PROTON SAGA BLM & FL CLUB V12, welcome FL to the family

gagak_84
post May 6 2011, 08:34 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Vincent_A8fm @ May 3 2011, 09:31 PM)
bro, the tires air, i pump once a week at 30psi...
rev a lot? hmmm... i drive exactly the same way since the 1st day i got my car...
just suddenly the fc drop.... i dun understand... so i observe my fc for 2 months, at the end still same...

Added on May 3, 2011, 9:32 pm

ok... i will tell her about this...
thx..

Added on May 3, 2011, 9:33 pm

previously mine manual is like that.. rm55 for 300km...
but now rm55 for 280km..
so sad... scare will getting bad...
fuhhh.. RM50 just for 190km..
maybe they used 10w30..
used lighter grade of oil... 5w30 at least.. dont used 10w.
u can buy the oil from the outside if they dont have 5w oil (some SC) dont have 5w..
but cant bring your own oil filter... need to used SC oil filter .. RM12.95 if im not mistaken.. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on May 6, 2011, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(pravred @ May 5 2011, 07:21 PM)
today i saw free pdt tuning near old klang road new proton sc after the police station,so i decided to give it a try.I

went inside and they said free pdt tuning if you service the car only.I banged them said why you put today PDT tuning

for free,later they agreed to do the tuning.But since it is my first time i'm not sure what they should actually do.I saw

them plugging a device below the steering than i saw him pressing the keys non-stop,than he told ecu reset already

now wait for another guy to check.That other guy basically rev the car on the same spot, i'm not sure at what gears

but he alternate between 2 gears.He said thats all done.
Is this what u call tuning??  doh.gif
some of the tuning.. just monitor your throttle behaviour.. TPS..AFS and etc.. that is y.. he ram up ur car.. since ur car is still new.. i dont think need for them to tune anything..

Added on May 6, 2011, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(mooo88 @ May 6 2011, 07:04 PM)
hi guys..
i m helping my fren to ask bout saga fl exclu.
she say tht car come with Proton Tint with 5year warranty..
bt aft parking under sun for a whole morning, the car still very very hot.
so she might ask bout double up the Tint of Proton..
did any-one tried this?double up the Tint

BTW, if the Proton Tint had a big bubble suck by the GPS, can we claim warranty frm SC @ mana mana tempat saja?
or we need to sent back to KL and claim the warranty?
i waiting for my fiancee FL to come out.. need loan approval.. already 5 days.. cant wait... thumbup.gif
i heard lifetime warranty for power window.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 6 2011, 08:37 PM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 09:44 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 6 2011, 10:25 PM)
bro, you drive BLM also? You 100% sure 5W30 is suitable? Didn't see your name in the list sweat.gif
my sis used BLM.. and i buy for my fiancee BLM.. smile.gif
yup.. dont used 10w30.. used 5w30... dont matter what brand.. but stick to SMCF... thumbup.gif
low FC, lighter rev + most 5w30 is semi synthethic... good protection to engine.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 09:46 AM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 11:22 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 10:43 AM)
gagak_84
and a noisy tappet engine?
noisy tappet mostly happen to old car.. if u guys stick to used 10w grade in ur blm.. the noisy tappet will happen faster.. how to reduce the noisy tappet problem.. yap.. pour the thicker engine oil.. produa myvi also used 5w30 on their engine.. that is y.. the FC is low.. nice pickup and good acceleration.. depends.. ur money ur car... thumbup.gif

Added on May 7, 2011, 11:23 am
QUOTE(pravred @ May 7 2011, 10:49 AM)
i normally pour the syntium semi-synthetic from petronas given by sc so is it the most suitable one for blm..... biggrin.gif
dont assumed everything that SC give to u is good.. laugh.gif

Added on May 7, 2011, 11:25 amAircond Filter for BLM

RM20

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 11:25 AM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 11:30 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ May 7 2011, 11:27 AM)
10w or 5w doesnt matter since that's juz the viscosity value in winter temperature... Nothing to do wif our climate... The end number is the important value... Our climate use 40 or 50... 30 too light n our car suffer pressure loss on high temp..
yap W is stand for winter..
but it also effect the engine protection during cold start.. how fast the lub going thru all parts of the engine especially head and block.
30 is better for low cc engine.. temperature is not too high.. normally below 1.3
that is y kancil kelisa myvi used 30... but if u want to go performance and top speed when ur can high revv... used 40
dont used 50..

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 11:32 AM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 11:33 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(pravred @ May 7 2011, 11:31 AM)
bro so what type oil as in the values good for blm?
same grade as produa used
5w30.. stick to semi.. and make sure it semi
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 01:36 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 12:57 PM)
gagak_84
ur the 1st guy in my experience that ask ppl to use 5w30..i got members informing me that 5w is not suitable for our ride. so if there is another two or more reviewers providing the experience review regarding 5w30, it will be more convincing, as it is about the engine. campro heat up easily, unlike toyota engine, so this might interfere something somewhere.
im not the first.. smile.gif
this because some of the car user depending on SC. as long dont affect ur warranty.
example : why do honda,perodua and toyota recommended to their user to used at least 5w30?

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 01:36 PM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 06:52 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 06:46 PM)
gagak_84
ur example is not an example. why do the other car makes ask their customer to use 5w30? that is not a way to ask a proton to go for 5w30. ppl use that oil, so u use it as well? wow..then why not u use GT-R oil instead of those oils? can use dun mean suitable to use la..

i hope the info u provide is reliable as this is seriously my 1st time hearing someone ask a 1.3 BLM to use 5w30 as the optimum oil are 10w30, 15w40..these are the feedback i seriously compiled all these while.
u have a choice.. therefore take it or leave it. smile.gif
i am comparing the same level of car.. why do u think vios,myvi and honda mostly fuel saving?
did u ever try 5w30 before? im telling u because of im selling the engine oil.. most of my blm customer used 10w30 (SC provide this oil), after try 5w30, they feel different in term of performance, lighter and FC..

im not push all of you guys to change from 10w30 to 5w30.. sweat.gif
depends on u.. that was ur car.. thumbup.gif

but think of it: why perodua dont used 10w30 on their 1.3 myvi...

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 06:53 PM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 07:54 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 07:39 PM)
gagak_84
i duno what example u are providing..u are like pushing the comparisons to become a fact for us. why myvi can use, why our BLM cannot? u sound so not technical.

simple, myvi use coz toyota ask them use, best for myvi.
BLM dun use, coz BLM not suit.

and u say: suit lah! suit lah!, and technically u did not tell us why suit? u just say coz myvi also using mar. what theory is that?

and i tell u now, my knowledge tells me that 5w30 is not suitable. yes, u can lighter performance, better FC and response. yes, good. but it is NOT suitable for our BLM. tappet sound can go loud and engine heat up fast as well. but i think u expect me to say: Coz BLM cannot coz BLM is BLM la.

u get what i mean?u are engine oil seller, ok. i am not. but my mechs, foreman dun recommend me 5w30. maybe u sell engine oil u know more than them la..i duno, maybe la.

ya, my ride my choice. but if u are posting here, u needa prove that it is safe to use 5w30. safe as in long term review..what makes the profit if the campro 1 day got overheat coz u use 5w30? u know what i mean?
bro..
1) there is no tappet sound
- my sis car have no tappet sound
- my customer car have no tappet sound

the tappet sound mostly can be reduced using thicker oil.. yes 10w..
but bear in mind.. this problem only occur at old car which is hydraulic tappet already causing a problem and need to be replaced.. i know it costly + it was 16 of it.. but this is when ur engine is old.. dont misunderstand...

and why SC is using 10w30.. this is to make sure there is no tappet sound.. they are not confident!
previous history of proton.. this is because 4g92 and 4g93 engine have a tappet problem.. therefore some of the racer used castrol or eneos 10w40 to prevent this problem!

2) engine heat is fast
why do u said that the engine is becoming fast when u change to 30? do u think the lub are not fully circulated?
there is no heating problem.. and dont said when used 5w30 ur engine will be overheat..

3) long term review
yap.. when ur car is new (<5 year) - used at least 5w
this is to make sure that wear and that is not fast and quick..
especially tappet as u said.. when using thicker oil the clearance is big.. due to substance of the oil is thicker..

anyway..
this is called experience.. --? (thicker)
used synthethic oil (fully) --> semi --> mineral

when ur car have tappet sound.. used a thicker oil
5w40 - 5w30 - 10w40 - 10w30 - 15w40

that is y most of the car user still stick to fully.. when u using thicker oil.. the rate of wear and tear will be fast.. that is the caused why is there is tappet sound

Note : new car normally dont have tappet sound...
if there is tappet sound during cold start.. after engine is hot.. the tappet sound is dissappear.. is time to change to thicker oil or tappet (16 of it)... >RM300 for all 16..

Added on May 7, 2011, 7:56 pm
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 7 2011, 07:18 PM)
gosh, perdoau engine not same as our campro la
i know.
but engine system is almost the same.. only different is head and wiring

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 07:56 PM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 08:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 08:03 PM)
gagak_84
may i ask u that, ur 5w30 is a semi-syn oil, right?
anyway.. u misunderstand.. im not marketing anything here. notworthy.gif
sorry if make any problem here. sad.gif

i join this thread because im waiting my fiancee FL to arrive next week. thumbup.gif
just want to joining u guys.. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 08:06 PM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 08:11 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 08:08 PM)
gagak_84
just to tell u that, 5w30 is actually not suitable for our 1.3 campro, if 1.6 persona it is reviewed as ok.

"too thin la ur engine oil.just monitor it first.ur engine might make up some knocking sound.coz campro can't use too thin engine oil..i tried with 5w30 b4.sure is lighter at hi rev, but u can hear knocking sound from ur engine while idling. just my experience b4. "

i just copy and paste the whole statement the review stated long ago.

"i tried it on my BLM and Persona.
on BLM it makes a knocking sound from the engine..(a bit heavier on low end but top end is fine)

On Persona it works really well..

not really sure about why it is like that...
some foreman said that our campro engine cannot afford too thin engine oil.they do recommend 10w40 shud be ok."

and for ur info, he is also an engine oil seller, and he exist in this thread as well.
maybe it happened when it already used 10w long time.. wear part already happen..
sorry for him

anyway.. 5w30 also depends on which brand is it.. if ut nasa or bardhal.. cannot lor..

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 08:12 PM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 08:13 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 08:11 PM)
"BTW, please avoid using very thin oils like 0W-30W as it actually causes the engine not to wear down evenly and heating up takes longer time compared to normal semi-synth oils. The ONLY time you should use ultra thin oils is for high revving performance engines like F20C and stuff like that. You're only causing more harm to it then good "

another performance part expert reviewed this for BLM as well.
yap.. i agreed..
0w is only for complicated engine part..
0w20 mobil 1 and 0w20 eneos is designed for hybrid car.
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 08:24 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 08:18 PM)
and now i will stand for my statement that 5w30 can be use for BLM as it will provide smoother ride, better FC and performance, HOWEVER it is NOT suitable for BLM.

all the reviews were saying 30 is actually not that suitable for our 1.3 campro, and sorry if i offended you. i think you should look more into 5w30 on 1.3 BLM coz it is still not so safe to say 5w30 is suitable. maybe the reviewer himself can come forth to clarify stuff clearer.

p/s: he use MOTUL. reliable brand?
hehehe smile.gif
5w fit nicely when ur car is new.. but if u already used 10w for a long time.. thats mean it too late for u to change to thicker oil.. laugh.gif

therefore used 5w30 in ur new car when it still new..

for me 10w40 is better than 10w30

motul is realiable brand... but motul 5w30 is fully synthethic right? same thing like torco..
hehehe
used too low density and kinematic viscosity also not good.. from 10w30 and suddenly jump to 5w30 fully. cannot.. if

gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 08:34 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 7 2011, 08:26 PM)
gagak_84
5w for new cars? my knowledge tells me that new cars need thicker oil coz the engine block haven smooth down its route, need the heavy 20w50 for best results to avoid harsh contacts for the engine block with its wall..and u ask people to use 5w series now? i dun get it..ur experience and my facts macam not so in key lah.
not.. new car no need thicker oil.. nipis je.. how i want to explained to u.. cry.gif
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 09:04 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ May 7 2011, 08:41 PM)
Here is the fact, how the engine work between long stroke n short stroke is diff.. S4PH  (1.6) & K3-VE both r long stroke engine, but not for S4PE (1.3) which is short when u compare the bore:stroke ratio.. Diff compression n diff revving character... Short stroke engine  (S4PE, B16A) tend to rev higher than the long stoke to gain power which when using thin lube, it will heats up & breaks down very fast. The heating process, when the cycle too fast, will quicken the wear n tear... Overheating is not the way to measure lube compatibility since the radiator is there to cool down/maintain the temp in d safe zone.. Overheating is not the immediate effect of using thin oil which is not compatible to the engine... Proton is the engine maker, they know what they built n how it works.. They wot suggest things that will destroy their creation...

U ask b16a user, what happen when they use 5w-30...

Now ayam at bintulu, 1 week tavelling, tot wanna wait until balik kuching baru reply here about this... here no 3g so my digi so slow, summore i'm on iphone, so leceh to type panjang2 like dis.. But many pages wif misinformation so i hav to sacrifice my eyes n finger to type here, heheheh...

Btw this is only 1 of the reason, got another reason but i cant remember...

Added on May 7, 2011, 8:56 pm

Btw the fact by siuyi is right, the right way to break-in the new engine is by using thicker lube for the 1st three services (if normally we use 10w-40, to break-in use 10w-50)... Not a must but can do if want max performance from the engine.. This issue is still debated among omputeh mechanic n scientist bcoz some agree n some not, but the facts siding the break-in idea...
thans for ur feedback..
but , u compare b16a old engine with new engine.
5w30 is for new engine.
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 09:08 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 7 2011, 09:05 PM)
actually they're similar because they're both short stroke engines

please read up the engine terms and definitions before keep pushing the 5w30
hehehe..
i know about short stroke..bore and etc.. doesnt matter what how long the stroke is..how bigger cc it is.. what i mean is.. 5w30 is for new engine.. not suitable for old engine.. B16a /b16b or 4g91/4g92/4g93/4g93t

i work at car manufacturer b4.. i know what it mean..

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 7 2011, 09:09 PM
gagak_84
post May 7 2011, 09:24 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ May 7 2011, 09:10 PM)
U at bintulu? Come join me karaoke 2nite... Here so hot, even now i'm sweating..

Added on May 7, 2011, 9:17 pm

Campro is not a new engine, same old dohc engine with short intake addon, not within the engine, unlike i-vtec, gema mivec (not applicable to all old mivec, some r new tech n some not, 4G13, 4G18, 4G91, 4G92 is old 1) tsi, vvt-i, dvvt etc...

The new thing is the system running the campro engine: ecu, throttle body, valve timing, drive-by-wire, air-cond control, etc...
not the design.. i mean new car come out from shop..
new car better used 5w .
old car (engine) used 10w or below.

omara.. did u are the one want to buy eneos from me.. but i cannot post it to sarawak? hmm.gif
gagak_84
post May 8 2011, 08:51 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(pravred @ May 8 2011, 12:49 AM)
i'm all confused so the oil used by proton sc is the best rite or am i missing something. 

btw i mentioned abt the pdt tuning i did for free in the earlier post and i'm starting to see changes in my car

the ride feels smoother,hopefully can see better results after i service another 500+km to go.
SC is just provide the oil that they have..
If the lub oil is good.. ur lub oil level should not too low when reach 4000km , no tappet issue (kinematic viscosity/density), no white smoke (flash point) and etc.

+ it should give u low FC.. if ur car can reach around ~13km/liter.. i assumed that the lub oil is good.

pdt tuning/obd2 scanner.. is just reset the sensor and adjust the TPS and etc.. since ur car is new, that shouldnt be any problem with ur sensor and etc.

Added on May 8, 2011, 8:51 am
QUOTE(rajivshm @ May 8 2011, 08:40 AM)
can anyone advice if we should actually drive below 80km/h before reaching 1000km???

i heard before reaching first service should not drive to fast is tat true? i drive in highway everyday....
80km/h with how many of petrol?

Added on May 8, 2011, 9:06 am
QUOTE(omara86 @ May 8 2011, 01:34 AM)
I'm not sure how the ECU work but from p2p testimonial, myself also... When i test drive my fren's BLM (same manual) his car less responsive and the revving feeling is less compared to my car, even my fren also tell me that, my car more chun to race n speed-up... But his car's FC is better than mine (mine is RM50 for 250km only, his car goes up more than 300km for the same RM50, both on RON95 since 1st day)... Btw everyday, everytime i'm driving my car, i will do high-speed, to work, back home, jalan2, i cant drive slow or my brain will stop functioning...

I'm not a FC concerned type of person.. I dun care eat fuel much or less, as long as i'm faster than others.. I'm used to drive perdana n toyota mr-s for daily drive so FC is not in my dictionary...
this is what i want to explained in the first place.. thicker oil will make your car less responsive.. + 1.3cc engine has low HP..

please bear in mind.. 10w30 is actually for low cc engine.. myvi 1.0, kelisa,kancil.. dont believe me?

check it for yourself
http://www.mymesra.com.my/index.php?ch=lub...il_recommender#

why petronas and proton SC dont provide semi 5w30? because they normally dont provide this grade to SC.

if i dont mistaken... 10w30 petronas is still SL...

What are the differences between API SM and API SL quality standards?

API SM has higher requirements for the lubricants to meet such as superior engine performance, protection and cleanliness as compared to the requirements of API SL.

http://www.petronas.com.my/downloads/lubri...yntium800SL.pdf

comparison petronas,eneos and castrol... judge it urself

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 8 2011, 09:43 AM
gagak_84
post May 8 2011, 12:26 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ May 8 2011, 11:49 AM)
I'm tired explaining n ppl dun wanna take it n make it as arguement point... I wont explain again over n over again... My hangover also still here n kinda heavy headache now, at 12 later need to drive for 10 hours back to kuching..

Gagak_84 - I dun mind u wanna promote ur product, but my statement is not to down ur sales or ur idealogy, but i'm telling the fact so:

- our fellow BLM get a well maintained car
- our fellow BLM get te correct info to share with others outside there
- end up if their car hav prob, they the 1 who will face it, not the misinformation teller, and the 1 kena sumpah later is proton bcoz selling tin milo, i dont want that n n i hope our car last longer

I'll stop here, typing on iphone makes my hangover worst, shit... Last nite drink up too much...
boss
im not selling anything here .. because i will collect my fiancee FL next week.
fyi.. my sis used 5w30..for 2 years.. no problem.. send to keramat SC... can bring outside oil but cannot bring the oil filter from outside.. + cant bring shell/castrol and petronas.. many recycle oil outside there..

im not saying that 10w30 cannot be used at all at BLM.. but u will not get the performance, u car feel heavy..
it ..

anyway.. why other car manufacturer dont used thicker oil when the car coming out from factory? only proton and proton only used thicker oil and used it for 2 -3 years the thicker oil.. blm FC is high.. and every complain.. tappet issue la.. this issue la..gud luck..

too many drink will affect ur health broo.. hehehe

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(sg999 @ May 8 2011, 12:22 PM)
i think new car just use the engine oil that recomended by SC --15W50 SYNTIUM 800. So if any damage to engine can claim them kaokao. Somemore sc use 15W-50 i think is safe to our engine because they sure testing it b4 apply to consumer.
just what i think...haha
ur car only have 2 - 3 years warranty.. the affect is not coming immediately.. it takes years..

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:29 pm
QUOTE(dj2004 @ May 8 2011, 12:01 PM)
hmm what oil you guys recomend..because im using penzoil platinum 5w-30 all this while
can used if u used it at the beginning.. but cannot if u used 10w for a long time.. .. and problem will occur when u change it to 5w or fully.. there is a try error.. normally cannot... because the gap between valve seal, piston ring already big.. most of the oil will vaporize and coming out from the exhaust system.. + tappet issue will coming out.. because hydraulic tappet also can wear..

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 8 2011, 12:17 PM)
damn, i have no idea whats my current engine oil. but now that i bought the shell helix 10w40, i do hope its good

icon_rolleyes.gif
castrol ok. avoid shell.

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(SiuYi @ May 8 2011, 11:33 AM)
rajivshm
yes.it is adviced not the rev ur car too high before the 1st service, and rev as high as possible for the break-in after 1st service.

gagak_84
i think u just fix with ur statement la. and one thing, regarding comparison chart, every brand will state that their brand is good in what compared to others, and almost none will state what they are lacking of or not suitable for. u may got ur point that 5w30 is good for ur ride. u sound slapping ur own mouth also..

statement 1: cannot use 10w at the start, coz reviewer used 10w and then changed to 5w, wear happens, knocking comes in place. so conclusion: 5w for new rides, as in just come out from factory.

statement 2: new rides needs break-in, 5w30 too thin, will sore the break-in. then? 5w30 is for new rides but after few services?

i will get my reviews from more sources and i hope u collect yours as well. it is nice to hear 5w30 provides etc etc benefits but to me, it is not suitable. and through ur explanation, still some of us here are not convince. cheers, no offense.

Added on May 8, 2011, 11:34 amdj2004
never ever use full syn in ur 1.3 BLM.
normally this test is conducted by 3rd party oil analysis FYI..

This post has been edited by gagak_84: May 8 2011, 12:34 PM
gagak_84
post May 8 2011, 12:36 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Guenhwyvar @ May 8 2011, 12:33 PM)
Hi guys, I'll be sending my car to do its first 1000km service and I have  a few questions to ask before doing it.

Details of my car: Model :FL
Transmission      : Auto

1: Which engine oil do you guys recommend? The 20-50w?

SC suggest 10w30 SLCF Petronas

2: Type of engine oil :mineral, semi synthetic, full synthetic
Semi
3: What do they mean by "free service"? Do I need to pay anything?
Labour Free
4: Do you guys change the spark plug? To me, I feel that it's a waste to do that since its new.
Waste
4: What should I watch out for after they have service my car.
- Oil Leak
- Extra Engine Oil.(sometimes they are not giving u this)

Thanks alot guys.  smile.gif
gagak_84
post May 8 2011, 01:06 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 8 2011, 12:48 PM)
not sure
some does..some dn't
u can try ask
in my state...all allow bring own oil

Added on May 8, 2011, 12:52 pm
try 15w-40...after 3 service...switch to lighter oil like 10w-40