How much $$$ you spent buying ipad 2?, and how and from where?

TSsblsbl
post Mar 29 2011, 12:10 PM, updated 15y ago

104 posts

My case:

use credit card to buy from apple.com. even if i could not change the USA poscode on billing address, somehow it still went through (for my case lah; Citibank visa)

I then shipped to my friend in usa (probably those forwarding service is better?), has it shipped to malaysia.

ipad 64G wifi +3G black with engraving = USD829
Tax (california in my case) = 80.83
Total = 915.83
Shipping (DHL three business day + insurance) = 106.86

TOTAL = USD 1022.69

This post has been edited by sblsbl: Mar 29 2011, 12:30 PM
bearbearhong
post Mar 29 2011, 06:06 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(sblsbl @ Mar 29 2011, 12:10 PM)
My case:

use credit card to buy from apple.com. even if i could not change the USA poscode on billing address, somehow it still went through (for my case lah; Citibank visa)

I then shipped to my friend in usa (probably those forwarding service is better?), has it shipped to malaysia.
Total = 915.83
TOTAL = USD 1022.69
wow to that shipping charges sweat.gif

however, the total expenses still cheaper then getting one from any seller here...

This post has been edited by bearbearhong: Mar 29 2011, 06:08 PM
TSsblsbl
post Mar 29 2011, 09:30 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Mar 29 2011, 06:06 PM)
wow to that shipping charges  sweat.gif

however, the total expenses still cheaper then getting one from any seller here...
yalo... it's expensive... sigh... i think those forwarding company offers cheaper shipping, and if it's shipped to certain states in USA the tax is also lower...

yes, of course it's cheaper, they also want to earn money gua.... (though I think the risk of buying one ourselves and getting from them are the same)....
bearbearhong
post Mar 30 2011, 03:51 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(sblsbl @ Mar 29 2011, 09:30 PM)
yalo... it's expensive... sigh... i think those forwarding company offers cheaper shipping, and if it's shipped to certain states in USA the tax is also lower...

yes, of course it's cheaper, they also want to earn money gua.... (though I think the risk of buying one ourselves and getting from them are the same)....
by the way, have you received your ipad 2 ? is it a smooth shipment without interruption of our beloved custom?
Msyizz
post Mar 30 2011, 09:37 PM

54 posts

I pay rm 3150 for 64 gig white
BrokenOne
post Mar 31 2011, 10:50 AM

178 posts

how did u get it for 3150 for ur ipad 2 ?

olkooi
post Mar 31 2011, 01:58 PM

1,017 posts

AUD 600
ipad white 16 wifi
+ screen protector
+ blue smart cover
Kar Leong
post Mar 31 2011, 03:05 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(olkooi @ Mar 31 2011, 01:58 PM)
AUD 600
ipad white 16 wifi
+ screen protector
+ blue smart cover
AUD 600 x 3.1 = RM 1,860 waaa cheap wor, i did manage bring 4 uk set after refund;

GBP 399 x 5 = RM 1,995 minus VAT = RM 1,765 each set w/o smart cover w/o screen protector.

Hmm.. buying at AU cheaper than buying at UK sweat.gif

bearbearhong
post Mar 31 2011, 04:25 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(Kar Leong @ Mar 31 2011, 03:05 PM)
AUD 600 x 3.1 = RM 1,860 waaa cheap wor, i did manage bring 4 uk set after refund;

GBP 399 x 5 = RM 1,995 minus VAT = RM 1,765 each set w/o smart cover w/o screen protector.

Hmm.. buying at AU cheaper than buying at UK  sweat.gif
i think AU also entitled for tax exemption...
TSsblsbl
post Mar 31 2011, 04:30 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Mar 30 2011, 03:51 PM)
by the way, have you received your ipad 2 ? is it a smooth shipment without interruption of our beloved custom?
very smooth. smile.gif
.M6
post Mar 31 2011, 05:32 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(sblsbl @ Mar 29 2011, 12:10 PM)
My case:

Total = 915.83

TOTAL = USD 1022.69
-edited-

This post has been edited by .M6: Mar 31 2011, 05:38 PM
starwalk2002
post Apr 4 2011, 01:39 AM

41 posts

IPAD 2 16GB WIFI + 3G with smart cover @USD460

Bought it while I am on business travel to US.
azraeil
post Apr 4 2011, 12:20 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

1. 3 units of 32GB White Wifi only - USD599 + 53 USD Sales Tax (NYC) = USD652
2. 1 unit 64GB Wifi Black = USD699 + USD62 Sales Tax (NYC) = USD761

Total for 4 Units of iPad 2 = USD 2717

How I got it - Was in NYC for a short vacation with the family. Queued for the 1st 2 units for 5 hours starting at 5:30AM in the morning in -3 degrees temperature (my balls were freezing), Got my 2 Tickets at 10:15AM, by then only the 64GB were available, all the 3G were gone.

2nd Time: Queued up at 8AM in the morning in -1 degree temperature, this time only 3 hours wait (still my balls were freezing). By then, only the 32GB were available.

Brought back all 4 with me without any problems with the customs.

Added on April 4, 2011, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(starwalk2002 @ Apr 3 2011, 08:39 PM)
IPAD 2 16GB WIFI + 3G with smart cover @USD460

Bought it while I am on business travel to US.
I think you missed 200 dollars, a 16GB + 3G iPad2 cost minimum without sales tax USD629 and the smart cover costs USD39 not inclusive of sales tax.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Apr 4 2011, 12:22 PM
TSsblsbl
post Apr 4 2011, 01:35 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Apr 4 2011, 12:20 PM)

How I got it - Was in NYC for a short vacation with the family. Queued for the 1st 2 units for 5 hours starting at 5:30AM in the morning in -3 degrees temperature (my balls were freezing), Got my 2 Tickets at 10:15AM, by then only the 64GB were available, all the 3G were gone.

2nd Time: Queued up at 8AM in the morning in -1 degree temperature, this time only 3 hours wait (still my balls were freezing). By then, only the 32GB were available.

I think you missed 200 dollars, a 16GB + 3G iPad2 cost minimum without sales tax USD629 and the smart cover costs USD39 not inclusive of sales tax.
wah, you bought during the first week of launching? still queuing? need to get tickets to buy ipad?

they are selling the smart cover like rm3/400 in lowyat... really crazy.........
starwalk2002
post Apr 5 2011, 08:59 AM

41 posts

[/quote]

You are right about the actual price, but i have a discount/gift card (given to me) that i can redeemed against. That's why the reason of the price diff i paid for IPAD 2 + Smartcover. Without the card it would cost USD700++.
azraeil
post Apr 5 2011, 12:24 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(sblsbl @ Apr 4 2011, 08:35 AM)
wah, you bought during the first week of launching? still queuing? need to get tickets to buy ipad?

they are selling the smart cover like rm3/400 in lowyat... really crazy.........
I bought it about 2 weeks after launching. Even Apple store New York (Flagship 5th Ave store) gets 2 stocks delivery a week, usually on a Tuesday and Thursday. So the Apple guy at the store recommended that I queue up early in the morning (like 4Am in the morning) to get my hands on them.

So I queued up at 5:30AM, saw the lines when I got off the subway, thought it was not that bad, then realized that the lines actually went around the the entire FAO Schwarz building!!, so started queuing on Madison Avenue, had a chat with 4 New Yorkers who came after me, and they all had cash in hand to buy the 64G AT&T, the lines started moving at 7:30AM, by 9:00 AM, I was at the front of the store near the FAO Schwarz Fountain ... then the Apple People give you maximum of 2 tickets (this will identify you as people who had queued up when you go down the store). They had 5 policeman/woman guarding the line because people were still trying to sneak into the queue. The Apple staff were really sharp though, they seem to remember who is in line and who's not. Then again, people will definitely complain if they see somebody cutting queue. If you need a bathroom break, you have to give your tickets back to the Apple staff and they will give you a bathroom pass ... seriously, just like in school.

But I guess, after going through numerous launches, these people are pros.

That was a cool experience (literally and figuratively as the temperature was -3 degrees .... bloody cold man!)

I love Facetime on the iPad 2, I facetime with my wife at home and the video is quite okay (nothing fantastic but not too shabby either).
bearbearhong
post Apr 5 2011, 12:27 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Apr 5 2011, 12:24 PM)
I bought it about 2 weeks after launching. Even Apple store New York (Flagship 5th Ave store) gets 2 stocks delivery a week, usually on a Tuesday and Thursday. So the Apple guy at the store recommended that I queue up early in the morning (like 4Am in the morning) to get my hands on them.

So I queued up at 5:30AM, saw the lines when I got off the subway, thought it was not that bad, then realized that the lines actually went around the the entire FAO Schwarz building!!, so started queuing on Madison Avenue, had a chat with 4 New Yorkers who came after me, and they all had cash in hand to buy the 64G AT&T, the lines started moving at 7:30AM, by 9:00 AM, I was at the front of the store near the FAO Schwarz Fountain ... then the Apple People give you maximum of 2 tickets (this will identify you as people who had queued up when you go down the store). They had 5 policeman/woman guarding the line because people were still trying to sneak into the queue. The Apple staff were really sharp though, they seem to remember who is in line and who's not. Then again, people will definitely complain if they see somebody cutting queue. If you need a bathroom break, you have to give your tickets back to the Apple staff and they will give you a bathroom pass ... seriously, just like in school.

But I guess, after going through numerous launches, these people are pros.

That was a cool experience (literally and figuratively as the temperature was -3 degrees .... bloody cold man!)

I love Facetime on the iPad 2, I facetime with my wife at home and the video is quite okay (nothing fantastic but not too shabby either).
wow..what an experience! thanks for sharing!

Added on April 5, 2011, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(azraeil @ Apr 4 2011, 12:20 PM)

a good one bro!

Just received my black ipad2 32gb at a cost of USD750+- with DHL charges.

i paid extra to save myself from freezing b@lls...hahaha but miss those cool experience of course!

This post has been edited by bearbearhong: Apr 5 2011, 12:30 PM
azraeil
post Apr 5 2011, 12:43 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Apr 5 2011, 07:27 AM)
wow..what an experience! thanks for sharing!

Added on April 5, 2011, 12:28 pm
a good one bro!

Just received my black ipad2 32gb at a cost of USD750+- with DHL charges.

i paid extra to save myself from freezing b@lls...hahaha but miss those cool experience of course!
Hah hah ... I would have done the same if I knew it would have been that cold!
SherM
post Apr 5 2011, 06:31 PM

79 posts

A friend of mine queued up for 5 hours on the launch date itself. I got the 16GB wifi only with Smart Cover for approx 600 USD after tax in the California region.
Secret Choong
post Apr 13 2011, 06:48 PM

184 posts

Got a 64GB WIFI (White) on eBay for USD830=RM2550.

Express and Insured shipping USD60=RM200

So total is RM2750.

0.0233sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:02 PM