4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak, READ: STRICTLY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

iPlx
post Apr 20 2011, 12:46 PM

__Tomorrow is another day__ ( ̄(工) ̄)
707 posts

QUOTE(loverjinx @ Apr 20 2011, 11:31 AM)
eh. i want to add sms tones to my iphone 4 ! how to do this ?
If you are jailbroken u can use BiteSMS to change your sms tones.... To make tones you can use unlimtone smile.gif

Added on April 20, 2011, 12:51 pm
QUOTE(DE.si.MON @ Apr 20 2011, 11:45 AM)
I think you must have done something wrong somewhere.

To restore to original firmware wont have so much issue. iOS4.3.2

Make sure u download the correct IPSW files and if you dont depends on unlock, just remove the gs.apple.com from your host files.

Shift + restore and select the correct IPSW files.

There is 2 IPSW for i4, GSM and Verizon.

GSM: http://appldnld.apple.com/iPhone4/041-0662...H7_Restore.ipsw
iOS4.3.2 is for iPhone 4 (GSM)
iOS4.2.7 is for Verizon iPhone 4 (CDMA)

You should elaborate like this then confusing people on "there is 2 IPSW for i4,GSM and Verizon" and some people dont even know wth is verizon laugh.gif

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 20 2011, 12:51 PM
iPlx
post Apr 20 2011, 03:00 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(YoNgZ @ Apr 20 2011, 02:00 PM)
sorry guyz... if i'm going to jb 4.3.2 it's ok if i'm with digi set right? as it's permanent unlock? i dont have to jb to unlock again right?
Yes there is no problem as long is Malaysia set. As it's factory unlock set

Added on April 20, 2011, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(maximus85 @ Apr 20 2011, 02:13 PM)
btw... my iPhone 4 iOS4.3.1 jailbreak using RedSn0w experienced laggyness... it was fine when i was in iOS 4.1... so izit just me or wat?
currently i still think for iPhone 4 iOS4.2.1 is the most stable OS for now.... 4.3.1 is buggy so u might wanna try getting to 4.3.2

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 20 2011, 03:01 PM
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 10:01 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(YoNgZ @ Apr 21 2011, 10:00 AM)
OMG the vibrate silence turn upside down.... anyone noe how to fix this?
Have you tried to restore to a clean OS and try it? If you did then it's a hardware problem.
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 10:04 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(cheezels21 @ Apr 21 2011, 10:00 AM)
very noob here smile.gif i'm planning to upgrade and jb my 3gs from 3.1.2 to 4.2.1....hope someone can help me with a few confusions

- can i restore (upgrade) to 4.2.1 directly? or do i need to restore to some other versions b4 going to 4.2.1?
- do i need to hv a SHSH blob on 4.2.1 or can i just do a restore directly using a 4.2.1 ipsw?
- when do i need stock 4.2.1 firmware? can i use any 4.2.1 firmware and still be able to jb?
- can i backup the cydia apps that i've already installed?

thank you
1) yes if you have iOS4.2.1 SHSH saved.
2) Defiantly you need 4.2.1 shsh saved. and no u cant directly upgrade to 4.2.1 if u dont have shsh saved
3) There is 2 type of firmware is either stock firmware or custom firmware.
4) Yes you can if u use aptbackup from cydia.

your welcome

Added on April 21, 2011, 10:05 am
QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 21 2011, 10:03 AM)
If u upgrade now u will get 4.3.2
There is no way for u to get 4.2.1 if you never jb before.
does not mean if you jailbreak before you can upgrade to 4.2.1 or downgrade. Jailbreak before does not mean you have all SHSH saved.

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 21 2011, 10:05 AM
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 10:12 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(YoNgZ @ Apr 21 2011, 10:09 AM)
http://twitter.com/#!/i0n1c/status/60378631385518080

i tot it's normal atm?

Added on April 21, 2011, 10:10 amlol before i jb it's ok... after i jb it becomes like that... what's the problem =(

Added on April 21, 2011, 10:10 amP/S : how do i do a clean restore?
Then it's a jailbreak problem as you already know. So if u jailbreak with redsnow then try on snowbreeze or pwnage tool

To do a clean restore use your iTunes connect ur phone and select restore.

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 21 2011, 10:14 AM
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 10:18 AM

707 posts

[QUOTE]
[quote=cheezels21,Apr 21 2011, 10:13 AM]
[quote=iPlx,Apr 21 2011, 10:04 AM]
1) yes if you have iOS4.2.1 SHSH saved.
2) Defiantly you need 4.2.1 shsh saved. and no u cant directly upgrade to 4.2.1 if u dont have shsh saved
3) There is 2 type of firmware is either stock firmware or custom firmware.
4) Yes you can if u use aptbackup from cydia.

your welcome

Added on April 21, 2011, 10:05 am

thank you iPlx....
- when should i use custom firmware?
- if my phone is stock unlock (baseband 05.11.07), i don't need to worry abt the chg of baseband rite?
- if i upgrade to 4.2.1 and later decides to downgrade back, will i get my previous baseband again? or is the baseband upgrade a one-way-no-return thingy?

thanks again

[/quote]
[/QUOTE]

1) normally people use custom firmware to preserved their baseband being upgrade. Custom fw comes with JB so if u restore using a custom firmware then u don't need to JB again.

2) yes if ur set is maxis/digi/Singapore set then u don't need to worry about baseband being upgrade as it's factory unlock iPhone.

3) baseband won't downgrade only firmware will.

Your welcome again

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 21 2011, 10:21 AM
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 11:09 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Apr 21 2011, 10:24 AM)
That is what i am trying to say. He doesnt even jb before do u think he will have shsh? rclxub.gif
which part of his post said he never jb before?

Added on April 21, 2011, 11:10 am
QUOTE(YoNgZ @ Apr 21 2011, 10:50 AM)
sorry can i noe basically what pwnage tool and snowbreeze do? i'm using digi set..
It create a custom firmware that can jailbreak and preserved your baseband. And you can do a lot of settings in it...

Added on April 21, 2011, 11:11 am
QUOTE(jtth @ Apr 21 2011, 11:08 AM)
I had problem,pls help.

I already jailbreak tethered..but i wanted to remove it by restore it but the apple logo stuck..any idea?
Are you sure you do a restore using itunes? or you do a reset at settings?

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 21 2011, 11:11 AM
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 01:39 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 21 2011, 01:30 PM)
iPlx himself never claimed his an expert , but he may have some experience that he would like to share with us , if its true or not it doesnt matter , thats one of the reason why we are here in this lowyat.net forum  nod.gif
notworthy.gif iNoob in iPhone, So does in iNoob in English. icon_question.gif

Everyone tries their best to help... rclxub.gif
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 03:16 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(Feux Follets @ Apr 21 2011, 02:34 PM)
Which JB are you trying to work with that you got stuck at the apple logo? your firmware version?

Added on April 21, 2011, 2:41 pm
Sorry but u are just unlucky. The vibrate problems occurs to a few people that JB with redsnow  sweat.gif Maybe there will be a fix later on. But it shouldnt be a big problem rite? smile.gif
Yes it's weird since redsnow give problem to only some iphones...
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 04:54 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(cheezels21 @ Apr 21 2011, 04:26 PM)
firstly, thanks for all the helpful response.

Yes, I've JB my 3gs and I've cydia...that was why I was also asking abt how to backup cydia apps.

Why I asked abt SHSH blob was that some JB tutorials didn't mention abt needing a valid blob and having to using TinyUmbrella as the server during the firmware update. What confuses me is that in one of the JB steps via Redsnow we need to select the 4.2.1 IPSW and it has option to install cydia. I  was under the impression we can actually do the firmware upgrade through Redsnow and JB at the same time. Is this right? Or the jailbreaking and firmware upgrade is done separately?
Well you need to do it separately as Redsnow is just for jailbreaking. If you say upgrade and jailbreak at the same time then that would be a custom firmware made by either SnowBrezze (Windows) or pwnagetool (Mac).
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 05:54 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(cheezels21 @ Apr 21 2011, 05:46 PM)
Out of curiosity, would the process via Snowbreeze be easier which combines both upgrade and jailbreak? Do we still need to use a valid blob, TU, etc?

More steps to do for custom fw. And yes u need shsh if u wanna downgrade or upgrade to ios4.3.1 and below.
iPlx
post Apr 21 2011, 07:12 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(jtth @ Apr 21 2011, 07:08 PM)
I jailbreak tethered redsnow..n i cant reboot..everytime stuck at the apple logo..how do i solve this problem?
Use back redsnow to boot tethered or restore to latest version of ipsw and untethered JB it

Added on April 21, 2011, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(zaxwin @ Apr 21 2011, 07:10 PM)
we were always ask to backup our phone before update or jailbreak it. the so called backup is using itune or third party program?a newbie here...
iTunes for apps from
Apple store and contacts and notes. 3rd party back up is for tweaks from Cydia and apps from cydia

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 21 2011, 07:13 PM
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 09:30 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Apr 22 2011, 09:12 AM)
Just jailbroken my iP4 by myself (my 1st time), couldn't understand how to use Cydia, and went to opened a thread to ask for sth and kena closed by mod, ok fine whatever, i'll just ask here.

so what's the reason behind every jailbreaking? I mean, why people jailbreak their iPhone?
People jailbreak their iPhone to get 3rd party applications. For example you can make ringtones using Unlimtone rather then hearing the boring default ringtones by Apple. Or you can get Facebreak that enable you to make facetime calls when you are on 3G and not only Wifi connection. There is so many things you can do.... So try going to google and type "top 10 apps from cydia" or "top 10 tweaks from cydia" and you can get lots of info from there.

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 22 2011, 09:33 AM
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 10:17 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Apr 22 2011, 09:50 AM)
bro, i think cannot post this here i guess?  blush.gif
well, correct me if i'm wrong  smile.gif

but scare later kena account close + thread close.
i cannot live w/o this thread later 1day my i4 kaput i need help.
Piracy is cracked apps that are not allowed and illegal. The apps i mention are free in Cydia or you need to purchase them. And it's just an example to people who asked that question. Whats the point if they jailbreak and they cant understand what use is it? Admin/Staff correct me if i am wrong thank you smile.gif

Thanks Feux Follets its Piracy not Privacy.

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 22 2011, 11:30 AM
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 11:29 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(jtth @ Apr 22 2011, 08:13 AM)
my firmware version is 4.3..jailbreak with redsnow tethered..i wanted to restore my iphone4 but give out error 3194
Are you restoring to the latest firmware as in iOS4.3.2? If yes please get the latest iTunes then restore to latest firmware. You should not get that error.
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 11:46 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(jtth @ Apr 22 2011, 11:36 AM)
I try restore 4.3.1 n 4.3.2 version but fail also
Well if you dont have SHSH saved for 4.3.1 then u cant get to that firmware anymore. But for 4.3.2 should be fine. Get the latest itunes version? Restore directly from itunes. If still wont work then change host file that they suggest or try changing USB port. Worst comes to worst use another PC that is running on windows XP smile.gif
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 12:39 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ Apr 22 2011, 12:15 PM)
i have never use 4.3.1 but when i try to save my 4.3.2 shsh, it says that cydia has my 4.3.1.
does that mean i can downgrade to 4.3.1 evn tho i never use 4.3.1?
If it says Cydia have your iOS4.3.1 SHSH then yes u can downgrade to that firmware anytime u wan.
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 02:44 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(YoNgZ @ Apr 22 2011, 02:39 PM)
can anyone help me? i use usb cable to charge my phone thru computer... and it says charging is not supported  by this accessories... any idea what happen?
1st time i heard... is that an original cable came together with ur phone?
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 03:18 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(doom_eulogy @ Apr 22 2011, 03:02 PM)
i cant install some app such as 3g unrestrictor.
host unreachable also
There is no problem with the "PAID" repo version so stop complaining.

host unreachable = means repo upload failure/Repo down/Your connection bad.

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 22 2011, 03:19 PM
iPlx
post Apr 22 2011, 05:03 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(cheezels21 @ Apr 22 2011, 04:57 PM)
Need some advice and clarification on firmware upgrade. When I do the firmware upgrade via itunes, do i need to put my phone in DFU mode? I noticed some tutorials put that as a step while some don't.

Also, do i still need to amend the host file if I use TU and start the TSS server?

Another thing, should I use greenpoison or redsnow to upgrade my 3gs to 4.2.1 (windows)? Which is easier, better? I can't seem to find redsnow specific for this firmware (redsn0w_win_0.9.6rc8.zip)...

If u are using TU then host file will normally add itself to Cydia server. And no u dont need to get into DFU mode.

Your welcome

This post has been edited by iPlx: Apr 22 2011, 05:03 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0236sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:22 AM