♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 ♠ Official Thread V1, Decent mid range phone at RM9xx

Bugeca
post Mar 27 2011, 08:09 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(QRN @ Mar 27 2011, 07:30 PM)
Hi all

I wonder if any one has tried ROM Manager with Galaxy Ace, after setup and "conform your model" massage I could not see Galaxy ace model

any help, please

Please do not run ROM Manager atm. Ace is not supported, u may ended up with a brick phone.
Bugeca
post Mar 28 2011, 12:21 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Mar 28 2011, 12:20 PM)
For Mobo Player, there 're high-end, medium n low-end version, which one suit SGA ?  sweat.gif
The Mid End aka V6
Bugeca
post Mar 28 2011, 08:52 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Mar 28 2011, 08:19 PM)
Oh, thanks. I thought I am the one who having this kind of problem.
Yes, Ace is a bit soft on the notification tone. Not sure whether it is a hardware or otherwise. But I did some test by pulling out one notification tone and replaced it with the same file from Galaxy S. It is even softer.

Maybe someone can resume the test by amplify the tone using audio editor software but it may sound distort. My wife currently is satisfy with the volume so I drop this idea. smile.gif
Bugeca
post Mar 28 2011, 09:02 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Mar 28 2011, 09:00 PM)
guise how to upgrade to 2.2

and how to screen shot pictar?

btw SGA black heer
It is already 2.2.1 Which version you have on ur phone?
Bugeca
post Mar 28 2011, 09:13 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Mar 28 2011, 09:10 PM)
no use also bro coz i alredy test with both mp3 and wave files both are saved with high quality sound but when i put it to test the notification sound still smooth as he**l but on audio player such as android winamp the sound is pretty loud....  doh.gif
Ohh Ye ke... then we have to live with it LOL biggrin.gif
Bugeca
post Mar 28 2011, 09:34 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Mar 28 2011, 09:13 PM)
standard micro usb bro...

Added on March 28, 2011, 9:15 pm
thats why la...  tongue.gif   btw hows the notification sound on SGS is it louder...
It is a bit louder eventough the tone is softer than Ace. The only different I can see is the speaker grill. SGS using some kind of fabric to cover the speaker hole. The inner part might be different thou so can not conclude on physical build only nod.gif

This post has been edited by Bugeca: Mar 28 2011, 09:36 PM
Bugeca
post Mar 29 2011, 08:48 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(peggymun @ Mar 29 2011, 08:16 PM)
sifu's i got trouble here.. i duno y my contact background suddenly got a "G" appear and i duno how to get rid it
It means the contacts is from Google Contacts, either you hide Google Contacts from the list or remove the contacts from Google Account using PC.
Bugeca
post Apr 1 2011, 11:19 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(kelthuzad @ Apr 1 2011, 02:44 AM)
i heard that if we root the phone,we can remove the pre-installed apps isnt it?how do i do that?i rooted my phone with soperoneclick,but i still dunno how to remove those apps
Just delete the apps in /system/app. But I recommend to rename it for example xxx.apk to xxx.apk.bak If you delete it, it won't increase your internal memory thou.

QUOTE(lim_kobe2005 @ Apr 1 2011, 11:00 AM)
i face one problem..."Incoming message rejected. Memory full" how to solve this?
Android need at least 20MB free in the internal memory. Have you reached that figure?
Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 10:45 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(kelthuzad @ Apr 2 2011, 03:25 AM)
QUOTE(kelthuzad @ Apr 1 2011, 02:44 AM)
i heard that if we root the phone,we can remove the pre-installed apps isnt it?how do i do that?i rooted my phone with soperoneclick,but i still dunno how to remove those apps
where to find the /system/app?i tried searching at settings>apps>manage apps....none of the pre-installed apps are listed there.where are they saved at?sorry ya,kinda noob here
you mean even if we delete those apps,like  'samsung apps',the memory will still remain in the phone?memory size is really a problem with this phone
It won't increase the ROM of the phone coz of Android mount architecture. The /system path is on different mount point than the /data path. The /system path is not accessible by app installer. Any apps installed after factory reset will be in /data path. So, there is no gain in free space except if you want to remove the app from touchwiz only. That is the reason I strongly advise to rename rather than remove coz you need a full stock rom flash if you need it back or have to ask someone else to share with you the original app. Any deletion in /system path is non-recoverable even factory reset.

Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 04:28 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

Successfully upgraded to DXKC1, no major changes. Maybe bug fixes especially on WIFI?

Anyway, you need to root again after upgrade. Suggest to have a good connection coz KIES is a bit temperamental on internet link.
Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 05:33 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Apr 2 2011, 04:56 PM)
Do u unroot before the upgrade?
nope, straight away update. it is not a wipe firmware so all the data intact. if you have too many app fc after that then need factory reset.
Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 07:32 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Apr 2 2011, 07:26 PM)
how long does it really take to update the FW?my phone is showing "Downloading..." for the last 10 minutes
Does the percentage increase? Depends on ur connection speed, roughly around 150++MB need to be downloaded.
Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 08:26 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Apr 2 2011, 08:18 PM)
kies already finished the downloading...i'm quite sure something wrong liao wor..still phone displays :Downloading...
You're now on second stage. The phone will show "Downloading...." and your pc will show another dialog box. This is transferring stage, there will be another percentage scale at the dialog box. It takes a while for this dialog box to show up but it should not be more than 30 minutes. Mine around 5 - 10 minutes.
Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 10:46 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Apr 2 2011, 10:25 PM)
anyone icon_question.gif
Unfortunately, u need data for mms. Or use third party app (droidwall if I'm not mistaken) but need root function or modify the APN.

This post has been edited by Bugeca: Apr 2 2011, 10:51 PM
Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 11:18 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Apr 2 2011, 11:15 PM)
i still havent root my phone, scared i might brick it tongue.gif ,
still studying abt android blush.gif ,
how to modify the APN?
Edit the Access Point in Settings -> Wireless.... -> Mobile Network -> Access Point Names. Select the active APN and change the APN type to MMS only. Then save. Try it out first. I never do this but some says it work.

Added on April 2, 2011, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(karkadeeh @ Apr 2 2011, 11:02 PM)
U dont need to root to customize font. Go to setting and select font type,it will direct u to fontomizer if im not mistaken. This app support galxy phone. I deleted because it took too much space
If like to have fonts, here is a link to download the mega flip fonts for Galaxy series. Extract and install the font you like. If space is critical, just push the apk into /system/app but requires root thou.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=942726

This post has been edited by Bugeca: Apr 2 2011, 11:20 PM
Bugeca
post Apr 2 2011, 11:26 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(ahucks @ Apr 2 2011, 11:25 PM)
i do that on the first day i got the phone...confirm its work....
Thanks for the confirmation nod.gif
Bugeca
post Apr 3 2011, 12:01 AM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Apr 2 2011, 11:41 PM)
tried that, still cannt send out,
i get error msg 'currently service unavailable to send the msg. Msg will be sent when service become available'
can u show me ur setting?
QUOTE(MerzadNazmi @ Apr 2 2011, 11:51 PM)
I can confirm that for me, it does not work.. not only MMS can't be sent or received, the APN won't even have a green button next to it. (the green button says the APN is good to go and is being used). That's why I rooted my phone and got myself droidwall. Seriously, the only reason I rooted is for droidwall only. i was once the newbie who wouldn't dare to root my phone, scare brick
Ok, since a lot of people here having this problem. I did test it out with my SGA. Sending and receivin MMS with APN set to MMS. And it works. Btw, I'm on Maxis. Regarding the green button, it will only available for internet type APN coz we can select 2G or 3G connection but MMS only have one setting, no need the green button.

This post has been edited by Bugeca: Apr 3 2011, 12:02 AM
Bugeca
post Apr 3 2011, 08:22 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(hping @ Apr 3 2011, 06:34 PM)
Goanna get my SGA black nxt week~ Count me in~ Just wanna ask can i check the pixel when i get the phone on the spot or i need to dload some software to test it? kinda worry got any dead pixel~
Dial this *#0*# in the keypad and run all the test.
Bugeca
post Apr 4 2011, 09:08 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(wmr91 @ Apr 4 2011, 08:59 PM)
anybody can explain to me what is the purpose of rooting our phone???
Well, in simple english is... to have administrative access and function.
Bugeca
post Apr 4 2011, 10:23 PM

Deuces Are Wild
1,186 posts

QUOTE(apitzhnu @ Apr 4 2011, 10:17 PM)
oh never knew that, I thought it's act as phone n media browser only

how about this one http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=961601
You can use ODIN, another method which is more popular for custom ROM. Anyway, our ROM currently is the latest and samfirmware did not have it yet.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0477sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:33 AM