Official Microsoft Windows Vista Discussion Thread, Strictly NO warez discussion

IanLim
post Feb 5 2007, 03:51 AM

57 posts

Is the promotion still on or not?? I have a Windows XP PRO's desktop thats meets the requirements, i bought it lasttime to do graphic thingy purpose, Q4 and DOOM3, HL2 purpose.. cool2.gif

Hehe, i am a girl but, sweat.gif i loves FPS, especially HL2, really loves Freeman.. wub.gif

Ahem! biggrin.gif Back tot the topic, the Windows XP PRO is original OEM, now i want to buy Ori Vista Ultimate Upgrade edition, how much is that?? From which shop?

Thanks.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 5 2007, 03:58 AM
IanLim
post Feb 6 2007, 12:43 AM

57 posts

Nobody knows about where can i get the upgrade pack?? Sniff, sniff.. sad.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=10296448
IanLim
post Feb 6 2007, 01:16 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 6 2007, 01:08 AM)
Dun worry,here is the helper to come. tongue.gif
Tomorrow ,I will check it out for u .And also the best deal.  wink.gif
Have a nice day. icon_rolleyes.gif
notworthy.gif Thank you, thank you, finally, someone answer my help call.. notworthy.gif

rclxm9.gif Yeehaaaaaaaw..! Counting on you.., hehe.. thumbup.gif
IanLim
post Feb 7 2007, 12:12 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Feb 6 2007, 11:29 AM)
Beware of upgrade pack though, it must be done under a system with XP installed.

But workaround exists
http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/winvi...grade_clean.asp
Thanks.., as refer to my first post at this topic, thats exactly what i want to do.., i want to upgrade my existing Win XP PRO to Vista Ultimate, might add ram for better performance.. smile.gif

Clean install meaning wiping all the existing files and settings right? I think i would prefer to upgrade my pc the usual way.., rather than clean install.. smile.gif

QUOTE(huikb @ Feb 6 2007, 01:29 PM)
To buy the upgrade pack or FPP (Full Pack - comes with nice plastic box)

Malaysia

Legal Name of Company: Software EXC (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd
Name of Business: Software Exchange Malaysia
Company Registration: 635004-V
Enquiry Hotline: +603 2145 1281
Fax: +603 2145 1282
Place Of Registration: MALAYSIA
Physical Address:
  Lot 4.6, Fourth Floor, Plaza Low Yat
  No. 7, Jalan 1/77, Off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Bukit Bintang Central
  55100 Kuala Lumpur
Operating Hours: 9:00am to 6:30pm (Mon-Fri)

Eisentech Resources Sdn Bhd
17-2, 1st Floor SS23/15
Taman SEA, 47400
Petaling Jaya,
Selangor Darul Ehsan,
Malaysia.
phone  603 78802722
facsmile  603 78802700
email  sales@eisentech.com

MTCS Group Sdn Bhd
Lot 6.19, 6th Floor, Imbi Plaza, Jalan IMBI
55100 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
03-2145-5979

Thanks for the great info on those companies, i will go and check it out.. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 6 2007, 02:21 PM)

Here is the answer.
As promise, here is the link for u. smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=143&t=307363&st=0

Thank you
Lol, you are tying to promote for your shop, winchance isn't it..? biggrin.gif Thanks for the information anyway.. notworthy.gif

Hey, i realised Winchance , or infact most of the giant shops such as cycom, sri komputer, startec, All IT, Compuzone, etc, do not have Windows Vista Upgrade Editions for sellings..., i heard it cost around RM700, just like the XP PRO upgrade box.. hmm.gif

IanLim
post Feb 7 2007, 12:40 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 7 2007, 12:27 AM)
Yah, u are right.We dun keep upgrade pack usually.This is because to upgrade for some of windows OS to windows vista, u just need to log on to microsoft.com and pay a small fee like USD 18.00 for the courier fees imposed by microsoft.But ur Xp pro cannot be upgraded for free gua. laugh.gif

If u read the link carefully, maybe u understand I am trying to help too.But sadly to say it seems wasted my afford . sad.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/408502/+20

Oh yah..pls link to above for wow promotion ends this week.Posts 33 .
Have a nice day  icon_rolleyes.gif

That if my pc newly bought this year, eligible for free upgrade..

My pc that plan to upgrade to Win Vista is atleast 2 years old, therefore you were right, i am not eligible for the free upgrade..

Lol, c'mon, i do appreciate your help, thanks again... notworthy.gif

[3a] Windows XP Professional.............----->Windows Vista Business
I think the USD18 one is only for 'FREE' upgrade.., i read somewhere the upgrade box is cost around RM700 or 900, anyhow, i hope it's ok to upgarde from XP PRO to Ultimate though.. hmm.gif

Hey, second link does have price for Ultimate Upgrade price .., rclxms.gif Thanks....... rclxm9.gif notworthy.gif

I was right, it's sells within RM900++, hey you mean the price is under 1k because of 'WOW' promotion ah? Can sell to me cheaper or not..??

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 7 2007, 12:48 AM
IanLim
post Feb 7 2007, 01:01 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 7 2007, 12:47 AM)
Ur intention is to get the upgrade pack for Ultimate.But my question is Ultimate is a totally new member for vista.I dun think u can upgrade from XP-Pro to ultimate.I really hope u see the point. notworthy.gif
And the price I posted over other thread is absolutely what is all the counters sell at LYP concourse area.U can buy from any shop u wish. icon_rolleyes.gif
I think if you have a pc thats ready, it should work , else, no point selling the Ultimate upgrade pack, according to here:

http://bhandler.spaces.live.com/Blog/cns&#...!1809.entry

Windows XP Professional & Windows Tablet PC Edition can upgrade to:
Windows Vista Business
Windows Vista Ultimate

But seems you emphasized it, i will call Microsoft for details on this though..

I also heard that, once upgraded, the XP key will be invalidated!! 'WOW', very dangerous indeed..!! shocking.gif

And, according to here, many was frustrated on the upgrade thingy and one left a comment as below:

http://www.digg.com/software/Vista_upgrade...tes_your_XP_key

I'm sorry, that just plain SUCKS. Yet another reason for pirated copies..
stupid, stupid, stupid, and stupider

doh.gif

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 7 2007, 01:13 AM
IanLim
post Feb 7 2007, 01:18 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 7 2007, 01:11 AM)
U are right.It shows very clear u can use that ultimate upgrade.Hm...weird !
Why is microsoft gave us the poster with no show such.We even display it in our showroom for people to read.

Very good . thumbup.gif  Atleast me also learn this from u.  notworthy.gif .BTW, I was trying  to learn this because I promised of giving u my answer. laugh.gif
If u know what is my job is ...maybe u can understand . smile.gif 
( I am from admin depart and not a salesman ,okay ?)
Anyway, I try to learn from everyone too. wink.gif
Oh, thats because they want to promote their 'FREE' (USD18--> yes, in the US, it's free, because the item is not charged, only charge shipping and handling, consider "FREE", aka cheaper than 'non-FREE', lol.. laugh.gif ) upgrade mah.. biggrin.gif

Thats Microsoft, thats Bill, very smart bzness man, aka, world richest!! cool2.gif

So, eventually, people will be a little misguided on Vista upgrade thingy though.., hehe.. biggrin.gif

Thats ok, thats what this forum is for, sharing information with each other mah..!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 7 2007, 01:22 AM
IanLim
post Feb 7 2007, 01:30 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 7 2007, 01:22 AM)
Oh..now only u show ur actual character. rclxms.gif  .Joke. tongue.gif
I hope come to this point, u will know what to do ,right ?  icon_idea.gif
Nice to meet u, my freind. wink.gif
best of health to u, ur freind and ur family.
See u again . icon_rolleyes.gif
Hehe, ok.. smile.gif

Thanks for the help and same to you too.., happy chinese new year, gong hei fatt choi! thumbup.gif

c ya around.. wave.gif

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 7 2007, 02:41 AM
IanLim
post Feb 7 2007, 11:47 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(HKVOON @ Feb 7 2007, 11:06 PM)
hello...vista??? this window got wat fuction??? some like window xp?? how much an ornigina cd??
check it out here.:

http://www.microsoft.com

pricelist at here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/408502/+20 (provided by winfeel)

how to upgrade win xp to vista:
http://bhandler.spaces.live.com/Blog/cns&#...!1809.entry

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 7 2007, 11:47 PM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 12:47 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Feb 8 2007, 12:13 AM)
i heard vista deletes ur illegal songs?
No, according to here:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...01002633AAWOBhE

Also, a solid and long discussion from the community itself from the link below (MUST READ!)
, i bet you read the mp3 delete thingy from Josh's blog.., lol :

http://www.xpmediacentre.com.au/community/...ia-your-pc.html

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 12:58 AM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 01:20 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Feb 8 2007, 01:08 AM)
i think i heard on tv
Then they must been heard from Josh's blog.., please go to the links i provided, especially the second link, read the posts there very carefully, after that if you still think Vista will wipe away the songs then.., it's up to you though.. shakehead.gif

Here it is again:

vista-can-delete-illegal-media-in-your-pc???

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 01:29 AM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 01:42 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Sandwich2U @ Feb 8 2007, 01:38 AM)
Sounds scary  sweat.gif

Thanks for the link, checking ...
Okies., hope you will feel better after reading it.., it's a relief for sure.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 01:46 AM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 03:37 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Feb 8 2007, 03:26 AM)
vista-delete-illegal-thingy has been reported in the star in tech too, along with game companies critics that vista cannot run games blablabla, and not so popular compared to playstation 3 and Wii at launch time

oh on a side note, i am using vista now, and my ahem mp3s are still safe and sound icon_idea.gif
Has anyone tried and experience such yet??

See..?? You files are still there, meaning, The Star not always accurate as well, are they clarified that the statement is from Microsoft or other resource..?

I don't believe Vista will wipe our songs away, that will kill their sales..

So far, whenever i google for such topic, many replies it's "no"..

But, if this relly happens, i will file a lawsuit to Microsoft!

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 03:55 AM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 05:19 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Feb 8 2007, 03:59 AM)
if that is true vista will wipe the *ahem* mp3s or blabla,
then what is the point of using vista?
for ms word, excel, msn, surfing net and check mail only? biggrin.gif
I had posted a question reragding this topic at officcial newsgroup of Microsoft.., no worries, i didn't meantion what type of tfiles or whatever.., see the one below:

"Ian" <Ian@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:AD237949-A73F-4EF6-9DA8-DAAB0AC40FFA@microsoft.com...

I have heard alot of news that Vista can search and delete users files without being notice by the user., such as media files and etc?

Is it true??

There were few people claimed that their media files gone deleted by the OS..

As i far as i concern, this violates privacy rights regardless what type of files that the OS deleted.

I was very happy on planning to upgrade to Vista before this..

Ian

------------------------
P/S: shakehead.gif If this ain't going anywhere, i will call up Microsoft Malaysia at tomorrow..., 1-800-88-6295, press 8,..

Sigh..

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 05:31 AM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 03:40 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Feb 8 2007, 09:28 AM)
WTF? that's utter bullshit. I've been using Vista since Beta I and I never had it delete any of my MP3's, and I even use WMP11 as my default media player. And one thing I hate about In-Tech is that their articles are usually taken from LAT/WP, which supports Open Source more than they do on Microsoft, thus all their articles are always biased. If you ever compare any article they did with article done in house (ie: by InTech own reporters), they differs in opinion.
shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

Thanks for sharing the experience!!

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 8 2007, 11:51 AM)

btw, all those crap about Vista deleting files are nonsense. All my ripped MP3 (from my originals CDs) are still there safe and sound.

Thanks for second that.

Look the replies that i received from Microsoft newsgroup:

http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsg...a8-daab0ac40ffa

Michael Styles 2/7/2007 1:16 PM PST

Don't believe everything you hear.
-----------------------------------------------------

Lloyd Sheen 2/7/2007 2:46 PM PST

Ian,

As someone who can discuss this first person, the answer is simple. Yes
it can delete files.

I tried to install Ultimate over XP Pro. It would not. Phone MS
support and was told to clean install. I moved all important files to
another partition and then proceeded with the install. (partition on
seperate HD).

Ok install is over and I notice that C: and D: have exactly the same
amount of free space. Since C should have only Vista install and D has
ITunes , and many other data files that seemed strange. Ok now to listen to
some music while I get the install into shape. My first WOW. WOW my music
is gone. ..... Oh some of my files are gone. .... It is true. Wish it
wasn't but it creamed about 100 Gigs of files.

Lloyd Sheen
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Huh, music is gone?? shocking.gif

---------------------------------------------------------------
Scott 2/7/2007 4:00 PM PST

Yet another reason to always do backups before doing something major
like an OS install or upgrade.

-------------------------------------------------------

Scott suggest backup music b4 upgrade.. rclxub.gif

------------------------------------------------------
Chad Harris 2/7/2007 3:08 PM PST

Ian--

I have never heard or read this. I have a quirky reflex that says lol do you
mind posting these reliable sources? I don't think there is anything
substantive to *Vista searching and deleting folders without being noticed
by the user.

CH
----------------------------------------------------

This one says never heard b4.. smile.gif

------------------------------------------------

PA20Pilot 2/7/2007 8:42 PM PST

I read elsewhere that the deleting without consent isn't a Vista trick,
it's Windows Defender doing its job. Like Spybot S&D, Adaware, etc.,
you're already allowing some programs you're using to delete other
programs, malware etc. wihout asking for your permission first.

Windows Defender can be shut down as an option.
-----------------------------------------------------

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

I am calling Microsoft Malaysia now.., be back on posting.. rclxub.gif

IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 04:02 PM

57 posts

Hi guys, good news for those who have music files (regardless what type, *ahem*)

Just called MICROSOFT MALAYSIA CUSTOMER SERVICE & SUPPORT CENTRE.

The company confirms that Windows Defender will only delete malware/spyware infected files, and it will PROMPT us before it delete any suspicious files..
cool2.gif

About will the OS delete our music files regardless what type of them, *eham* again, hehe, the answer is "NO"...!! icon_rolleyes.gif

Vista will not search and delete our music files without notice by us, this triple confirm by Microsoft Malaysia . rclxm9.gif

I asked whay there are some people experienced such?? MM said it might be wrong configurations or corrupted... biggrin.gif

So, if anyone of you REALLY have this problem with ORI Vista, you all can file a lawsuit to MM haha if you are sure theres nothing wrongly configurer and system isn't corrupted, the music files are just *gone*...*poof* shocking.gif

Btw, if you guys still have doubts on this, MM welcome us to bug them, call them at 1-800-88-6295, press 8 to speak to their Customer service, Monday to Friday, office hours only.. (ps: local call and charges apply, lol.. ) tongue.gif

Also, there are alot of interesting enquiries, bugs and solutions, drivers, on this Vista newsgroup, kindly check it out see whether some answers there saves your Vista dilemma, please use Firefox to view the page below, it loads faster than IE.. (MUST READ PAGE BELOW if you want to knows plus, minus, solution on Vista) : thumbup.gif
http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsg...s.vista.general

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 04:35 PM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 05:01 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 8 2007, 04:09 PM)
tried using readyboost today,
i plugged in my new 2gb data traveller(1 i guess)
it wrote this device does not have the requirement to run readyboost....
but when i plug in my old 256 data traveller, it works....
Now, this is getting interesting.. hmm.gif

Btw, guys, the newsgroup link i provide has alot of questions, both hw and sw from the users.., here it is again, to check out..

http://www.microsoft.com/communities/newsg...s.vista.general

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 05:04 PM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 06:51 PM

57 posts

Just where they got the ideas of the "OS" delete our music files..? Big possibility is related to the issue below, an old article, but it make mor sense now:

http://news.com.com/Virus+pits+itself+agai..._3-5681561.html

A hacker has created a virus that targets music lovers by deleting MP3 files on infected computers, according to antivirus company Sophos.

shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 06:54 PM
IanLim
post Feb 8 2007, 07:06 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 8 2007, 06:56 PM)
Wow ! wor! Glad to see u once again. U are kewl !  thumbup.gif
Luckily I didn't underestimated u. sweat.gif
Thanks fo the compliment though, but i just posted what Paul said in the Microsoft newsgroup, lol..

Currently, i am trying my best to figure out the issue for myself and some forumers here regarding the 'Vista can delete your music' "rumour".., check it out my post on back pages if you wanna know about it too.. smile.gif

Same to you..

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 8 2007, 07:07 PM
IanLim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:22 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Feb 8 2007, 08:48 PM)
Good article.

But I've merged it with the pinned thread as there are way too many Vista threads around
Thanks for bringing it here, staff samurai, and thanks to ah_fei for found and posting it atfirst.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 8 2007, 08:50 PM)
doesn't have the latest one "vista deletes all your pirated music and movies"
Look at number Myth#9,

Myth #9: You won't be able to play ripped music in Vista
Have you heard about the horrors of Vista's DRM (Digital Rights Management)? Some people have implied that it will prevent you from playing any music or movie files unless you download and pay for them online. Others are speculating that even the media you do buy may be blocked.

Interestingly, the people who are spreading this one all seem to be folks who have never used Vista (and, according to many of them, never will). The real story: I have no problem playing music files that were ripped from CDs on Windows Media Player 10 or in Vista's Windows Media Center application. Yes, I legally own the CDs, but Vista has no way of knowing that. All of the media that imported from my XP Windows Media Center computer, including recorded TV programs, played without a problem.

For a more thorough discussion of content protection in Vista, see this article from CreateDigitalMusic.com.
and from that paragraph, i saw the link, very very interesting as well:

http://createdigitalmusic.com/2007/01/25/v...rosoft-and-you/

Based on Microsoft's response and other information we've received, the situation appears to be this:

Content protection only comes into play when you're playing protected content. These restrictions don't apply to your whole machine, period. Unless you're trying to mix the audio output from a Blu-Ray disc into your set in SONAR, it doesn't matter.

Open source developers will still be able to write drivers. (I've heard as much from some in the development community.)

Content restrictions do not impact pro audio. You may have heard about restrictions on S/PDIF digital output. Unless you record your set to a protected file and add the DRM yourself, this will NOT impact work you're doing in pro audio apps.

Don't worry about tilt bit. Microsoft believes the hypothetical tilt bit problems posed by some pundits are unlikely. Do you believe Microsoft? Again, it really doesn't matter, as long as you're not playing HD-DVD / Blu-Ray on your machine; the restrictions don't apply at any other time.

Games, music apps, pro audio, and everything else on your system is safe, because the restrictions apply only to content that has already been restricted.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by IanLim: Feb 9 2007, 03:26 AM

0.0212sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:30 PM