7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Android Phone Recommendation thread v2, Confused? Torn between two phones?

adrianccseng
post Jun 6 2011, 03:51 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(giamgiamgg @ Jun 6 2011, 12:03 AM)
Thanks !
but can i know why? X10 is using 1.6 Donut, while W8 using 2.1 Eclair.
im a newbie in Android~ sweat.gif
did you do some research?
X10 is upgradeable to 2.1
2.3 is coming soon & lots of custom ROM waiting for you wink.gif

else i would recommend the Huawei IDEOS X5 @ 8xx ori
u get a phone preloaded with 2.2+full flash support, 3.8" WVGA screen, Desire Z processor thumbup.gif

Added on June 6, 2011, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(ciwek90 @ Jun 6 2011, 01:47 AM)
Hye guys, my friend want to buy android phone so he ask me which is the best for his budget, <1.4k

now he confuse either SAMSUNG GALAXY SL or LG OPTIMUS BLACK?

or any sifu got others recommend?

Thanks!!  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
LG Optimus Black then

slimmer
nova display better than SC LCD

else i would say dun go both & get HTC IS/SGS AP

Added on June 6, 2011, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(Alphonse @ Jun 6 2011, 07:53 AM)
Hmm what is the market price now for Samsung galaxy ace?
please search @ garage sales

btw, its around 850 ori

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 6 2011, 03:54 PM
adrianccseng
post Jun 6 2011, 11:50 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jun 6 2011, 11:37 PM)
Huawei is a Taiwan brand too. If you're gonna buy one in august or september i suggest you wait for Q4 phones which will launch sometime in October or so.
i think is china lah?
Huawei (officially Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.) (simplified Chinese: 华为技术有限公司; traditional Chinese: 華為技術有限公司; pinyin: Huáwei Jìshù Yǒuxiàn Gōngsī) is a multinational networking and telecommunications equipment company headquartered in Shenzhen, Guangdong, People's Republic of China.[3] It is the largest networking and telecommunications equipment supplier in China and the second-largest supplier of mobile telecommunications infrastructure equipment in the world (after Ericsson).[4]

sos cili: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huawei

adrianccseng
post Jun 7 2011, 05:01 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

for me, quite reasonable price o.O
just 1 month old

btw here not place for asking price or not..
can do research @ garage sales
adrianccseng
post Jun 7 2011, 08:50 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jun 7 2011, 06:32 PM)
... megabass suck ... if you are an audiophile ...u wont be using it ...

I have Megabass in my old SE W760i and ... my old sony walkman with a Clear Bass simply knock it out of competition ....(I think my Sony Walkman are 2 year older than my phone ... lol)
u cant compare a dedicated mp3 player against a phone with MP3 FEATURE
adrianccseng
post Jun 8 2011, 02:49 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(raqibzr @ Jun 7 2011, 11:32 PM)
how to root galaxy ace? i try already using "super click one" but it doesn't work. how? :/
go ask at official thread, not here which is just for phone recommendation
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1837179

Added on June 8, 2011, 2:54 am
QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jun 7 2011, 10:15 PM)
So, Ideos x5 is good for surfing? Does it beat nokia 5800?

Btw, what about the cheaper sony ericsson android phone(X8, X6, X10)?

CSL is the cheapest android phone? But i heard CSL quality not so good.

TY
obviously X5 is better, android is well known for the good web surfing experience smile.gif
besides, X5 is capable of full flash support like PC ones while 5800 just ermm..flash lite..

x6? does it even exist @ sony ericsson family? its a symbian Nokia X6 not SE XPERIA X6
X8 is quite ok for low end models
x10 has a pretty decent camera, soon has a 2.3 official update & lots of custom ROM coming to it smile.gif

not depends on brand, is depends on their PRODUCT itself & the specs...
btw, u mean csl mi300? yea its the cheapest android phone so far, only rm499 but specs are quite decent ...

Added on June 8, 2011, 3:08 am
QUOTE(aniyo @ Jun 7 2011, 11:56 PM)
I'm completely new to android phone, have not even tried it out at all.  I was thinking of getting HTC IS (Digi package) or wait for Digi packages for new phones (hopefully SGS2).  But.... who knows when that will be out right?

Is it hard to learn to use android phones?  I mean in terms of tinkering with it's setting, using push mails & browsing.  It's when i see those post on flashing, rom & bricked....that's when i get really confused.

My main concern is push mail & messenger, surf moderately & games/music from time to time.  Basically just to say in touch when I'm not in the office.

Since the 'older' phones (SG S & SL - still not too sure what is the difference between these 2 models) does fulfil my basic requirements.  I could pay less & tried them out first.  I found SGS for RM1.4K at Subang.

But I need experience users input on whether it would be better to just get IS now OR buy older model & upgrade way in the future.
age of it doesn't matter, as long as its specs still rocks thumbup.gif

if you just follow the instructions carefully, you can do it & probably won't brick the phone icon_rolleyes.gif
but you better try out the phone at some phone shops to see whether is it really that difficult as imagined for you... wink.gif

i think you should just get HTC IS/SE Arc, its good out of the box, a nice all rounder phone & no big problem needed to "fix"
unlike sgs which is quite well known for its slow GPS locking, laggy issues etc.

SGSL = a weaker non-Hummingbird CPU, a weaker display (SC-LCD instead of the great Super AMOLED), slightly bulkier than original...
so its a nerfed version of SGS
Hummingbird CPU is among the best for single cores, got pretty good GPU...
Super AMOLED is probably among the best display, SGS2 use a better ones, namely the Super AMOLED Plus

Added on June 8, 2011, 3:08 am
QUOTE(aniyo @ Jun 7 2011, 11:56 PM)
I'm completely new to android phone, have not even tried it out at all.  I was thinking of getting HTC IS (Digi package) or wait for Digi packages for new phones (hopefully SGS2).  But.... who knows when that will be out right?

Is it hard to learn to use android phones?  I mean in terms of tinkering with it's setting, using push mails & browsing.  It's when i see those post on flashing, rom & bricked....that's when i get really confused.

My main concern is push mail & messenger, surf moderately & games/music from time to time.  Basically just to say in touch when I'm not in the office.

Since the 'older' phones (SG S & SL - still not too sure what is the difference between these 2 models) does fulfil my basic requirements.  I could pay less & tried them out first.  I found SGS for RM1.4K at Subang.

But I need experience users input on whether it would be better to just get IS now OR buy older model & upgrade way in the future.
age of it doesn't matter, as long as its specs still rocks thumbup.gif

if you just follow the instructions carefully, you can do it & probably won't brick the phone icon_rolleyes.gif
but you better try out the phone at some phone shops to see whether is it really that difficult as imagined for you... wink.gif

i think you should just get HTC IS/SE Arc, its good out of the box, a nice all rounder phone & no big problem needed to "fix"
unlike sgs which is quite well known for its slow GPS locking, laggy issues etc.

SGSL = a weaker non-Hummingbird CPU, a weaker display (SC-LCD instead of the great Super AMOLED), slightly bulkier than original...
so its a nerfed version of SGS
Hummingbird CPU is among the best for single cores, got pretty good GPU...
Super AMOLED is probably among the best display, SGS2 use a better ones, namely the Super AMOLED Plus

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 8 2011, 03:08 AM
adrianccseng
post Jun 8 2011, 06:16 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jun 8 2011, 03:11 PM)
Thank you very much adrianccseng. So the advantage of android over symbian is better web surfing experience?

Is there much difference between ideos x5 and samsung galaxy S?

Android mostly are touchscreen?
not just that, with android you can customize, root, tweak etc. with your phone like tuning a car
kancil ---> kancil turbo flex.gif

X5 & SGS ?
not much, just that SGS has a better processor, better screen display, got videocall camera...
and lastly, brand tongue.gif
[edit:]oh yeah, sgs getting official 2.3 update too while X5 seems like staying on 2.2?? unsure.gif

not just that, i think is all of them are with touchscreen unsure.gif

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 8 2011, 06:17 PM
adrianccseng
post Jun 8 2011, 06:51 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

then it depends on luck

some ppl drop once, broke...
some ppl drop till sien, just get a scratch laugh.gif
adrianccseng
post Jun 11 2011, 03:31 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(joshua963 @ Jun 10 2011, 11:18 PM)
Kinda in a dilemma on which one to choose

1. Brand : HTC Desire S or LG Optimus Black
2. Budget : both also within my budget
3 Specs : both seems to be fine for my use
4 Requirement : Worried slightly on the battery life of both this devices.. I'm always on the run so need 1 that can survive atleast 24-36 hours with moderate use..

Would appreciate all ur suggestions... cheerss  rolleyes.gif
hmm.gif i would say HTC Incredible S instead
adrianccseng
post Jun 11 2011, 04:11 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(AZNo.O @ Jun 11 2011, 04:07 PM)
What is the cheapest android phone I can get? Need a replacement for my cap ayam handphone >.>
csl mi300
lg optimus one
samsung galaxy mini
se x8/x10 mini
adrianccseng
post Jun 12 2011, 03:01 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(kentoh @ Jun 11 2011, 11:36 PM)
guys , i wanna ask x8 can upgrade now? To have multi touch zoom and etc. Any latest update? How abt galaxy mini? Thx first.
multi touch? no

check out XDA-Developers for those custom ROMs biggrin.gif

Added on June 12, 2011, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(zlik98 @ Jun 12 2011, 01:10 PM)
i know Ace and X5 is running 2.2~they are in my choice now~but i still want to know is there any phone better than this 2~haha~~
X5 is the best u can get under 1k budget

with Desire Z's processor & a big 3.8" screen with WVGA reso
5mp camera+HD video

Added on June 12, 2011, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(khalpowers @ Jun 12 2011, 02:27 PM)
HTC no TV out....nowadays without TV out or HDMI out mana fun....huhu...
then consider SE XPERIA Arc?

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 12 2011, 03:08 PM
adrianccseng
post Jun 12 2011, 03:38 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(zlik98 @ Jun 12 2011, 03:15 PM)
Galaxy SL and X5 which better huh??
http://androidevolutions.com/2010/10/13/gp...msung-galaxy-s/
look at this
if adreno 205(g2 aka DZ) can pawn sgx540(epic 4g aka SGS], sgsl's sgx530 doesnt need to speak smile.gif
adrianccseng
post Jun 13 2011, 01:16 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(alexdark @ Jun 12 2011, 11:49 PM)
SL got internal memory, which means when it is not enough, i can buy extra microsd to put in...while the xperio neo can't.
i thought there's already a memory card bundled in the phone package?

Added on June 13, 2011, 1:25 am
QUOTE(metaloid @ Jun 12 2011, 11:04 PM)
thanks a bunch. so the desire s and sgs has the same hardware performance? im leaning to desire s cause of the smaller size though. but u cant root it?
not really
Desire S got a snappydragon, SGS got a hummingbirdy
birdy GPU perform better but SGS need some fix before it's good to use without much lag as it used to be...

Desire S is good out of the box
yup it can't permaroot due to the stupid bootloader
but HTC have changed their minds, they rethinking about it, no "official action" taken yet so far

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 13 2011, 01:25 AM
adrianccseng
post Jun 13 2011, 07:31 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(alexdark @ Jun 13 2011, 07:13 PM)
then why you vote for LED?
it has what features that attract you?
screen display just all about personal preference

Super AMOLED is probably among the best around right?
some would choose SC-LCD over Super AMOLED because of the over-saturated colors yawn.gif

SE's Reality display ain't bad either

but for me, no big deal

Added on June 13, 2011, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(_Buyer @ Jun 13 2011, 03:55 PM)
heya..i need to ask recommendation between HTC Desire hd/Incredible S and Nexus S.. for me, speeds is evrything, and software support should be optimum. Btw, is it true that i heard IS has s-on for the bootloader?
yup
since HTC Incredible S, most of the new HTC phones are rolling out with S-ON
though some regions able to get S-OFF o.O

and yeah, HTC is rethinking about the bootloader thing after received so many feedbacks & how it affected their sales...
no official actions taken yet though...

speed & software support? i think Nexus S with the hummingbirdy is what you want
will get official update 1st like version upgrade...
hummingbirdy got better GPU performance than other single core

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 13 2011, 07:34 PM
adrianccseng
post Jun 14 2011, 12:53 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(alexdark @ Jun 13 2011, 10:43 PM)
then if it is you, between SE xperia neo and galaxy SL, which one will you choose?
for me, i would go for Neo
because i facebook alot [XPERIA phone UI heavily integrated with facebook]

& i prefer the better camera of neo over SL smile.gif
its design as well

but it just for me, for u maybe u diff needs, so u might choose SGSL

its not a bad choice, but neo just seems better FOR ME

Added on June 14, 2011, 12:56 am
QUOTE(piumiu @ Jun 14 2011, 12:11 AM)
Ideos X5. Come join the club its a good phone. Can also overclock stable at 1.2Ghz on demand.
u own 2 X5 rite?
got any issue over it?
just curious blush.gif

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 14 2011, 12:56 AM
adrianccseng
post Jun 14 2011, 09:12 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(alexdark @ Jun 14 2011, 07:16 PM)
I have read some review about xperia neo, all said that its camera not that good from what they expect to have.
looks like higher megapixel not represent the whole performance...
newer than SL doesn't mean it is more worth than SL.... sweat.gif
i din judge by the megapixel oso
and only if i can choose between these 2

else i would just get x10 which cheaper alot & can get 2.3 update soon
since processor/display has nothing to do with me, i fine with it
adrianccseng
post Jun 15 2011, 01:26 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(straw @ Jun 14 2011, 09:50 PM)
hi,

what different between
samsung wave II
galaxy s

wave II cheap price for good specs but the OS isn't a good thing to look for...

Wave series are runs on samsung bada OS, quite new & immature OS..

Galaxy series are mostly on Android OS, which is an open market OS & developing quite fast..

Added on June 15, 2011, 1:29 am
QUOTE(alexdark @ Jun 14 2011, 11:28 PM)
the main thing that i don't like x10 is...
based on gsmarena, it has TFT capacitive touchscreen and ONLY 65K colors...
If you didn't realize, due to the older version of Android, ermm...
v1.6, there's some limitation like the display colors...

X10 has a 16m colors display like mostly any other androids, but it was on 1.6, so just 65k colors available...
after 2.1, its 16m colors on the go icon_rolleyes.gif

display type is not a big deal to me though, as long as i can "see it"

Added on June 15, 2011, 1:33 am
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jun 15 2011, 12:39 AM)
which one to opt for let say i can stretch my budget up to 1200

huawei x5 850
galaxy s 8gb 1200
nexus -s rm1250

is the top up from x5 is worth ?
the difference between x5 & sgs/nexus S just :
slightly weaker processor, ordinary display type, infamous brand & lacks of videocall camera...

ask urself:
are you a heavy gamer? if yes, processor do matters.. as hummingbirdy has better GPU performance & the stock clockspeed is slightly higher too..
and you may find Super AMOLED display interesting for bettter sunlight legibility & battery efficiency blink.gif

if you just a normal user, x5 can save ur pocket alot & it do pretty well..
3.8" WVGA screen + Desire Z processor, most probably can runs smoothly & support most of the apps

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jun 15 2011, 01:33 AM
adrianccseng
post Jun 16 2011, 12:21 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Jun 15 2011, 01:51 AM)
does the processor, gpu and ram matter for user interface operations? such as opening apps, pics, videos as well as reading/editing documents? other than gaming.
more RAM for better multitasking
higher resolution for better web surfing
better GPU for games/apps mostly

thats wad i noe

but i think UI, pic/videos those are depends on clockspeed/RAM? unsure.gif
adrianccseng
post Jul 20 2011, 08:16 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

QUOTE(gempakstarz @ Jul 20 2011, 07:59 PM)
Hello all,
Please help regarding below matters  icon_question.gif

1. Brand = Any
2. Budget =  max 1.5k
3. Specs = have good cpu, gpu, ram, rom, camera >5mp, 3G video call, GPS
4. What you need in the phone =  longer battery life, games
icon_rolleyes.gif
SE XPERIA Neo?
HTC Incredible S AP?
adrianccseng
post Jul 30 2011, 10:14 PM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

HTC IS is good out of the box
clock speed not much big deal though...as 1GHz oledi fast enough...
& if u like the HTC Sense UI..

so personally, i would go for HTC IS..
mainly because camera is pretty decent, screen display/UI has nothing to do with me tongue.gif
and i lazy do all those rooting, custom stuff when HTC IS is good out of the box oledi biggrin.gif

Added on July 30, 2011, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jul 30 2011, 08:40 AM)
For AP sets yes.
y just for AP sets? o.O

or becoz can top up a lil' more for the ori price can get DC liao?

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Jul 30 2011, 10:16 PM
adrianccseng
post Aug 1 2011, 12:58 AM

Guthfloga
1,530 posts

if u take care well ur phone & only find u nid to repair ur phone after the warranty is dead..then just get AP to save ur pocket...
if u r those kind of careless ppl who drop phone often until rosak sini sana, nid warranty within months, then get ori better...

Added on August 1, 2011, 1:01 am
QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Jul 31 2011, 08:56 PM)
Hmm. FIshy. Everyone interested in his phones are all accounts with 0 posts. I suspect he's a scammer.
AP sensation around 1.6k only.
hmmm...got lots of old dupe acc huh
2008, 2009...0 post...
not /k/ ppl oso...

Added on August 1, 2011, 1:02 am
QUOTE(47100 @ Jul 31 2011, 08:32 PM)
HI guys

1. Brand. any
2. Budget. <1.3k
3. Good GPS performance

err...basically not much different o.O

if u wan garmin, asus garmin phone ..but the specs not quite good for an android phone...

else ermm..SE NEO, HTC DS AP?

This post has been edited by adrianccseng: Aug 1 2011, 01:02 AM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0504sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:57 AM