Credit Card v15, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting

Alec.Yong
post Mar 3 2011, 01:22 PM

1,488 posts

Just noticed a CIMB Credit Card adv on The Star today.
It seems that the CIMB VI has a new design.
Alec.Yong
post Mar 3 2011, 01:57 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 3 2011, 01:50 PM)
But CIMB website still show the old card  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Their website not up to date. tongue.gif
Anyway, I have called to the CS to request a new card. tongue.gif
I told them my current card is faulty. tongue.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 7 2011, 11:32 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 7 2011, 04:16 PM)
Just to add ... MBB WMC also gives 5x for overseas transactions.
Best of both worlds .... 5x points multiplier + super forex rates!
5x?

I thought it's,
RM1.00 = 1 Enrich Miles (overseas)
RM2.00 = 1 Enrich Miles (local)

hmm.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 7 2011, 11:52 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 7 2011, 11:40 PM)
Read the point system again Alec ... I assume you have the card.

Overseas transaction 5x points and conversion to Enrich points is 5:1 - 1 Enrich point
Local transactions every RM2 spending ... you will get 5 points. Again the conversion to Enrich is 5:1 - 1 Enrich points.
OK, I got what you mean now.. hehe... tongue.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 11 2011, 12:20 PM

1,488 posts

Anyone know about the Bank Islam WMC? smile.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 11 2011, 01:30 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 11 2011, 12:25 PM)
As far as I know Bank Islam highest card is only Platinum ... no WMC.
Must be a new product if there is such a product.
They do have WMC, was launched in 2009. This is what I know, no much information from their official website about this product.

This post has been edited by Alec.Yong: Mar 11 2011, 01:31 PM
Alec.Yong
post Mar 16 2011, 04:55 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 16 2011, 04:07 PM)
It requires industry standards and/or government regulations. Implementation of such standards are not cheap and require heavy investments.
For example the chip based credit card used (EMV - Europay, Mastercard VISA ... please use Wikipedia if want to find out more) in Malaysia today were introduced to combat petrol station frauds which was costing the local bank tens of millions on a MONTHLY basis.

Recovery costs were even higher so at the end banks could do nothing but to either attempt to squeeze it out of the consumer (can't happen right) or write the loss off. Malaysia was the first country in this region to implement EMV and within the first month itself the investment paid off for the banks ... petrol station frauds dropped to virtually ZERO! (I didn't cook this up ... I was talked to someone within the industry who shared this info)

Most the frauds is likely to come from the consumer not informing the bank fast when their card is lost/stolen. Many has come in here and rant about it saying the bank did not help them. The actual fact, all bank call centres have dedicated personel to assist customers when card is lost. (Other inquiries require you to press a lot of buttons or wait.)

EMV (Please take your time to understand EMV standards before discussing further) is actually good enough so ... why invest more money ? If you are running a bank ... you would do the same thing as well. In fact, the only country in the world is practicing keying in PIN when swiping your credit card is UK. Not even in the US they are doing it.
As I know China UnionPay Card issued in China aslo PIN based...
Alec.Yong
post Mar 16 2011, 06:07 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 16 2011, 05:27 PM)
OK ... that I did not know. I assume you are confident of this information as we're advising people in here.
So it is UK and UnionPay China is PIN based.
Yup, I m confirm with that. smile.gif

Alec.Yong
post Mar 16 2011, 08:27 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 16 2011, 07:49 PM)
I also have a UnionPay card but it is issued in Hong Kong. It is just a debit card though  biggrin.gif  And yeah, we do need to key-in our PIN whenever we buy something with the card.
How did you apply it? tongue.gif
I got Malaysia issued UnionPay prepaid card, signature based. tongue.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 17 2011, 09:20 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Mar 17 2011, 05:07 PM)
@Alec.Yong Would you be so kind to shed more info and share which bank (in Malaysia) issued the UnionPay prepaid card to you and could you also confirm if there is really no commission fee charged for overseas card-using? Really appreciate it as I find it hard to search for the info.

Bank of China is the only bank (for the time being) in Malaysia which issued China UnionPay Prepaid Card. They have two types of UnionPay Prepaid Card, ie. MYR currency and CNY currency.

No fee charged for overseas usage for the CNY currency card as I can checked from the balance amount remain in the card, it was exactly the balance after deduct from my usage. (Maybe no fee charge for the CNY currency usage?)

No sure about MYR currency card. tongue.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 18 2011, 03:06 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Mar 18 2011, 01:15 PM)
@Alec.Yong Thanks for your lead. Finally found the relevant info on the Great Wall Prepaid Card issued by the Bank of China (Malaysia) Berhad!

I guess this must be the China UnionPay prepaid card you possess. Too bad it is not an account linked debit card which at least gains a little interest - cannot yet see a good enough reason to get it at the moment unless one goes to China/HK frequently. Seems from the website that there are no promotions applicable in Malaysia for UnionPay members, otherwise may be worth getting for the sake of enjoying some discounts at merchants.

Just curious, is the card design nice? Do upload an image whenever possible.

@Gen-X You can add this card to your card collection for merely RM25 (Starter Pack - valid for 4 years)...RM500 minimum for initial top-up though  brows.gif
No problem, I try to post it here by tomorrow. smile.gif tongue.gif

Added on March 18, 2011, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(chocolatepallette @ Mar 18 2011, 03:06 PM)
Anyone who are earning 36k p/a will not be affected at all? That's good news for now smile.gif
Comfirm? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Alec.Yong: Mar 18 2011, 03:06 PM
Alec.Yong
post Mar 20 2011, 11:13 AM

1,488 posts

Mr Hye, this is the CNY currency UnionPay Prepaid Card, issued by Bank of China, Malaysia.

Alec.Yong
post Mar 20 2011, 11:33 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(choonkeong @ Mar 20 2011, 11:14 AM)
Same bank mah, 20 cards also can lah, bro.

Added on March 20, 2011, 11:15 am

This UnionPay or VISA better in China?
Union Pay, of course... tongue.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 20 2011, 10:03 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(johnnyc @ Mar 20 2011, 09:14 PM)
I wonder that do malaysian merchant accepts CUP?

secondly, what's the requirement for CUP prepaid card?

Thanks in Advance
Minimun RM500.00 (CUP MYR Currency) or RMB1,000.00 (CUP CNY Currency).

Added on March 20, 2011, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 20 2011, 09:32 PM)
Yes. They do but not all. Kinokuniya in KLCC is one of the few merchants that accept CUP.
Watson aslo... tongue.gif

Added on March 20, 2011, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(kl87 @ Mar 20 2011, 07:51 PM)
hi, can i apply for this card and use it on the internet purchase, such as Taobao ? tongue.gif
Can't do internet or online purchase.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Alec.Yong: Mar 20 2011, 10:07 PM
Alec.Yong
post Mar 24 2011, 11:12 AM

1,488 posts

What a suprise received a cash rebate of RM402.80 on my ezy payment of purchasing i-Phone 4.
Alec.Yong
post Mar 24 2011, 10:25 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(one leg kicking @ Mar 24 2011, 08:27 PM)
Mind to share how to get so much of cash rebates?
You may refer to this. biggrin.gif

http://www.offerstation.com/offers-promoti...kard-ezypay.htm

Alec.Yong
post Mar 25 2011, 11:59 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(one leg kicking @ Mar 25 2011, 01:25 AM)
Too bad it is over dy..
Yuh, it's over. But I m lucky to get 2 cashback of it. each cost RM201.40. tongue.gif
Alec.Yong
post Mar 30 2011, 01:19 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(silverarrows @ Mar 30 2011, 10:36 AM)
Just realized HSBC has changed their VISA Platinum to "Visa Signature".

Can we apply CIMB VI with HSBC VS?  hmm.gif
They will converting the existing card members' Platinum card to Signature card, this is what I get the information from their CS.
They will send the new Visa Signature card to the existing card member.

This post has been edited by Alec.Yong: Mar 30 2011, 01:25 PM
Alec.Yong
post Mar 30 2011, 01:33 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(silverarrows @ Mar 30 2011, 01:26 PM)
Perhaps they will replace existing card to a new design, with "Visa Signature" printed on the card?.. or just do nothing.
Yes, new design for the Visa Signature card, as we can see from the webpage. Two "Signature" printed on the card, one at top right side, one at bottom right side, below Visa logo. tongue.gif

Alec.Yong
post Mar 30 2011, 01:39 PM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 30 2011, 01:32 PM)
I had their VISA Platinum last time. Canceled it when the credit card tax came into effect. I got it through FD pledging. Now i wondered if i can apply for this card using another bank's credit card. My Citibank VISA will soon come to its 1-year anniversary   biggrin.gif
Apply for collection? tongue.gif
Even I had not received the new Visa Signature card, but I can see the card type already changed, from "Visa Platinum" to "Visa Signature" when I logon to the internet banking.

Seems that nowadays, "platinum" no more valuable... tongue.gif

Added on March 30, 2011, 1:40 pm
QUOTE(hye @ Mar 30 2011, 01:35 PM)

blink.gif  I can't see it man! The webpage image is so micro!
Still can view it lah... hehehe... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Alec.Yong: Mar 30 2011, 01:40 PM

0.0226sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:03 AM