Dualshock 3 vs xbox 360 controller

TSeazea1
post Mar 21 2011, 06:40 PM, updated 15y ago

Need to ask forumers on this bcoz plan to get a ps3 soon. How good is the ds3 controller compared to 360 controller when playing a first person shooting games. So far, i found that the xbox controller placement of analogue thumsticks (the left one up, the right one down) is perfect for moving characters and aim target respectively. So are the trigger buttons. But on the ds3, the analogue thumbsticks are placed side by side, so it makes moving character and aiming target/cursor respectively rather confusing. The trigger buttons also do not feel as solid when pressed. Any feedback, please. Tq
PhoenixByte
post Mar 21 2011, 06:43 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

entahlah...ramai sini pakai ds3 ok je smile.gif
xXAaronXx
post Mar 21 2011, 06:44 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

DS3 got more functions than the xbox 360 controller.
shahreza2000
post Mar 21 2011, 06:45 PM

62 posts

ds3 on fps... so far so good

but to ask x360 controller comparison in this thread rclxub.gif
TSeazea1
post Mar 21 2011, 06:47 PM

i mean dari segi nak move character dan aim/shoot target serentak. Senang tak? Smooth or difficult to aim cursor?
dark_heart07
post Mar 21 2011, 06:52 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(eazea1 @ Mar 21 2011, 06:47 PM)
i mean dari segi nak move character dan aim/shoot target serentak. Senang tak? Smooth or difficult to aim cursor?
not a prob for me.played both of ps3 & 360 n feel nothing different.
GamersFamilia
post Mar 21 2011, 06:54 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,865 posts

i owned both console ( PS3 and Xbox360 ) , both controller seems fine and comfortable
SecrET_of_RainBOw
post Mar 21 2011, 07:06 PM

201 posts

du now feel same ph34r.gif
ajis
post Mar 21 2011, 07:09 PM

plastic love
3,554 posts

xbox360's more comfy for FPS game IMO
dark_heart07
post Mar 21 2011, 07:12 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(ajis @ Mar 21 2011, 07:09 PM)
xbox360's more comfy for FPS game IMO
saya guna DS jer....siap owned pc player gitu whistling.gif ph34r.gif
SecrET_of_RainBOw
post Mar 21 2011, 07:16 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Mar 21 2011, 07:12 PM)
saya guna DS jer....siap owned pc player gitu whistling.gif ph34r.gif
aku pun dah tak reti men fps guna mouse kelaut je sweat.gif
sjn hassan
post Mar 21 2011, 07:19 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

I'm pc fps gamers...so far so good using the ds3 on ps3
pokchik
post Mar 21 2011, 07:21 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

for any NEW things, you'll feel awkward at the beginning..
but after some time, u'll get used to it.. no?

Silenced
post Mar 21 2011, 07:23 PM

439 posts

DS3,because you are asking at playstation section laugh.gif
heavy rain
post Mar 21 2011, 07:29 PM

351 posts

u ask this in playstation section,ape daaa
of cos ramai yg akan ckp DS3,ask dekat console couch la
sjn hassan
post Mar 21 2011, 07:30 PM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(Silenced @ Mar 21 2011, 07:23 PM)
DS3,because you are asking at playstation section  laugh.gif
Wrong place to ask a question? ;p
roronoa_zorro
post Mar 21 2011, 07:58 PM

41 posts

microsoft punye gamepad aka 360 gamepad >>>>> DS3
i have used both of them i prefer 360 controller
TSeazea1
post Mar 21 2011, 08:22 PM

lol i am asking here in case there are some honest and unbiased users of both consoles here. Seems there are lol actually, my thread here is not to make comparison btween ds3 and 360, but just want to know how gud the ds3 for fps game...but unfortunately comparison is unavoidable..anyway thanx for all the kind input
y3ivan
post Mar 21 2011, 09:17 PM

502 posts

depends on u. i get use to x360 controller, so picking up from ps3 controllers feel ackward.

just a general difference.
x360 controller wide and heavier
battery pack replaceable, longer charge.
love the trigger buttons for fps.
analog stick better grip but rubberpad ware off easily
poor D-pad accuracy. (solve with the newer model)

ds3 lighter,
analog stick are closer (i will get sore thumb after long periods)
built-in and non replaceable batteries.
good D-pad
most fps controls differs from x360 (R1 as fire instead of the trigger)

nizam80
post Mar 21 2011, 09:39 PM

253 posts

For FPS and racing games, definitely the 360 controller. I just love those triggers. It's nicer and more comfortable to hold.

...But not for fighting games, forget it.
Mgsrulz
post Mar 21 2011, 11:31 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

prefer the ds3.

just like pretty much all Apple products,i find the 360 controller vastly overrated.

dont have a 360,but i do use the 360 controller with my laptop-needless to say i went back to keyboard/mouse soon after trying out the 360 controller.(for fps games only,that is tongue.gif )

the controller is awesome with racing games,though-finger doesnt slip off like the ds3! laugh.gif
krk24
post Mar 22 2011, 01:30 AM

277 posts

want more comfortable..but PS sharp shooter with ps move + navigation controllers!
greyshadow
post Mar 22 2011, 09:23 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

for fps games, i prefer x360 controller over DS3 controller
reason being i prefer using the R2 trigger for shooting, just like shooting a gun trigger, instead of just pressing R1 button

DS3 also smaller, i get sore hand/fingers easier & faster compared to using X360 Controller, cos i feel X360 controller are more ergonomically designed.

but for the directional buttons, DS3 pwned X360 controller, DS3 feels easier and more accurate

and one disadvantage of DS3 i dislike the most is the bloody built-in batteries, with a damn short usb charging cable doh.gif
If I need to charge the DS3, i'll have to leave my PS3 on, just to charge the controller, gaming while charging is next to impossible if i were to sit closely to my plasma TV due to the short cable.
With X360 controller, I have 2 set of eneloop batteries, one pair standby full charge, another pair in my controller, if one were to run out of juice, i can just replace the batt with minimal impact on my gaming, while i charge the other pair without the need to sit closely to my TV.
Why can't the make PS3 to charge the DS3 while in standby mode? doh.gif
RAMChYLD
post Mar 22 2011, 10:13 AM

1,715 posts

I dah guna both. DS3 technically has exactly the same amount of buttons compared to the 360 controller (although the D-Pad design is less precise, giving only 4 precise buttons instead of the 8-way used by the 360).

Design-wise, both have their merits, but an increasingly large amount of games coming out for the PS3 are now demanding support for the analog nubs, particularly using the left one for movement. That's my only complaint, it's not very ergonomic.

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 22 2011, 09:23 AM)
Why can't the make PS3 to charge the DS3 while in standby mode? doh.gif
I just improvise by using a miniUSB handphone charger (or my PSP Go charger, or iPad charger) to charge the controller tongue.gif

Justified because I don't leave my PS3 plugged in and powered on 24/7 anyway.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 22 2011, 10:19 AM
diversity
post Mar 22 2011, 12:59 PM

1,184 posts

D3
sjneow
post Mar 22 2011, 02:39 PM

82 posts

You can charge the DS3 via hooking the USB port to your PC while you use it.
Vigilant
post Mar 22 2011, 05:15 PM

Be ever vigilant, but never suspicious
1,288 posts

I think it's up to own preference, which is more comfortable.

But as for build quality, I think the XBOX 360 controller is much sturdier, seriously DS3 feels like cheap plastic.
y3ivan
post Mar 22 2011, 06:44 PM

502 posts

by the way how to replace the ds3 batteries? i think mine is dead.
insane.gamer
post Mar 22 2011, 09:00 PM

944 posts

ps3 user here . i would say i prefer the x360's controller more . fits right in my huge hands
lilko
post Mar 23 2011, 12:12 AM

95 posts

prefer the xbox trigger.. It feels more firm.. Although it is kinda big..
RAMChYLD
post Mar 23 2011, 01:00 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Mar 22 2011, 06:44 PM)
by the way how to replace the ds3 batteries? i think mine is dead.
Google for third party battery replacement howto.

Sony's official stand on this is "buy a new DS3". The instruction manual got show how to remove battery, but after removal of battery instead of giving replacement battery spec instructs you to dump the DS3 at a recycling center. mad.gif

I expect most local video game shops can source a battery for you if needed tho. Or if you're the compulsive type, you can turn to eBay for replacement batteries. Just be prepared to deal with ketam in worst case scenario (because batteries are considered chemical products) if you do turn to eBay.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 23 2011, 01:26 AM
y3ivan
post Mar 23 2011, 07:10 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 23 2011, 01:00 AM)
Google for third party battery replacement howto.

Sony's official stand on this is "buy a new DS3". The instruction manual got show how to remove battery, but after removal of battery instead of giving replacement battery spec instructs you to dump the DS3 at a recycling center. mad.gif

I expect most local video game shops can source a battery for you if needed tho. Or if you're the compulsive type, you can turn to eBay for replacement batteries. Just be prepared to deal with ketam in worst case scenario (because batteries are considered chemical products) if you do turn to eBay.
lol at first. but have to dump at recycling centre. the freaking ds3 batteries are expansive, RM65, i can get a new one at RM145.

the battery life for newer ds3 is kinda short, 12hrs of usage. older models can last upto 2 days.
PhoenixByte
post Mar 23 2011, 09:58 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 22 2011, 09:23 AM)

and one disadvantage of DS3 i dislike the most is the bloody built-in batteries, with a damn short usb charging cable doh.gif
If I need to charge the DS3, i'll have to leave my PS3 on, just to charge the controller, gaming while charging is next to impossible if i were to sit closely to my plasma TV due to the short cable.
just charge using astro byond punya usb port pun bolehlah..i do that all the time now biggrin.gif
RAMChYLD
post Mar 24 2011, 10:10 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Mar 23 2011, 07:10 PM)
the freaking ds3 batteries are expansive, RM65, i can get a new one at RM145.
RM145 is ori controller? Because SonyStyle wants RM189.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 24 2011, 10:12 AM
qudeenz360
post Mar 24 2011, 11:40 AM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(eazea1 @ Mar 21 2011, 06:47 PM)
tu terpulang kat ko la... notworthy.gif

kalau nak aim/shoot target tu depend kepantasan jari jemari ko... notworthy.gif
bukan pada controler ps3/xbox controler.. kalau dah noob mcm aku nih.. pakai fragfx untuk PS3 je.. sweat.gif senang nak aim... sweat.gif

sekarang ni aku pakai xbox360.. so far.. controler xbox360 lebih selesa dari ds3.. tq

snipersnake
post Mar 24 2011, 11:56 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

ds3 batteries dead? no problem. throw away. buy new one. gaming is luxury.
y3ivan
post Mar 24 2011, 12:08 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 24 2011, 11:56 AM)
china recycling center must be happy for your type
snipersnake
post Mar 24 2011, 01:37 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

thats why.

recycle to save earth.
PhoenixByte
post Mar 24 2011, 07:25 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 24 2011, 10:10 AM)
RM145 is ori controller? Because SonyStyle wants RM189.
have u checked the game prices and other ps3 accessorries at sonystyle? hmm.gif
dark lenanza
post Mar 25 2011, 11:25 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 24 2011, 11:56 AM)
hahaha
reply cam pernah baca laa bro
cam "abg tali" punya reply
snipersnake
post Mar 25 2011, 11:33 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

rotfl.. laugh.gif
greyshadow
post Mar 25 2011, 02:17 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Mar 23 2011, 09:58 PM)
just charge using astro byond punya usb port pun bolehlah..i do that all the time now biggrin.gif
OMM like me tarak asstro.. asstro for OKK like u only dry.gif

tonight let me try plug into xbox, see can charge in standby mode or not hmm.gif
y3ivan
post Mar 25 2011, 06:50 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 25 2011, 02:17 PM)
OMM like me tarak asstro.. asstro for OKK like u only dry.gif

tonight let me try plug into xbox, see can charge in standby mode or not hmm.gif
tried and it works. only ps3 slim dont have the function.
shawn87
post May 23 2011, 09:34 PM

2,154 posts

i have an xbox using 360 controller.. playing for 15 mins ur left thumb will started to feel pain cry.gif
wmhafiz
post May 24 2011, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(shawn87 @ May 23 2011, 09:34 PM)
i have an xbox using 360 controller.. playing for 15 mins ur left thumb will started to feel pain  cry.gif
Your thumb is so manja.... tongue.gif

blah2blah
post May 24 2011, 10:30 PM

748 posts

360 controller fits well on my hand, typical Asian hand. Shooting was good to use, but heavy and need to use battery, well not a concern when you'd use it long enough, you won't feel the load. Love the LT and RT button.

PS3 controller was lighter and smaller, need time to adjust to play shooting game, if play RPG/Action game ok la. In-build battery using USB to charge. Dislike L2 and R2, feels like falling off when press. I'll plug my controller into my PC USB when I done a session of gaming so battery wise is not a real concern.

I tod buy console depend on what game you want to play ma not mer? Why depends on controller?
samsk
post Jun 2 2011, 01:51 PM

68 posts

Xbox 360 controller the best, they design it to play FPS more... Try it on Halo and gears of war series... Damn good design..good for racing and action games too..
DS3 is only good for fighting games and action games.. FPS? No no.. I rather use mouse and keyboard than DS3 on FPS.
xsaintzx
post Jun 3 2011, 08:38 PM

598 posts

Last time, I play games using the DS3, but I always sucks at FPS games cuz the I just can't get used to the analogue.

Then I switch to PC gaming, FPS is so much easier and better with mouse and keyboard. After that I bought Xbox360 controller for PC, at first it was a bit awkward as I'm used to DS3 controller, but then after a few days, I would say the Xbox360 one is much more ergonomic than DS3. FPS is slightly better on Xbox360 one also compared to DS3.

However, I think it depends on how much you get used to that controller, one who master the DS3 or Xbox360 controller can easily pawn out a player who is using mouse & keyboard in FPS games.
Skynard
post Jun 4 2011, 12:33 PM

21 posts

xbox 360 all the way!! biggrin.gif
gundamalpha
post Jun 5 2011, 06:33 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Based on my experience with numerous controllers,

the analog control for 360 functions best, no close rival. As for D-pad, all of them sucks from this gen, but 360 being the one sucks to the maximum of the jam.
y3ivan
post Jun 6 2011, 01:32 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jun 5 2011, 06:33 PM)
Based on my experience with numerous controllers,

the analog control for 360 functions best, no close rival. As for D-pad, all of them sucks from this gen, but 360 being the one sucks to the maximum of the jam.
have u review the new x360 silver controller for the d-pad. Lots of review said they have solved it. I myself cant even find the difference between the old controller dpad and the new dpad (other than, its customisable tilt and pressure) and how does it affect controls.
gundamalpha
post Jun 6 2011, 02:47 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Jun 6 2011, 01:32 PM)
have u review the new x360 silver controller for the d-pad. Lots of review said they have solved it. I myself cant even find the difference between the old controller dpad and the new dpad (other than, its customisable tilt and pressure) and how does it affect controls.
To be honest I never been bothered with the new pad as I have few sticks as replacements for the D need. One can hope it's better, but your experience seems to tell it's still that bad.
y3ivan
post Jun 6 2011, 03:24 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jun 6 2011, 02:47 PM)
To be honest I never been bothered with the new pad as I have few sticks as replacements for the D need. One can hope it's better, but your experience seems to tell it's still that bad.
I m not saying the dpad is horrid, its fine with me as i dont really play fighting games which extensively use the dpad. For other games beside this, they are pretty fine, no wrong key inputs. Althought the new dpad can detect pressure, i hardly find any games which uses them.
gundamalpha
post Jun 6 2011, 03:26 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Jun 6 2011, 03:24 PM)
I m not saying the dpad is horrid, its fine with me as i dont really play fighting games which extensively use the dpad. For other games beside this, they are pretty fine, no wrong key inputs. Althought the new dpad can detect pressure, i hardly find any games which uses them.
D-Pad pressure is like DS2/3, pretty useless
ihhi
post Jun 6 2011, 11:08 PM

22 posts

Sony bawah. X on top, Neisse! Ho ho

0.1862sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:38 AM