Credit Cards Ways to CANCEL your credit card, Updated since 30/07/12

alexwsk
post Mar 31 2011, 12:56 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Mar 30 2011, 05:29 PM)
Since there are no topic about this, then let me create the topic about ways to cancel your unwanted credit card. Let me start with citibank first. Do also report other methods for different bank

Before cancel your credit card
1. You must paid off the balance in full. (No outstanding balances)
2. RedeemĀ  all your credit card reward/Bonus points.
3. Cancel all the auto debit

After cancel your credit card
1. Follow-up on the cancellation
2. Get a confirmation of the credit card Cancellation in writing from the banks.
why bother to cancel auto debit? let them debit it if they still can laugh.gif
not all banks are willing to give cc cancellation confirmation letter

I've cancelled my MBB petronas (need to cut the card into half and photostate), CIMB DA thru fax b4
as for hsbc and hlb, I forgot how i cancelled oledi, most likely thru fax as well

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Mar 31 2011, 12:57 PM
alexwsk
post Apr 1 2011, 11:35 AM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Malvo @ Apr 1 2011, 10:30 AM)
just wondering, what will happen if i request to cancel MBB card with phonecall but didnt photostat the half-cut card to them?
i thk MBB can't cancel thru phone only
alexwsk
post Apr 6 2011, 03:20 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(changjie83 @ Apr 6 2011, 02:37 PM)
Does it have to be 1 year usage before you can terminate the CC? I use less that 5 months. Do they ask question why you want to terminate their card?
you can terminate it anytime u like

Added on April 8, 2011, 2:58 pmAMEX without MBB logo
call to cancel

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Apr 8 2011, 02:58 PM
alexwsk
post Dec 1 2011, 04:23 PM

4,090 posts

called pbb last tuesday to cancel, this monday received cancellation confirmation letter oledi laugh.gif
but the card is still shown in online banking

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Dec 1 2011, 04:23 PM
alexwsk
post Dec 17 2011, 10:10 AM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Michelle Chan @ Dec 17 2011, 09:04 AM)
I cancelled my Maybank CC via phone call only. But noted here, I already cleared all outstanding bills before canceling that card.

But for PB whatever cards, must proceed at counter.

I like Maybank so much!!! Fast response & Convenient & Reliable.
i managed to cancel pb MU visa through phone
received letter of confirmation one week later
alexwsk
post Dec 28 2011, 11:20 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(SaltyBean @ Dec 28 2011, 09:26 PM)
Hi pips, i have a noobie question..
I cancel my AM Bank Carz CC today. I was charged RM50 for the process. I havent put my signature on the card; and i got my card last friday.
Reason was HSBC offered better credit limit than AMB. The bank officer said once the card is approved, they gona charge RM50 when u decide to cancel the card. Isit true?
Thank u
yes, RM50 government service tax
alexwsk
post Jan 11 2012, 07:16 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(lazyserv @ Jan 11 2012, 06:08 PM)
anyone know does Public Bank will give u a confirmation letter once you cancel the credit card?
yes, pbb mailed it to me after a week or two - cancel over phone
alexwsk
post Feb 28 2012, 10:51 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 28 2012, 11:01 AM)
it is normal for cimb and maybank. not sure what is PBB procedure. you have to contact CS to remove or go to the branch.
pbb one you can remove yourself
alexwsk
post Aug 2 2012, 07:11 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Aug 2 2012, 05:33 PM)
my cc is expiring this month, if i don't activate my new card, will it cancel my card automatically?
no, new cards normally will not need activation
if you don't want the card, call the cs to cancel now
alexwsk
post Mar 2 2013, 11:07 AM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(mickey1991 @ Mar 2 2013, 07:42 AM)
Why hav to pay the penalty 1 ? And hw to cancel witout penalty?
Some bank charges it and some doesn't
Anyway, it's in the tnc when u sign up for installment, dun tell me u din read laugh.gif
alexwsk
post Apr 3 2013, 11:54 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Apr 3 2013, 10:53 AM)
[attachmentid=3375014]

Could anyone help me on how to cancel standard chartered credit card through their online banking page.
I'm already go trough them, but I can't find any option to cancel it.

attach is the picture to help me on the clear direction. Thank you
Go to contact us > compose message and write a request to cancel there
alexwsk
post May 14 2013, 10:09 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(Garruk @ May 14 2013, 01:31 PM)
hi wanna ask, say if i applied for a credit card and cancel the card after 6 months of usage (or no usage at all) will it affect our credit record or anything?
no, unless you have late payment records or non payment within that period
alexwsk
post Jul 2 2014, 11:03 PM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(tslim2531 @ Jul 2 2014, 09:51 PM)
Dear Sifu, I just applied for UOB One card three weeks ago. Guess what, last week I not only receive the UOB One card that I apply, they also provided the UOB Preferred Platinum Master Card which I did not apply at all! Apparently the sales people tick one more after I left the place where I apply the card!
On exactly the day I receive the card, I immediately called UOB to cancel the card, which they did. But now the problem is they do not want to waive the RM50 government tax! Please advise how to do as I did not apply this card at all! I even went to the branch to highlight about this, but the staff just say that they cannot handle credit card cancellation!! (WTF is this)
Since last Wednesday, I have called UOB 4 times (separate day) and until the stage of scolding them. Shocking thing is they claim that I am willing to pay the RM 50 tax despite cancelling the card!
Please, can anyone advise me what are the following steps to be done in case they do not waive the RM50 tax. Note that I have paid the RM50 for the original UOB One Card which I actually applied. Now is only the issue of UOB Preferred Platinum which I do not Apply. Thanks.
email them and cc to bnmtelelink@bnm.gov.my
clearly stated that you only ticked one card and was given two cards
alexwsk
post Nov 9 2017, 09:12 AM

4,090 posts

QUOTE(guailow83 @ Nov 9 2017, 09:09 AM)
if i received let's say Ambank credit card today, can i cancel it straight away? or need to wait few months baru can cancel one?  hmm.gif
you can cancel straight away
did you applied for it?

0.0313sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:17 AM