Arsenal Street Talk, 10 APR 2011 | 2025 | BLP v. ARS

FollowN
post Mar 13 2011, 11:53 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ Mar 13 2011, 10:42 AM)
Arsenal have been in top 4 since last few years without even having to spend heavily like other top 4 teams. hardly for Arsene to spend more than 20mil on a player. his limit might be like 15mil on certain players like Arshavin. Arsene greatest attributes is his eagle eye in spotting a talent. players that he signed like Henry, vieira, Bergkamp weren't doing well with their previous clubs, but he managed to saw their potential and talent and brought them to Arsenal and polished them into world superstars. but, unfortunately, Arsenal still haven't managed to find the right blend and mixture of young raw talents with experience players. He managed to did that with the invincible team but not this current crop of players.....yet. of course, arsenal have Almunia, Rosicky, Squilacci and Arshavin which can be labelled as seniors and experience players but they not consistently featured in the squad due to injury and loss of form. IMHO, arsenal need few experience players, who will be consistently in the squad to motivate and guide the young players.
He'll simply ignore your facts and figures and reply with multiple one liners that end with either self-destruct, no trophies, or sack Wenger. He claims he is an Arsenal fan but he doesn't put forth his views in a coherent manner. Some have decided to troll him, while others have simply decided to ignore him. It's pointless to reply to him.

Bergkamp wasn't signed by Wenger, he was signed by Rioch.

In any case, the 03/04 Arsenal team wasn't exactly a mixture of raw talents with experienced players because if you have considered the first 11 (Lehmann, Lauren, Campbell, Toure, Cole, Ljungberg, Vieira, Silva, Pires, Bergkamp and Henry), you would've noticed that the average age of the squad was 28. The portion of "raw talents" simply disintegrates further when you consider the % of appearances made by the first 11 and the playstyles/ages of other prominent substitutes like Edu, Parlour, Cygan, Kanu and Wiltord. None of these names, even if combined, possess the sheer brilliance of Bergkamp or Henry alone. Although I must say some of these names were very very underappreciated.

I don't think the lack of silverware can be attributed to the lack of experience alone. The 97/98 and 03/04 had very very solid defensive foundations -- you can't argue against the wall of Adams, Dixon, Winterburn and Bould or the robustness/tactical astuteness of Lauren, Campbell, Toure and Cole. When you couple these back fours with Petit/Vieira or Silva/Vieira, Arsenal suddenly transforms into a fortress. The match against Man Utd is a disgrace if you consider how Arsenal conceded the first goal. Many considered Silvestre an old and slow punctured truck but Djourou was no less. Did you see how he hesitated and lost the decisive header as a result?

I can't help but to think Arsenal has serious issues in every department. We have dodgy keepers in Almunia, Fabianski and to a certain extent Mannone, young and gaffe-prone defenders in Gibbs, Clichy and Koscielny, extremely temperamental/soft midfielders in Arshavin, Fabregas and Denilson and lack of depth upfront.

I don't think this is a knee-jerk reaction but I digress. It's a disgrace to see talents like Nasri and Wilshere slogging and crying on the pitch.

But in the midst of all the doom and gloom, there is simply an outstanding individual in Eboue. He doesn't complain, he plays hard to earn respect, he comforts his team and he simply behaves like a captain. I'd be surprised if Eboue doesn't get a testimonial match when he retires.

FollowN
post Mar 16 2011, 11:09 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(Quick` @ Mar 15 2011, 09:19 PM)
maybe they are busy with real life issues, perhaps its true they dont have time to sit infront football lounge and monitor it for 24/7
but it feels so f***ing long,

i may get a warning for this, but i dont care men,
u want a fact, i give you fact.
Nice rant but I must say the real life issues bit is amusingly true.

Whilst I can understand people have real life to contend with, I simply cannot understand how people frequently miss the key issues of contention. Mods are not paid, they have personal issues to deal with, they have lives outside the virtual world etc are fine and dandy reasons but many miss the crux of the argument -- shape up or ship out. Certain politicians, retired or active, spring to mind laugh.gif. Unproductive but remains in power. An epidemic that pervades every level of Malaysian society really.

But yeah I digress lest we get banned tongue.gif. Plenty of good football forums without trolls around, so start digging!

In any case, long but good read.

Arsene Wenger Is Arsenal's Bill Shankly When Everyone Expects Bob Paisley

Source: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/636429-...cts-bob-paisley?

FollowN
post Mar 16 2011, 05:52 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Yukieliow @ Mar 16 2011, 05:42 PM)
Bentner is Right Wing?? where u get that from? are u on high pills?
This season, however, Bendtner has found it increasingly difficult to find regular playing time with the signing of Marouane Chamakh and the return of Robin van Persie.

Arsene Wenger has instead decided to use Bendtner on the wings this season and so far it's been fairly successful. The Arsenal manager has stated that the Dane can take the opposite route to Thierry Henry—go from playing as a striker to playing as a winger. While Bendtner has expressed his desire to continue to play as a centre forward, the position on the wing has helped bring out the best in him.

Source: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/625300-...e-talented-dane

Regardless of source, you obviously haven't watched enough of Arsenal to make a sound argument.

Are you high on penis?

In any case, comparisons are so complex in the sense that some players may be late bloomers ala Drogba. But ironically the "prediction master" didn't apply his expertise on Bendtner's prospects.

FollowN
post Mar 16 2011, 05:58 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(Casanova88 @ Mar 16 2011, 05:55 PM)
I don't see NB52 gonna  be a star striker in Arsenal. Perhaps he can do better in MU. Wenger should consider swapping NB52 for Chicarito
Fuiyo, suddenly apply your expertise after people bring it up? Conveniently forgot ah? Prediction brah, isn't that your expertise? laugh.gif
FollowN
post Mar 25 2011, 09:51 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 25 2011, 08:52 PM)
Shit article is shit because of how it's written.

Assumptive title, no actual quotes from any real interviews nor sources; and everything mentioned about the 6 players is pretty much a rehash of the typical "general belief" that many people on the internet, such as yourself, hold.

Want to troll? Try harder. Half-arsed efforts will only suffice as entertainment.
No no you have got it all wrong. The article has predictions which coincidentally are his expertise! Considering how he conveniently forgets to predict things like late bloomers at times..... can't you give the mildly sedated mammal a break?

Don't feed the animal, but ride the animal ala rodeo! It's fun when it involves a mildly sedated animal laugh.gif

FollowN
post Mar 30 2011, 11:30 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(IsoZ @ Mar 30 2011, 11:04 AM)
Niamah this predictor is getting more and more annoying.

We would have gotten relegated based on his prediction.
What are you talking about? According to Nostradamus, it would be Sheep's jinx. Whatever caveman snot fun, according to the many Man Utd fans, that is. Some people find rolling in puddles of mud like wild hogs fun but others find playing scrabble fun. Preferences tell you a lot about a person's character and what he or she subscribes to.

What do you think the man subscribes to considering the fact that he likes to predict and troll using some random dude's "truth"? tongue.gif

I wonder if top football teams in the world employ witch doctors and money launderers! According to the clairvoyant, statisticians, nutritionists, physiotherapists and coaches play no major roles in determining a football club's fate. laugh.gif

FollowN
post Apr 4 2011, 04:00 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Apr 4 2011, 03:34 PM)
Race is still pretty much open. If Arsenal and Chelsea were to beat MU. Very very likely.
A rival fan showing more optimism than Arsenal fans in an Arsenal thread laugh.gif

According to many fortune tellers and pessimists, Arsenal is already a gone case. I'm going to pretend to be a spineless maggot and react like one! Sei lor, die lah, abis lah, mampos lah! Self-destruct lah, next season lah, as usual lah, speechless lah! laugh.gif

I'd take "the library" anytime over white creepy crawlies. www.tiki-taka.org for anybody interested in a relatively decent community.
FollowN
post Apr 6 2011, 07:36 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Apr 6 2011, 07:20 PM)
not to mean any offense. but don't you think Dein is important in the club. He used to work together with Wenger to sign Arsene's desired plyaer
Same could be said of Gazidis when you think of players like Arshavin. Do you prefer Dein simply because his tenure coincided with the most successful spell in recent times? I'd like to hear some of your points laugh.gif
FollowN
post Apr 6 2011, 11:05 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Apr 6 2011, 09:27 PM)
Apart of your question, I would say yes. I prefer Dein over Gazidis because Dein was involved during Arsenal's most successful period.
But when you think another angle, it will give you another answer.

Remember who brought Wenger into the team. It was Dein.
Wenger wanted players like Henry, Vieira, Robin and so on. Dein helped him to sign.
I guess during that time. Dein was the only person who dares to challenge Wenger in term of vision and signing due to seniority.
I guess Emirates stadium was pretty much Dein and Wenger's idea
After that, Dein wanted to bring Usmanov to the board but it was rejected and Dein chose to leave. Did Wenger said anything about it? No, but instead Wenger asked his old friend whether he needs to resign to support him. (Its still in Wiki)(Its not any solid proof but it was the rumors at that time)
Apart of signing players and managing the club, Dein did actually went into the dressing room during half time break to inspire the players
I am not saying Gazidis is not good but he is doing a decent job.
At the end of the day, Wenger never says no regarding Usmanov taking over the board but only complaining how Roman spends his money in transfer.

Now, its only Wenger who is making decisions in the team. He might make some mistake sometimes. Gazidis was brought in to relieve some of Wenger's burden.
We cannot justify who is right and wrong with Dein should be in the board or not.
But think twice, if Usmanov did take over the board because Dein. I am pretty sure Dein and Wenger have their own plans. Besides that, will Wenger spend the money just like how Roman spent? I don't think so
Although Dein's contributions have been brilliantly immense in terms of getting Arsenal development, trophies and international recognition, I think hindsight is a risky business when a team is suffering from a trophy drought. Sure it is easy to clamour for a man who co-developed Arsenal into what it is today, but some perspectives have to be put in place. Dein had roughly 2 decades to execute his plans while Gazidis has only 2 years to date.

And if you consider the circumstances surrounding Dein's resignation e.g. irreconcilable differences and the fact that he came back with Usmanov in an attempt to buy over Arsenal just to fulfill his wishes, you will be inclined to think that Dein is a dominant man who wants to have everything according to his tastes. What did a dominant man do when everyone disagreed with him? Sought another dominant man -- maybe dominant is too shallow and assumptive a way to describe Usmanov but hey what do we know about birds of the same feather flocking together?

Bringing somebody who is extremely temperamental back to the Arsenal is a food for thought. More so when you take into account the fact that Peter Hill-Wood, whose family heritage is filled with Arsenal through and through, sought to block the Dein-Usmanov takeover attempt with a lock-down agreement. How do we know whether Dein and Usmanov were genuine? That's right we can't and won't know but one thing is for sure, I sleep soundly at night because I know Hill-Wood is there. He knows the board members, including Dein, better than all of us combined and he is Mr. Arsenal.

Oh wait, wrong post! doh.gif

We should have a sugar daddy like what the spineless, one-liner, self-proclaimed Arsenal fan said. Or..... wait I think I know what he is going to say. No sugar daddies no talk. No trophies for 6 years! FACT. Spoken like a true maggot. laugh.gif

0.0567sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:58 PM