Credit Card v15, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting

Xai-V-iaX
post Feb 28 2011, 03:47 PM

1,516 posts

Faxed in application for Maybank 2 on the 21st of Feb. Got call from them after 3 hours to re-fax 1 document which was not that clear. Never heard from them since. Called the HQ today (28th of Feb) to check on the status and was told that they are just going to start the application review and I'll know of the outcome in another 5 working says time....!!!! Hmmmmmm....
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 12:28 AM

1,516 posts

RM0.00 Maybankard: We are pleased to inform that your application has been approved. Thank you.

Received the same SMS tonight - 7.55PM

Checked online @ M2U and the Credit Card is already updated in the Accounts section. Woo Hoo....now just have to wait for its arrival.... rclxm9.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 12:40 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(pgkt @ Mar 4 2011, 12:37 AM)
dude, maybankard 2 DAMN popular ah, my application for the card has more than 2 weeks lo, never had any info yet.
Chill bro....I applied on the 21st of February and just got the approval notice on the 3rd of March - approx after 10 Days....maybe yours is still pending...
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 12:48 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(pgkt @ Mar 4 2011, 12:46 AM)
hmm...i submit both for me and my wife, mine application goes to toilet maybe..haa..btw, my wife's card has been approved. strange did not receive any sms(delay? maybe!!), just now log to M2U saw the maybankard 2.  smile.gif
Have you tried calling the Maybank CS to check the status? hmm.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 01:18 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(pgkt @ Mar 4 2011, 12:53 AM)
yes i did, but very funny, did not receive my application form at all....wth. previously fax to 03-79538640, MBB CS confirm did not receive it, was told maybe those people haven't send over. no choice, i resend again to 03-22836245(it seem this number very fast compare to previous no.)

Added on March 4, 2011, 12:56 ambtw, ocbc titanium hard to get?
trying re-faxing back to them then....

yea, I applied for Maybank 2 & OCBC Ti at the same time. OCBC notified me within 2 days that my application was unsuccessful... cry.gif

This post has been edited by Xai-V-iaX: Mar 4 2011, 08:44 AM
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 11:44 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(kurtkantoi @ Mar 4 2011, 11:07 AM)
Currently I have 2 cc..Maybank petronas and Aeon cc. Since so many discussing about Maybank 2 card. 2 cards means rm100 tax is it?
Its RM50 for both the cards....
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 02:08 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Mar 4 2011, 01:27 PM)
Maybank REALLY has to increase their number of CS manning the phonelines at 1800881801. I have been trying for 30 minutes and it's always PLEASE HOLD THE LINE / PLEASE CALL BACK LATER. Can you imagine if I want to report a lost card? A lot could have happened in that 30 minutes !!!
it depends on the traffic when you're calling. I called during my lunch break (...which I assume is the high traffic call period) but yet I got in touch with the CS Exec within 2-3mins....
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 02:12 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Mar 4 2011, 02:09 PM)
yes, did receive their call and reapply, dont know this time is successful or not
Hope I can do the same with OCBC as well. Open an Savings Acct with them. Dump say a 5 figure amount into the account and then apply for their Titanium MC....to compensate on my unsuccessful application for their card. Wonder if this might work. hmm.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 03:35 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Mar 4 2011, 03:06 PM)
dump in first, then write a letter to re-appeal to them
You think it'll work? Really hope it works....how are the success rates for re-appeal for CC rejection thus far. Anyone knows of success stories? tongue.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 4 2011, 04:50 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 4 2011, 04:13 PM)
In the past posts, there has been success stories regarding OCBC. But generally banks don't entertain appeal letters. (And I used the word "generally")
OCBC smaller customer base could be a factor why they will entertain the appeal letters but generally don't bother about writing the letters coz the bank (especially those with large cc customer base) loses 1 customer through rejection but they are like 10 more in the waiting!

Personally ... I have done appeals with 0 success rate and I don't bother to do it anymore. Speaking from experience. If I don't qualify then so be it, I don't need to be so hard up for a particular card.
Well, I gotta agree with you on the being 'hard-up' part but then again if its going to benefit us then there's its surely worth a try. What amazed me was the fact that I got my application for the Maybank 2 cards approved whereas the application for the OCBC Ti MC got rejected. Couldn't understand why tho I was way overqualified in terms of their minimum requirements. rclxub.gif

Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 5 2011, 12:37 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 4 2011, 05:01 PM)
Yeah ... I avoided saying no to the effort because at the end of the day it's an individual choice. Plus it's the consumer power that is involved here as well ... too much demand and bargaining power swings to the side of the bank. But don't rant when rejection happens coz that's normal for any cc holder .... just try again when the time is right. For example, one of the better cards which I hold now ... rejected me for 3 times and I waited for 3-4 years before they finally approved me.

OCBC is known to be strict in their risk management policies and that is well known. In fact when I submitted my application form for the TI MC, I specifically mentioned the CL I wanted ... which is very low as compared to the reference cc that I used. That helped in the approving decision I think ... do take note OCBC TI card will get nothing beyond RM1K/RM5K (depending on the rebate percentage since the cap is RM50) spending ... so why bother asking for high CL?
Just comes to show that OCBC really has an firm grip of their customers & potential customers. Its solely boils down to the fact they have an excellent offering in their 5% Cash Back program and we (the customers) will go heads & tails to get the card from them....(just like ME tongue.gif)
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 5 2011, 12:57 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 5 2011, 12:53 AM)
The trick is the MCC Code.
From my experience, petrol stations seldom got wrong MCC code.
But you gotta be careful with departmental stores and supermarkets.
To be safe, better go to those stand-alone hypermarkets, you won't go wrong.
...or of course go for Maybank 2 cards as its 5% anywhere tho limited to weekend use only... rclxms.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 5 2011, 01:14 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 5 2011, 01:05 AM)
Many people can easily spend more than RM1,000 merely on daily spendings like petrol, utilities and groceries.
As such, it is advisable to get both OCBC Ti and M2Amex.
OCBC Ti is highly recommended for paying utilities bills. (If we use M2Amex, we do not know if the trxn takes place on weekend or not)
For petrol and groceries, use M2Amex on weekends.  Done! biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif AGREED rclxms.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 7 2011, 12:06 AM

1,516 posts

Just to check with you guys - expecting the arrival of my M2 AMEX & VISA CC in the coming days. What's the procedure next? How do I go by activating it?
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 7 2011, 12:13 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 7 2011, 12:11 AM)
Call toll free line 1800-88-1801 to activate.
Thanks for the heads up....
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 7 2011, 12:15 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(pgkt @ Mar 7 2011, 12:11 AM)
bro, you are getting gold or plat? actually i can't find more information between 2 of it. what is the difference?
M2 Platinum vs Gold Comparison

Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 8 2011, 01:23 PM

1,516 posts

Just received my M2 AMEX & VISA Card through registered mail. Everything seems to be fine except 1 thing: The Expiry Date for both the cards is stated as 10/11. Isn't that October 2011????? Meaning I have to renew back my cards in 6months+ time????
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 8 2011, 01:40 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Mar 8 2011, 01:37 PM)
I kena that before as well, under my amex plat cc.
just call them 2 months before your expiry and they will send a new one.
In a way good also la, no need to talk about AF waiver.

Obviously this is not the same but just call them 2 months before expiry. Yours is free for life anyway.

Added on March 8, 2011, 1:38 pmMine was also about 8 months to expiry when i got it brand new
Damm....but it ain't a big problem. Just want to know of its an norm to receive brand new cards at such...? hmm.gif
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 8 2011, 02:07 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 8 2011, 01:46 PM)
Hi, how many days it takes for them to mail you the card from the day you apply? Are you applying using fax/email/call etc? Thanks
1- Applied via fax on the 21st of Feb. Got call from them after 3 hours for confirmation and request to re-fax one of my documents which was not clear.

2- I called the CS on the 27th to check on my status and was notified that its still under process and I'll know in 5 working days if my application was successful. hmm.gif

3- Got an SMS on the 3rd of March confirming that my application was successful and upon checking on M2U, the CC account has been merged in my M2U account. biggrin.gif

4- 8th of March - RECEIVED both the AMEX & VISA cards. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Xai-V-iaX: Mar 8 2011, 02:08 PM
Xai-V-iaX
post Mar 8 2011, 02:46 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 8 2011, 02:27 PM)
I'm not so lucky.

1- Applied via fax on the 18st of Feb. No call from them.

2- I called the CS on the 4th March to check on my status and was notified that signature and supp applicant ic were missing. re-faxed on the spot.

3- Called on 7th March. Was told that they still not receiving the missing documents. This time I scanned and emailed. 

4- Called on 8th March. Was told that they actually want a clear copy of my IC. Scanned and emailed again on the spot.

5- Received a call 1 after hour I emailed my IC that they still short of a supplementary application form. Download, fill up, scanned and email to them  cry.gif  doh.gif  mad.gif

Walauu.. they gave me wrong info and requested documents one at a time.  vmad.gif
Walauuuuuuuuuu......that's bad.... rclxub.gif

0.0213sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:52 PM