> Hi Cainis please come in, wana ask

TSepsonstylux
post Mar 29 2011, 10:26 PM, updated 15y ago

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

whats d difference between mandarin cantonese n hakka n some others?

is it like terengganu o kelantan ppl slang? if a hakka talk to u can u understand?

ayam wana learn cainis language, what should i take? cantonese o mandarin? where is cheap cheap? how many days o weeks o lessons to master? i can belanja u if u can teach me
ADVAN
post Mar 29 2011, 10:28 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

Cantonese hakka hokkien all is local dialek.
Original chinese is Mandarin.
SUSahshuy
post Mar 29 2011, 10:30 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(ADVAN @ Mar 29 2011, 10:28 PM)
+1

mandarin is the way bro
TSepsonstylux
post Mar 29 2011, 10:31 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

so basically mandarin is used worldwide?
-TrUnKs-

127 posts

i onli know 1 sentence

KAO MENG ARRR
FLampard

590 posts

Malaysia is not struck with the China's culture revolution, thats why a lot of Malaysian Chinese still stuck with their dialek instead of the main language - Mandarin.

btw TS, its a long long story, damn long one.
lohmaikai
post Mar 29 2011, 10:32 PM

493 posts

Want learn Mandarin? KL got many hotel can learn mandarin.
Each lesson approx rm168 - rm238 around 45 mins inclusive of free bath before and after lesson.
Good luck.
What Is This I Don't Even

42 posts

we will feel high crass when speaked mandarin

This post has been edited by What Is This I Don't Even: Mar 29 2011, 10:32 PM
TSepsonstylux

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Mar 29 2011, 10:29 PM)
nv jing ngong arrhh.
Get it?
i get it. u saying "im gay im ok arrrh". i understand
TOROBO
post Mar 29 2011, 10:33 PM

380 posts

i want learn hokkien...sounds easier than mandarin
now,I can only remember beh hiau xD
TSepsonstylux

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

dulu my crasmate taught me sek fan lah, che ta pien lah, semua mengarut punya
KitZhai

381 posts

i only know diew lei
hazremi
post Mar 29 2011, 10:34 PM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

QUOTE(lohmaikai @ Mar 29 2011, 10:32 PM)
Each lesson approx rm168 - rm238 around 45 mins inclusive of free bath before and after lesson.
Good luck.
ni qing ke, keyi ma?
Thinkingfox

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

Just like difference between Urdu, Telugu, Malayalam etc. for Indian regions except that they only have one type of modern writing system. Qin Shi Huang, the ancient Chinese Emperor destroyed all traces of different writing system so nowadays all dialects have only one writing system.

This post has been edited by Thinkingfox: Mar 29 2011, 10:35 PM
KatiePelly

330 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:33 PM)
sek fan is not karut man, its like the most important phrase in chinese
xiaotim

142 posts

QUOTE(-TrUnKs- @ Mar 29 2011, 11:31 PM)
i onli know 1 sentence

KAO MENG ARRR
say that if ppl wana buttseck you.... buttsecker will enjoice... hornier better... LoL...
FLampard

590 posts

Mandarin is the main language, the one that is used and recognize world wide, but because Mandarin is a creation of China's communist party by merging all other dialeks, those Chinese not in China generally doesnt approves it, like in Hong Kong they speak Cantonese, in Taiwan they speak Hokkien i think, in Macao they got their own dialek.

also u must know that Mandarin is made up a lot of Manchu's language instead of Han's language, so some people doesnt recognize it as Chinese's main language, but as China grows stronger, many people terpaksa tunduk kepala...thats the story.
What Is This I Don't Even
post Mar 29 2011, 10:35 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:33 PM)
dat one kantenis liao
SUSautoman5891

From diferent area in china with different dialect. Learn Mandarin as it's widely used. Cantonese if you going hk.
peinsama

Au fait
725 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:26 PM)

is it like terengganu o kelantan ppl slang? if a hakka talk to u can u understand?

ayam wana learn cainis language, what should i take? cantonese o mandarin? where is cheap cheap? how many days o weeks o lessons to master? i can belanja u if u can teach me
the difference is, you can curse people in many ways. You better make sure you don't meet any versatile chinese men or women.

This post has been edited by peinsama: Mar 29 2011, 10:36 PM
TSepsonstylux

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Mar 29 2011, 10:34 PM)
Just like difference between Urdu, Telugu, Malayalam etc. for Indian regions except that they only have one modern writing system.
Tis i have no idea.

err ayam stil confuse, dialect n slang is different ah?
KatiePelly
post Mar 29 2011, 10:36 PM

330 posts

kam, i tich u cainis

Thinkingfox
post Mar 29 2011, 10:37 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:35 PM)
Tis i have no idea.

err ayam stil confuse, dialect n slang is different ah?
Difference in slang is smaller as compared to difference in dialect - it introduces a few new terms but the general syntax is similar. Different dialect means the style of speaking is totally different.

This post has been edited by Thinkingfox: Mar 29 2011, 10:37 PM
stimix
post Mar 29 2011, 10:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mandarin is not original chinese hor...mandarin is just a lingua ftranca adopted by Qing Dynasty 500 yrs ago..

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 29 2011, 10:42 PM
thken
post Mar 29 2011, 10:39 PM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:26 PM)

is other way round, original chinese is hokien, hakka and canto etc etc
only the stupid emperor want the whole china ppl speak common language then invented mandarin

i feel good when i speak in my own dialect. feels good mang

and also cant call ppl banana if he dont know mandarin but know how to speak in his dialect
btw, hakka, canto and hokien also no problem for me
FLampard

590 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 29 2011, 10:37 PM)
Mandarin is not original chinese hor...mandarin is just a lingua ftranca adopted by Ming Dynasty 500 yrs ago..
but the original chinese language got so many types, last time before simplified and even before traditional chinese writing, every word can have 20+ way of writing them...

u wan like that??? so confusing ...

when Qing Emporer united China, he destroyed all the sub language and sub culture and united the entire China.

TSepsonstylux

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(Thinkingfox @ Mar 29 2011, 10:37 PM)
Difference in slang is smaller as compared to difference in dialect - it introduces a few new terms but the general syntax is similar. Different dialect means the style of speaking is totally different.
how different exactly? like if i only know mandarin n they spoke cantonese u cant understand a thing? liddat huh?
ichi_24
post Mar 29 2011, 10:41 PM

480 posts

might as well learn canto first

great thing is many hongkie movie in canto lol
FLampard
post Mar 29 2011, 10:42 PM

590 posts

not too diff, if u can master mandarin wont be too hard to understand dialek. plus, malaysians speak more cantonese than mandarin WTF

Added on March 29, 2011, 10:42 pmwell, not so difficult if u have the right environment

This post has been edited by FLampard: Mar 29 2011, 10:42 PM
thken

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:39 PM)
how different exactly? like if i only know mandarin n they spoke cantonese u cant understand a thing? liddat huh?
you might understand 10-20%
-TrUnKs-

127 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 29 2011, 10:37 PM)
Mandarin is not original chinese hor...mandarin is just a lingua ftranca adopted by Ming Dynasty 500 yrs ago..
then which one is the original wan?
Intelian

37 posts

thank you chairman Mao...
cubix
post Mar 29 2011, 10:43 PM

245 posts

in short, ts you should learn mandarin first.
cIvIc_noob
post Mar 29 2011, 10:44 PM

Yays i get to have a title...er...what should i put?
761 posts

ni nen sok nheh yu, nu neng chium po meh you ngoi kong no miang
TSepsonstylux
post Mar 29 2011, 10:45 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

i see. last time i ask my cainis roomate to teach me but then we owes get distracted by other rumate ask to join watch movie. har i love matriculation

so, why some cainis cant write cainis language? if to learn cantonese where got ah? and preferably cheap le, im doing tis on my own
FLampard
post Mar 29 2011, 10:46 PM

590 posts

because dialek has no proper writing.

btw, some chinese cant write because this is malaysia, not china.....ahem u get what i mean right? ahem ahem *cough

This post has been edited by FLampard: Mar 29 2011, 10:46 PM
stimix
post Mar 29 2011, 10:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

There are no original Chinese. All by their own such as Min languarge for the Hokkien, Hainanese, Canto for Southern China surrounding Guandong, Hakka - The only chinese tribes witjout a state! & etc.

The common language once manchu ppl 9Another diff ppl not really related to Chinese) captured China in 17th century, They actually adopted Beijing common Languiarge i.e Mandarin instead of their own Manchurian & enforced on all other part of China...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mandarin_Chinese
QUOTE(-TrUnKs- @ Mar 29 2011, 10:42 PM)
then which one is the original wan?
SUSkennyohngu
post Mar 29 2011, 10:51 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Mar 29 2011, 10:29 PM)
nv jing ngong arrhh.
Get it?
is that foo chow?
Thinkingfox
post Mar 29 2011, 10:53 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:39 PM)
Teochew and Amoy Hokkien speech are 84% phonetically similar[6] and 34% lexically similar,[7] whereas Mandarin and Amoy Min Nan are 62% phonetically similar[6] and 15% lexically similar.[7] In comparison, German and English are 60% lexically similar.[8]

German and English are 4 times more similar lexically than Mandarin and Min Nan (Hokkien).
tankerbell12345
post Mar 29 2011, 10:57 PM

58 posts

Actually the true chinese are hans chinese who they speaks hokkien. Most of them had left China long time ago and setled in places like in the Taiwan, Japan and South East Asia
stimix
post Mar 29 2011, 10:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

There are lotsa common nouns in different dialect grouping and that's how Diff speakers able to understand some of the nouns..However some common verbs are different and only certain dialect having this..

for eg..

Thank You
Mandarin Xie-Xie
Hokkien- Kam Sia
Korean - Kamsa
Cantonese - Toh chier

You can see only Hokkien & korean having similar pronounciation but Mandarin & Canto totally new words... But when comes to nouns, there are lotsa similarilty such as

Grape:
Mandarin- Putao
Korean- putao
Hokkien potou
Canto : portouu

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 29 2011, 10:45 PM)
i see. last time i ask my cainis roomate to teach me but then we owes get distracted by other rumate ask to join watch movie. har i love matriculation

so, why some cainis cant write cainis language? if to learn cantonese where got ah? and preferably cheap le, im doing tis on my own
Thinkingfox
post Mar 29 2011, 10:59 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Mar 29 2011, 10:57 PM)
SOS? I thought German's grammar is extremely different from English?
Somemore I not a hokkien and never learnt it b4, i still able to watch and understand those taiwan hokkien movie.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hokkien

which itself is cites from:

"glossika Southern Min Language phonetics". Glossika.com. Retrieved 2010-09-16.
"glossika Southern Min Language". Glossika.com. Retrieved 2010-09-16.
"German". Ethnologue. Retrieved 2010-09-16.
"RFC 3066 Language code assignments". Evertype.com. Retrieved 2010-09-16.
stimix
post Mar 29 2011, 11:00 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

English actually is part of Germanic languarge..i.e German is the purest Engligh actually
QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Mar 29 2011, 10:57 PM)
SOS? I thought German's grammar is extremely different from English?
Somemore I not a hokkien and never learnt it b4, i still able to watch and understand those taiwan hokkien drama.
Thinkingfox
post Mar 29 2011, 11:02 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 29 2011, 11:00 PM)
English actually is part of Germanic languarge..i.e German is the purest Engligh actually
Yea, that's why they call themselves Anglo-Saxon. The Saxons are Saxony in Germany.
tankerbell12345
post Mar 29 2011, 11:03 PM

58 posts

That i why you can still see some similarities in Hokkien and Japanese. For example, the counting of 1 - 10 is exactly the same pronunciationas hokkien, teppanyaki is actually hokkien which means hot plate hot vapor, sensei is also from hokkien which means teacher and so on.

stimix
post Mar 29 2011, 11:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Korean too.. There are lotsa similarity there too.. biggrin.gif

The most commonly Korean phrase in Kdrama that are almost similar to Hokkien:

Aigoooo - in Hokkien & M'sian slang - Aiyoooo biggrin.gif
&
Chin-chiak - Meaning "Really" in both korean & Hokkien

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:03 PM)
That i why you can still see some similarities in Hokkien and Japanese. For example, the counting of 1 - 10 is exactly the same pronunciationas hokkien, teppanyaki is actually hokkien which means hot plate hot vapor, sensei is also from hokkien which means teacher and so on.
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 29 2011, 11:11 PM
tankerbell12345
post Mar 29 2011, 11:07 PM

58 posts

Because of barbaric imperialism and invasion of people of the north (mongolian) and south (vietnamese), the true han chinese at that time mianly hokkien left out of frustration and disappointment. So that is why nowadays, most 'chinese' in chinese are mostly of mixed blood

quintessential
post Mar 29 2011, 11:12 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

if you stay in singapore, klang or penang, speaking hokkien is the must. even though lee kuan yew is hakka, he learned hokkien so that he can convince singaporeans to vote to PAP

This post has been edited by quintessential: Mar 29 2011, 11:14 PM
tankerbell12345
post Mar 29 2011, 11:16 PM

58 posts

I have been researching a lot lately about the 'true' chinese history. Cantonese and vietnamese are somewhat related.
What i found about cantonese are actually they are mixed blood of the aborigine people at the region and the chinese, therefore forming at new ethic group cantonese. Another group of aborigine people then have mixed blood in the south and form wat we call them as vietnamese. The similarities between these groups (cantonese and vietnamese) are still obvious in certain aspect in their face structure. For example , they both have still have short nose ; ugly piglike nose.

fix24311
post Mar 29 2011, 11:16 PM

139 posts

i oso wonder where can learn cantonese la... hmm.gif
many places got mandarin only... sad.gif
ts, ni shi shei?
Thinkingfox
post Mar 29 2011, 11:17 PM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:16 PM)
I have been researching a lot lately about the 'true' chinese history. Cantonese and vietnamese are somewhat related.
What i found about cantonese are actually they are mixed blood of the aborigine people at the region and the chinese, therefore forming at new ethic group cantonese. Another group of aborigine people then have mixed blood in the south and form wat we call them as vietnamese. The similarities between these groups (cantonese and vietnamese) are still obvious in certain aspect in their face structure. For example , they both have still have short nose ; ugly piglike nose.
Errrr...u must be trolling.
siaulang
post Mar 29 2011, 11:20 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:16 PM)
fact & source ?? like that i would rather easier to converse with viet girl in canto i/o mandarin.
stimix
post Mar 29 2011, 11:22 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The similarity of Vietnamese & Canto..Yes it's true...

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/t...ndpost__p__6861
QUOTE(siaulang @ Mar 29 2011, 11:20 PM)
fact & source ?? like that i would rather easier to converse with viet girl in canto i/o mandarin.
ingky
post Mar 29 2011, 11:24 PM

106 posts

The different dialects in China are similar to the different dialects in Indonesia ie Javanese, Acehnese, Batak. Unlike Kelantanese/Terengganu.
stimix
post Mar 29 2011, 11:24 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Something likedat-lah..Esp Javanese-Kelantanese & Tagalog

The best part of Javanese ppl..They actually adopted Malay to become Bahasa Indon instead of Bahasa Java..

QUOTE(ingky @ Mar 29 2011, 11:24 PM)
The different dialects in China are similar to the different dialects in Indonesia ie Javanese, Acehnese, Batak. Unlike Kelantanese/Terengganu.
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 29 2011, 11:29 PM
tankerbell12345
post Mar 29 2011, 11:25 PM

58 posts

Whereas Hakkas have slight mixed blood from mongolian ancestor. That is why in Hokkien they are called 'Khek Lang' or visitor is english. Because last time is China if u have a slightest connection to mongolian, you were not well liked. So the people of both sides ( Mongolia and true chinese ) did not accept them as their own people. that is why they were stateless.

Added on March 29, 2011, 11:30 pmhey seriously i dont mean to cause any harm or flame any people, i am just stating the actual true very brief chinese history. Nowdays the chinese history in china is skewed because of the unification (give and take or forgiveness) policy.

This post has been edited by tankerbell12345: Mar 29 2011, 11:30 PM
TSepsonstylux
post Mar 29 2011, 11:51 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

lol, thanks.
i think ill just yahoo where got mandarin o canton class
scoop7
post Mar 30 2011, 12:00 AM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

must learn how to scold ppl 1st
TSepsonstylux
post Mar 30 2011, 12:13 AM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Mar 30 2011, 12:00 AM)
must learn how to scold ppl 1st
tat one 1Marehsia berdiri teguh know le
Fowl
post Mar 30 2011, 12:21 AM

54 posts

ts try go to YMCA
Thinkingfox
post Mar 30 2011, 12:32 AM

Le Renard Brun Rapide
617 posts

Or sign up for classes at TAR college Centre of Continuing and Professional Education at Wisma MCA. Why MCA?
SUShack3line
post Mar 30 2011, 12:43 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 29 2011, 10:58 PM)
There are lotsa common nouns in different dialect grouping and that's how Diff speakers able to understand some of the nouns..However some common verbs are different and only certain dialect having this..

for eg..

Thank You
Mandarin Xie-Xie
Hokkien- Kam Sia
Korean - Kamsa
Cantonese - Toh chier

Melayu wannabe ala alleycat - Terima Kaseeeeeeeee laugh.gif

u which clan stimix?? isn't the spelling of cantonese for terima kasih is "duo xie"??

i notice sometime mandarin speaking china people said it "Toa chie"

and also the pronounciation of malaysian hokkien, taiwanese hokkien and also indonesia hokkien got a little bit difference.
stimix
post Mar 30 2011, 01:03 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

You are wrong. Manchua actually adopted the common mandaring spoken by beijing & South western chinese (Sichuan ppl) instead of their own manchurian during their invasion in 17th century...They currently almost lost touch wth manchurian liao..

just like javanese, instead of adopting Javanese, they adopte melayu as lingua franca for whole Indon.
QUOTE(schwarzwald @ Mar 30 2011, 12:58 AM)
original chinese is Hokkien la..

Mandarin is the foreigners from North introduce mia language... those belongs to Manchus wokay

Added on March 30, 2011, 1:12 amMe from Hainanese clan lor...But for thank You, hainanese even having much diff than others..I think.."Bo Kuai" and the famous hainanese phrase..Bongkang" - Stupid. None in other chinese dialect... hmm.gif in Madarin - Sa, Hokkien - Gong, Cantonse- Sor...Korean..babo

All different liao haha

QUOTE(hack3line @ Mar 30 2011, 12:43 AM)

u which clan stimix?? isn't the spelling of cantonese for terima kasih is "duo xie"??

i notice sometime mandarin speaking china people said it "Toa chie"

and also the pronounciation of malaysian hokkien, taiwanese hokkien and also indonesia hokkien got a little bit difference.
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 30 2011, 01:12 AM
Zangief Kid
post Mar 30 2011, 01:21 AM

i just know tat foochow is baddest of alll cainist clan thx
tankerbell12345
post Mar 30 2011, 01:23 AM

58 posts

In japan last time, they were very angry and frustrated with the people in china because they were literally kicked out from their country that they decided create a new identity (new language and etc.) to separate them from the mainland. Taiwan was under japan from around 1900 to 1945 because they were actually "same people." The war didnt happened out of nowhere.Invasion of japan happened out of revenge.
ingky
post Mar 30 2011, 01:25 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(schwarzwald @ Mar 30 2011, 12:58 AM)
original chinese is Hokkien la..

Mandarin is the foreigners from North introduce mia language... those belongs to Manchus wokay
Guan hua or Mandarin has been used since the late Tang dynasty or early Ming dynasty.
tankerbell12345
post Mar 30 2011, 01:36 AM

58 posts

That explains hokkiens are the biggest and longest staying populations in Malaysia and around asia because at one time, there was a mass migration because of unstability in mainland. Hakkas and cantonese came later because of ww2 and for work. Others ( Teow chew, foochow, hainanese i am not very sure)
cIvIc_noob
post Mar 30 2011, 01:39 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Mar 29 2011, 10:50 PM)
ngui eh hui nv gong sien noh. nv eh hiu beh pau shi sien noh mo?
Problem? brows.gif
eh siong loh nu eh hiu tek ngoi sxie no mian, 'beh pau' si sien noh oh? Ni tui di nen, sibu ku li sitiawan oh? Ji ki Zangief kid kong ngoi nen si jing ngai di nuen. ai 'report' e ku li mai

Oh mai it looks like im typing jibberish, i must be a really rare species here. anyway theres no which is original politically mandarin was used since back then, and till now it is the most widely used medium for chinese to communicate

This post has been edited by cIvIc_noob: Mar 30 2011, 01:41 AM
customer2
post Mar 30 2011, 01:48 AM

823 posts

ta fei kei = fap
cIvIc_noob
post Mar 30 2011, 02:01 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Mar 30 2011, 01:53 AM)
You there use ''kuo dui'' or ''kuo duong''? ''Bek pau'' is tahu pau(pamelo). Know the meaning?
kuo duong, i went to sitiawan last 2 weeks and the younger generation had a hard time understanding some of my vocabs, i asked where to eat 'hoo ngan' she ask no miang? no miang? i explained to her and she said oh we young people call 'mee un' only old people say that. I was like like damn you older than ,me and have kids.

nope still dont understand i half tong water ;P
cIvIc_noob
post Mar 30 2011, 02:13 AM

761 posts

QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Mar 30 2011, 02:05 AM)
hoong ang in other words just say fat bi hun. nod.gif
For bek pau, it is used when you want to say some one know nothing(therefore come the quote ''nv bek pau?'')你懂柚子? tongue.gif
thanks for explaining , do you know the language is heritage language now in china ??? go google it
SUShack3line
post Mar 30 2011, 02:42 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 30 2011, 01:03 AM)
You are wrong. Manchua actually adopted the common mandaring spoken by beijing & South western chinese (Sichuan ppl) instead of their own manchurian during their invasion in 17th century...They currently almost lost touch wth manchurian liao..

just like javanese, instead of adopting Javanese, they adopte melayu as lingua franca for whole Indon.

Added on March 30, 2011, 1:12 amMe from Hainanese clan lor...But for thank You, hainanese even having much diff than others..I think.."Bo Kuai" and the famous hainanese phrase..Bongkang" - Stupid. None in other chinese dialect... hmm.gif in Madarin - Sa, Hokkien - Gong, Cantonse- Sor...Korean..babo

All different liao haha
for "thank you" word alone so many type of pronounciation in chinese ya.. thanks for sharing stimix! laugh.gif

i study japanese language quite difficult also, especially their "r"... Japanese "r" sounds something like a mix between the English "R" and "L", kind of like the Korean ㄹ "r", which is sometimes romanized as "l". In any case, neither are the same as the Mandarin ㄦ "r" sound.

... macam mau belajar tajwid juga la, huruf "ha" tu ada banyak betul cara sebutan dia.

This post has been edited by hack3line: Mar 30 2011, 02:42 AM
SUShack3line
post Mar 30 2011, 03:07 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Mar 29 2011, 10:39 PM)
but the original chinese language got so many types, last time before simplified and even before traditional chinese writing, every word can have 20+ way of writing them...

u wan like that??? so confusing ...

when Qing Emporer united China, he destroyed all the sub language and sub culture and united the entire China.
anyway found this in internet, is it true??

"Cantonese was going to be the standard spoken version of Chinese in 1911. After the success of the 1911 (or Xinhai) Revolution, the Provisional Government of the Republic of China (中华民国) was founded. In the first Congress, a proposal suggested that Cantonese be the standard version of the Chinese language. As is known to all, Guangdong Province (广东) was one of the bases of the Chinese revolution in Modern history. And half members in the provisional Congress were from Guangdong. President Sun Yat-sen (孙中山) was Cantonese himself. So there was a strong probability that the proposal would pass at that time.

But in the nation as a whole, Mandarin is spoken by the largest population and in the most geographic areas of China—not only in the north of China but also in the southwestern provinces, such as Yunnan, Guizhou, Sichuan (云南、贵州、四川), and also in some places of Hubei, Hunan, Anhui, Jiangxi, and Jiangsu (湖北、湖南、安徽、江西、江苏). And in history, Beijing (where Mandarin is spoken) was the political center of the country for more than 600 years beginning with the Yuan Dynasty.

President Sun Yat-sen was a wise leader. He knew that supporting Mandarin was beneficial to balance off the Northern Warlords force in Beijing and promote the spread of the revolution from the south to the whole country. Though Cantonese was Sun's mother tongue, he still persuaded his countrymen in the Congress to give up Cantonese.

Cantonese was beaten by only one vote in 1911 and Mandarin won out finally. However, considering the history and reality, with the political distribution at that time, I think it was a rather good choice for Chinese."

"At the fall of the Qing Dynasty in 1911, there was no single, national language in China nor an education system that could teach the proper sounds of any of the languages. There were archaic dictionaries and a literary Chinese over a thousand years old that little resembled the spoken vernacular. The new government decided a national language (Guoyu) must be established and so it was decided by a group of scholars in 1913 that Mandarin be made the standard. A set of phonetic symbols were created (zhuyin fuhao) and a dictionary created called Guoyin zidian (Dictionary of National Phonics). However, this dictionary did not resemble Mandarin as it was spoken because it retained pronunciations of the Ru-sheng characters, so it was a mix of northern pronunciation with the rhymes of the southern languages. Not a single person could speak the language set down in this dictionary except Yuen Ren Chao (Zhao Yuanren), a native Wu speaker but skilled linguist and phonetician who is famous for developing the tone contour system used by linguists and doing much of the early dialect fieldwork. He is the one who made a set of recordings of this dictionary for use in schools. Nobody really could learn from this dictionary, and it wasn't until 1932 that a dictionary based on the pronunciation and speech of Beijing came about. Now, in addition to the term "Guoyu" (which is the term now used in Taiwan), Putonghua or "universal language" has become the national term for the official language. This is usually called Huayu "Chinese language" by most overseas Chinese. Another term, zhongwen is used to refer to Chinese in a more literary sense.

It was originally thought in the early stages of developing Mandarin as the national standard that within 100 years, or by 2030, that the whole nation would be unified linguistically under Mandarin. Because of the sheer size of China and the number of various languages spoken there, teaching everybody Mandarin and making it the national standard has been a very long journey, and even now with less than 30 years to go, most of the languages and dialects are thriving. In many schools, classes are given in the local language and Mandarin is studied as the universal language (much like a foreign language class) to use for speaking with any non-locals."

??? rclxub.gif
sun1989
post Mar 30 2011, 03:14 AM

23 posts

ini haram !
ori chinese also learn hakka hokkien n others one, ok ?
different region speak different way. but standardized one called mandarin, can go world wide. but even though u know mandarin, when u go shanghai n other places in d world, u duno what dey r talking even though it is mandarin.
hellsoldier33
post Mar 30 2011, 03:38 AM

33 posts

now mandarin is the way bro, u duno uk majority income comes from cina, usa uni full wif prc..walao..so china so strong cos they got 1 son oni, and afford to gv them lv..so they lansi, so we need to lansi wif them , so speak cina.
wildcat90
post Mar 30 2011, 04:14 AM

273 posts

learn canto. Easier to curse.

Justin Bieber in Malaysia 2011
Eat to Live

This post has been edited by wildcat90: Dec 17 2011, 04:16 AM
SUShack3line
post Mar 30 2011, 04:17 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(wildcat90 @ Mar 30 2011, 04:14 AM)
learn canto. Easier to curse.
singapolean cainis punya style cursing.. i just dunno how many dialects they use in this video doh.gif

Genzyme
post Mar 30 2011, 04:35 AM

48 posts

TS why u want to learn cina? want to pikat amoi?
kamenx
post Mar 30 2011, 04:43 AM

51 posts

i only known limau mandarin, can or not
SUSromentheposmen
post Mar 30 2011, 05:35 AM

66 posts

bodoh la lu haiya.

mandarin was created after cantonese to be used as the ONE TRUE dialect.

original konon, bodoh la yellow skin dunno their own culture always talk cock.
kamenx
post Mar 30 2011, 06:10 AM

51 posts

correct me if i am wrong in a dynasty era they are also using a diffrent-diffrent dialect. tat the origins
stimix
post Mar 30 2011, 07:47 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..Almost all dialect including Malay & England in here...

0:00-1:10 - SOuthern Hokkien
1:10-1:44 - Singlish
1:45-2:04 - Malay
2:05-2:35 - hokkien
2:36-3:09 - Teochew
3:10-3:34 -Cantonese
3:35-4:00- Hainanese
4:00-4:05 - Abit Hakka
Thereafter Hokkien back haha biggrin.gif nais wan..THE BEST PART - NO MANDARIN AT ALL rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hack3line @ Mar 30 2011, 04:17 AM)
singapolean cainis punya style cursing.. i just dunno how many dialects they use in this video  doh.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 30 2011, 07:47 AM
TSepsonstylux
post Mar 30 2011, 07:59 AM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(Genzyme @ Mar 30 2011, 04:35 AM)
TS why u want to learn cina? want to pikat amoi?
amoi can get terpikated if i spoke cainis ke? ehem2 brows.gif

nola, i purposely wana learn, we must show diversity mah. average melei can master 2 languages onli, while cainis, mostly 3-4. i wan to bring myself up one level.
Genzyme
post Mar 30 2011, 08:56 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 30 2011, 07:59 AM)
amoi can get terpikated if i spoke cainis ke? ehem2  brows.gif

nola, i purposely wana learn, we must show diversity mah. average melei can master 2 languages onli, while cainis, mostly 3-4. i wan to bring myself up one level.
wah. ayam has a respect for you TS. thumbup.gif
if you are in college or uni, some of those institution do offer extra language like mandarin courses which u can take.
fix24311
post Mar 30 2011, 10:04 AM

139 posts

where to learn canto?
dun wan mandarin... sad.gif
SUSashcrimson
post Mar 30 2011, 10:09 AM

146 posts

chia kei wo hao ma?
justordinary
post Mar 30 2011, 10:22 AM

233 posts

mandarin world wide but depends on area also. KL usually speak in cantonese, johor those place usually mandarin, perak those place usually hokkien, so on and so forth
jimcocobean
post Mar 30 2011, 10:24 AM

34 posts

Fail Chinese is fail. There are many types of Chinese in CHINA itself, and although Mandarin is the widely spoken one, it does not mean "Original".
If it was Original then you are saying Hakka people and Hokkien people and TeoChew people all MUST know Mandarin and later developed something else?
How shallow can you be? Taiwan obviously use Mandarin but hey Hokkien seems to thrive there.
Please ... even IF you are rich faggot, study a bit more won't do any harm. sweat.gif

QUOTE(ahshuy @ Mar 29 2011, 10:30 PM)
+1

mandarin is the way bro
This one lagi terrer ... +1 ? That shows how much more ignorant you are compared to the person quoted above. doh.gif
kokokranc
post Mar 30 2011, 10:25 AM

223 posts

wah. nice. can actually sembang to prc when cheonging.

ts can join u?
stimix
post Mar 30 2011, 10:37 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Anyway, to think about the drominant kanguarge...Imagine if China empire during teh Qing Dynasty having capital in Xiemen instead of Beijing. ore even Based in Cantong/Guangzhou.

Chances were, the manchu would hv adopted Hokkien (Xiemen) or even Cantionese (Canton) instead of Beijing mandarin biggrin.gif Too bad they follow the capital's dorminant dialect i,e mandarin and even throw their own Manchurian languarge which is currently almost extinct biggrin.gif

Imagine also in Nusantara..Why on Earth Javanese adopting Bahasa Melayu rather than Javanese which hv their own languiargese & widely spoke in Java instead of malay..funny...Otherwise, Bahasa Indonesia probably based on Javanese liao which is titally allien to the Malay.
santik
post Mar 30 2011, 11:34 AM

410 posts

this. nod.gif
joe_mamak
post Mar 30 2011, 11:36 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(santik @ Mar 30 2011, 11:34 AM)
this.  nod.gif
this is wrong. shakehead.gif
fazil0610
post Mar 30 2011, 09:45 PM

147 posts

waw interesting
TSepsonstylux
post Mar 30 2011, 09:46 PM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(kokokranc @ Mar 30 2011, 10:25 AM)
wah. nice. can actually sembang to prc when cheonging.

ts can join u?
ini haram!

i oredi took arabic in my uni, so no crediy hr left to take xtra subject.
fazil0610
post Mar 30 2011, 09:48 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Mar 30 2011, 09:46 PM)
ini haram!

i oredi took arabic in my uni, so no crediy hr left to take xtra subject.
kalau mcm ni boleh 3some brows.gif
moshpit21
post Mar 30 2011, 09:54 PM

LYN Permanent Resident
1,205 posts

QUOTE(lohmaikai @ Mar 29 2011, 10:32 PM)
Good luck.
i want flex.gif
popcorn513
post Mar 30 2011, 10:03 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 30 2011, 07:47 AM)
Haha..Almost all dialect including Malay & England in here...

0:00-1:10 - SOuthern Hokkien
1:10-1:44 - Singlish
2:05-2:35 - hokkien
2:36-3:09 - Teochew
3:10-3:34 -Cantonese
3:35-4:00- Hainanese
4:00-4:05 - Abit Hakka
Thereafter Hokkien back haha  biggrin.gif  nais wan..THE BEST PART - NO MANDARIN AT ALL  rclxms.gif
On

apa itu "hantam gumuk"??
cake_everyday
post Mar 30 2011, 11:10 PM

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Mar 30 2011, 10:03 PM)
On

apa itu "hantam gumuk"??
beat that fatass

0.0329sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:29 AM