can recommend best yet lightest FREE AV

Quantum_thinking
post Mar 19 2011, 12:25 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

I use Norton in my Asus convertible netbook. It does not slow down my netbook compared to other AVs.
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 19 2011, 11:04 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(superTB @ Mar 19 2011, 08:48 PM)
mpc = tiger player??

i feel vlc lighter than mpc  smile.gif
I do not think VLC is light, but i prefer it as it is few of the players that can play .mkv files properly.

My netbook lags when playing movies using the VLC player.

TS,

your netbook got lag or not when playing movies with VLC?
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 20 2011, 01:37 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(superTB @ Mar 20 2011, 01:06 AM)
nope
i usually play file around 1gb~3gib movie file (.mkv)

what i mean is. i want smoothness when i press fast foward.

with vlc or km player there is no delay when i press fast foward smile.gif
Can you tell me your netbook's processor, RAM, GC and OS?

My netbook always lag when playing .mkv movie. Even for the 500 MB ones.
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 20 2011, 02:32 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(superTB @ Mar 20 2011, 12:38 PM)
im using hp-110 (the 1 streamyx giv free when i register streamyx uni cool pack

1.83ghz
1gb ram
i use win7 home premium 32 bit
other detail i dun remember

maybe u always clearing the cache??

Added on March 20, 2011, 12:38 pm
i tried before but to many bug and error
No wonder. Your processor is faster than mine. My netbook processor is about 1.33Ghz only. I heard that when i turn it become a touchscreen tablet, the processor speed will be further underclock to prevent it from being heated up faster. doh.gif
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 20 2011, 07:52 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(mkei87 @ Mar 20 2011, 06:56 PM)
urs is fast. mine is 1.66ghz.mine also from streamyx cool unipack

Added on March 20, 2011, 6:57 pm

u bought it urself or from coolunipack?
I bought it myself from a forumer here. It is convertible netbook. It can convert into a tablet netbook.
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 20 2011, 10:21 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(superTB @ Mar 20 2011, 10:16 PM)
using hp too?
Asus. 3 hour battery life only. Yours?

Currently, what AV is in service with your netbook?
Quantum_thinking
post Mar 21 2011, 09:15 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(superTB @ Mar 21 2011, 01:01 AM)
wow 3 hour!!
ur battery is a standard
batery
when u using 3 hour. ur battery mode safe power + max dim light

or max performance
im using avira but too many false alarm

the bright side is..it block autorun
Actually new unit can survive up to 5 hours. blush.gif

Quantum_thinking
post Apr 10 2011, 08:08 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Pdot @ Apr 10 2011, 06:14 AM)
Using Avast after annoyed with Avira pop up ads. doh.gif it hangs my netbook for awhile a second or 2 but yea is short period still doh.gif . Avast free version offers lot more functions.

Media Player, I use K-Lite + Real Alt and VLC as backup.
You use the Avast in the netbook?
Quantum_thinking
post Apr 12 2011, 03:04 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(Pdot @ Apr 11 2011, 04:04 PM)
Yeshh, I guess the resolution does show it is a netbook  laugh.gif

Memory usage:

I see. For now, KIS still have about 125 days for me. smile.gif

maybe when it finish, i'll consider about it. Thanks anyway.

0.0179sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:05 PM