samsung PS43D451, cheapest 43" plasma in the market

TSb16a
post Mar 29 2011, 09:53 AM, updated 15y ago

755 posts

i just bought the ps43d451.

anyone else have it and care to share their experience here on price,calibration,setting etc.

i bough it at rm1660 in penang.with 2 years warranty.This is my first korean product

from 32'' lcd to 43" plasma.. what i can say is.. wow!! superb picture, a lot better watching astro sd compared to lcd. but i gotta train my eyes before getting used to it. kinda "warm" compare to the lcd.
cant compare to full hd plasma but its bang for buck made me buy it.. altho some of my friend says im going backward because nowadaya people layan LED.
ps:tak pandai nak bubuh gambar lah.budak baru.

1.astro 90%
2.dim living room
3.8ft watching distance

Added on March 29, 2011, 9:54 amPS43D451

This post has been edited by b16a: Mar 29 2011, 09:56 AM
yonggoh
post Mar 29 2011, 10:13 AM

1,314 posts

u made the right choice...
SD astro looks better on plasma..the 720p from b.yond will look fine as well smile.gif
SUSgogo2
post Mar 29 2011, 11:02 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

wow, nice price. Where you bought it? can PM me the place if its not convenience to post here? SenQ selling 1899 with free 1 year warranty.
TSb16a
post Mar 29 2011, 11:12 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:02 AM)
wow, nice price. Where you bought it? can PM me the place if its not convenience to post here? SenQ selling 1899 with free 1 year warranty.
jelutong area,<---and actually the tv in that ad is mine now..hehe. i go for display set.. 2 day display set..

try to bargain more. i managed to save rm40 only.. unsure.gif .eh i tot this tv is default two years warranty?

just want to add that the tv got image burn protection,automatic sensor to light, and the reflection is unnoticable (comparing plasma with plasma lah)..

courts mammoth at rm1999, tesco penang at 1799 if im not mistaken

This post has been edited by b16a: Mar 29 2011, 11:15 AM
SUSgogo2
post Mar 29 2011, 11:15 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(b16a @ Mar 29 2011, 11:12 AM)
jelutong area

try to bargain more. i managed to save rm40 only.. unsure.gif

just want to add that the tv got image burn protection,automatic sensor to light, and the reflection is unnoticable (comparing plasma with plasma lah)..

courts mammoth at rm1999, tesco penang at 1799 if im not mistaken
Samsung plasma got a bit matt so reflection is not that bad compare to glass screen of Panasonic X series.
azsace
post Mar 29 2011, 11:17 AM

412 posts

Well.. I just bought similiar samsung D series. But mine is PS51D490 (3DTV). I have not used the TV yet as I'm still break-in the plasma. After the break-in completed, I share you my calibration setting..
Yep.. reasonable price TV

TSb16a
post Mar 29 2011, 11:21 AM

755 posts

i think i want to skip the break in lah. setting brightest at <50 and pixel cell below <10 is too dark to my liking,(sudah biasa dengan bright dynamic lcd )and the break in period is too long for a wait.
i use the image burn protection for precaution.

eh worst case scenario what will happen ah? planning to use it 2/3 years only
azsace
post Mar 29 2011, 11:55 AM

412 posts

Well me break in bukan macam tu... Me pakai cara break-in dapat dari internet.. Me buat macam ni... Break-in untuk 5days.. around 100hrs. All use standard Pic Mode
i. First 2hours set the tv brighness 75, contrast 75, and cell 15
ii. Rest one hour, run the TV for 1hr brighness 100, contrast 100, and cell 20

After that I do this cycle (planning to do it for 2days)
i. Run the tv using brighness 100, contrast 100, and cell 20 for 3hrs
ii. Rest one hour, run the TV for 8hr brighness 75, contrast 75, and cell 15

4th day
i. Run the tv using brighness 75, contrast 75, and cell 15 for 24hrs

5th day
i. Run the tv using brighness 100, contrast 100, and cell 20 for 18hrs

Oh, from my friend punya previous experience, if he tak buat the break in, the tv senang dapat image retention..

Anyway, this is my first plasma tv, so me amik his advise sikit laa

Oh.. my friend pakai only one function for the burn-in protection, the light black bar.. the other on pixel-shifting he tak pernah use... well he used like once or twice, but get irritated cause he can notice the pixel shifting when watching the tv.. i say to him .. ya meeeh... so peka ka??? heheh tongue.gif

This post has been edited by azsace: Mar 29 2011, 11:59 AM
TSb16a
post Mar 29 2011, 01:07 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Mar 29 2011, 11:55 AM)
Well me break in bukan macam tu... Me pakai cara break-in dapat dari internet.. Me buat macam ni... Break-in untuk 5days.. around 100hrs. All use standard Pic Mode

4th day

5th day

Oh, from my friend punya previous experience, if he tak buat the break in, the tv senang dapat image retention..

Oh.. my friend pakai only one function for the burn-in protection, the light black bar.. the other on pixel-shifting he tak pernah use... well he used like once or twice, but get irritated cause he can notice the pixel shifting when watching the tv.. i say to him .. ya meeeh... so peka ka??? heheh  tongue.gif
wahhh, it is so intense! haha.
by doing that method does that mean to leave the tv idle? i mean same image for 18 hours?
and by looking at 100 brightness and 100 contras and cell 20 already frighten me up. because that is the max setting..

anyway. OFF TOPIC, the cara break in yang saudara dapat di internet ini seolah2 cara break in enjin kereta atau motor baru yang saya guinakan dan dapat dari internet. remp it to the max with various speed instead of half power(constanly) till 1000km.. and it works! but reason being in an engine is to sit the valve seal still.. im quite doubt the same thing in electronics of a plasma. and yes, this is my first plasma too.
can you give me the link for that?
err.. you ambik cuti ke untuk buat break in cara macam ni?

This post has been edited by b16a: Mar 29 2011, 01:08 PM
azsace
post Mar 29 2011, 03:43 PM

412 posts

I put my detail break-in here..

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1812509
TSb16a
post Mar 30 2011, 02:15 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Mar 29 2011, 03:43 PM)
thanks mate. but having some trouble understanding it lah sweat.gif .

by the way more reviews on ps43d451.im comparing to my old 32" lcd by the way.

1. the black are really black!!
2. the self adjust to the light works.

cons
1.white is a bit yellowish<--maybe i dont calibrate it .got white adjustment option. but dont want to kacau that one first. got many adjustment on the white alone..

2. felt a bit dizzy. maybe somekind of radioactif from the plasma or my brain cant brain the sudden changes from puny 32" to 43"..i hope i dont get cancer because of this tv biggrin.gif

will update finding later on..

weiii. am i the only one having the cheapest 43" here? ayoooo. <<<<<<<anybody>>>>>>>?

ejan_
post Apr 3 2011, 11:17 AM

148 posts

i'm also interested with this model.. now comparing with LG42PJ350.. or any other better plasma? budget 1.8k max..
stormyz
post Apr 4 2011, 01:57 PM

Thread Killer
595 posts

i bought this last friday at the price of RM 1699 including delivery .... PJ area.

awesome price but only is i guess the 43 " can make the astro go pixels ..
SUSgogo2
post Apr 4 2011, 02:08 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(stormyz @ Apr 4 2011, 01:57 PM)
i bought this last friday at the price of RM 1699 including delivery .... PJ area.

then sit further away..haha
stormyz
post Apr 4 2011, 02:12 PM

Thread Killer
595 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Apr 4 2011, 02:08 PM)
then sit further away..haha
rumah kecil cry.gif
TSb16a
post Apr 4 2011, 04:16 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ejan_ @ Apr 3 2011, 11:17 AM)
i'm also interested with this model.. now comparing with LG42PJ350.. or any other better plasma? budget 1.8k max..
i have the same problem as well before. either lg42pj350 or samsung ps43d451.

well this is how i weight the pros and cons before deciding.

1. i surfed the web,lg42pj got a lots of fan.they even have their fun club(non malaysian) they voted the best bang for buck plasma. +1 LG

2.walk around shops and noticed a newer LG in town the 250r which only cost rm1799 with some feature upgraded +1 samsung

3.everywhere i go..i cant get it any less than rm1599..and as i can remember this is 2010 model (which irony my friend bought in august 2009) at rm1999 +1samsung

4.for a 42" plasma its the cheapest in town ever..brand new..+1 lg

5. 43" samsung rm 1660 rm vs 42" lg rm1599.. only rm61 difference.. imagine how much the price gap between 46" vs 42"plasma on the market right now.. if $$$ can be translated to inch..its well worth it.. both had slim design by the way..and for my usage.. size does matter.. +1 samsung

6.too lazy to read but the function on samsung > than the pj350 +1

7.the price is rm1660.. how much more can it be lowered in the future..(please calculate on %, not $$$) +1samsung

8.the scary story from the retailer.(he dont sell any samsung but he ushered me to buy a newer lg250) due to 350pj is an old model..when it comes to old models they will slap you with display unit. they will wrap it like brand new.. no one whose right in the head will buy a display unit PLASMA priced as the same as new one. +1 samsung

9.hdmi input both have 2 if im not mistaken.. -lg -samsung

10. 2 years warranty vs 1 year and plus samsung service centre located nearby my area +1 samsung

im not a samsung fanboy by the way..matter a fact i looked down on korean product. and this is my first korean. someone should teach the japs to be a little bit more competitive..this issue include the automotive scenario thumbup.gif

Added on April 4, 2011, 4:18 pm

clarity and pq > pixel on sd astro lah.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by b16a: Apr 4 2011, 04:19 PM
ejan_
post Apr 4 2011, 07:12 PM

148 posts

then no others value for money plasma in the market rite now.. will further survey and grab 1 next weekend.. actually i plan used this for Unify TV..

1. During at shop, 1 guy told me dont buy samsung.. coz not quality.. he regret buying samsung.. (maybe unlucky buyer but i need to beware also)
2. LG speaker not really good compare samsung.. (my opinion)

Boy96
post Apr 4 2011, 07:21 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

hows the 3D?
TSb16a
post Apr 5 2011, 09:44 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(ejan_ @ Apr 4 2011, 07:12 PM)
then no others value for money plasma in the market rite now.. will further survey and grab 1 next weekend.. actually i plan used this for Unify TV..

1. During at shop, 1 guy told me dont buy samsung.. coz not quality.. he regret buying samsung.. (maybe unlucky buyer but i need to beware also)
2. LG speaker not really good compare samsung.. (my opinion)
actually theres a panasonic plasma. which i think the X series in that price range. rm1699. the only downside prventing me from buying it was. its glossy and really really reflective.such a turn off.

1.thats the thing, i heard about samsung bad quality as well, heard that even samsung top level tv also have some quality issue. only god knows their quality on the cheap entry level ones. well the price made me willing to bite the bullet.

2.yup, agreed. samsung speaker is quite good.but for me it doesnt matter because the sound comes out from my Htib.

This post has been edited by b16a: Apr 5 2011, 09:53 AM
SUSgogo2
post Apr 5 2011, 09:45 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(b16a @ Apr 5 2011, 09:44 AM)
actually theres a panasonic plasma. which i think the X series in that price range. rm1699. the only downside prventing me from buying it  was. its glossy really really reflective.such a turn off.

1.thats the thing, i heard about samsung bad quality as well, heard that even samsung top level tv also have some quality issue. only god knows their quality on the cheap entry level ones. well the price made me willing to bite the bullet.

2.yup, agreed. samsung speaker is quite good.but for me it doesnt matter because the sound comes out from my Htib.
its better to spoil after 2 years so that we have a reason to buy a new one. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSb16a
post Apr 5 2011, 09:46 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Apr 4 2011, 07:21 PM)
hows the 3D?
dont know, dont have the player or dvd that is capable for 3D, and actually the 451 models dont have any hint that it can play 3d.eventho its a D-series..
in samsung website got the 450 model.. and the real 3d one the 490.<---rm2600..

Added on April 5, 2011, 9:51 am
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Apr 5 2011, 09:45 AM)
its better to spoil after 2 years so that we have a reason to buy a new one.  icon_rolleyes.gif
haha yup. agreed. after 2 year warranty period over. nak rosak rosak lah. but i wont say the same thing if the tv is rm3k and above..
and funny thing is, after a week of viewing now i found out that 43" is not that big! i just hope in 2 years time the price of 50" or 55" will go down tremendously..

This post has been edited by b16a: Apr 5 2011, 09:51 AM
azsace
post Apr 7 2011, 11:53 AM

412 posts

I put my TV setting here. you can check it out
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1825421
ejan_
post Apr 8 2011, 04:23 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Apr 7 2011, 11:53 AM)
I put my TV setting here. you can check it out
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1825421

Where can get better price for this set? Anyhow, noticed that plasma glass bit hot compare lcd
azsace
post Apr 9 2011, 12:00 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(ejan_ @ Apr 8 2011, 04:23 PM)
Where can get better price for this set? Anyhow, noticed that plasma glass bit hot compare lcd
Well, not sure where can you get a good price in KL... but a word of advise, The Samsung PS51D490 (HD Ready) price should be below than rm4k with 2 3D glasses. Samsung PS51D550 (FHD) with 2 3D glasses should be below than rm4.8k
Hmm, I think you should not worry bout the heat. Its plasma and it does give significant heat dissipation. Anyway, for the break-in I did run the TV for one whole with maximum pic setting 100 contrast n 100 brightness.
The longest continuous running period was the whole 2day with 75contrast n 75brightness. But the max pix setting is hotter compared to the 2days running period.

ejan_
post Apr 9 2011, 11:05 PM

148 posts

finally i bought this model.. nice picture.. suit my taste.. paid for 1680 with flexipayment 1 year (save my cash for others), 2yrs warranty, free HDMI cable..

i'm deciding this model due to

1. I like the design.. small frame..
2. Suit me and my family
3. value price..

other than this, also looking for LG and latest panasonic model..

Panasonic got very good function and good price (RM1888).. anyhow, the frame and body bit thick as i put thin and small frame as my top priority, else maybe already choose panasonic.. as of now, no regret getting this model biggrin.gif .
TSb16a
post Apr 10 2011, 08:26 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ejan_ @ Apr 9 2011, 11:05 PM)
finally i bought this model.. nice picture.. suit my taste.. paid for 1680 with flexipayment 1 year (save my cash for others), 2yrs warranty, free HDMI cable..
i'm deciding this model due to

1. I like the design.. small frame..
2. Suit me and my family
3. value price..

other than this, also looking for LG and latest panasonic model..

Panasonic got very good function and good price (RM1888).. anyhow, the frame and body bit thick as i put thin and small frame as my top priority, else maybe already choose panasonic.. as of now, no regret getting this model  biggrin.gif .
congrats for your purchase, quite a bargain you get a free hdmi cable. mind sharing your settings?.

im thinking of mounting my plasma to the wall but at the same time i want to put some ambient backlight behind the tv.. read in the net got some led strip, wonder can get it here.

yup a lil bit hot at the front panel, but at the back,its cool,, my previous lcd is hotter than that.
ejan_
post Apr 10 2011, 09:01 PM

148 posts

i'm newbie in TV technology.. so only follow this thread.. no other setting smile.gif thanks guys..

i'm not planning to mounting that to the wall because look comfortable with current arrangement..

but anybody know what is purpose of wifi/network port for TV? can watch online tv ka?
TSb16a
post Apr 11 2011, 11:14 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(ejan_ @ Apr 10 2011, 09:01 PM)
i'm newbie in TV technology.. so only follow this thread.. no other setting smile.gif thanks guys..

i'm not planning to mounting that to the wall because look comfortable with current arrangement..

but anybody know what is purpose of wifi/network port for TV? can watch online tv ka?
i like to know that part as well, some tv got the lan port
jusco1
post Apr 13 2011, 09:38 AM

618 posts

b16a:
where u buy for 1680?
i bought ps43d450 at car4, midvalley for 1850 sad.gif
TSb16a
post Apr 13 2011, 10:26 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Apr 12 2011, 01:16 PM)
some are for internet, some are for show tongue.gif

newer TV enables internet content browsed/played on the TV without using computers.... facebook, tweeter & most importantly...youtube wink.gif
then how to activate the internet? quite noob at this.

QUOTE(jusco1 @ Apr 13 2011, 09:38 AM)
b16a:
where u buy for 1680?
i bought ps43d450 at car4, midvalley for 1850 sad.gif
actually yours is 450, and mine is 451, if im not mistaken, anything with 0 at the back is 2010 model. BUT.. its expensive then 451.. for 450 model the price is quite normal.. here in tesco penang selling at rm1899 or rm 1799..

and D451 takda dalam samsung malaysia website.. im thinking of maybe ap set.like handphone.. hmm.gif but the spec, and the tv itself is the same..the only difference i can recall is, the 450 got 2d/3d sticker at the tv , while 451 dont have..

maybe samsung expert can help us on this..
already buy sud be happy lah, no need to regret. i bough mine in penang. i link the shop in my first post in this thread.

ejan who bough it at rm1680, i bought it at rm1660.

This post has been edited by b16a: Apr 13 2011, 10:37 AM
azsace
post Apr 13 2011, 02:53 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(b16a @ Apr 13 2011, 10:26 AM)
then how to activate the internet? quite noob at this.
actually yours is 450, and mine is 451, if im not mistaken, anything with 0 at the back is 2010 model. BUT.. its expensive then 451.. for 450 model the price is quite normal.. here in tesco penang selling at rm1899 or rm 1799..

and D451 takda dalam samsung malaysia website.. im thinking of maybe ap set.like handphone.. hmm.gif but the spec, and the tv itself is the same..the only difference i can recall is, the 450 got 2d/3d sticker at the tv , while 451 dont have..

maybe samsung expert can help us on this..
already buy sud be happy lah, no need to regret. i bough mine in penang. i link the shop in my first post in this thread.

ejan who bough it at rm1680, i bought it at rm1660.
uoh,
The d400 series does not have support for internet connectivity. d400 series consist of the normal d450 and the 3d d490 model. different between the d451 n the d450 is the bezel colour, thats all.
samsung denotes the year of model by alphabet.. for all 2011 it uses the alphabet D, for 2010 is C, 2009 is B and 2008 is A.
So, if ur model is PS43D450, its year 2011
PS42C450 is year 2010

for LCD/LED it uses U
UA40D
TSb16a
post Apr 13 2011, 03:48 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Apr 13 2011, 02:53 PM)
uoh,
The d400 series does not have support for internet connectivity. d400 series consist of the normal d450 and the 3d d490 model. different between the d451 n the d450 is the bezel colour, thats all.
samsung denotes the year of model by alphabet.. for all 2011 it uses the alphabet D, for 2010 is C, 2009 is B and 2008 is A.
So, if ur model is PS43D450, its year 2011
PS42C450 is year 2010

for LCD/LED it uses U
UA40D
thanks for the explanation mate. i always tot that D stands for 3d.. doh.gif and 50 vs 51 is the year that model came out.. however i notice that the bezel colour look the same..

the biggest difference in 2010 and 2011 is the 42" vs 43".
azsace
post Apr 13 2011, 05:11 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(b16a @ Apr 13 2011, 03:48 PM)
thanks for the explanation mate. i always tot that D stands for 3d..  doh.gif  and 50 vs 51 is the year that model came out.. however i notice that the bezel colour look the same..

the biggest difference in 2010 and 2011 is the 42" vs 43".
no prob...

well, actually the bezel colour is really hard to differentiate.. i tot mine was black, but its actually dark rose... the bezel colour is more noticeable if you look at the lower bezel...
two bezel colour, dark rose and black
TSb16a
post Apr 14 2011, 09:55 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Apr 13 2011, 05:11 PM)
no prob...

well, actually the bezel colour is really hard to differentiate.. i tot mine was black, but its actually dark rose... the bezel colour is more noticeable if you look at the lower bezel...
two bezel colour, dark rose and black
one thing that i really cant get is whay the 450 model is highly priced?.. rm200 apart from 451.
spec wise its the same , and like you say..from afar its black
azsace
post Apr 14 2011, 10:52 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(b16a @ Apr 14 2011, 09:55 AM)
one thing that i really cant get is whay the 450 model is highly priced?.. rm200 apart from 451.
spec wise its the same , and like you say..from afar its black
Wow.. is that so... not sure what other justification...
for my series, the bezel colour option is rose black and charcoal black
if im not mistaken, the d450/1 colour availability is blue and black.. if im not mistaken d451 is charcoal black.. rm200 just for the bezel colour, thats a bit odd???

This post has been edited by azsace: Apr 14 2011, 10:53 AM
TSb16a
post Apr 14 2011, 01:29 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Apr 14 2011, 10:52 AM)
Wow.. is that so... not sure what other justification...
for my series, the bezel colour option is rose black and charcoal black
if im not mistaken, the d450/1 colour availability is blue and black.. if im not mistaken d451 is charcoal black.. rm200 just for the bezel colour, thats a bit odd???
samsung malaysia sud take a look in this issue.. and one more,actually its hard to find the 451..at least in penang.

rm200 is a lot! add rm40 more.. tadaaa astro beyond for a year. nod.gif
jusco1
post Apr 18 2011, 02:29 PM

618 posts

i found out yest the diff of 450 and 451.
451 come with a digital output for audio.
can anyone confirm that?

and D series is for 2011 model, this i had check with few Samsung salesperson. C series is for 2010 model. and most important is that D series can play RMVB format. hehehehe...

ya, i agree that whatever we paid for is history. now is time to enjoy the tv.... hehehehehe....whether is RM50 or RM200 diff....

rushoe
post Apr 19 2011, 12:07 PM

96 posts

Where u bought it? Can PM me pls? Senheng selling 1899

Added on April 19, 2011, 12:09 pmI heard that this tv can support RMVB format... u can plug in ur pendrive/hard drive containing rmvb file... and play it... is that true???

This post has been edited by rushoe: Apr 19 2011, 12:09 PM
little-by-little
post Apr 20 2011, 06:07 PM

Great info here.

Currently considering the Samsung PS43D451 or LG LG42PT250 for my office smile.gif

Personally I have a Samsung LCD, which I am happy with and have always liked Samsung designs (come to think of it, I own quite a few Samsung products tongue.gif )

I think the Samsung PS43D451 wins then biggrin.gif

One question tho, is the screen really a bit matte?

L
TSb16a
post Apr 21 2011, 03:37 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(jusco1 @ Apr 18 2011, 02:29 PM)
i found out yest the diff of 450 and 451.
451 come with a digital output for audio.
can anyone confirm that?

and D series is for 2011 model, this i had check with few Samsung salesperson. C series is for 2010 model. and most important is that D series can play RMVB format. hehehehe...

ya, i agree that whatever we paid for is history. now is time to enjoy the tv.... hehehehehe....whether is RM50 or RM200 diff....
yup,you should enjoy it.rm200 for digital output is well worth it..ive checked mine,no digital output..i connect to my htib via rca..nanti confirm again..
QUOTE(rushoe @ Apr 19 2011, 12:07 PM)
Where u bought it? Can PM me pls? Senheng selling 1899

Added on April 19, 2011, 12:09 pmI heard that this tv can support RMVB format... u can plug in ur pendrive/hard drive containing rmvb file... and play it... is that true???
hope somebody can enlighten you on this RMVB, i rarely watch any RMVB contents, so takda pun takpa janji murah..tongue.gif

QUOTE(little-by-little @ Apr 20 2011, 06:07 PM)
Great info here.

Currently considering the Samsung PS43D451 or LG LG42PT250 for my office smile.gif

Personally I have a Samsung LCD, which I am happy with and have always liked Samsung designs (come to think of it, I own quite a few Samsung products tongue.gif )

I think the Samsung PS43D451 wins then biggrin.gif

One question tho, is the screen really a bit matte?

L
LG250 is a bit pricier,and its 42".. yup a bit matte,compard to panasonic plasma's.. err but not to much if i say a bit matte than some LED tv around the market right now.
jusco1
post Apr 25 2011, 01:46 PM

618 posts

yes, it can play RMVB format.
just finished watching Grace Fire on my d450 43"...
hehehehe
rushoe
post Apr 25 2011, 05:33 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(jusco1 @ Apr 25 2011, 01:46 PM)
yes, it can play RMVB format.
just finished watching Grace Fire on my d450 43"...
hehehehe
great... usually the TVB dramas that i download are RMVB... ok, confirm buy this model liao
SUSOptiplex330
post Apr 25 2011, 05:41 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(azsace @ Mar 29 2011, 11:55 AM)

4th day

5th day

Oh.. my friend pakai only one function for the burn-in protection, the light black bar.. the other on pixel-shifting he tak pernah use... well he used like once or twice, but get irritated cause he can notice the pixel shifting when watching the tv.. i say to him .. ya meeeh... so peka ka??? heheh  tongue.gif
Aiyah why so troublesome? I just run it non-stop 24/7 and be done with it. I bet with price coming down so fast, you probably get fed up of 43" after a few years and wanted to get rid of it anyway and exchange it for a 50" rclxm9.gif

azsace
post Apr 26 2011, 09:32 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 25 2011, 05:41 PM)
Aiyah why so troublesome? I just run it non-stop 24/7 and be done with it. I bet with price coming down so fast, you probably get fed up of 43" after a few years and wanted to get rid of it anyway and exchange it for a 50"  rclxm9.gif
I did this test based on the recommendation from the website HDGuru... they don't actually recommend to run it continuosly. To get a uniform phosphur burn it is recommended on the first 24hrs of controlled break-in, the panel should be off for at least 1hrs so the phophur screen can cool down..
Oh yeah, some other method is to run it 24h/3d... A lot of method in the web, just pick and combine to suits ur preference..

anyway, after the burn-in, i notice my plasma so far has no image retention issues... since im using astro byond, watching sd content will have the black pillar on the channel, n surprisingly, after few hrs, no image retention... so now basically, all the screen burn in function i turn it off since i feel it doesnt have much effect.

The more severe test I did on my plasma was playing fallout 3 last sunday for approximate 4hrs... no image retention due to HUD display of the game (just to let u guys know, the HUD display of the game is bright green)

Conclusion, not sure whether the new plasma has a better image retention supression or it is because of the break-in. But to be safe, I will always recommend people to do break-in. For me, break-in is a hassle, but worthwhile to do

Oh yeah, im using 51". The model is PS51D490.. the 3d implementation is great. (The most impressive 3d implementation is by Pana, i didnt choose pana because other reason). So as a user/buyer know the limitation of the tv u wanna buy. Forum like this will highlight a lot of issues..

This post has been edited by azsace: Apr 26 2011, 09:36 AM
AhNiCk
post Jun 1 2011, 11:41 PM

84 posts

is PS43D451 Full HD ?

produce more heat than LCD ?

the usb plays mvb, avi, mpeg, wmv, mov, dat, avi, mpeg, rm, wmv ?

wonder if the usb supports my 1TB HDD ?

waisal02
post Jun 4 2011, 01:21 AM

I bought Samsung Plasma TV PS43D451 recently, just got my astro installed, its weird that when i on astro channel the picture become black and white (no colour), but when i watch DVD it has color, when i attached atenna to it, channels has colors too.. can someone guide me on the setting.. called astro, the astro tech guy also can't fix the problem, now the ball kick back to the TV seller..
Skylinestar
post Jun 4 2011, 11:25 PM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

i think it has something to do with the color system. it happens to my granny's panasonic tv when paired up to the satellite stb. when viewing certain channels, it'll turn to black and white, while other channels works fine. FYI, tv color system has been set to auto, pal, ntsc while the stb sets to pal & ntsc for testing different configurations. until now still can't fix the problem. dunno why.
jovigrunge
post Jun 5 2011, 10:10 PM

2,607 posts

If it's not FULL HD, forget about it....
Intel@Atom
post Jun 27 2011, 09:12 AM

360 posts

dude, i plan to get a PS43D451 this weekend. any idea what is the best price you guys found in KL? I got it about RM1680 at melaka but additional RM70 for 0% easy payment (zzzZZ).

jimlhj76
post Jun 27 2011, 05:28 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Intel@Atom @ Jun 27 2011, 10:12 AM)
dude, i plan to get a PS43D451 this weekend. any idea what is the best price you guys found in KL? I got it about RM1680 at melaka but additional RM70 for 0% easy payment (zzzZZ).
i bought at ONKING pandan indah middle last month... RM1580

excellent picture quality... deep black after some colour calibrate smile.gif

Added on June 27, 2011, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(jovigrunge @ Jun 5 2011, 11:10 PM)
If it's not FULL HD, forget about it....
for plasma, it is always more lines than a LCD.... somemore at 43 inch viewing panel... you cant see the difference... unless you stick your face onto the screen and watch it that way tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jimlhj76: Jun 27 2011, 05:32 PM
areankim
post Jun 27 2011, 06:04 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

can play .mkv?

well
post Jun 27 2011, 07:09 PM

253 posts

can play mkv no worry, i just bring my hdd to senx and tested.
nice tv i can say, but im not so sastify with the 3d function, but we cannot request so much within this price range
poolcarpet
post Jul 2 2011, 11:44 PM

548 posts

hi all, question on this samsung 43" lcd.... it's resolution is 1024x768, when i tried to playback e.g. transformers 3 official trailer downloaded from youtube (mp4 720p) it has the black bands on top and bottom. can i ask other owners, if you playback using thumbdrive, what's the best resolution to maximize the screen?
dancing_flame
post Jul 3 2011, 12:52 AM

21 posts

i just bought PS43D451 today and after reading the reviews here i can confirm that i have made a good buy at rm1499 :-)
am so happy with this baby!!
piscesguy
post Jul 3 2011, 08:27 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(dancing_flame @ Jul 3 2011, 12:52 AM)
i just bought PS43D451 today and after reading the reviews here i can confirm that i have made a good buy at rm1499 :-)
where did u get it for 1499? drool.gif
they delivered to ur door step ah?

i thought the cheapest is 1550... biggrin.gif
piscesguy
post Jul 3 2011, 03:45 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Never mind, bought it already... smile.gif
sohailayhun
post Jul 3 2011, 06:29 PM

132 posts

Lucky u, i bought mine RM1750 last 2 month ago at Puchong ,only to know that sudah kena "water fish".... doh.gif doh.gif laugh.gif But after 2 days i got lucky, MR> TOTO said he'll paid for it.(xxxx) My lucky day. LOVE MY SAMSUNG PLASMA. thumbup.gif
piscesguy
post Jul 4 2011, 09:34 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Well, actually this plasma is good for SD material only...

If u plan to watch HD, I think u better off with other model..

poolcarpet
post Jul 4 2011, 10:53 AM

548 posts

do you have this plasma? i disagree with the statement below. i downloaded transformers trailer 720p from youtube and i have to say the quality is quite good.

if you are not a hifi movie buff, and just want to watch some 720p, i think this is a great deal. it's going for around RM1500 now and I think that's a great deal for a 43". which other plasma/lcd costs this low??

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jul 4 2011, 09:34 AM)
Well, actually this plasma is good for SD material only...

If u plan to watch HD, I think u better off with other model..
piscesguy
post Jul 4 2011, 12:13 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Jul 4 2011, 10:53 AM)
do you have this plasma? i disagree with the statement below. i downloaded transformers trailer 720p from youtube and i have to say the quality is quite good.

if you are not a hifi movie buff, and just want to watch some 720p, i think this is a great deal. it's going for around RM1500 now and I think that's a great deal for a 43". which other plasma/lcd costs this low??
I have this plasma....what u r seeing is actually less than 720p...anyway u probably can't see the difference.. biggrin.gif

no doubt this is the cheapest 43" plasma.. smile.gif
poolcarpet
post Jul 4 2011, 01:59 PM

548 posts

this plasma's resolution is 1024x768, so when we play 720p movies (1368x720), don't we see the max 720p?

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jul 4 2011, 12:13 PM)
I have this plasma....what u r seeing is actually less than 720p...anyway u probably can't see the difference.. biggrin.gif

no doubt this is the cheapest 43" plasma.. smile.gif
abubin
post Jul 4 2011, 05:13 PM

10,429 posts

hmm..at 1024x768 means this native resolution is 4:3. Wouldn't this cause distortion in viewing 16:9 videos?
piscesguy
post Jul 5 2011, 09:24 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

This lends itself to rectangular pixels since the normally 4:3 ratio of 1024x768 has been stretched to fit a 16:9 display.

Added on July 5, 2011, 9:25 am
QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Jul 4 2011, 01:59 PM)
this plasma's resolution is 1024x768, so when we play 720p movies (1368x720), don't we see the max 720p?
the tv will fit the image to it's native resolution.

This post has been edited by piscesguy: Jul 5 2011, 09:25 AM
sphiroth
post Jul 9 2011, 03:05 PM

2,804 posts

Anyone got problem with displaying subtitle when playing .mkv file? Mine cannot display but .srt sub is working fine.
poolcarpet
post Jul 18 2011, 05:12 PM

548 posts

i just found out you can change some setting on the tv so that movies will be played back without the top and bottom band. 720p movie is very nice on this tv, for the price, i have no complains! i think this is a very good budget tv, and it's even better if you view it a bit further like 7-10 ft away.
mecch
post Jul 20 2011, 01:36 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jul 9 2011, 03:05 PM)
Anyone got problem with displaying subtitle when playing .mkv file? Mine cannot display but .srt sub is working fine.
Hmm...I'm also having the same problem...can't display the subtitle when playing .mkv file while the .srt are all working fine...I'm own a 51D451 btw...

*currently using the WDTV live for playing movie from HDD...the pic quality also seems a lil bit better when playing from this WDTV live (maybe its just me)...
numberslevin
post Jul 20 2011, 02:11 AM

Where did you get this price? Thanks
sphiroth
post Jul 20 2011, 09:56 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(mecch @ Jul 20 2011, 01:36 AM)
Hmm...I'm also having the same problem...can't display the subtitle when playing .mkv file while the .srt are all working fine...I'm own a 51D451 btw...

*currently using the WDTV live for playing movie from HDD...the pic quality also seems a lil bit better when playing from this WDTV live (maybe its just me)...
Yeah, no prob with wdtv, and it also have the resume function and able to change audio track/language.

Added on July 21, 2011, 9:20 pmBecause of the internal player unable to display sub, I decided to connect the plasma to my pc using hdmi. Strangely, random part of the screen 'flicker' which never happen before this when I'm connecting my pc to my old lcd tv. Issit because its a plasma?

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jul 21 2011, 09:20 PM
myproblem
post Jul 29 2011, 05:32 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jul 20 2011, 09:56 AM)
Yeah, no prob with wdtv, and it also have the resume function and able to change audio track/language.

Added on July 21, 2011, 9:20 pmBecause of the internal player unable to display sub, I decided to connect the plasma to my pc using hdmi. Strangely, random part of the screen 'flicker' which never happen before this when I'm connecting my pc to my old lcd tv. Issit because its a plasma?
This model support up to 1080i only, not 1080P. Some more power consumption is 230w compared to LG 42PT250 can support 1080p and 179w
poolcarpet
post Jul 29 2011, 08:28 PM

548 posts

i thought these are just 720p TVs?? the specification says 1024x768 resolution, how is it possible to support 1080p or i??

QUOTE(myproblem @ Jul 29 2011, 05:32 PM)
This model support up to 1080i only, not 1080P. Some more power consumption is 230w compared to LG 42PT250 can support 1080p and 179w
sphiroth
post Jul 29 2011, 09:49 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(myproblem @ Jul 29 2011, 05:32 PM)
I'm using the recomended setting (1024x768@60hz). Maybe my graphic card is the problem.

For its price, out a great tv nevertheless.

sphiroth
post Jul 29 2011, 09:51 PM

2,804 posts

meat
post Aug 4 2011, 10:02 PM

31 posts

Hi guys,
Got a few questions regarding this TV...

Apart from mkv, what other formats can this TV play?avi, wmv?

Is there a maximum bitrate that it supports? (like handphones)

Can the USB videos be controlled via remote control - can fast forward, jump to time, rewind?
Nawar
post Aug 5 2011, 09:53 PM

86 posts

is this model full hd 1080p?
sphiroth
post Aug 5 2011, 10:45 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(meat @ Aug 4 2011, 10:02 PM)
Hi guys,
Got a few questions regarding this TV...

Apart from mkv, what other formats can this TV play?avi, wmv?

Is there a maximum bitrate that it supports? (like handphones)

Can the USB videos be controlled via remote control - can fast forward, jump to time, rewind?
It can also play avi and wmv, but not all. From what I tested, about 10% of my collection got codec error (unable to play).

Usb video can be controlled from the tv remote.

QUOTE(Nawar @ Aug 5 2011, 09:53 PM)
Nope. But imo, didn't really noticed the since i'm viewing it at about 9' distance.
Nawar
post Aug 6 2011, 07:42 PM

86 posts

sphiroth

I See u hv ps3 games.. can this model play games?

any problems so far?
sphiroth
post Aug 6 2011, 07:46 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Aug 6 2011, 07:42 PM)
sphiroth

I See u hv ps3 games.. can this model play games?

any problems so far?
No problem with ps3, justproblem when connected to pc via hdmi. As it turns out, my hd graphic card got problem with plasma display even when I used the vga connection. Now I'm using the on board display vga, problem solved.
piscesguy
post Aug 7 2011, 08:38 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Even my 2004 IBM desktop can connect to this plasma via HDMI.. smile.gif

btw, I m using ATI Radeon GC that has a DVI output..
piscesguy
post Aug 7 2011, 08:40 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Aug 5 2011, 09:53 PM)
Nope....it's not even 720p!! laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Aug 7 2011, 08:42 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 7 2011, 08:38 AM)
Even my 2004 IBM desktop can connect to this plasma via HDMI.. smile.gif

btw, I m using ATI Radeon GC that has a DVI output..
I got radeon hd2600 pro. Been reading some other forums and seems thats several user also got problem like this.
piscesguy
post Aug 7 2011, 08:52 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Aug 7 2011, 08:42 AM)
I got radeon hd2600 pro. Been reading some other forums and seems thats several user also got problem like this.
Hmmm...my ATI GC is much older....it's a Radeon 9600 PRO model. biggrin.gif

How come new model cannot support ar? rclxub.gif
sphiroth
post Aug 7 2011, 08:58 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 7 2011, 08:52 AM)
Hmmm...my ATI GC is much older....it's a Radeon 9600 PRO model. biggrin.gif

How come new model cannot support ar? rclxub.gif
Not sure, some forummer mentioned this card lacks the ability to 'hold' the vertical frequency (not sure what it meant). But no ptoblem since this tv already got build in media player.

Added on August 7, 2011, 8:59 amBtw, somerimes newer is not always better (cut cost, etc) wink.gif

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Aug 7 2011, 08:59 AM
piscesguy
post Aug 7 2011, 09:04 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Aug 7 2011, 08:58 AM)
Not sure, some forummer mentioned this card lacks the ability to 'hold' the vertical frequency (not sure what it meant).  But no ptoblem since this tv already got build in media player.

Added on August 7, 2011, 8:59 amBtw, somerimes newer is not always better (cut cost, etc) wink.gif
Yes...this tv built-in media player is good...

I have my PC connected so that I can watch some tv drama online.. brows.gif
sphiroth
post Aug 7 2011, 09:40 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 7 2011, 09:04 AM)
Yes...this tv built-in media player is good...

I have my PC connected so that I can watch some tv drama online.. brows.gif
I'm buying the eaget m7 hd player for that purpose. brows.gif
Nawar
post Aug 7 2011, 10:06 AM

86 posts

if you play console gaming on this tv.. will it leave leftover marks...

(like the life bar on Street Fighter will stick on the screen after long playing session).
sphiroth
post Aug 7 2011, 10:14 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Aug 7 2011, 10:06 AM)

(like the life bar on Street Fighter will stick on the screen after long playing session).
This tv got burn in protection system/pixel shift inm. Supposedly to eliminate that problem by shifting the pixel every minute.
Nawar
post Aug 7 2011, 10:38 AM

86 posts

true.. from what it says on paper.. have you experience any so far?

the only way to know.. is to leave static image over prolong periods.. then try putting a light color background on the tv to see.. coz most plasmas will hv this weakness...

Skylinestar
post Aug 7 2011, 10:54 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Aug 7 2011, 10:06 AM)

confirm yes
Nawar
post Aug 7 2011, 11:07 AM

86 posts

Skylinestar,

you hv tried gaming on this model?
Skylinestar
post Aug 7 2011, 11:55 AM

Mega Duck
10,476 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Aug 7 2011, 11:07 AM)
Skylinestar,

you hv tried gaming on this model?
not on this model but on last year's model.
my parents watch tv broadcast and the channel logos make a mark on the plasma screen. not permanent burn-in.
sphiroth
post Aug 7 2011, 02:38 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Aug 7 2011, 10:38 AM)
true.. from what it says on paper.. have you experience any so far?

the only way to know.. is to leave static image over prolong periods.. then try putting a light color background on the tv to see.. coz most plasmas will hv this weakness...
None, but my tv is old 3 week old.

Confirm my radeon got problem. Give the same symptom when connect to led monitor. Even the bios boot up screen also corrupted.

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Aug 8 2011, 06:09 AM
taxidoor
post Aug 8 2011, 04:08 PM

1,008 posts

Can any1 confirm me different between d450 with d451,

plan to grab it carrefour selling d450 1699
Senheng selling d451 1699 too.

So any idea?

momuchi
post Aug 8 2011, 04:21 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Aug 8 2011, 04:08 PM)

plan to grab it carrefour selling d450 1699
Senheng selling d451 1699 too.

So any idea?
someone selling here @ RM1480.00 better get D451..
taxidoor
post Aug 8 2011, 05:56 PM

1,008 posts

Can't I'm not from kl, transportation fee does cover d
sphiroth
post Aug 8 2011, 07:07 PM

2,804 posts

My friend just bought one for rm1.6k at b.p., johore.
taxidoor
post Aug 8 2011, 07:15 PM

1,008 posts

I also just bought for 1599 at Senheng. D451
momuchi
post Aug 8 2011, 10:48 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Aug 8 2011, 07:15 PM)
I also just bought for 1599 at Senheng. D451
but i`m just thinking want buy LG42PT350, cause this one can play movie via External HDD,
i read manual D451 only can play via usb drive but cannot via external HDD it`s true???
sphiroth
post Aug 8 2011, 10:50 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(momuchi @ Aug 8 2011, 10:48 PM)
but i`m just thinking want buy LG42PT350, cause this one can play movie via External HDD,
i read manual D451 only can play via usb drive but cannot via external HDD it`s true???
Works fine with my 1tb wd element ext hdd. nod.gif
momuchi
post Aug 8 2011, 11:37 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Aug 8 2011, 10:50 PM)
Works fine with my 1tb wd element ext hdd. nod.gif
sure ah?
sphiroth
post Aug 9 2011, 05:10 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(momuchi @ Aug 8 2011, 11:37 PM)
sure ah?
Sure. 2 of my friend also got no problem with ext hdd.
momuchi
post Aug 9 2011, 07:38 AM

1,065 posts

may i test with 2010 model (C451) that cannot play ext hdd..
wezeer
post Aug 9 2011, 08:29 AM

34 posts

me too no problem with sata/ide external hdd..
sphiroth
post Aug 9 2011, 10:23 AM

2,804 posts

Yours ext hdd usb powered? Mine ext hdd is the type with power supply.
wezeer
post Aug 9 2011, 10:37 AM

34 posts

mine..both no issues..
digir
post Aug 9 2011, 12:00 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Aug 8 2011, 04:08 PM)

So any idea?
Both models are same actually.

D451 has 'Blue' shade on the bottom of the TV frame

while..

the D450 has all 'Black' colour frame.
taxidoor
post Aug 9 2011, 12:46 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(digir @ Aug 9 2011, 12:00 PM)
Both models are same actually.

D451 has 'Blue' shade on the bottom of the TV frame

while..

the D450 has all 'Black' colour frame.
Oic, spec no difference only design colour.

Do I need to upgrade firmware? So hard to find information in samsung website for information.
digir
post Aug 9 2011, 06:01 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Aug 9 2011, 12:46 PM)
Oic, spec no difference only design colour.

Do I need to upgrade firmware? So hard to find information in samsung website for information.
This model is very new. I think it is running the latest firmware.

If you talk about built-in media playability, I think Samsung is the best compared to other brand.

sphiroth
post Aug 9 2011, 07:57 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(digir @ Aug 9 2011, 06:01 PM)
This model is very new. I think it is running the latest firmware.

If you talk about built-in media playability, I think Samsung is the best compared to other brand.
But some file still cannot play (codec error) and embedded subtitle didn't work most of the time. I'm getting eaget media player because of this.
momuchi
post Aug 9 2011, 08:01 PM

1,065 posts

PS43D451A3 Firmware V1019.0 07/2011
taxidoor
post Aug 9 2011, 09:03 PM

1,008 posts

Try alot mkv files with subtitle all work nicely. Just having ratio problem down too many different ratio. Also subtitle files name cannot too long if not no work.
areankim
post Aug 12 2011, 09:17 AM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

if it's not MKV files, how to load the subtitles?
how to make subtitles work?

rename same as the main file?

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:18 am
QUOTE(momuchi @ Aug 9 2011, 08:01 PM)
where u got this bro?
what are the enhancement?

This post has been edited by areankim: Aug 12 2011, 09:18 AM
sphiroth
post Aug 12 2011, 09:31 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Aug 12 2011, 09:17 AM)

Yes. nod.gif
taxidoor
post Aug 12 2011, 11:06 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Aug 12 2011, 09:31 AM)
Yes. nod.gif
subtitle file name same as movie files name
momuchi
post Aug 12 2011, 12:23 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Aug 12 2011, 09:17 AM)

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:18 am

where u got this bro?
what are the enhancement?
FROM SAMSUNG WEBSITE..
areankim
post Aug 15 2011, 04:31 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

i only saw 450 from malaysia website.
u upgraded bro? anynew stuff?
ssmuhd84
post Sep 5 2011, 12:21 PM

60 posts

Guys,
I also bought this model last week from BGC Electrical, Setapak blush.gif
However, when watched sport channel (especially Football/soccer) using normal astro..the picture quality is not so good.
Did you faced same problem?

Have anyone upgrade to Beyond? Is it the picture quality is better compared to normal astro after installation?
Plan to upgrade to Beyond blush.gif

This post has been edited by ssmuhd84: Sep 6 2011, 02:37 PM
ajasroma
post Sep 16 2011, 09:02 PM

Already 2 months bought this model, so far the best for the price....

New Firmware 2nd September, click link below

http://www.samsung.com/my/support/detail/s...word=PS43D451A3
ivankwk
post Oct 14 2011, 09:54 AM

hi all,

i have bought the PS43D451 yesterday and I was wondering does anyone know how to get into the service menu to see how long the plasma panel has been used.

Cheers,

Ivan
fourzee
post Oct 14 2011, 05:08 PM

388 posts

D451 sellin for rm 1399 at CSH Kulim ..
annoymous1234
post Oct 29 2011, 09:38 PM

7,617 posts

just got this tv from senheng
can anyone share what are the settings they use for astro SD?
i find that its too dark at certain point.. like a person skin tone is really dark. tried to up the brightness but like no difference?
jasonhor
post Oct 30 2011, 03:09 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Oct 29 2011, 09:38 PM)
just got this tv from senheng
can anyone share what are the settings they use for astro SD?
i find that its too dark at certain point.. like a person skin tone is really dark. tried to up the brightness but like no difference?
How much senheng sell?
Mihawk7
post Oct 30 2011, 03:52 PM

943 posts

RM1899 i think
annoymous1234
post Oct 30 2011, 06:47 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Oct 30 2011, 03:52 PM)
RM1899 i think
yes. but members get rm1399 icon_idea.gif
iamsobloodysick
post Oct 31 2011, 09:50 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Oct 30 2011, 06:47 PM)
yes. but members get rm1399  icon_idea.gif
Lyn here sells Rm1299.
47ronin
post Oct 31 2011, 10:46 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Oct 30 2011, 06:47 PM)
yes. but members get rm1399  icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Oct 31 2011, 09:50 AM)
Lyn here sells Rm1299.
100 diff for paying overhead cost, shop rental, salesman commission, ok la.

This post has been edited by 47ronin: Oct 31 2011, 10:47 AM
areankim
post Oct 31 2011, 04:57 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

anyone update the 21 Sept update firmware?
Mihawk7
post Oct 31 2011, 05:08 PM

943 posts

Wah why price soo different??

iamsobloodysick
post Oct 31 2011, 05:27 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(47ronin @ Oct 31 2011, 10:46 AM)
100 diff for paying overhead cost, shop rental, salesman commission, ok la.
Own collection is Rm1250.

So, Rm150 extra is acceptable.
Mihawk7
post Nov 1 2011, 07:31 PM

943 posts

Found RM1459 just now. Should i get it?
iamsobloodysick
post Nov 2 2011, 12:44 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Nov 1 2011, 07:31 PM)
Found RM1459 just now. Should i get it?
Rm1459 with extended warranty not?
efanana
post Nov 2 2011, 05:06 AM

got mine for 1530. 5 years warranty. but anyone can help me with this 43 inch plasma setting for xbox 360? i set 1080p for my xbox, tapi gambar x lawa laaa. hmmm. sad.gif

Added on November 2, 2011, 5:07 amp.s. sometimes feels like wanna sale it back. bought this tv just to play fifa 12 on xbox 360. hmm.

This post has been edited by efanana: Nov 2 2011, 05:07 AM
47ronin
post Nov 2 2011, 06:21 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(efanana @ Nov 2 2011, 05:06 AM)
got mine for 1530. 5 years warranty. but anyone can help me with this 43 inch plasma setting for xbox 360? i set 1080p for my xbox, tapi gambar x lawa laaa. hmmm. sad.gif

Added on November 2, 2011, 5:07 amp.s. sometimes feels like wanna sale it back. bought this tv just to play fifa 12 on xbox 360. hmm.
plasma i snot comparable to lcd/led right?

borneo
post Nov 2 2011, 02:53 PM

316 posts

Bought this last saturday... received 2 days ago.

Price is RM1,349 from SenQ with extra 1 year warranty(2+1) & free delivery
Used Amex to pay bcos can collect points laugh.gif

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Oct 31 2011, 05:27 PM)
Yup... you are the cheapest in the market now biggrin.gif
But your thread is hard to find....
No 'samsung' in your topic title & your model is listed as 43D451.
I searched PS43D451 cant find your thread hmm.gif

efanana
post Nov 3 2011, 07:18 AM

QUOTE(47ronin @ Nov 2 2011, 06:21 AM)
plasma i snot comparable to lcd/led right?
comparable but then the picture is not perfect. anyone can help me? think i wanna sale it back. superb for astro beyond, but rubish for xbox 360 especially fifa 12.
zavier98
post Nov 4 2011, 10:27 AM

176 posts

Guys any idea what is the cheapest price i can get for Samsung Plasma PS51D550 51" Series5 3D capable Full HD
efanana
post Nov 5 2011, 03:30 AM

anyone want to buy my PS43D451? 5 year warranty.
Enzam
post Nov 6 2011, 06:48 AM

169 posts

Can find detail about this plasma tv at samsung africa web site
http://www.samsung.com/africa_en/consumer/...ail&tab=feature

This post has been edited by Enzam: Nov 6 2011, 06:51 AM
well
post Nov 7 2011, 06:39 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(zavier98 @ Nov 4 2011, 11:27 AM)
Guys any idea what is the cheapest price i can get for Samsung Plasma PS51D550 51" Series5 3D capable Full HD
i just got it at rm3150 with 2 pair glasses, as an entry level full hd tv, its working excellent for me
csn
post Nov 7 2011, 09:57 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Oct 31 2011, 05:27 PM)

where is you location?best price?
fishnett
post Nov 9 2011, 04:56 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(csn @ Nov 7 2011, 09:57 AM)
where is you location?best  price?

Bro....I need one too.. biggrin.gif

iamsobloodysick
post Nov 10 2011, 09:34 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(csn @ Nov 7 2011, 09:57 AM)
where is you location?best  price?
Location in kajang.

Last price at Rm1250.
fishnett
post Nov 11 2011, 01:15 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 10 2011, 09:34 AM)
Location in kajang.

Last price at Rm1250.
bro jam..pm me your cont no....TQ nod.gif
kazibul
post Nov 11 2011, 01:50 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(efanana @ Nov 5 2011, 03:30 AM)
anyone want to buy my PS43D451? 5 year warranty.
why want to sell it? study oversea?
feisal69
post Nov 13 2011, 01:20 AM

QUOTE(zavier98 @ Nov 4 2011, 10:27 AM)
Bought PS51D550 51 ar RM2999 with 2 3D spec, so far im happy with it
contestchris
post Nov 20 2011, 04:40 PM

5,559 posts

Courts selling this for RM700 now....till the end of the year only!!

Link: http://www.courts.com.my/html/promotion/ca...rendsale_01.jpg
kazibul
post Nov 20 2011, 05:52 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Nov 20 2011, 04:40 PM)
Courts selling this for RM700 now....till the end of the year only!!

Link: http://www.courts.com.my/html/promotion/ca...rendsale_01.jpg
aiyooo...that courts cheat one la...thats price u must hutang with them..then after calculate the total u can buy 3 unit this model...if u cannot pay the monthly installlment the they will see u in court...thats why their name is COURTS MAMMOTH....
contestchris
post Nov 20 2011, 08:07 PM

5,559 posts

@kazibul, what you mean? I can pay upfront right..? RM700 is very very good I'd say...considering the product has to be genuine since it's sold by courts.
sphiroth
post Nov 20 2011, 08:32 PM

2,804 posts

Usually that price is only valid through their credit payment, and as pointed out by kazibul, you will end up paying more. And the payment is in week, not month. If month you only pay 12 times per year but week is 52, which when divide by 4 (d week per month) is 13. So you are paying 1 more month extra than other ez pay system.
mbj78
post Nov 20 2011, 08:44 PM

211 posts

Early of this month, I bought the same model from SenQ AOEN Seberang Perai City, first superb when view with Astro SD and best of all is the price. On top of that, I can play my almost ALL download movies FORMAT..

SenQ retail price is RM1599, discounted Rm200 (senQ members card) - Rm50 (promotion of ? cannot remember)

Last price is RM1349 pay using Maybank AMEX card 2 card another Treatpoint receive (X5 = 6000++treatpoint). 1 + 2 year warranty.

This post has been edited by mbj78: Nov 20 2011, 08:46 PM
contestchris
post Nov 20 2011, 09:25 PM

5,559 posts

Can someone please explain the credit system at courts...I'm pretty dumbfounded. TQ
kazibul
post Nov 21 2011, 07:59 AM

188 posts

better u go the court yourself and see how the salesman calculate it for u...but my advise don buy product at court using their credit payment scheme...for cash its ok...
biskut123
post Nov 28 2011, 02:04 AM

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 10 2011, 10:34 AM)
Location in kajang.

Last price at Rm1250.
kajang in which area bro..
iamsobloodysick
post Nov 28 2011, 09:44 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(biskut123 @ Nov 28 2011, 02:04 AM)
kajang in which area bro..
Jalan reko. Near to the big Indian temple.
biskut123
post Nov 28 2011, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 28 2011, 10:44 AM)
Oo..is that miedah electrict? Pm me ur cont.no

alexloon
post Dec 10 2011, 02:31 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 28 2011, 09:44 AM)
I know that shop, and i'm surprise cause usually this shop is much expansive than the one in Kajang Town same row with Public bank. Means i should check it out there too ~~! haha

I did check it out this unit yesterday, Movie is good enough and also play 1TB external HDD/Support most type of formats.

As for console game, i don't think it can perform like what they should in 1080P tv.. really too bad it less than 720p. Cause i sit near near while playing FPS games. I guess tht's why Big screen for.... biggrin.gif
sphiroth
post Dec 10 2011, 04:27 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(alexloon @ Dec 10 2011, 02:31 PM)
I know that shop, and i'm surprise cause usually this shop is much expansive than the one in Kajang Town same row with Public bank. Means i should check it out there too ~~! haha

I did check it out this unit yesterday, Movie is good enough and also play 1TB external HDD/Support most type of formats.

As for console game, i don't think it can perform like what they should in 1080P tv.. really too bad it less than 720p. Cause i sit near near while playing FPS games. I guess tht's why Big screen for.... biggrin.gif
I'm using it for ps3, no problem. Since most ps3 games native resolution is 720p only.
jasonhor
post Dec 11 2011, 10:09 PM

210 posts

Does this tv have s-video input?

Added on December 12, 2011, 9:55 pmBought this tv at senheng, redemption with point, add another rm1199. Great deal I think.

This post has been edited by jasonhor: Dec 12 2011, 09:55 PM
Hanna Haniff
post Jan 5 2012, 09:45 AM

55 posts

i saw an advertisement selling this PS43D451 (Series 4) for RM1350.
should i buy this one or get the full hd lcd?the price is almost the same.
please advise

This post has been edited by Hanna Haniff: Jan 5 2012, 09:48 AM

rezarazu
post Jan 6 2012, 12:29 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(Hanna Haniff @ Jan 5 2012, 09:45 AM)
i saw an advertisement selling this PS43D451 (Series 4) for RM1350.
should i buy this one or get the full hd lcd?the price is almost the same.
please advise
go to hlk, now got promotion rm1299 for PS43D451 (Series 4) & also LG 42pt350R.. thumbup.gif
cengkoi
post Jan 17 2012, 02:00 PM

129 posts

how to upgrade the firmware? just plug in usb?
cooldownguy86
post Jan 20 2012, 01:19 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(rezarazu @ Jan 6 2012, 12:29 PM)
go to hlk, now got promotion rm1299 for PS43D451 (Series 4) & also LG 42pt350R..  thumbup.gif
price quoted on hlk website is rm1399?
rezarazu
post Jan 20 2012, 04:29 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(cooldownguy86 @ Jan 20 2012, 01:19 PM)
price quoted on hlk website is rm1399?
u still can nego until rm1250.. my fren just bought it last week with this price.. thumbup.gif
cooldownguy86
post Jan 20 2012, 04:59 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(rezarazu @ Jan 20 2012, 04:29 PM)
u still can nego until rm1250.. my fren just bought it last week with this price..  thumbup.gif
wah.... hlk in puchong? must go check it out liao...
rezarazu
post Jan 21 2012, 11:15 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(cooldownguy86 @ Jan 20 2012, 04:59 PM)
wah.... hlk in puchong? must go check it out liao...
no laa.. i went to hlk kajang, opposite courts & stadium kajang.. that time, they sell LG42pt350r plasma & samsung ps43d451 with same price, rm1299.. then i choose LG42pt350r at rm1250 after comparing both of 'em aorund 3 hours.. i did test everything on both model until d salesman tarik muka edy.. laugh.gif
Mea Culpa
post Jan 21 2012, 11:52 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(rezarazu @ Jan 21 2012, 11:15 AM)
no laa.. i went to hlk kajang, opposite courts & stadium kajang.. that time, they sell LG42pt350r plasma & samsung ps43d451 with same price, rm1299.. then i choose LG42pt350r at rm1250 after comparing both of 'em aorund 3 hours.. i did test everything on both model until d salesman tarik muka edy..  laugh.gif
LOL 3 hours? but hey... they're getting paid to serve customers, its their job.

Hanna Haniff
post Mar 7 2012, 05:04 PM

55 posts

Received my Sammy PS51E490 3D yesterday.
Currently doing the break in process.
Good looking design, huge and reasonable price!
Will review the picture quality after done with the break in!

TQ

phunkydude
post Mar 8 2012, 10:11 AM

2,403 posts

^how much you got yours?

Bought the 2011 model ps51d491 yesterday.
Hanna Haniff
post Mar 8 2012, 10:43 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Mar 8 2012, 10:11 AM)
^how much you got yours?

Bought the 2011 model ps51d491 yesterday.

RM2250,but without the 3d glasses.
i am not really interested to watch the 3d movies. 3d made me a bit dizzy rclxub.gif hehe
how much u bought yours?

phunkydude
post Mar 8 2012, 11:08 PM

2,403 posts

^wah so cheap!

Bought mine at RM2460 with two 3d glasses and extra 1yr warranty.
Didn't know can separate the 3d glasses, not using the 3d as well ><"
Hanna Haniff
post Mar 8 2012, 11:25 PM

55 posts

i think u got yours at a good price also!
1 pair of the glass cost about +/- RM130
u got it two pair,plus 1 extra years warranty.
its still sound a good price bro! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Hanna Haniff: Mar 8 2012, 11:27 PM
goldironman
post Mar 9 2012, 03:19 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Hanna Haniff @ Mar 8 2012, 10:43 PM)

RM2250,but without the 3d glasses.
i am not really interested to watch the 3d movies. 3d made me a bit dizzy  rclxub.gif  hehe
how much u bought yours?

That is super cheap for a 51' plasma TV 3D.

I am surveying the latest model of a non-3D Samsung plasma PS51E451. Its RRP is RM2700. The best price I can get is currently RM2300.

Does anyone know where in Penang or northern region I can beat this price? What is the current best price for the older model PS51D451? Thanks.

Added on March 9, 2012, 3:49 pm
QUOTE(contestchris @ Nov 20 2011, 09:25 PM)
Can someone please explain the credit system at courts...I'm pretty dumbfounded. TQ
dont touch the the credit system no matter how desperate you are.
the interest rate is HUGE and rip-off!

This post has been edited by goldironman: Mar 9 2012, 03:49 PM
alesi616
post Mar 9 2012, 03:58 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(goldironman @ Mar 9 2012, 03:19 PM)
That is super cheap for a 51' plasma TV 3D.

I am surveying the latest model of a non-3D Samsung plasma PS51E451. Its RRP is RM2700. The best price I can get is currently RM2300.

Does anyone know where in Penang or northern region I can beat this price?  What is the current best price for the older model PS51D451? Thanks.

Added on March 9, 2012, 3:49 pm

dont touch the the credit system no matter how desperate you are.
the interest rate is HUGE and rip-off!
bro,

is the latest model called PS51E451? so it will replace the older model PS51D451 ? what is the added feature inside? is it now full HD, or still HD ?
goldironman
post Mar 9 2012, 05:47 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Mar 9 2012, 03:58 PM)
bro,

is the latest model called PS51E451? so it will replace the older model PS51D451 ? what is the added feature inside? is it now full HD, or still HD ?
Yes.
Yes.
I dont have the spec to verify. Even Sammy website, see here dont have the details. However, salesman said only cosmetic change (Color: Charcoal Black Gradation)
Resolution remains the same i.e. 1024 x 768.
Angelodeath
post Mar 9 2012, 05:55 PM

128 posts

anyone saw this new model samsung 43E470? any comments?
rushoe
post Mar 23 2012, 10:55 PM

96 posts

I am planing to subscribe for astro full HD channel.... I know this tv is not full HD, but it still can support astro HD channel right? just the quality is not full HD... can anyone confirm?
kga
post Mar 24 2012, 12:47 AM

33 posts

you'll see 720p HD quality.....
rushoe
post Mar 25 2012, 01:41 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(kga @ Mar 24 2012, 12:47 AM)
you'll see 720p HD quality.....
ok thanks
sphiroth
post Mar 30 2012, 10:33 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(rushoe @ Mar 23 2012, 10:55 PM)
I am planing to subscribe for astro full HD channel.... I know this tv is not full HD, but it still can support astro HD channel right? just the quality is not full HD... can anyone confirm?
Astro HD also 720p, so no problem.

BTW, anyone here wall mount your PS43D451? I wanted to know whether can use those bracket for 42" TV (since ours is 43").
hilmims
post Oct 9 2012, 12:08 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Mar 30 2012, 10:33 PM)
Astro HD also 720p, so no problem.

BTW, anyone here wall mount your PS43D451? I wanted to know whether can use those bracket for 42" TV (since ours is 43").
Me also wanna to know plan to buy bracket tomorrow

0.1088sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:45 PM