo. Try to turn that ON all the time. Trust me your battery gonna DRAIN twice as FAST! unless you don't snap any picture lor then it should be alright but once the fellow tries to upload your newly added photo.. Habis..
kidmad
post Feb 6 2013, 01:35 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Feb 6 2013, 01:28 AM)
True that, I only enable the connections on if necessary. With the ability to uncheck Send Notifications though, I don't receive such prompts any more.

Thank God I don't have such apps(options) as you mentioned or else I'll be recharging the battery almost everyday  :/
Anyway for whatsapp it doesn't have much issue. I'm on it 24/7 battery drain is normal on a note 2. Full day mesasging, music + browsing only utilize about 4x% of my battery. The fearsome messaging app which drains alot of batter would be LINE. i DONT KNOW WHY after i use LINE my battery would be damn terrible lazy to investigate on the details so i just uninstall it. laugh.gif

0.0215sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:45 PM