5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

salimbest83
post Jul 3 2011, 04:06 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 3 2011, 02:26 PM)
SE xperia x10
not really great one

Added on July 3, 2011, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(BenSow @ Jul 3 2011, 04:00 PM)
may i know what androids are within the range of rm800-rm1.2k?
the only one i can suggest rite now is MotoDefy®
high res 3.7LCD, big internal memory, good battery life,
not bad camera.

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 3 2011, 04:07 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 3 2011, 05:12 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jul 3 2011, 04:12 PM)
x10 has the same reso. Defy has a slower processor clocked at 800mhz. Battery life wise, they should be about the same even though Defy's battery is 40mah larger. x10's camera is MUCH better than Defy.

Added on July 3, 2011, 4:13 pm
For a cheaper alternative, Huawei X5 at RM8xx including a branded casing. X10 at RM10xx with a better camera, faster processor(but slower GPU).
erm.. sory..
i mean pict quality on x10 is soo low..
with its 65k vs 16M display.
( u will know waht i mean if u ever play with low bit display)
and TI 800MHz proc is superbly fast on Defy.
try it and u will know .

just compare here..
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...4&idPhone2=3514

Added on July 3, 2011, 5:14 pmfor huawei x5, cant really suggest coz its speaker is below average.
camera 5M also just average one..
seriously. u hate when ur phone on full volume also feel like only half volume.

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 3 2011, 05:14 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 5 2011, 10:07 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(siuyehzai @ Jul 5 2011, 03:42 AM)
may i know samsung galaxy SL and Huawei X5, which 1 is better? In term of smooth and sensitivity... may play some games also, so does the GPU for SL really worse compare to X5 while playing game?
try moto defy.. wont regret.

salimbest83
post Jul 6 2011, 10:17 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(takoWALIAO @ Jul 6 2011, 09:17 PM)
Android Phone Sifus, can you help me make sure I make the right choice?

I am inclined to get a Samsung Galaxy S, but I have an open mind for a HTC Desire S.
Several people have recommended getting the Samsung, but I just want to make sure. So, should I go for the Samsung?
Desire S is the better one
salimbest83
post Jul 6 2011, 11:25 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(takoWALIAO @ Jul 6 2011, 10:26 PM)
^^ My choice was from quality by price, and I'm a serious noob at tweaking for rom and etc. Is it seriously that bad? If so, in what way?
here we go..

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...6&idPhone2=3115
spec wise, Galaxy S wins..
salimbest83
post Jul 6 2011, 11:30 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(41LY45 @ Jul 6 2011, 11:27 PM)
Lags like hell, GPS hancuss.. That's about it.

With tweaks, It goes Warp speed.
yeap. its like ur ferrari engine inside, but u put 10tonne timber and ask that car to pull lo.
once u remove that timber (aka bloatware inside ur phone..voila.. its fly)
salimbest83
post Jul 7 2011, 06:43 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(John6 @ Jul 7 2011, 06:10 PM)
How bout x10? It has 4" screen, but is the development ok? Got much custom roms for X10? Thanks...
low details 65k screen.. choose others..

Added on July 7, 2011, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jul 7 2011, 06:07 PM)
Try HTC Desire. second hand ones though.
no.. wil regret getting it later

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 7 2011, 06:44 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 7 2011, 06:59 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jul 7 2011, 06:55 PM)
Screen's display colour isn't really that important. Tell me. Can you distinguish 16 million different colours? Custom roms are abundant. its an okay phone overall with a good camera. you can go for that too. i suggested the HTC Desire because of the superior build quality.
If you want to state your point, provide some facts. what do you mean by he'll regret? Why will he regret? doh.gif.
wtih HTC desire, u wil be hinder by that low 140MB internal memory. that wil always display memory full after just 10-15 apps.

Added on July 7, 2011, 7:02 pm
QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jul 7 2011, 06:59 PM)
wtih HTC desire, u wil be hinder by that low 140MB internal memory. that wil always display memory full after just 10-15 apps.
and pls target at least 1GB "user available" internal memory, not 1GB total internal memory

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 7 2011, 07:02 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 8 2011, 11:32 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(ChinJB7623 @ Jul 8 2011, 11:14 AM)
So is it meant that Sony Ericsson X10 is the most best of bucks phone for RM1000 range? Still upgradeabe to Andriod 2.3 is already an advantage, but dunno the performance only yet due to not yet released officially... rclxub.gif

Currently what i found out that some users of X10 said they face lagging issues with the current android... what i wonder is after upgrading to 2.3, can it support or not? Caused every upgrade takes more cpu usage and usually cause the phone performance to be slower...

And some suggest me Samsung Ace or top up more th get Galaxy S at 1299, so galaxy S is out of my budget and wont getting it...
Anyway want to know the performance betwwen these 2 phones with X10... Any ideas? hmm.gif
this one is one of the best
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry43675857
good screen,nice sound speaker which a bit problem with x10, not bad 5M camera (pls be sure to get RED LENSE one if can), fast TI OMAP cpu, ( 800Mhz vs 1GHz ..not much different) no lagging at all
thats for new one. 2nd can get below 900

Added on July 8, 2011, 11:34 amnot to mention this defy can handle lots of beating.
i don really i care if dropping it

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 8 2011, 11:34 AM
salimbest83
post Jul 8 2011, 05:14 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(talzer @ Jul 8 2011, 03:56 PM)
hey which one worth getting, X8 or galaxy mini?

i'm new in android, just wan a starter phone that have good android performance, clear screen and better camera output.

thanks!~
both not worthy.. seriously.
i played with both. even that all new HTC Wildfire S

even that cheap spice Mi300 (own this one too..but missing already sad.gif ) will beat the crap out of that 2.
seriously.

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 8 2011, 05:15 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 8 2011, 05:17 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

lower res screen and smaller LCD, all 3 not support flash. almost same spec but spice much2 better as entry level android experience.

salimbest83
post Jul 8 2011, 05:23 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

pls take a look here.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1859602

Added on July 8, 2011, 6:18 pm
QUOTE(talzer @ Jul 8 2011, 05:21 PM)
so if need a better one need raise budget?

mine only RM700 looking for a beginner android phone smile.gif
as for beginner, i cant say much.
JUST GO FOR SPICE Mi300
its spice mi300 coz other beginner android below 900 is just almost same usage.
no flash support also. ( browsing not that pleasant without flash)

then the next phone i can suggest is Motorola Defy® (got mine @RM880 ).(however, Ideos X5 can get @RM800-850, with a bit low camera quality, and low speaker volume..i still choose Defy® )
coz at its pricing. almost nothing cant beat it.. same as Spice Mi300.

yeah.. my decision mostly made of "best bang for the buck". with comparable spec
not branding....and that Spice is not like others CSL.. its from other league alltogether.
this should sum it up

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 8 2011, 06:19 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 8 2011, 11:06 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(helo @ Jul 8 2011, 12:51 PM)
budget;rm1.5k or less
i want
great camera (really emphasize on this) , no lag, do not need to root or flash, good battery life, great gps (pre-loaded with map, do not need gps fix - i hate my galaxy s which needs 2-3mins to lock a position), thin and light~

htc incredible s fulfill the above?
Camera.
almost all below 1.5k 1st gen android phone only have so so camera..
even my Defy® 5M is losing to Desire® 5M
not sure bout one from Samsung and other models.
some say X10® camera is good.. but suggest u avoid it.. including Desire®

Lag..
the most lagging one must me that one with low ram. (below 512MB i must say)
since most phone 1.5k lvl except that overated ARC
2nd is user interface, i can say HTC is the one successfully made Sense® not lagging like other maker.

No Root/Flash
go iPhone lor.. jk
Android wil always pull u to the dark side..
my Defy® and Spice® only last me 1 day on stock ROM..
Custom rom is soo much faster and nicer.

Battery Life.
not sure bout latest model.
GSMArena might help.
Android phone supposedly drinking ur battery more than iphone.
(none can last 24h on 3G, but on moderate use wifi , my 1Ghz OC Defy® can handle 1 working day and its rated lower batt life than Galaxy S )

GPS
"PAPAGO X5 for Android" is nice.( paid or ahems also got).just google that 4 words
Latest map can update monthly from MalfreeMaps.
AURA GPS also nice.. but no ahems for now.. i think.
even Google Maps also can download offline maps already..
my Defy locking under 1min
my spice locking damm fast. 30sec COLD..

thin & light..
seem like Galaxy S2 wins.. drool.gif drool.gif
overbudget though

salimbest83
post Jul 9 2011, 12:28 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 9 2011, 09:35 AM)
Any recommendation between LG Optimus One P500 and Samsung Galaxy Mini S5570?
Galaxy Mini is a NO NO.. stay away if u wanna use and feel an android phone
as for Optimus One.. No Flash for RM8xx phone is just dont cut it.
but spec wise...if u really choose to take Optimus One
i suggest u just take Spice Mi300@RM4xx(exactly same spec as this motorola Xt5)
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...6&idPhone2=3522

Added on July 9, 2011, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(akash3656 @ Jul 8 2011, 12:02 PM)

Huawei Ideos X5?
RM~800-900?????? better than Ace.... and dare I say X10
yups,, beat the crap out of those Ace, Optimus One, Galaxy 3,5, Xperias
a much better choice i dare say

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 9 2011, 12:31 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 9 2011, 01:53 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(Gh-x @ Jul 9 2011, 01:03 PM)
hi guys i am looking for the cheapest android.
i need to install skype on it and send it oversea to my relative as call on skype using data is cheaper than direct call.
Spice Mi300.
RM 399-4xx.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1859602

Added on July 9, 2011, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(Kelrys @ Jul 9 2011, 01:06 PM)
htc wildfire s
@10xx price..@low spec..
its low res LCD is worse than the cheapest android here.

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 9 2011, 01:55 PM
salimbest83
post Jul 9 2011, 06:34 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jul 9 2011, 02:41 PM)
Would like to ask. Many recommended Huawei ideos x 5 over Samsung galaxy ace hands down. But how does ideosx5 beat ace?

1)Ideos screen size bigger than ace.
2)processor and chipset a little bit newer but same speed.
3)3G support up to 14.4 Mbps.
4)Adobe Flash 10.1(What's the use of this? for flash gaming and youtube streaming?)

But Samsung ace has its advantages as well, plus the price now is only rm 800

1)Samsung the brand itself.
2)Gorilla Glass display.

What else to be compared?

TQ.
hi bro..

Screen size is 1 point. screen resolution is another one.
u can feel how much its jump from even Wildfire to Spice Mi300@ less than half its price.( the different is quite huge)
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...1&idPhone2=3337
just try use ur fren or test drive at shop for a while

as for proc speed, u cant compare directly like tat.
its like comparing 3Ghz i3 vs 3Ghz C2D.. same speed but different performance
and X5 got better (read faster) GPU and newer CPU tech

3G speed is naahh... dun care.. its like ur proton 1.3 car put spedometer top at 400km/h ..
who care if u wont ever reach that speed ever..

Gorilla Glass..
yeah. its tough.. scratch resistance.. but NOT SCRATCH PROOF (it stil can scratch and break bro)
u still wan put Screen Protector on it..
same as most android user out there. (me too)

Flash..
u will hate it if its not there when browsing..
ex .. opening ur fren FB, then wanna play their newly posted video..
U cant!!

Brand.. not all brand is low quality bro.
even my Spice is well known as hard as old Nokias.
sometime when ur brand is more well known u will charge more even on same price hardware.

yeah..here some diff u can see.

salimbest83
post Jul 9 2011, 06:45 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jul 9 2011, 06:35 PM)
salimbest why are you pushing Defy so hardly? doh.gif. Don't recommend a phone just because you like it. Recommend it because it fits their need.
GPU in X5 is faster than the one in Ace.

Build quality is better for X5.

Adobe Flash 10.3 for full browser experience(same as your desktop with no restrictions)

X5 has a Much higher resolution at WVGA(800x480) VS HVGA(480x320). Very drastic difference
Specs wise, Atrix. What do you need. Please don't just throw three phones out and ask us choose. We need to know what you need. But O2x is definitely out due to its issues.
Same as my above. Tell us what you need.
X10 has no problems. Its a dual touch phone. Defy runs on Cortex A8 with a clock speed of 800mhz with Adreno 200.

Also, coupled with a better camera, X10 is the better choice definitely.

If you're doing gaming however, its wise to go for the Huawei X5 for the better GPU.

Pros wise, the few that are on top of my head now is the higher resolution FWVGA(854x480), the durability + shock/water/dust proof, and the build quality. Other than that, nothing is really special. Also, the original motoblur is as shitty as the timescape in X10.
yeap.. nothing personal.. tongue.gif
just comparing with current pricing @ garage sales.
and since X5 vs Defy, (both can get around 8xx)
i honestly wanna change to X5 for better spec
but after some review ( Full volume is a bit low for me, and camera less favorable)
as for heavy duty phone.. Defy earn one point there.. (yeah i throw it alot actually, with silicon case lo)

YUP.. Motoblur® is SUCKS>>>> remove it after 15 hours

Added on July 9, 2011, 7:06 pmsome review for X5
http://reviews.cnet.com/smartphones/huawei...tml#reviewPage1

http://www.itp.net/585056-huawei-u8800-ideos-x5

Added on July 10, 2011, 7:19 amthis one review is quite awesome..
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4483/motorol...-x-with-tegra-2

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 10 2011, 07:19 AM
salimbest83
post Jul 10 2011, 09:42 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(dododol @ Jul 10 2011, 08:20 AM)
hi...

now i'm looking for 2nd android phone..
now using samsung g5
any suggestion for android phone that similar with my samsung g5...
its should not too expensive compare to my g5.....
specs same as my g5 or more better...

now think about CSL Mi300
and....finally can Mod/flashing
not much to suggest if u come from G5.
Mi300 is quite nice upgrade for u.
higher res and bigger LCD.
and nice ROM developers too.
and few reporting that can get as low as RM399 new set
normal price now at my area is RM499 with premium pack and 4GB card
salimbest83
post Jul 10 2011, 10:37 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 10 2011, 10:30 AM)
Thinking of getting the Acer Liquid mt.  Is it a better alternative to the Ideos X5? hmm.gif I'm planning to play games on it.
i think x5 wins
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...9&idPhone2=3596
salimbest83
post Jul 10 2011, 12:55 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,639 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 10 2011, 11:18 AM)
But it seems the same right? The liquid MT actually has multitouch though.
yeap. not sure bout that.
any custom rom that fixed that?
im just have bad exp with low internal memory like HTC Desire.
u cant live with it if stick with stock ROM.
always give memory low warning even after couple of apps installed.
as for gaming im not sure but better be safe to get higher internal memory if can.
or see if ur 'next phone' got developer support@ XDA..

Added on July 10, 2011, 1:01 pm
QUOTE(objectretrieval @ Jul 10 2011, 12:13 PM)
Hi, guys. I was looking for a budget android for a noob and considered the Huawei Ideos X5, albeit it being RM200 over my budget. Overall, the phone is great. But I opted for Huawei Sonic U8650 because the touchscreen of Ideos X5 is not as responsive as I would like it to be. Is this normal? Or did I test drive a bad unit?
spec wise.. almost same as Spice Mi300
http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&id=2980...wei_sonic_u8650
but with nicer and more elegance design
its still using ARMv6 (same as spice)
and abit low 256MB for extra background apps like ebuddy, whatsup and YM.
my spice only got around 3x-4xMB left if running these apps.
and that with custom Phantom ROM already.
stock ROM is worse.

Added on July 10, 2011, 1:04 pmupdate..
cant find Acer Liquid MT at XDA

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jul 10 2011, 01:04 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:45 AM