Universiti Malaya V1, Discuss everything about UM here!

kumiko_91
post Apr 19 2015, 03:11 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 13 2015, 12:01 AM)
any part time Master research students/graduates from FSKTM here? How did you cope up with your study while working? Did you need to update your supervisor on weekly basis? Or do you need to take frequent annual leave just to meet your supervisor during official working hours?

TQ  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Working in FSKTM is very flexible but depending on your supervisor also. You should update your supervisor when you have significant progress thru email. No need to take leave to meet supervisor lah, just schedule with your supervisor upfront, maybe 1-2 days before because supervisor normally don't stay in the lab all the time. Sometimes they are outstation, sometimes they have meetings and sometimes you can't even find where is him/her.

This post has been edited by kumiko_91: Apr 19 2015, 03:20 AM
kumiko_91
post Apr 19 2015, 03:13 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 31 2015, 01:37 AM)
Just completed my medical check up today .. demm, the blood test should not be compulsory for the part timer postgraduate Malaysian students .. not only wasted hundred ringgit for the blood test .. it's hurt too vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
True story. Lol. It hurts and I already have medical issues that I have told them earlier before signing the contract as RA and register for Masters. Then different staff from UM will keep asking you like why is your blood report having all results at abnormal level and etc etc.

I'm super tired to explain again and again that I have cardiac disease and I have a pacemaker. But they won't stop asking, and I have so much problem throughout the registration and submission of the document. Then they ask for chest X-Ray and stuff, total craziness.

This post has been edited by kumiko_91: Apr 19 2015, 03:16 AM
kumiko_91
post Apr 19 2015, 06:53 PM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(lostxkitten @ Apr 19 2015, 03:17 AM)
Oh hi, Im from science faculty taking Bsc of Science(Geology).
Seems like not many Um students here in lowyat...
Yep UM students are perhaps too busy to check forum xD

I'm from FSKTM, taking Masters of Computer Science (Artificial Intelligence).
kumiko_91
post May 7 2015, 02:44 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(Valentineday @ Apr 27 2015, 11:20 AM)
hi...hope sumone can help me with this, graduate from a cheap local college with partnering degree from australia, the institute already close down. im interested to apply for UM master program...will UM verify from the Australia institute instead of the local one? TQVM
If it is recognized by MQA, then most probably no problem even though it has been closed down. Check with MQA for your partnering degree. However, if MQA does not recognize it, then the chance for UM to reject your masters application is 99.999999%.

This post has been edited by kumiko_91: May 7 2015, 02:45 AM
kumiko_91
post May 8 2015, 03:00 PM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ May 8 2015, 02:02 PM)
Can certify true the documents on the registration day later? It is hard to find a qualified signor..
What are you registering in UM?
kumiko_91
post May 8 2015, 06:08 PM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ May 8 2015, 05:33 PM)
a postgrad program tongue.gif
Postgrad on research mode should be fine. Undergraduate then better not.
kumiko_91
post May 8 2015, 06:26 PM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ May 8 2015, 06:12 PM)
I'll undertake Master of Economics which is coursework mode only.

A lawyer want to charge me RM50 per certified true copy. Imagine how many copy I need to get CTC. mad.gif
Hahaha, that is normal price. That was what I paid to get CTC for immigration purpose.

But actually CTC for application can be done by all the senior lecturer in UM. I got all my documents CTC by my research supervisor (which is a senior lecturer of my faculty) without a fee, but that is with research mode course so I am not sure whether coursework mode works the same.
kumiko_91
post May 11 2015, 12:18 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(poetaytoe @ May 9 2015, 06:12 PM)
have anyone tried finishing a degree in 3 years or lesser?
I don't think so. You have to match the subject's schedule so carefully in which most of the time, clashes.

But if you are very lucky to have the subject's schedule matching up, you could.
kumiko_91
post May 11 2015, 12:26 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(booklet @ May 10 2015, 03:05 PM)
Happy Mother's Day & greetings to all UM fellows,

I am currently in the final semester of my first degree program in CS (most recent CGPA: 3.88) & I'm keen to pursue my postgraduate study (in the field of data science) by dissertation/research mode @ UM.

So is there any chance for me to get into UM with my partial transcript?  icon_question.gif  With regards to the potential SVs, should I personally approach/contact him or her directly b4 writing a proposal? Any good suggestion?  rclxub.gif

Pls advise. Thanks in advance.
The best way to do a dissertation/research mode postgraduate study in UM, with an assigned supervisor and to have your desired topic, is actually to browse thru the Research Assistant list and see which project title they are recruiting. From there you will know who to contact.

And supervisors, which most are senior lecturers are people who knows how to "hack" into UM's system. They know the best on the whole application process, By becoming RA you can potentially get postgraduate studies fund from your supervisor, which most of the time will be fully funded.

For partial transcript I think you have to ask your faculty. But I doubt the faculty and IPS will allow this.

This post has been edited by kumiko_91: May 11 2015, 12:26 AM
kumiko_91
post May 26 2015, 02:05 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(imsushi92 @ May 23 2015, 09:52 AM)
Guys I have a question.

I am currently working as a programmer at a company. I am 23 this year. I applied for UM computer science.

I had plan to pursue part time degree at Utar.

Question is should I pursue full time 3.5 years at UM or part time at Utar. If I choose UM path, I will be graduating at 27 with no experience, however if I choose the Utar path, I will be 27, with 4 years experience with a degree.

Please enlighten me.
It depends on whether you want the experience, and whether you can cope with working and studying. Working and studying is not for everyone.

QUOTE(raaj1818 @ May 25 2015, 02:02 PM)
Hello guys, I am looking to pursue my Degree in Comp Sc in UM as a full time course. Can I know what is the schedule like? Because I am looking to work after classes and I prefer to take full time instead of part time because it's gonna take quite some time before I could finish it as a part time course.

And anyone from that faculty here in this thread?

Thanks!  notworthy.gif
Schedule is quite packed for full time. However I think you can work on weekends.
kumiko_91
post May 26 2015, 02:06 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(blastdnine @ May 23 2015, 12:49 AM)
This is probably out of context, but do they allow cooking in the dorms? Bringing rice cooker is allowed?
Rules say you can't. But nobody cares.
kumiko_91
post Jun 27 2017, 05:35 AM

这个世界有咁大,你又点玩嗮~
1,053 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Jun 1 2017, 12:21 AM)
Hi all, I've been looking for the Master program in Engineering with UM. However just to get some feedbacks from the students/graduates from UM, is it really difficult to score well in the papers?
You do research masters or academic masters?

If academic then I believe it is easier than research. In my experience, UM papers are not really exceptionally harder than other uni. I compared with my friends who studied in other public university and private university, it is about the same. I just grad masters from UM and I think it is okay.

This post has been edited by kumiko_91: Jun 27 2017, 05:38 AM

0.0271sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:54 PM