Samsung Galaxy SL I9003, Price Revised to RRP RM1299!!

-Panadol-
post May 10 2011, 10:59 AM

60 posts

Bought 2 of these babies a few days back (1 for myself, 1 for my wife) and so far I love it! wub.gif
Really nice screen and speed compared to my old htc artemis and n97.

There's some issues with GPS not working at all in the beginning, but I tried the suggestions here on my wife's phone and it works. All I did was:

Disable ‘Use Wireless Networks’ under Settings ---> Location and Security
Go into LbsTestMode (*#*#3214789650#*#*)
Go to Application Settings ---> Enable MS-Based Mode (Operation Mode )
Increase Accuracy to 100
Tested the GPS using the Get Position test.

That's it, tried it in my car and location was locked in less than 30 seconds this hazy morning!

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: May 10 2011, 11:01 AM
-Panadol-
post May 11 2011, 10:41 AM

60 posts

My Papago X5 crashes during navigation, but is fine when it's just tracking my position without any routing to any destination.
Anyone here experienced the same thing?

By the way, how to kill the in-built web browser without the hassle of switching to Task Manager and killing it from there?

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: May 11 2011, 10:44 AM
-Panadol-
post May 12 2011, 11:25 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ May 12 2011, 01:50 AM)
My sl worked well on 3d games like sandstorm and hero of sparta
Anyone know how/where to download Android apps and games?
We Malaysians can't buy anything from Android Market at the moment cry.gif

Added on May 12, 2011, 11:29 am
QUOTE(nothing_nth @ May 11 2011, 11:35 AM)
Guys its normal for Papago X5 to crash in Froyo... well know... due to its build for Eclair instead of froyo~  nod.gif
Dam! When it crashes, does the error message says it's due to com.mcaction.X5SEA or something like that?
I find the GPS not as good as my old n97 which locks on my position almost instantly and accuracy is superb (even in buildings!)

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: May 12 2011, 11:29 AM
-Panadol-
post May 14 2011, 04:49 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(hengsin @ May 14 2011, 03:44 PM)
novacell have
Got sell the flip cover as well? So far can find the back cover type only.
-Panadol-
post May 18 2011, 01:28 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Skyman @ May 17 2011, 06:12 PM)
Hello to all,

Me want to know from user here ,  know internal sd card (1.52GB) is for what use ??

Because as i install new app sure will use internal phone storage only (1.87GB)?

So can any one pls explain what the different?

If you go to Task Manager ---> Downloaded, and click on an installed program, you have the option to move
it to internal sd card.
I prefer to keep widgets and live wallpapers in Phone Storage so it works properly.
On the other hand, some games will automatically download big data files (100-200 MB) to your External SD card.

1 thing I experienced is... when I set Alarm and then I Clear RAM, the alarm will not activate!
Just a thing to note, in case you set an alarm for an important appointment smile.gif
-Panadol-
post May 19 2011, 11:50 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(shunryu @ May 19 2011, 08:19 AM)
thats what was rumoured
pray that 2.3 comes true for SL though

u can try off the flash contents in the web, it shd speed up n give u butterly smooth scrolling
but sometimes i can't live without flash though  tongue.gif

Added on May 19, 2011, 9:42 am

Are u sure about that?

Let me give u a good example.
Do u see people complains about having minor issues on high end phones such as the Iphone 4?
Do u see people claim issues about the GPS, Wifi, battery, random heatups problems on it? Think again..
As a matter of fact, there are mostly great feedbacks from the majority which they share apps to improve or to further enjoy it rather than complaining...

As for Galaxy SL,
Those minor problems should be rectified even BEFORE the production and not AFTER it.
The thing about user experience is, u pay ur hard earn money to buy a product and u want that product to perform at its best, is that really hard to get?

I understand that u pay for what u get, but Samsung offers lower price tag for Galaxy SL is due to its HARDWARE downgrade, such as the screen and GPU and NOT the minor issues which the end users have to bear with.  doh.gif

Making a good phone is not just about hardware specifications, software optimization, quality control and user experience are what it all takes to bring out satisfaction.
IMHO everything in this world has its strengths and weaknesses. A minor issue for one user may be a major problem for another, and vice versa.

Iphone 4 is popular, and although pricey and considered high-end, let's see what some people overseas wrote when it was launched:
http://www.businessinsider.com/iphone-4-problem-2010-6
http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/iphon...f_tinkering.php

SL is perfect for my current usage, I have no complaints except the GPS should be better.
I don't have any issues with battery, heat ups etc. *touch wood* smile.gif

If you are a power user, then go ahead and get SGS2 or other upcoming high end models... just buy the phone that suit your usage.

-Panadol-
post May 19 2011, 03:30 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(levilau @ May 19 2011, 02:08 PM)
bro...get a different phone for urself or ur gf la...two same phone really bored la, and if accidentally took the wrong phone out, ops....dono what will happened?  tongue.gif

Added on May 19, 2011, 2:14 pm
talking about heat, my SL sometime feel heat when my battery also die....but then restart my phone, back to normal. if talking about the heat, my old Moto XT720 heat up like a hot pan, not sure able to cook an egg or not.....that what i call HOT  laugh.gif
Couple phones okay mah... me and my wife also using SL, but buy different coloured covers lor.
Hot phones can use as heater when you feel cold at night.
Vibrate function can also use for something else brows.gif

Added on May 19, 2011, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(EmeraldKeng @ May 19 2011, 03:04 PM)
den my is TOTALLY BIG PROBLEM ZZZZZ  rclxub.gif 
my use internet (fb) around 30++min (no sms, no ebudy, no game... just plain internet) get hot already.. [i got download the battery indicator with temperature indictor feature too) normally 32C but after 30++ 43-45 (45 max ==" the temperature indictor jst show 45> Zzzz )gaming the same too.. [jst gaming.. i always use task killer before doing other task.. to conserve battery n ram.. but it seem like it's not working.. ==" people last 24hrs.. i last only 13+==")

morning charge 10am-1pm (100%) use for gaming and fbing a little.. by night 7-9pm 30-40% left =="
Got install Juice defender? Maybe can help you save battery...
But Wifi and GPS drains battery fast, same as my other phones (Nokia, HTC, etc)

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: May 19 2011, 03:34 PM
-Panadol-
post May 23 2011, 12:56 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(shlimsk @ May 21 2011, 02:26 PM)
notice it is quite hard for us to find casing for this model... now i manage to find 1 of the design and plan to group buy.

i need 10 units and price at RM 25 each.

anybody interested?

3 colours to choose from >>> white , black & red.[attachmentid=2226478][attachmentid=2226479][attachmentid=2226481][attachmentid=2226483]
I want to buy 1 for my wife! Black colour!

Added on May 23, 2011, 1:01 pm
QUOTE(Kenneth225 @ May 21 2011, 10:50 AM)
bro hoow do u can maintain so much battery on d fon for 7 hr?? very unbelievable leh..... usually sleep wake up sure lost 10% d
So much battery drained? mine usually use up 2-3% after a night's sleep.

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: May 23 2011, 01:01 PM
-Panadol-
post May 23 2011, 03:09 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ May 23 2011, 02:21 PM)
Did you totally turn off 3G/GPS/Bluetooth in order to achieve the 2-3% battery drainage only?
Bluetooth off, GPS on. Juice Defender app will automatically switch off data usage when idle as well.
Also lower screen brightness & switch off brightness auto adjust. I find the screen to be clear & bright even at low settings.
-Panadol-
post May 24 2011, 11:11 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(PeaceOfMind @ May 24 2011, 10:21 AM)
my gps also got problem. it cant find my location zzzzz...
anyone bought portable charger? which brand is good?
You mean car charger? I bought a cheap one from Petronas... about RM 12 I think.
Blackberry one costs about RM50.
-Panadol-
post May 24 2011, 08:58 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ May 24 2011, 06:22 PM)
still same.. cant lock to gps satelite.. when opening papago.. no GPS satellite symbol appear on top of the screen.. but i'm able to do performance test and location test in Lbstestmode..
Try use Task Manager and go to Downloaded. Click on Papago then Clear Data.
If u can get a position fix using Lbstestmode, u should have no problem getting a fix in Papago.

Also, for anyone with gps fix problem, GPS Status & Tools app may help. Just go to Manage aGPS --->Reset (aGPS data), then click Download (new aGPS data).

Tried my GPS today after 1 month of not using it. Put in a car hp holder stuck to my windscreen to get a clear signal.
Initial positional fix was about 20 seconds with 10 satellites locked (I didn't observe properly). When I was in another location, I tried Lbstestmode again
and position fix was 3 seconds! That's a record for my SL!

Anyway, don't expect great performance GPS-wise from this model. Navigation is usable, but nowhere near the instant lock and accuracy of phones
like my old Nokia N97 Mini (which locks even inside buildings!).

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: May 24 2011, 09:23 PM
-Panadol-
post May 26 2011, 12:53 PM

60 posts

Any can recommend a good car handphone holder for SL?
Where to buy?

I got a cheap universal car holder but regretted it as it looks flimsy and vibrates a lot during driving.
-Panadol-
post Jun 2 2011, 11:26 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(king_kong @ May 31 2011, 08:40 AM)
would like to check, does anyone of experience this:

the phone does a soft vibration its own from time to time, i.e. it lightly auto vibrates for half a sec every now and then.

note: i turned off all tactile feedback...

anyone share the same problem?
This happens when programs are force closed.
Another thing I experienced: when I tried to assign a ringtone to a Joined Contact (2 or more "G" symbols next to a contact), the "Contacts" program will hang. Here's where I experienced the soft vibration.
-Panadol-
post Jun 2 2011, 05:58 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 2 2011, 05:02 PM)
Any of u guys having problem with the gps satellite lock?
Mine takes forever (not getting any locked sat actually). did the hack
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1069416 [GT-I9003] [FIX] Samsung Galaxy SL Easy GPS Fix

It helps a bit but the Sat lock wasn't stable. keeps losing Sat a few secs later. Any other tips?

Added on June 2, 2011, 5:02 pmooh forgot one more thing, my phone can't play Plants vs. Zombies for some reason sad.gif   ..weird.
Did you go out into the open to get a satellite lock?
Strangely, when I use tools like LBStestmode or GPS status, the lock is stable. When I switched to Papago, the accuracy of my position is not as good, and sometimes it loses satellite lock.

Btw, can we still download Plants vs Zombies from Market? I can't seem t find it.
Playing Pumpkins vs Monsters, almost similar, and very addictive!

Added on June 2, 2011, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(rarap @ Jun 2 2011, 12:00 PM)
Yup, my contact also will force close if there is 2 google symbol combined to the contact.my solution is press menu button then choose delete.delete the 2 google combined contact then it will not happen again.i think we should not sync our contact with google to avoid this prob
Any idea how to disable this feature (auto joining of contacts)?

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: Jun 2 2011, 06:01 PM
-Panadol-
post Jun 3 2011, 03:40 PM

60 posts

Just got the nilkin hard case from subang parade novacell, very nice rubbery feel, much better quality than the lubang lubang one.
The included screen protector (glossy) makes my screen clearer & brighter compared to the matte one I used earlier! thumbup.gif
-Panadol-
post Jun 29 2011, 08:49 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(nicyhl @ Jun 27 2011, 09:50 PM)
Yeah I tried. but there seems to be a bug in it . everytime i get hit in the game . it blurrs like a spoilt TV . T.T

Added on June 27, 2011, 9:57 pmanyone know why my papago X5 keep force closing?
Seems like Papago X5 doesn't like Samsung galaxy. Mine keeps force closing every few minutes when navigating.
Sygic is stable though, but map and graphics not as good as Papago of course.
-Panadol-
post Jun 30 2011, 11:43 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(nicyhl @ Jun 29 2011, 09:04 PM)
do you know where can I download sygic?
Sygic is available in Android Market. You can try out for free for a week.
-Panadol-
post Jul 2 2011, 09:24 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(chrishoe88 @ Jun 30 2011, 02:56 PM)
Yea finally very my phone leather casing :-)  hooray
Yes, finally received mine too rclxms.gif
Nice flip casing, just need to shave 0.1 mm off the plastic holder as it is blocking the charging port.
-Panadol-
post Jul 3 2011, 09:06 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(chrishoe88 @ Jul 2 2011, 11:16 AM)
lolzzz funny la u, but actually it still can charge jus won't fully fit... it's kinda difficult to shave also coz d plastic seems very hard...

Added on July 2, 2011, 11:19 am

wow u edi install 2.3.4 .... swt i thought newest rom can make d battery life longer tim  sweat.gif
Heh, just use a small file (I have dremel but lazy to take it out) or sand paper.
Coz if If not, the charger will connect very loosely and at a slanted angle, although it will still charge.

Added on July 3, 2011, 9:08 am
QUOTE(Shengz @ Jul 2 2011, 12:27 PM)
I "shave" dy.. brows.gif
By using diamond file. icon_idea.gif

Yourself or the phone casing? tongue.gif
If shave yourselft with diamond file very painful oh, especially those sensitive parts sweat.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: Jul 3 2011, 09:08 AM
-Panadol-
post Jul 10 2011, 09:35 AM

60 posts

I think someone posted this before, but gofor those still having battery problem, here's the tip again:
1. Change from network mode from Auto (WCDMA/GSM) to GSM
2. Turn off mobile data e.g. when u sleep
3. Download System Panel app to check CPU usage (300 mhz & <10% activity)

This will bring battery drain to less than 1% per hour when idle.

0.0533sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:20 PM