Condo upstairs leaking, Need advise..

leongal
post Mar 13 2011, 10:50 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

i faced this problem recently when the above unit renovated the unit; after it's renovation, when he use the toilet, ceiling was dripping. I initially called the management, but the management ask me to speak to the owner. I went up and try to relate to the owner on this issue. Luckily, his contractor was still there. So, he asked the contractor over - the contractor himself was shocked to see how water was flowing down (like your case, bulb burst). Then, the contractor went up to see - it was one of the old pipes - not covered. The contractor fixed it two days later. The thing was settled. I was considered lucky that the owner takes the responsibility.

In your case, maybe you try to spot when the owner is at home (but sometimes people staying there might not be owner, those people might be renting)

This post has been edited by leongal: Mar 13 2011, 10:50 PM
leongal
post Mar 14 2011, 12:48 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Mar 13 2011, 11:40 PM)
woo.. you were so lucky! In my case, somebody is home. But always come back very late I think. But why don't they respond to my notes.
Currently have to bath in the dark, no light, need to use candle and torchlight.

Can I ask, what is a 'bulb burst?' Does it mean everytime he flushes, your ceiling will start to drip water?
mine was worse, whenever they use water, water was dripping like rain water - luckily it was a toilet outside, and i have the master bedroom toilet to use; not that he flush then water drip, but when he pour water on the floor, water will drip

the bulb kena water, then burst lor....have to change bulb

now the ceiling has stain, but i will repaint it myself.....give-and-take, he helped me fix the leaking, so i paint myself

those people usually don't really care to respond because they are not affected, so, you need to get to them face to face lor; or bring a management office staff/ security guard (if possible)

if weekday can;t get, try weekend....

0.0166sec    1.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:17 AM