Universiti Malaya V1, Discuss everything about UM here!

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 3 2011, 03:13 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(toby913 @ Aug 2 2011, 04:30 PM)
may I know is there any shuttle provided from university tower to faculty of science?
I read the bus schedule but i found it hard to understand when it mentioned section 17, international house, jalan university.
What does it mean?
Nope, there's no shuttle bus from University Tower to Science Faculty, which is kind of silly considering the large amounts of ppl staying there laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 15 2011, 08:45 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adrian1984 @ Aug 14 2011, 12:06 AM)
I challenge you to complete your master (by research full time) study in UM within a year's time.

Agreed, it is quite impossible without help laugh.gif

Added on August 15, 2011, 8:46 am
QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Aug 14 2011, 10:53 PM)
UMians, whts most guys wear thr? are guys allowed to wear Ts, shorts n slippers during classes?
z21j is right laugh.gif
Smart casual would suffice most of the time~

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 15 2011, 08:46 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 16 2011, 10:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(toby913 @ Aug 16 2011, 09:41 AM)
I juz accepted an offer for master in UM....I am from IPTS as well at University of Nottingham...
My supervisor claimed that the max period of study for master is 2 years....
Most of the time, it will b 1 1/2 years...=D

Added on August 16, 2011, 9:51 amHi all, I am searching for a room to rent in University Tower....
starting from september or  october onwards....

Anyone can help?? =)
Grats grats notworthy.gif
You can just drop by the University Tower/ UM... just take a look at the notice boards, sure alot of ppl finding roomies hehe laugh.gif
There are online websites to check but can't remember the name doh.gif
Something like caribilik.com

Added on August 16, 2011, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(wreckens15 @ Aug 16 2011, 10:48 PM)
PF how do u skip master?
what are the condition?
im doing statistics in UM by the way
hihi~
You can skip as long as you get 1st class (>3.8) for your overall result nod.gif
Wow.... statistics very hard rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 16 2011, 10:53 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 21 2011, 02:43 AM

24,193 posts

^ Well, that one happens when one emphasized too much on paper publishing...
The VC just doesn't get it... not all fields are that easy to publish papers haihs...
Even when applying for grants we're now required to promise that we must publish a certain amount of papers sad.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 22 2011, 10:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(blackwindow @ Aug 22 2011, 03:04 PM)
Hey i got my offer letter like 2 weeks ago. Do i need to do blood test? Because some of my friends said we don't need and some of my friends said i need to. And i think i should because the form clearly stated that i need to enclosed the blood test results. OMG. i'm so confused now and i'm going to a clinic nearby tmr. please help.
Yeah, its needed nod.gif
Welcome to UM thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 31 2011, 10:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(minshuen @ Aug 30 2011, 01:43 AM)
any law student here?if there's,may i know what's the pointer we need to get in STPM in order to get into the law course of UM?thanks for any reply~
Its 4.0 for a secure place..
But then I used to have a friend who got 3.92 and din't get law. He took up biotechnology instead, and when he's in UM during the 1st few weeks, he manually applied for law and got it laugh.gif

Added on August 31, 2011, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(axavaksa @ Aug 25 2011, 03:54 PM)
EX-UM Student here...graduate 2003 Civil Engineering....miss my fav study spots at the main library level encyclopedia area.....very nice place big area, less people and very near the toilet for smoking session..... biggrin.gif
+1, I love that area too even though I dun smoke laugh.gif
Its a safer place for our belongings since the toilet is not too far away

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 31 2011, 10:12 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 15 2012, 10:57 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(redscorpion @ Aug 15 2012, 12:12 AM)
reviving a dead thread  sad.gif

Wishing all Selamat Hari Raya Maaf Zahir dan Batin!  wub.gif  wub.gif
OMG you became staff liao shocking.gif shocking.gif
Selamat Hari Raya in advance guys rclxm9.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 28 2012, 10:36 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(3ighty9er @ Aug 28 2012, 12:40 AM)
hello, i'm still considering to go there for masters by coursework and research, can anyone tell me if the research proposal is needed on the registration day itself? i've tried to contact the prof there but she has yet to reply me, i doubt she ever checked it  blink.gif thanks
Hmm, which field?
Science? hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 28 2012, 10:38 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Aug 15 2012, 01:19 PM)
What result do I have to get ,from matriculation , to earn myself a spot in LLB ,HERE?
QUOTE(D-Frog @ Aug 15 2012, 06:08 PM)
So its tough to have vacancy at UM, for law? is that true?> laugh.gif
If you really must get a place in UM, then try entering UM for any other course, then apply for course transfer to law brows.gif
One of my coursemates managed to successfully transfer from Biotech to Law (STPM CGPA 3.92) brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Sep 8 2012, 04:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(3ighty9er @ Sep 8 2012, 04:12 PM)
yea nod.gif
Hi again notworthy.gif
As far as I remember, for registration we first need to prepare all the necessary documents, including the research proposal (which has been checked by your supervisors), then submit them to the registrar within the IPS building. Upon approval, you will be given a letter (which expires after 3- 6 months). You will have to register officially before the letter expires nod.gif

For the official registration (like the ones we are having in the IPS building this few weeks), you will need to pay fees, provide medical certificate and X-ray, sign up for um mail etc.
Do refer to ips.um.edu.my for more details, the entire suggested protocols are shown there nod.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Jun 24 2015, 05:27 PM

24,193 posts

Wah, long time didn't drop by this thread already laugh.gif

@TS, I have finished my phD already, please kindly help to update the first page ya thumbup.gif

For those of you interested in doing postgraduate studies in Molecular biology and taxonomy, please feel free to PM me ya, its time to give back thumbup.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0193sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:45 PM