RPG Dragon Age 2 : Spoiler Edition, Talk about game storyline here

sniperwolf
post Apr 1 2011, 07:09 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

Well its always personal taste of which member you like to have in your party smile.gif In DA2 I dont actually find healer is needed, as cool down for healing spells are quite long in my opinion, unless you go tweak the settings for it, which I dont prefer to. I find potions more useful most of the time. As for fragility, I would give my vote to isabela, as she tends to die easily on me. A back stab from enemy rogues can easily kill her with full hp. Even mages are tougher in the game with the skill rock armor.

Just start another warrior recently, playing as tank. Only found out that tank can do charge attack while shield defense is being deactivated. Kinda addicted to my frostmourne and shield biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Apr 1 2011, 07:11 PM
sniperwolf
post Apr 1 2011, 09:28 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Dr Jan Itor @ Apr 1 2011, 09:19 PM)
Its a pity I can't play as a dwarf. Would have loved to be a 2 handed axe bearing dwarf. And my axe.............!!!!
You can always play as any race, even the arishok. Just need be modding only. But I not really into modding companions
sniperwolf
post Apr 2 2011, 07:02 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 2 2011, 03:45 PM)
Im playing mage and cos 1st play I already use nuke mage partner so now 2nd play I try something different. Also in hard mode but I feel it should be hard.

SOmehow my mage kinda suck. Is it mage not nuke will become suck liao? I choose the spirit skill and now level 8 but my mage always do nothing in combat. Just shoot shoot wif the staff.
That is 1 of reason I stop my mage at around lvl11 and start a tank, seems bit boring with not much action. For my mages I usually choose the lightning tree and some support skills. But honestly go play nightmare, more challenges as you wont able just throwing any nuke spell or go aoe everywhere as you like. Monsters also has better element immunity as well. Example qunari types will get no damage from fire and lightning.
sniperwolf
post Apr 3 2011, 01:09 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Nosferatu @ Apr 2 2011, 11:23 PM)
dao and da2 i play tank biggrin.gif
its the satisfying sound of a large steel plate meeting the enemies face - "KLANK!"
Tank in da2 is less skill dependant as compare to dao. From what I remember with alistair in dao, I had to have quite some sustain buff on in order to keep him alive. Unlike my current tank hawke, which I barely even on shield defense throughout act 1 even in nightmare mode. To me she more like a warrior carrying shield and sword than a tank, as 1h sword also has some minor aoe feature from what I noticed.

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Apr 3 2011, 01:51 AM
sniperwolf
post Apr 3 2011, 05:42 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Nosferatu @ Apr 3 2011, 04:40 PM)
yeah, in da2, my tank just frigging truck through the mobs while varric and fenris lay down the firepower.
this is in normal mode.

in nightmare mode, i dont think i can stand my companions burning through my tank's hp with their careless aoe unless i micromanage
Actually that not much micro manage in nightmare even if you play as tank hawke. All depends on the party member you choose. I using slightly mod gears for my tank, which base on the stats of fake heavy champion armor, then throw in extra 1 to 2 rune slots, making up all having 3 rune slot and doesnt face much problem. Since I lazy to switch gear, therefore just throw in the feature improve with level up, as well as some minor element resistance to my shield and few status immunity like stun immunity to my armor. Those immunity can be easily found from accessories as well. As currently the fire resistance of my shield had slowly increase from 300+ to 700+ now, which my hawke level is around 16 to 17 and it kinda enough. Even without it, there always a sustain buff which increase all elements to 60%.

As for my party member setup, I usually keep varric and 2 more mages. Varric just use explosive arrows, which dont actually deal much damage to my tank, where merril I only pick up thunder skill tree only. Anders only focus sustain buff only and some dispels. Most of time pause only require to move those range chars as the ai seems kinda dumb and always like to get themselves stuck and cause death.

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Apr 3 2011, 05:43 PM
sniperwolf
post Apr 3 2011, 07:41 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Nosferatu @ Apr 3 2011, 06:26 PM)
How you guys go about killing the high dragon ?
Running around with so many of her minions after you a bit annoying to me

this is how i set my companions once the high dragon is perched on top of the overlooking cliff and spews her rage fueled fireballs at you and your party

They are spaced out just enough so that they dont take splash damage from the fireballs' impact and then I just heal and pot through the whole process while the high dragon stays on the cliff

(edit: again this is on normal difficulty, dunno how the nightmare will work tongue.gif)
For high dragon in nightmare, I always 1 melee 3 range, and warrior is always a good choice for melee. 2h warrior can easily tank it as long you have the skill taunt with upgrade. When reaching high dragon, your level should be close to 20 to 21, unless you skip alot quests in previous acts. The dragonlings are pretty easy to take care with, unless you really poor equipped. Try use pure ice elemental weapons if you had any on your chars, as ice deal good damage to dragons type. While all those small irritating dragon start pouring out, hold you entire party and move all to a not infested corner which is some distant away. Before reaching halt your warrior/ tank and had him/her stop and charge into the groups of dragons which trailing your party. Spam your aoe and with the aid of your range, those dragonlings can be easily wipe off. Then your entire party can focus on the normal dragon. My 2h warrior with around 52% armor and 20%+ damage resistance can tank pretty easy. The high dragon from my experience doesnt throw much fireballs down while there still dragons or dragonlings in the field. To counter her fireballs, just move your entire party from 1 end of the map to the other end, and keep repeating it. As long as you keep your party running, chances of getting hit is not that high. I also discovered that while gather all your range right below the cliff where she squad and open fire from there, she wont be able to attack your team with fireball. You can give it a try, as I just tried this solution once. Had to have your team right below here, stick to the cliff. Death sometimes cant be avoided. Just bring some mythal's favor and it will be fine. Potionss are always your best friend over heal spell, as potions cooldown faster.

QUOTE(WintersuN)
where is this high dragon? I never play this b4 on my 1st play

Seems like you really dont explore the maps while playing. You wont need to get any quest in order to fight the high dragon. While in act 3, just go into bone pits and you will automatically see the area being burn down and the quest will automatically add to your quest list. Just go down the path and you will meet the high dragon in a quite large opening space.
sniperwolf
post Apr 3 2011, 08:08 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Nosferatu @ Apr 3 2011, 07:52 PM)
thats the thing running around to avoid fireballs, i find it annoying
hence i came up with the idea to just for a diamond formation just enough that the fireball splash dmg does not hurt the other party member and heal and pot through it lol

also that setting allows my tank to run into the middle and taunt the dragonlings and the dragonlings are nicely grouped in the center
I honestly cant think of any formation for this game, as the npc always run according as they like. Even with hold command, when your tank leave the party too far, the rest will automatic follow up and wont hold the ground. Also I dont like holding the entire party while mobs keep pouring out, as all the range ai is pretty screw up, little bit close up and they will stop attack, standing there become lunch for the dragons. Besides I really cant predict which one in the party the high dragon will hurl her fireballs at, since its all random. Running around is still ok if you ask me, since when the high dragon start throwing fireballs, the field is usually empty. When there are dragonlings, she will just usually idle at the cliff.
sniperwolf
post Apr 3 2011, 08:21 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Nosferatu @ Apr 3 2011, 08:11 PM)
I control the ai to attack if they stop attacking for whatever reason lol
That is troublesome already tongue.gif I usually left those range char with their ai, and play as melee. Even control them to attack, but once switch back to the melee, the range char will stop attacking again if the close range mob is not yet dead. I usually just point the range char to ran further and let them be there biggrin.gif
sniperwolf
post Apr 3 2011, 09:03 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Nosferatu @ Apr 3 2011, 08:24 PM)
hm yeah lol but i didnt like the running around avoiding fireballs part lol
Haha its just control A and click far far. Easy biggrin.gif
sniperwolf
post Apr 3 2011, 10:01 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 3 2011, 09:52 PM)
wat does ctrl A do?
Its for selecting all party members at once.
sniperwolf
post Apr 6 2011, 10:38 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 6 2011, 10:35 PM)
I know but other than that where else?
Well the whole story is bout the champion of kirkwall, where else you expect you be ended up at? The whole thing is just bout kirkwall and some tiny bit of its outskirt compound only. Dont expect its going to be like dao with alot areas to explore. Most of the dungeons interior is actually same with some minor differences, eg, disable a hall or a tiny room sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Apr 6 2011, 10:41 PM
sniperwolf
post Apr 6 2011, 10:43 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 6 2011, 10:40 PM)
Expect my character being able to travel elsewhere other than Kirkwall.

Dragon Age Origins had a lot more places to go. Orzammar and what not.
You already say it yourself, its dao, but this is da2 biggrin.gif Have to accept the tuned down, or just throw the game away. Basically you will repeat running around the same areas from act 1 till the game ends. I also miss the options to explore in dao. Isnt orzamar in fereldan?

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Apr 6 2011, 10:45 PM
sniperwolf
post Apr 6 2011, 10:59 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 6 2011, 10:47 PM)
I didn't say I hate the game. I am in the midst of playing the game.

I just asked whether there are any other areas in the game as I have just started playing.

What is your point?
No specific point, as that how I treat it. If I really dislike it and cant accept it, I will just uninstall and throw it aside tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sniperwolf: Apr 6 2011, 11:00 PM
sniperwolf
post Apr 6 2011, 11:06 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Apr 6 2011, 11:00 PM)
I start this game and I will finish it.
Good attitude rclxms.gif
sniperwolf
post Apr 6 2011, 11:15 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(Alviano @ Apr 6 2011, 11:06 PM)
LOL why as a champion of Kirkwall, we cannot travel to other city and other location?  Why?

Does that mean the champion have to always be in the town?

I thought the hero travel to deep road and other closer location.  But if he travels to other small islands, deeper in deep road, saving other villages, then he cannot be called champion of Kirkwall?

If there is sequel for this game that the Champion of Kirkwall travels out from the Kirkwall town into further adventure, then he cannot be called Champion of Kirkwall anymore.

LOL.  Just a question to those who like to answer "What do you expect?"

Honestly, I do expect a lot more.  =P  Too bad the game just gives us a bit of introduction rather than the full story for the adventure of Champion of Kirkwall.

Maybe wait for next sequel or DLC?
By given you all you wanted, how else you think they can drain more from us from the future dlc? When I done with dao, I actually skip those like awakening and other dlc. Honestly kirkwall should be more than what we seen, in which I believe that still plenty of areas in free marches had not been included in this da2. I guess everyone that already finished the game should think that there should be more than what we had seen so far in the game.
sniperwolf
post Apr 6 2011, 11:43 PM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ Apr 6 2011, 11:37 PM)
any1 know how to get them mods working, like alternate companion visuals etc
some of them work some just dont even being the single addon in /overide
im on 1.01 beta
There should be a read me file for every released mods out there. Just follow the instruction in it. Majority will just require you to put the modded erf or gda files into My Documents\BioWare\Dragon Age 2\packages\core\override and they should work flawlessly.

0.0252sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:52 AM