Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Click here to go to Maybankard 2 Cards Official Website
Click here to go to Maybank's website.
Click here to go to American Express Website.

Gold: Minimum annual income:RM30,000
Platinum: Minimum annual income:RM60,000

Benefits

1. The benefits of two cards, Maybankard 2 American Express® Card and Maybankard 2 MasterCard or Visa Card, in one sign up, one service tax, and one statement.
2. Enjoy a low Finance Charge of 8.88% p.a. on your outstanding retail balance.
3. 5x TreatsPoints for every Ringgit spent on Maybankard 2 American Express Card and 1x TreatsPoint on Maybankard 2 Mastercard/Visa Card in Malaysia or anywhere else in the world.
4. 5% Weekend cash back when spend on Maybankard 2 American Express Card capped at RM50 per customer (including Supp Cardmember) per month.
5. Lifetime Fee Waiver with complimentary supplementary cards.

Additional Benefits with Platinum Card.
6. Travel Insurance Coverage - Charge your travel fares to the card to enjoy complimentary Accidental Death and Disablement coverage of up to RM1,000,000, as well as Travel Inconvenience coverage for missed connections, luggage delay and luggage loss. Subject to terms & conditions of the Certificate of Insurance.
7. Retail Protection - Purchase protection of up to RM20,000 per item and up to RM150,000 per card account per calendar year. Return Guarantee exchange or refund of up to 90days (Maximum RM1,500 per item on purchase price, up to a maximum of RM6,000 per card account per calendar year). Extended Warranty of up to Rm15,000 per item (Up to RM48,000 per card account per calendar year.). Subject to terms & conditions of the Certificate of Insurance.
8. Golf Privilege - Complimentary golf at selected golf courses around Malaysia.

Maybankard 2 MasterCard will be available from April 2011 onwards.

Who can apply?

* Malaysians and expatriates with a minimum annual income of RM60,000
* Principal cardholders: those between 21 to 65 years old
* Supplementary cardholders: at least 18 years old

Required Documents - Please include the following with your application form:

* Copy of NRIC (both sides) or Passport, including that of supplementary applicant's
* Latest BE form with official tax receipt
* Latest 2 months' salary slips
* Latest 3 months' savings account activity/current account statements

If you are self-employed:

* Copies of Business Registration
* Latest 3 months' Bank Statements

If you are an expatriate:

* Letter from employer confirming duration of employment contract in Malaysia. Note: You must be a Maybank account holder.

Click here to download Maybankard 2 Cards Application Form.

Ways to apply for the Maybankard 2 Cards:

1. Go to branch and fill in application form and submit it there.
2. Download application form and fax to 03-2282 0373.
3. By email to amexcards@maybank.com.my (better you call MBB Customer Service to confirm address)
4. Call Maybank or American Express Customer Service if you are a current Maybank credit card holder.
5. Click "I'm interested" in Maybankard 2 Official Website. Link at the very top.

Click here to read my review on Maybankard 2 Cards where it includes a brief comparison between Maybankard 2 Amex versus OCBC Titanium MasterCard.

Click here to see brief comparison between Maybankard 2 American Express vs. HSBC Visa Signature.

Click here to see brief comparison between Maybankard 2 American Express vs. Citibank Platinum Cash Back credit card.

If you do not have a Current or Savings Account with Maybank but you want a Maybank2U online account to check your Maybankard 2 Cards transactions, you need to go to a Maybank branch to get it done. Better that inform the officer that you want the Maybankard 2 Visa or MasterCard as the main account and add your Maybankard 2 Amex to it. However if you want your Maybankard 2 Amex to be the main card for the account, when you first log in to register username add 0 to the 15 digits of your Amex card.

Click here to read about my experience in getting a Maybank2U account for my MBB credit cards.

Click here to read my article on American Express FREE 1 for 1 Drink at Starbucks. Valid until 31 Oct 2011.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 11 2011, 11:10 AM
TSGen-X
post Mar 15 2011, 06:17 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Mar 15 2011, 04:43 PM)
i'm existing amex gold cc member and i fax the application form and supporting docs to 1300888899 on the 3 Mar. until now they say no record in the system yet even after numerous call. wanna give up already....
Refax your application to the number I posted in the first post if by end of this week still not in system.

TSGen-X
post Mar 18 2011, 08:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(willchoong @ Mar 18 2011, 03:08 PM)
Hi Guys,

I need your Opinion here on credit cards. Currently i have a American Express Gold Card. I have applied for CIMB tng VISA platinium and got it. I was thinking whether to cancel the cimb TnG visa Platimiun and covert my America Express Gold Card to Maybank 2 Platinium.

I have compare both of the benefits in terms of insurance. Missed Flight Connection, Flight Delay and Flight Luggage Delay does cover RM1000 for the insured person for CIMB Platimiun card. Maybank is much lower RM800. For Flight Luggage loss, Maybank offer RM2500 and CIMB offers RM 1000. There is no Retail protection found on CIMB card.

Do you think i should terminated my CIMB card and convert the American Express Gold to Maybank 2 Platinium? Please advice.
Go convert the AMEX Gold CC to Maybankard 2 Cards. Not only Maybankards 2 cards gives you Travel Insurance, but your get 5X TP for any transactions and cash back 5%. As for CIMB, you got to go decide if CIMB promotions benefit you.
TSGen-X
post Mar 19 2011, 12:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 19 2011, 11:47 AM)
When I receive the card, the instruction says I have to acknowledge receipt & sign on the paper and return it to Maybank. Can I just ignore this?
Just ignore it and go use your cards smile.gif
TSGen-X
post Mar 19 2011, 01:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 19 2011, 12:56 PM)
Cool. Maybank shouldn't ask people to sign and return the paper. Because it contains so much personal information... card number, expiry, name, IC No..and signature. If somebody get their hands on this paper, or if lost in post,.. then dangerous.
It is a standard letter that have been issued for years. the thing is MBB should at least make us call to activate the card and after verification then only the card can be use, but this is not the case. If you collect it at the branch, then the officer will make you sign on the form.
TSGen-X
post Mar 19 2011, 10:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Mar 19 2011, 09:31 PM)
my maybankard 2 has been finally charged with GST, but it got waived automatically
17-Mar-2011 SERVICE TAX - PRINCIPAL RM50.00
17-Mar-2011PAID SERVICE TAX - PRINCIPA RM50.00
yah yah yah, please elaborate.
TSGen-X
post Mar 21 2011, 12:24 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Garruk @ Mar 21 2011, 12:01 AM)
hi i am new to credit cards and kinda interested in this maybank2card .
1. may i know if AMEX card is widely usable or its use is fairly limited? (supermarket, restaraunt etc).Can we check where is this card accepted?

2. While alot of ppl said that Mastercard or visa card is a matter of preference, any one of you mind to share which might be better to get?

3. As far as i know we can do withdrawal with credit card via ATM, can we ask the bank to disable this or reduce the limits?(incase if being held at knife point can reduce the money lost from withdrawal using credit card)
if you can qualify for the MBB 2, just apply for it. If AMex cannot be used, you still got the Visa or MC. If you are in KL and do shop during the Mega Sale and year end festivals, MC do have promotion. Click below link to read my review on MBB Dua.

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...an-express.html
TSGen-X
post Mar 21 2011, 09:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(kevafk @ Mar 21 2011, 06:14 PM)
i want to ask bout credit limit, would i need to submit any doc to increase my credit limit for maybank 2 cards?
call CS, number behind your card and ask.

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Mar 21 2011, 09:35 PM)
can u use the m2card to pay car loan for public bank??
if can, amex can use?
how nice if we can pay our loans with credit cards and earn points or cash back. The answer is no.
TSGen-X
post Mar 22 2011, 06:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Mar 22 2011, 06:50 PM)
Suddenly received the email from MBB,

Kindly confirm on the acceptance of the cards as upon our checking the cards was newly closed on 21/03/2011. Have you requested to closed the Maybankard 2 Cards (Visa/Amex)??

i never request to close the account, but suddenly was told account closed.
Call to CS, they said they duno, need open back, need 2 days.
what kind of service is tat
have you collected the card? if no better you tell CS you want to go collect it at XXX
TSGen-X
post Mar 22 2011, 07:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Mar 22 2011, 06:52 PM)
Is it a spam? Banks don't normally send out emails to customers.
If you read earlier post, beyond mentioned his card was approved since Feb 7th but he wasn't aware of it. So it has been more than a month since the card have been approved. that's why I asked him if he has collected his card.
Talking about email, click here to see a fake email I received recently claiming to be from M2U.
TSGen-X
post Mar 23 2011, 04:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

post at wrong thread doh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 23 2011, 04:31 PM
TSGen-X
post Mar 23 2011, 08:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Mar 23 2011, 07:26 PM)
my mbb2u showed accounts for both cards, but havent receive yet. normal it takes how long for the card to arrive at my doorstep?

Added on March 23, 2011, 7:49 pmand funny thing is, it shows one amex card, one visa...suppose is master?
MasterCard option available only next month onwards.
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 06:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 24 2011, 12:00 AM)
Amex free GST, but Visa charge RM50. So... if I don't activate my Visa card, will the RM50 be waived?
for MBB case, once the card is issued, you no need to activate it can be use.
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 07:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Mar 24 2011, 01:18 PM)
sometime i really don know how MBB system work. As i see some of ppl said MBB will give u card & limit based on the FD u placement in MBB.

but....i had FD in MBB also, but last month, i applied for platinum even attached with payslip, stated down my FD Account, but at the end also give me gold  rclxub.gif
before that i already have VISA Petronas Gold and AMEX GOLD, with combine limit only RM5k  shakehead.gif , i even ask for increase limit, but at the end give me up to RM7k limit only. if u said that limit given is based on how much FD u have, then my FD amount actually can buy 1 new myVi car, but how come only give me 7k limit?  sweat.gif  so i really don know how the give the limit to customer.

Added on March 24, 2011, 1:26 pm

I guess that is true because I also got this invitation also as I keep use VISA Petronas and AMEX GOLD.
having FD with MBB and pledging FD is different. Once you pledge FD, you cannot withdraw it as you like.
TSGen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 09:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 24 2011, 09:41 PM)
damn, but still can we still do auto-debit with amex then,
you can go direct to Telcos and do auto-debit without gong thru AMEX. Call Astro too and ask, did mine for OCBC thru phone.
TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 04:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 25 2011, 03:56 PM)
There's something i need to tell you guys about this Maybank 2 cards.
For principal cardholders, you only need to pay one(1) GST which is RM50 for both cards and for your Supplementary cardholders, he/she will need to pay two(2) GST which is RM100 for both cards.
doh.gif

Supp cards are RM25 each and therefore total for 2 cards come out to RM50.
TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 04:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 25 2011, 04:03 PM)
Oh, yea, its RM50 for both cards.
Not worth it at all if you ask me.
Well, it is worth it if the person having the supp cards cannot qualify for Principal Cards himself/herself.

For my case, not worth it since my wife got both her own Principal cards and Supp cards. Received the 4 cards on the same day doh.gif Click here to read my wife's application for Maybankard 2 . But I not cancelling her supp cards because of the 5X TP and when she don't want me to know what she buys, she uses her own card, haha
TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 05:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 25 2011, 05:10 PM)
My usual Petronas station doesnt accept amex, even at the counter..what a downer  grumble.gif
time to try out other stations like Esso tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 11:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Mar 25 2011, 07:58 PM)
For normal purchase the interest is 8.88%,how about if i make a cash advance? 18% or still 8.88 ? Any idea?
both still high. If you really doing cash advance, better check with CS if you still enjoy 20 days interest free period from statement date i.e. new and old transactions subjected to interest charges once you do cash advance AND after checking with CS please report back here to share.

QUOTE(meteoraniac @ Mar 25 2011, 10:19 PM)
Is it safe to say that the visa card is pretty much useless unless the merchant do not accept Amex?
if you have another visa or mastercard that can give you better benefit then yes.

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 25 2011, 11:12 PM)
which is better to do online shopping for overseas products, AMEX or VISA?
Click here to read my article on overseas transactions.
TSGen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 08:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lingling @ Mar 26 2011, 08:21 AM)
on the maybank2u website, 2 statement appear.
Statement balance and outstanding balance , where OutBal >= StaBal

If I only settle the statement balance in FULL before due date, will there be any interest charge ? Or do I need to settle all the outstanding balance ?

What about 20 days interest-free period, do maybank implement this and how is it being calculated ?
Interest free period is based on purchase date or statement posting date ?
From M2U Statement Balance is amount owing as of Statement Date.
Outstanding Balance includes amount transacted after the Statement Date.

Yes, make sure you settle in FULL the Statement Balance before due date to avoid penalty and interest charges.. You don't have to settle the Outstanding Amount before the due date.

20 days interest free period is the time frame between Statement Date and Due Date. Example, Statement Date on the 10th every month and therefore Due Date is on 30th every month.

Once you get your paper statement, it will be clearer to you.

Since you are new to CC, I suggest you read my article written back in 2009 titled Intro to CC. Some info outdated especially regarding to a particular card but basics are still applicable. Also read the link at the bottom of the post on Annual Income and Credit Limit.
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...rds-cc-101.html

0.0428sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:06 AM