Free Access to Airport Lounges with Credit Cards, KLIA, LCCT, Senai and Worldwide

plumberly
post Dec 25 2011, 08:37 PM

4,761 posts

How does one go about using the airport lounge when one has the card ?
a. Buy the air ticket with the card and then go to the lounge ?
b. Or just go to the lounge with the card (regardless of whether one bought the ticket using the card or not) ?

Heard that Maybank Inifinte card has that feature as well.
plumberly
post Dec 26 2011, 07:23 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 25 2011, 10:25 PM)
b. Just present you credit card or Priority Pass Membership card to the counter staff for entry.

MBB VI allows you 5 free entries to airport lounges worldwide with Priority Pass Membership card. Click here to see mine smile.gif
Gen-X,

Thanks !

Do you know whether one can use the card at Kuching / KKinabalu international airports a s well ?

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Mar 14 2012, 08:15 PM

4,761 posts

Need your advice on this.

Planning a family tour to Korea. Arrive at KLIA in the late afternoon.
a. Possible to use the 5 free passes (MB Infinite with Priority card) for my family members ?
b. Possible to stay in the lounge till 1130 pm for the departure ? Hope there is no time limit while in the lounge.

plumberly
post Mar 20 2012, 08:49 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Mar 19 2012, 06:49 PM)
You can't use all 5 MBB Infinite passes at one go. However if you have 5 different cards you can admit your friends/family provided you are around. Usually 2 hours usage but I don't think it's actually enforced.
Noted and thanks Kwokwah.
plumberly
post Jan 23 2013, 01:15 PM

4,761 posts

I thought the Priority Pass I got from MB for my Inifinity card is valid for the free 5 visits in the FIRST year only. Much to my surprise, got a new PP this morning with another free 5 visits this year!

Thanks MB!
plumberly
post Feb 22 2013, 12:34 PM

4,761 posts

Was at Kuching International Airport yesterday. Glad to see that they are constructing one PPL in the waiting hall (for both international and domestic travellers).

Hope to use it in my next visit to Kuching.
plumberly
post Mar 7 2013, 12:49 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Explorer II @ Mar 7 2013, 12:18 PM)
Really? What stage of construction is it in now? Where is it located?

Been waiting for so long. Finally, I'll have access to a lounge at KIA using my Standard Chartered VI and Maybank VI. rclxms.gif
It is located at the Star Buck end of the building.

ETC ? I guess in the next 2-4 weeks.

Enjoy & relax there!

plumberly
post Mar 7 2013, 01:04 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Explorer II @ Mar 7 2013, 12:55 PM)
You mean it's located on the landside before immigration and accessible to the public?
May be I got the name wrong. I thought there is a coffee cafe in the arrival/departure hall. At one end mainly for intyernational flights.

One has to be passenger to get in to the PPL.
plumberly
post Mar 7 2013, 02:51 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Explorer II @ Mar 7 2013, 01:25 PM)
I think you mean The Coffee Bean. Cool.. Can't wait to visit the Kuching PPL. smile.gif
OK, see you there one day! Ha.
plumberly
post Oct 5 2013, 01:02 PM

4,761 posts

Instead of annual renewal, MB now gave me Infinite card with 5 years validity. Good on MB. Thanks.

Like to know whether anyone has got the Priority Pass card with 5 yrs validity.

That will be very nice if they do that now.

plumberly
post Oct 5 2013, 04:25 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Oct 5 2013, 04:20 PM)
That 5 year validity is conditional on your yearly CC renewal. MB saves money on not having to issue you a new card every year as with all credit cards.

What is meant by "CC renewal", i.e., how is it done? They assess it based on my spending, etc?

If my memory is still OK, I think I got Southern Bank card in the past with more a year validity.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Oct 16 2013, 10:40 AM

4,761 posts

My son will be going to Jakarta on a school trip. Like to know whether it is possible for him to use my Priority card to enter the lounge (I will not be going).

Any one has tried this?

plumberly
post Oct 16 2013, 11:06 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 16 2013, 10:48 AM)
If your son is going on a school trip, he should stay with the group at all times tongue.gif

If you talking about LCCT and KLIA PPL, nowadays we need to sign a slip, so you want to teach your son it is okay to forge your signature? I am not kidding here.

And the answer to your question - usually they check the card name with the boarding pass, malu only your son if kena chase out.

I was not thinking of my forging my signature etc. Just asking if any one has experienced a unique case where the lounge/card group was kind enough to allow son/daughter to use it on their own without the parent being there.

May be I will ask the card company.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Oct 17 2013, 11:52 AM

4,761 posts

Had a read on the FAQ in Priority Pass web site.

After reading it, I think I better give up the idea of asking them to allow my son to have access to the lounge on his own. PP is a 3rd party company, engaging the airport lounges for their customers.

So, looks like I will be wasting 5 of the 5 free entries this year.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Oct 24 2013, 12:08 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Oct 24 2013, 11:59 AM)
I think in some cases the checking isn't very thorough , in Europe as a teenager I used to travel with my father's BA Executive Club card (his name is the same as mine, apart from the middle name) and was never questioned or stopped when using the lounge and even got upgraded a number of timesĀ  rclxms.gif

Although I guess could have got in trouble if they checked the DOBĀ  blush.gif
Ha ha. Lucky you!

The only same letterings in my my son's name and mine are the surname letterings. So, cannot use that trick.

Thanks for sharing.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Oct 24 2013, 12:12 PM
plumberly
post May 14 2014, 01:42 PM

4,761 posts

Got this from Amex web site on Platinum card:

Airport Lounge Access* Complimentary access to the Plaza Premium Lounge at KLIA, LCCT , Senai Johor Airport, Langkawi Airport, Penang Airport, Kuching Airport and Kota Kinabalu Airport.

Like to know whether the free access is for the principal only or principal and supplementary.

plumberly
post May 14 2014, 02:24 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 14 2014, 02:16 PM)
You are are referring to AMEX Platinum without Maybank Logo, the free access are applicable for Principal and Supplementary Cards.

But I got infor from AMEX MB2U on the lounge access. Are there 2 types of Amex cards from MB - one with AMEX logo only and another one with Amex and MB logos?

I will check with MB. Wish that I knew this earlier as I was in Kuching airport last week, went by the lounge and pity myself that I could not go in. Ha.
plumberly
post May 14 2014, 03:59 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 14 2014, 03:01 PM)
Bro, I 'm surprised you regular here but you post above  tongue.gif

American Express Cards - the Platinum Charge Card, Platinum Credit Card and KrisFlyer grants you FREE access to Airport Lounges. AMEX cards operations are currently licensed/outsourced to Maybank. But this does not mean the brand cannot be franchised to other banks (e.g. Citibank and HLB).

Maybank AMEX (with Maybank Logo) - non of them allow you any FREE access to airport lounge including the new Maybank 2 Cards Premier AMEX Reserve (the PPMC is from the Visa Infinite).

Citibank AMEX - selected lounge access.

Hong Leong Bank AMEX credit card - too lazy go read if it comes with FREE access to sirport lounges.
Sorry Sifu, I am one of those with low IQ. icon_question.gif cry.gif hmm.gif

In MB2U Amex web site they stated lounge access. Waiting for MB to reply to me on my query.

plumberly
post May 29 2014, 03:57 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ May 29 2014, 03:37 PM)
Hi, did you find out whether Maybank 2 card Amex platinum entitle for complimentary access to KLIA lounge?
They replied stating what the Sifu has said, i.e., cannot use MB Amex for the lounge entry.

What a pity! Ha.

Hope they will include this in the near future! Ha.

0.0279sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:26 PM